The fee story is attractive; the paperwork is the open question
The BenPay Alpha card is a Visa virtual card that spends a stablecoin balance directly: you hold USDC or USDT in your own wallet, the card converts what you need at the moment of payment, and the card’s own fees for that are stated as zero. That is genuinely unusual, and for someone who already lives in self-custody and wants to spend without handing a third party control of the funds, it is the reason to look at all. What stops me recommending it more warmly is not the product but the paperwork. The card’s own public pages could not be read during my check, so several basic things — which countries are served, whether Alpha needs full identity verification, what the FX cost is, who issues the card — rest on third-party reports I could not confirm. My score is 7.4 out of 10, and it is a score for a card that is promising and unfinished, not a score for a card I would put a large balance through tomorrow.

Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict: 7.4 out of 10
Let me show the working, criterion by criterion, because the total hides a lopsided picture. Two categories score near the top and one sits in the middle of the road, and that shape tells you most of what you need to know.

| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 8 / 10 | Officially the card is “open to everyone” with no country list published; starting data names 14 restricted countries, which I could not confirm on an official page |
| Cost | 9 / 10 | Officially zero monthly, zero annual, zero top-up, zero crypto-to-fiat conversion; unofficial sources mention a refundable 20 USDT deposit; FX is not disclosed |
| Top-up options | 8 / 10 | USDC or USDT on ETH, BSC, Base and Optimism, USDC converted to BUSD 1:1, self-custody wallet |
| Reliability and complaints | 6 / 10 | App publisher Wuben Inc., a claimed FinCEN MSB licence, the card issuer is not named, and no reviews were found at all |
| Everyday use | 5 / 10 | Virtual Visa with Apple Pay and Google Pay works; the physical card and ATM withdrawals were “coming soon” and did not work at the time of my check |
| Total | 7.4 / 10 | A cheap, flexible virtual card wrapped in a documentation gap |
Who this suits: someone who already keeps their own keys, spends USDC or USDT, and wants to pay ordinary bills and shop online without paying a card fee on top. Who it does not suit: someone who needs a physical card in the post this week, someone who needs to withdraw cash from an ATM, and — most of all — someone who needs to read a full fees-and-eligibility document before trusting an issuer they have never heard of.
Will they give you the card?
Here is the first thing you should know, and it is not a small thing: I could not read BenPay’s official card page. That single failure explains most of the uncertainty in this review, so I would rather say it plainly than dress it up.
What the card’s own Medium posts said in May 2025 is that it is “open to everyone”, with no list of eligible or restricted countries. That is a good sign for eligibility in principle. My starting data, however, listed 14 restricted countries, Russia and Belarus among them, and I could not confirm that list on a readable official page. So the honest position is this: the card claims to be open to everyone, and there may be country exclusions you can only find out about by trying.
The identity question is the one most people search for first, and the honest answer is that the sources disagree. BenPay’s own Medium material, from May 2025 and covering the BenPay Card generally, states “No KYC” and describes signing up with a Google or Apple account through zkLogin in a two-step application. But an undated user post on Binance Square says the Alpha card requires full KYC with an ID document, and ChainCatcher reported in December 2024 that the Platinum card requires “necessary KYC”. Both of those are unofficial and neither is confirmed by the card.
How should you read that? As a range, not a promise. BenPay clearly runs a no-KYC entry product alongside verified tiers, and the Alpha card may sit on the verified side. The card’s public pages do not state which KYC level Alpha sits at. If you are someone who cannot or will not submit identity documents, that ambiguity is not a small inconvenience — it is the whole decision. Find out which level you are signing up for before you send anything.
One more eligibility point worth carrying in your head: prepaid and debit cards are generally available to adults aged 18 and over, and some issuers set higher limits.
How to get it
The signup path described by the card is short. You create the account with a Google or Apple account via zkLogin, and you go through a two-step application. Nothing there is unusual, and nothing there tells you how long it takes or what happens at the end.
What you actually receive is a virtual card on the Visa Global Network — the Visa detail comes from BenPay’s Medium posts of May 2025. The physical card was described as “coming soon” at that date, and my check found it still not working. So plan on spending your first months with the virtual card only, and treat any physical card promise as a future possibility rather than a feature.
