The card is gone, the balances may not be

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only

If you came here wondering whether the BitMart card is worth getting, the honest answer is that the question no longer applies in the way you expected. BitMart announced a phased shutdown of its platform in July 2026, with trading winding down and the platform itself slated to cease operations in early 2027. The card was not issued as an independent product with its own future; it was a front-end onto an exchange balance. When the exchange goes, so does the card. I have read through the card’s own pages, the platform’s announcements, and the user complaints that piled up afterwards, and I want to give you a straight picture rather than a product page that was still live when the announcement landed.

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
The BitMart card programme no longer issues new cards

This matters most to a specific group: existing BitMart cardholders with a balance sitting on the card. If you are one of them, the practical sections below — what happened and what to do — matter more than anything else on this page. If you are shopping for a crypto card for the first time, read the verdict, skip to what to take instead, and you will save yourself an afternoon.

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict: 3.7 out of 10, and the score is mostly about timing

The score is 3.7 / 10. Let me be clear about what that number is and is not saying. The BitMart card was, on its own design, a reasonable everyday card: it was cheap to hold, cheap to open, worked wherever Visa works, and spent a crypto balance without the holder having to think about it. Judged purely as a product, in a different month, it might have scored higher. But a review is not a review of a product that could have existed; it is a review of what you can actually do today. And today, the most important thing about this card is not its 1.3% transaction fee or its cashback tiers — it is that the programme is closing and the money on it is in question.

The single heaviest mark is the one on reliability and complaints, and it is not close to the others. A card is a promise that a shop’s money will be accepted and your money will be there. When the issuer behind that promise is winding down, delays withdrawals, and goes quiet, the promise is not kept. That is what the record shows, and it is why the card’s future usefulness, not its past design, sets the score.

Let me be equally clear about who should read this as a warning and who should read it as an instruction. If you already hold a BitMart card with money on it, this page is not a reason to panic; it is a reason to find out exactly where your balance sits and start moving it through the correct channel, because the platform’s own deadlines are the thing that now governs your timeline. If you do not hold one, this page is a reason to look elsewhere. There is no version of this card that I can recommend you start today.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 0 / 10 The platform is being wound down: phased closure announced 26 July, trading to 26 August, platform running to 31 January 2027; not confirmed on official pages
Cost 5 / 10 Issuance: virtual 0 USD, plastic 70 USD, Platinum 120 USD; annual fee 0, transaction fee 1.3%, ATM 2% or 1.5%
Top-up options 7 / 10 USDT, USDC, BTC, ETH, SOL, ADA, BMX, XRP, LTC, DOGE, TON, BNB from the BitMart balance, networks not named
Reliability and complaints 1 / 10 Platform closure, withdrawal delays, Trustpilot 2.3/5 from 2,915 reviews, silent support; issuer not named
Everyday use 8 / 10 Virtual, plastic and metal Visa, Google Pay for the virtual card, ATMs on the physical cards; Apple Pay not mentioned
Total 3.7 / 10 A capable card attached to a platform that is closing

Read that table row by row and you can see how the total was built. The card’s daily life — the 8 out of 10 — was genuinely fine. The cost, at 5, was fine. The top-up breadth, at 7, was good. But those are all descriptions of a product. The two ends of the table are about whether you could get it at all and whether you could rely on it, and both of those have collapsed. In a card review, reliability is not one criterion among several; it is the floor everything else stands on, and a 1 out of 10 there caps the whole thing regardless of how nice the cashback is.

One more thing before you go further, because it affects who this page is even for. BitMart’s own card pages said “all BitMart users can apply” and that the card works at Visa merchants worldwide. I could not find a country list on the official card page. Third-party sites disagree wildly: some say the card covered 115+ countries at launch, one lists 183 available and 10 restricted countries including the US, UK, Netherlands, Russia and Ukraine, while another report says it expanded to all 50 US states in early 2026, which would make the restricted list out of date. None of this is confirmed by the card. It is all unofficial, and it is all beside the point now, because the answer to “can I get this card in my country” is no everywhere. That question is answered, and it is answered the same way for everyone.

What happened to the programme

Here is the timeline, and this is the part to read twice. Everything else on this page is commentary; this is the fact pattern.