Card currency is reported as USD settlement in my starting data, but that was not confirmed on an official page. The public pages also do not state a delivery time for a physical card or which KYC level applies to Alpha. If either of those points matters to you, the honest answer is that you will have to ask the provider yourself.
Fees: what it really costs
The official fee story is the strongest part of this card, and it is worth reading twice before you distrust it. BenPay’s Medium posts from May 2025 state zero monthly fee, zero annual fee, zero top-up fee and zero crypto-to-fiat conversion fee. That means the normal drags on a crypto card — a percentage on every top-up, a spread on every conversion — are, on paper, absent.

Now the caveats, in order of how much they should worry you.
The FX fee is not stated anywhere. This is the gap that matters most, because the conversion fee being zero does not mean your money is untouched by exchange rates. If you buy something priced in euros, the network and the issuer still have to convert dollars to euros somewhere, and if that cost is inside the exchange rate rather than in a separate line, you will not see it as a fee. You simply get a worse rate. Ask for the FX rate, not just the FX fee.
An undated Binance Square user post mentions no current card opening fee but a refundable 20 USDT deposit held against failed transactions and disputes. The same post is the source for a promotion described as no opening fees and 2 USD back for spending 50. Neither is confirmed by the card. ChainCatcher, in December 2024, reported a Platinum opening fee of 20U with top-up from 1% and no monthly fee — that is a different tier and an older date, but it tells you the fee structure is not fixed forever.
Here is the table, with the information the card provides and the details currently available:
| Fee or limit | What the card states |
|---|---|
| Monthly fee | 0 |
| Annual fee | 0 |
| Opening fee for Alpha | not stated |
| Top-up fee | 0 |
| Crypto-to-fiat conversion | 0 |
| FX fee | not stated |
| Refundable deposit | 20 USDT, unofficial, undated user post |
| ATM withdrawals | not available; physical card “coming soon” (May 2025) |
| Single card spending | up to $200K |
| Per-KYC-level limits | not stated |
| Currency | USD settlement per starting data, not confirmed officially |
Now let me run three everyday payments through that table, because a fee sheet only means something once you see it applied.
A typical supermarket run. You have USDT in the wallet. The card converts crypto to fiat at a stated zero fee and spends the amount. No monthly fee applies, no conversion fee applies. What might still apply: the exchange rate you receive on the conversion, which is not disclosed.
A €24 booking with a European shop. Same conversion, zero fee, and then a currency conversion on the Visa side that the card does not describe. This is the payment where the missing FX figure actually bites, and it is the one I would want a number for before I rely on the card abroad.
A failed payment or a disputed charge. Here the unofficial 20 USDT refundable deposit would matter, if it exists. It is a deposit, not a fee — but money you cannot get back until the issue is settled is still money you do not have, and that is worth knowing about before your first disputed transaction rather than after.
The pattern is clear: on the transactions the card describes, the fees are genuinely zero. The costs you cannot see are the exchange rate, and any deposit the unofficial sources mention.
How to top it up
This is where the card is most interesting, and where its self-custody design is a real advantage rather than a marketing line. You fund the card by holding the crypto yourself. There is no exchange account to open and no custodian to trust with your balance: the funds stay in your wallet until the moment you spend.
You deposit USDC or USDT on Ethereum, BSC, Base or Optimism. USDC converts to BUSD 1:1. The wallet is self-custodial, which means the private key is yours and the risk of losing it is also yours.
The top-up fee is stated as zero. What is not stated: the minimum top-up, and who pays the on-chain network fee. That second point deserves a moment, because it is easy to misread. The network fee for a blockchain transfer is charged by the blockchain itself, not by the card provider — so a zero top-up fee does not mean a transfer costs nothing. You may need a small amount of the network’s own token to make the deposit move, and if you send on the wrong network, the transfer can be lost.
That last risk is not theoretical and it is not specific to this card. Blockchain transfers are irreversible, so a deposit sent on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to another network, can be lost or need manual support recovery with no guarantee. Two other practical notes on networks: ERC-20 transfers on Ethereum cost gas paid only in ETH, so a wallet holding USDT with no ETH cannot send; and Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, so USDC over TRC20 is not a native option here. The card lists ETH, BSC, Base and Optimism, which is a short and sensible list — stick to it.