So the shape of it is: warning, then restriction, then a hard cut-off for users to act, then the lights go off. That is a fairly standard wind-down sequence for a platform winding down, but “fairly standard” is cold comfort when it is your money on the balance.

Two things I want to flag about what is *not* in that timeline, because silence in a shutdown is often the thing that hurts people. First, I did not find a specific official incident on the fetched pages about the card itself — there were no card-specific complaints in the record. The complaints are about the exchange account the card spends from, not about the plastic. Second, and more importantly, I found no mention of the BitMart Card in the platform’s withdrawal guidance. The general-user withdrawal deadline and the platform end date are stated; the card is not called out as having its own path. If you hold card funds, do not assume the card’s own support channel will walk you through it — the platform’s announcement is the anchor, and you should work from that.

There was also a public exchange about the founder’s role. Forklog reported the founder denying misappropriating user funds. I found no official regulatory action. I am not going to adjudicate that here — it is not my place and it is not my evidence — but you should know the conversation happened, and that the practical facts above are the same regardless of who is right.

If you already have the card: where your money sits and what to do

This is the most urgent section on the page, so I am putting the practical picture first. The BitMart card was custodial. Your assets sit in the BitMart exchange account, and the card is tied to that balance — the card is a view onto your exchange money, not a separate pot you can drain independently. That single fact governs everything about what you do next: to get your money out, you are interacting with the exchange account, and the exchange’s deadlines and review process are what apply, not a card-side “withdraw to my card” button.

On the card’s own terms, there was no stated withdrawal method or fee for the card balance on the card page, so I cannot tell you from the card’s documentation exactly how a card-specific withdrawal worked or cost. What I can tell you is the platform context, which is not official but is the reality users describe: withdrawals may be held for review, with checks around KYC, the source of funds, address ownership, travel-rule obligations and sanctions. The general-user deadline to submit withdrawals was 26 August 2026, and platform operations are planned to end 31 January 2027. The BitMart Card is not mentioned in that guidance. Plan on the exchange timeline, not a card timeline.

So, what should a holder actually do? I am going to lay out the reasoning, not step-by-step instructions to work around any rule, because the honest position is that there is no shortcut and anyone promising you one is selling something. The logic is simply: you have a balance and a shrinking timeline, so you establish where the balance is, you make sure your verification is complete so nothing stalls on documents later, and you submit your withdrawal through the official channel before the general-user deadline. Those are the same moves everyone in a wind-down has to make. I would not add to them any urgency you do not feel from your own situation — but I would not ignore the dates either.

Before you do any of that, it is worth knowing the limits you were operating under, because they shape what a “withdrawal” even means here. On the card, the daily limits were tiered: the virtual card 10,000 USD, the plastic BitMart Card 50,000 USD, and the metal Platinum unlimited. Monthly limits were not stated. If you were pushing large balances, you were relying on the Platinum tier or on the platform side, and that is exactly the region where review friction shows up first.

The ATM and fee picture, for completeness: the virtual card had no ATM access. The plastic charged a 2% withdrawal fee; the Platinum charged 1.5%, the lowest of the three. The site banner mentioned a fee-free ATM allowance “up to 1000U”, and the homepage spoke of free ATM withdrawals of 200–1,000 USD per month with 2% after, though the exact conditions were unclear. Only ATMs carrying the Visa logo would work. Unofficial sources went further — some launch coverage claimed unlimited ATM withdrawals per year, and one site tied free ATM allowances to VIP status — but none of that is confirmed by the card. It hardly matters now, because withdrawing from an ATM during a platform wind-down is a slow way to move money when the platform’s own withdrawal deadline is the thing that governs you. Use the exchange channel.

One practical point about card-specific problems: I found no dispute or chargeback section on the card page, and no stated route for disputing a card transaction. If a charge on your card is wrong, do not assume the chargeback machinery of an ordinary bank card applies cleanly to a prepaid card on a closing platform — prepaid-card coverage varies and should not be assumed. That is a real limitation to be aware of if you find an unfamiliar charge.

What can go wrong

Let me group the risks by how likely they feel and how much they would hurt, because “risky” is not a useful word on its own.