One thing people search for and rarely find stated: whether you can withdraw money from the card back out. The card’s public pages do not say. Assume the balance is for spending, not for cashing out, until told otherwise.
Paying with it every day
Day to day, the card works as a virtual Visa with the mobile wallets you would expect: Apple Pay and Google Pay are both supported, and Alipay and WeChat Pay are described as bindable. For most ordinary spending — subscriptions, groceries, a hotel — that is enough, and the tokenised mobile wallet route is the smoothest way to use a virtual card at all.
There are things the card does not tell you, and in this category the unknowns are more than usually annoying. The blocked merchant categories are not stated, so you cannot know in advance which spending is off-limits. And the blocked list would not be arbitrary even if it were published: a merchant category code is a four-digit classification assigned when a business starts accepting cards, and issuers routinely block categories such as gambling on specific products by policy rather than by law, with the list differing between issuers. If gambling or another sensitive category matters to you, ask.
Rewards are not stated for Alpha. The undated promotion of cashback for spending mentioned in an unofficial user post is not a commitment, and a card with no rewards and no fees is a different proposition from a card with cashback, so it is worth knowing which you have.
The app itself is a point in its favour where I could check it: on the US App Store it carried a 4.8 out of 5 rating when I read it on 2026-10-21. I did not read the Google Play listing, so I am not going to characterise it.
One everyday detail worth understanding, because it explains declines that have nothing to do with you: Apple Pay replaces the card number with a device-specific number stored in the phone’s secure hardware, never on Apple’s servers, and each payment carries a one-time code. That is also why an issuer can restrict the tokenised number — blocking it on magnetic stripe, phone or website use is a normal control, and if your payments start failing, that is one of the first things to check.
Disputes: the card does not state how they are handled. There is no published process for you to rely on.
What can go wrong
Here is where the review turns from “promising” to “proceed carefully”, and most of the reasons are things nobody has written down rather than things that have gone wrong.
Nobody has complained, because nobody has reviewed it. I found no official incidents — but I also found no reviews. No Trustpilot page for BenPay was found, and no Reddit reviews surfaced through search. That is not a clean record; it is an absence of one. A card with thousands of users always leaves traces, so treat this silence as “not yet established” rather than “vouched for”.
You do not know who issues the card. The app publisher is Wuben Inc., BenPay claims a US FinCEN MSB licence, and my starting data names BenFen Inc. The card issuer is not named. This matters more than it sounds. In a typical card programme the network (Visa) routes the payments and sets the rules, the issuer is the licensed bank or e-money institution that actually holds the card programme, and the crypto brand is often just the front end. If you cannot name the issuer, you cannot work out who stands behind your balance when something goes wrong — and in some jurisdictions that is the difference between a deposit guarantee scheme and an e-money balance with none. E-money funds must be safeguarded, by segregation or insurance, but they are not bank deposits and are not covered by deposit guarantee schemes.
Sanctions and country rules still exist regardless of what the card advertises. “Open to everyone” is a marketing phrase. Nationality and country of birth are recorded and screened separately from address precisely because sanctions screening applies to them. Tether states that it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity, so stablecoins are not censorship-proof. Anyone in a restricted country who gets hold of a working card has not thereby been authorised to use it, and I am not going to explain how to get around that.
Key loss is on you, entirely. Self-custody means no counterparty risk and no recovery path. A seed phrase is typically 12 to 24 words and anyone who has it can restore the wallet and spend the balance; transfers are irreversible and a stolen key has no built-in freeze button. Self-custody removes the custodian risk that broke Mt. Gox, Coincheck and Ronin, and replaces it with phishing, key loss and clipboard-hijacking malware that silently swaps a copied address. That is a fair trade for a careful user and a bad one for anyone else.
Programmes get closed. This has happened in crypto cards more than once. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX in November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer. WaveCrest, the Visa issuer that supplied several crypto card brands, was suspended in Europe in 2018 and all its Visa programmes closed. The pattern to expect: a notice period, then loading stops, then spending stops, then you are asked to withdraw what is left — with no guarantee how well that goes.
Online payments can shift liability to you. Three-D Secure is Visa’s version of the identity check on online payments, and it is designed to move responsibility for a fraudulent transaction from the merchant to the cardholder’s bank — or, as critics put it, to you. Address verification, which quietly reduces declines, is mostly a US, Canada and UK arrangement and is generally unavailable on foreign-issued cards, so a card that looks “foreign” to a merchant can be declined for reasons that have nothing to do with your balance.
Your payments can leave you with a tax question. In the US the IRS treats digital assets as property, so exchanging them for goods or dollars generally produces a taxable gain or loss, measured in local currency at the value on the date of the transaction. Each card payment funded from crypto may therefore be a separate disposal. I am not giving tax advice — I am telling you that “zero fees” does not mean “no consequences”, and that this is worth checking against your own jurisdiction.
Support hours, response times and the dispute process are not stated. That is the first thing I would ask before I put real money through.
What to take instead
None of these is a BenPay Alpha substitute in every respect — one of them scores higher on cost, none matches the self-custody, fee-free model. They are here so you can see how the category compares, not as endorsements.
| Alternative | Score | Who can get it | Cost shape | Top-up |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| BenPay Alpha | 7.4 / 10 | Claimed open to everyone; 14 restricted countries in starting data, unconfirmed | 0 monthly, 0 annual, 0 top-up, 0 conversion; FX not stated; unofficial refundable 20 USDT | USDC or USDT on ETH, BSC, Base, Optimism; self-custody |
| BloFin Wallet Card | 6.9 / 10 | Country list not published on the card page; starting data lists 35 countries including the US, Australia, Japan, UAE, Brazil, Mexico, Malaysia, New Zealand | Activation, annual, issuance and dormancy all $0.00; spend fee from 1.00% down to 0.00% by VIP tier; FX not stated | USDT and USDC on Arbitrum and Base |
| Decaf | 6.2 / 10 | Explicit restricted-country list including Russia and Belarus; restricted US states listed; citizenship vs residence not stated | Virtual $5, physical $10 US / $90 rest of world; no annual or monthly fee; no added FX fee | Pay by card, bank transfer or USDC; app on Solana and Stellar; which coins top up the card is not stated |
| SafePal | 6.2 / 10 | “Citizens of supported regions who live in supported areas”; the regions page was empty when fetched | No account or management fees; 1% FX on Mastercard non-USD; refunds 1 USD/EUR/CHF/7 CNH; swaps carry a spread | Crypto from 40+ blockchains to USDC or fiat; transactions on Arbitrum |
The trade-offs are legible once you lay them out. BloFin publishes its whole fee ladder — 1.00% at VIP 0 down to 0.00% at VIP 5 — which is more transparency than BenPay offers, and the spend fee is charged at payment. Decaf is the most transparent of the three on eligibility, with a named restricted-country list and named restricted US states, and it adds no FX fee of its own because it uses Visa’s rate; but it charges to open the card, up to $90 for a physical card outside the US, and its conversion fee is not stated. SafePal publishes more of its internal costs than anyone else here — the 1% FX, the refund fee, the spread on swaps — but its region list did not load for me, which is a warning in itself, and a top-up from as low as 0.4% on the top tier still beats nothing only in comparison.
None of the three offers what BenPay’s fee sheet claims: a self-custodial balance and zero conversion fee together. If that combination is why you are here, the honest read is that your alternatives all cost you something in either fees, access, or paperwork.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend this card to one specific person: someone who already runs a self-custodial wallet, holds USDC or USDT, spends in dollars or in a currency they can live with, and is comfortable being the last line of defence for their own funds. For that person the fee structure is genuinely better than anything else in this comparison, and a virtual Visa with Apple Pay and Google Pay is a real tool.
I would not recommend it to someone who needs a physical card, needs cash from an ATM, needs to be certain about which documents they will be asked for, or needs to name the institution that stands behind their balance. I would not recommend it to anyone who wants an app with an address, a phone number and a dispute process, because none of those is published.