The first and largest risk is the one you cannot influence: the platform is closing. Your card’s continued usefulness and your ability to liquidate your balance both depend on a company that has announced it is shutting the exchange down. Everything else on this list is smaller than that.

The second is withdrawal friction. This is the risk the complaints actually document. Trustpilot shows 2.3 out of 5 from 2,915 reviews, 66 of them in the last 12 months. The user themes that recur: withdrawals blocked or failed after the wind-down announcement; support going silent for anywhere from a week to a month; deposits not credited, or still being accepted after the platform was already suspended; and some users reporting no direct notice of the closure at all. One reviewer reported 280,000 USD blocked and a Hungarian company with roughly 80,000 USD unreleased since 26 July. An older third-party snapshot had the rating around 3.1/5 with 2,953 reviews, so the picture has been drifting downward. I want to be careful here — fraud allegations appear in the reviews and I have not verified them, so I am not repeating them as fact. What I am reporting is the pattern: money held, support slow to absent.

The third is the one people forget until it bites: verification. This card required Identity Verification Level 2, with extra documents possible and proof of address required. Age was not stated on the page. If your verification is incomplete, a wind-down is the worst possible time to be in that position, because the platform’s willingness to process a withdrawal for an unverified account is exactly what tends to stall. Separately, in the general regulatory frame, if due diligence cannot be completed, rules require the institution to hold off on the transaction or relationship and, where necessary, close existing relationships — which is why accounts freeze pending documents even with no bad intent on anyone’s part.

The fourth risk is structural, and it is not BitMart-specific. The card was custodial: your crypto sat in the exchange account, not in a wallet you control. That means your money’s safety depends entirely on the provider’s solvency and security. The history of custodial platforms is not encouraging — Mt. Gox, Coincheck and Ronin Network are the standard references. But I would add a specific point for anyone still holding a balance: the danger is not only theft, it is freezing. A provider under review or winding down can freeze balances for reasons that have nothing to do with fraud, and the customer’s remedy is a complaint to a company that may no longer have staff to answer it.

The fifth is the quiet one: you may not be told things directly. The reviews include users saying they got no direct notice of the closure. That is a pattern, not an official admission, but it is a reasonable thing to design around — which means checking the platform’s own announcements yourself, periodically, rather than relying on an email you might miss. The most reliable way to stay updated on the wind-down timeline is to check the platform’s official announcements directly.

On fees and cost, for balance rather than alarm: the card charged a 1.3% transaction fee on all card types, converted your balance to USD at the real-time rate at the moment of purchase, and had no annual fee. Virtual issuance was free; plastic 70 USD; Platinum 120 USD. Those numbers are fine as numbers. They are irrelevant now, because a low fee on a card you cannot keep using is not a saving.

What to take instead

None of these are a like-for-like replacement for what the BitMart card promised, and I will not pretend otherwise. They are the other cards in this category that I looked at, and they are here so you have somewhere to go. The differences between them matter more than their scores, so I want to walk through what actually differs.

MSX scored 6.4 out of 10, the highest of the group. I have to be blunt about the reason: on the official pages I could read, its card details — who can get it, the card itself, cost, fees, funding, rewards — were not stated. A higher score built on missing information is not confidence; it is a gap. I would not switch to it on the strength of a number alone.

Bybit Card scored 6.0 and is the most fully documented of the three, which makes it the most useful to compare against, even though “most documented” is not “best”. Here is what stands out. It has both virtual and physical cards, with region-by-region differences that are frankly a lot to hold in your head: Mastercard prepaid in Argentina, Mastercard credit cards across several regions, Visa prepaid in Brazil and Peru, Visa credit in Asia Pacific; the physical card is not available in Peru and cards roll out in phases. It draws not on a card balance of its own but on your Funding Account and Flexible Easy Earn, taking fiat first and selling crypto only if the fiat falls short — which is a meaningfully different model from the BitMart card, and one that does not strand your money on a card balance. On cost, virtual issuance is free “until further notice” and the page says “no annual fees”, with physical issuance varying by region. Its fee structure is the part to read carefully: a crypto conversion fee on top of the exchange rate, plus a separate foreign-exchange fee on international purchases, and in Argentina a stack of taxes. Rewards are tiered and, since October 2026, only crypto-funded transactions earn them.