And I would not recommend it as the only card anyone holds. The reasons are the ones above: an unnamed issuer, a claimed licence rather than a named one, no reviews in either direction, and a physical card that did not work at the time of my check. A virtual card that costs nothing to try, funded with an amount you could afford to lose if the programme disappeared, is a reasonable experiment. The same card holding everything you have is a different proposition, and I would not write that review.
Frequently asked questions
What is the BenPay Alpha card?
The BenPay Alpha card is a virtual Visa card that spends a stablecoin balance. You hold USDC or USDT in your own self-custodial wallet, and the card converts what you need when you pay. BenPay describes zero monthly fee, zero annual fee, zero top-up fee and zero crypto-to-fiat conversion fee. A physical card and ATM withdrawals were described as coming soon and were not working when I checked.
How does the BenPay Alpha card work in practice?
You create an account with a Google or Apple account through zkLogin, complete a two-step application, and receive a virtual card on the Visa Global Network. You top it up by sending USDC or USDT from your own wallet on Ethereum, BSC, Base or Optimism. At payment the card converts crypto to fiat and spends the balance. Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported, and Alipay and WeChat Pay are described as bindable.
Does the BenPay Alpha card require KYC?
Unclear, and this is the single biggest question to resolve yourself. BenPay’s own Medium posts of May 2025 say “No KYC” for the BenPay Card generally. But an undated user post says Alpha requires full KYC with an ID document, and ChainCatcher reported in December 2024 that Platinum requires “necessary KYC”. The card’s public pages do not state which level Alpha sits at.
Is the BenPay Alpha card free?
According to the card’s own May 2025 posts, yes in the main: zero monthly fee, zero annual fee, zero top-up fee and zero crypto-to-fiat conversion. Two things could change that picture. The FX fee is not stated, so an exchange rate can still cost you. And an undated user post mentions a refundable 20 USDT deposit held against failed transactions and disputes.
Who owns and issues the BenPay Alpha card?
The app is published by Wuben Inc., BenPay claims a US FinCEN MSB licence, and my starting data names BenFen Inc. The card issuer is not named anywhere I could confirm. This matters because the issuer is normally the licensed bank or e-money institution behind the balance, while the crypto brand is often just the programme manager and front end. Ask who the issuer is before depositing.
Which countries can use the BenPay Alpha card?
BenPay’s Medium posts of May 2025 describe the card as open to everyone, with no country list published. My starting data listed 14 restricted countries, Russia and Belarus among them, but I could not confirm that on a readable official page. Country restrictions are a legal matter and can apply by citizenship as well as by address, so a card that works technically in your location is not the same as authorisation to use it.
Is the BenPay Alpha card safe to use?
The self-custody design is a genuine strength: no custodian holds your funds, which removes the counterparty risk that broke Mt. Gox, Coincheck and Ronin. The cost is that you carry all the risk yourself — key loss, phishing, and irreversible transfers have no recovery path. Beyond that, I found no reviews at all on Trustpilot or Reddit, and the issuer is unnamed. Safe enough to experiment with, in my view, not established enough to rely on.
How do I add the BenPay Alpha card to Apple Wallet?
Support for Apple Pay is stated, so the usual route applies: add the virtual card in the wallet app and confirm it with the bank’s or provider’s verification step, which is normally a one-time code or a biometric check. The card does not publish its own instructions for this. One thing to know is that adding to Apple Pay replaces the card number with a device-specific number stored in the phone’s secure hardware, which is why a provider can restrict the tokenised version for phone, website or magnetic-stripe use.
Can I withdraw cash or money out of the BenPay Alpha card?
Not with the card you have today. ATM withdrawals need the physical card, which BenPay described as coming soon in May 2025 and which did not work at the time of my check. Whether money can be withdrawn from the card balance back to a wallet is simply not stated on the card’s public pages. Assume the balance is for spending until the provider tells you otherwise.
Is the BenPay Alpha card worth it?
For someone already holding USDC or USDT in self-custody, the fee numbers are the best in this comparison and that is a real advantage. For everyone else, the reasons to hesitate come first: an unnamed issuer, no published FX rate, conflicting statements about identity checks, no physical card, and no reviews in either direction. It is worth experimenting with a small balance. It is not yet worth restructuring how you hold money.
Highest-scored wallet cards – cryptocardbest.com
Content created by the «cryptocardbest.com» team