What stands out most for someone in the BitMart situation is Bybit’s country clarity. The help centre lists its card regions explicitly, the application asks your country of residence, and the cards page states plainly that the product is not meant for European Economic Area customers and that EEA participation is strictly prohibited. That kind of explicit, current, official statement about who is and is not covered is precisely what the BitMart card page never gave you, and it is worth something on its own.

MEXC scored 5.6. It is virtual-card-only — physical cards were not yet available — with an issuance fee around 20 USD, and you fund it by transferring USDT to the fiat account first. Its cashback is tiered by M-Score and paid by the 15th of the following month.

Here is the comparison at a glance. I have deliberately left cells as “not stated” rather than filling them with guesses, because the empties are themselves information — they tell you what these providers have and have not chosen to tell you.

Card Score Card types Who can get it Key strengths Key weaknesses
BitMart (closed) 3.7 / 10 Virtual, plastic, metal Visa Not stated on card page; programme closed Was cheap, 0 annual fee, broad crypto funding Platform closing; withdrawals delayed; issuer not named
MSX 6.4 / 10 Not stated officially Not stated on official pages I could read — Core details not stated officially
Bybit Card 6.0 / 10 Virtual and physical, varies by region Listed card regions; EEA excluded Best-documented; funds from exchange account, not a stranded card balance; explicit country rules Tiered rewards for crypto-funded transactions only; region-specific fees and taxes
MEXC 5.6 / 10 Virtual only Page lists countries incl. Philippines, Taiwan, Thailand with a details link Tiered cashback by M-Score No physical card; funding via USDT to fiat account first

If you take one thing from this table, take this: the difference between these cards is less about fees and more about where your money sits while you use them. Bybit’s model keeps your balance in the exchange account you already control and spends from that. The BitMart card and its predecessors strand value on the card itself. In a stable year, that distinction is a footnote. In a year when a platform announces it is shutting, it is the whole ballgame.

Who I would recommend it to

Let me split this by who is reading, because “who is this for” has a very different answer depending on whether you already have the card.

If you already hold a BitMart card with a balance on it: this is not a recommendation question, it is a housekeeping one, and it is time-sensitive. I would tell you to treat the platform’s own deadlines as the governing timeline, confirm your verification is complete, locate your balance on the exchange rather than assuming the card is a separate pool, and submit any withdrawal through the official channel well ahead of the general-user deadline. Do not route money through an ATM, and do not treat a low fee or a high cashback tier as a reason to keep spending to “use up” the balance — the goal is to move it, not to churn it. Above all, do not assume a card-side support channel exists to rescue a card-side problem; the record suggests support was already going silent before the wind-down finished.

If you are considering the BitMart card as a new product: my advice is not to. The card is not being issued, the platform behind it is closing, and there is no scenario in which applying today is the right move. Save your time and read the alternatives above.

If you are simply after a crypto card in general: the honest framing is that this category is now mostly a question of which exchange you already trust with your money, because all these cards are custodial views onto a provider’s balance, not independent banking. Before you pick, ask three things. Who actually holds the balance, and is that entity named? What happens to my money if this provider decides to stop? And what does the card cost me to hold and to spend, in total, including the exchange rate and any FX fee on top? A card that looks generous on paper can be quietly expensive once you count the conversion rate and the foreign-exchange markup on a foreign-issued card. If a provider will not tell you the issuer or clearly state who holds your funds, that is itself the answer.

And the underlying caution, which applies to everything on this page: crypto cards carry the counterparty risk of the platform and the settlement risk of the network simultaneously. It is not bank deposit insurance. If you would not leave a meaningful amount of money with the platform itself, do not put it on the platform’s card either. The BitMart case is not an argument against crypto cards; it is an argument for noticing, early and honestly, when the provider underneath one stops being a going concern. That signal was there in July 2026. This page exists so that next time, you will be reading the announcement with that in mind.

Frequently asked questions

What is the BitMart card?

The BitMart card was a Visa payment card linked to a balance in your BitMart exchange account. It came in virtual, plastic and metal versions and spent crypto held on that account, converting the balance to USD at the moment of purchase. It was a front-end onto an exchange balance, not an independent bank account, which is why the platform’s wind-down decided the card’s fate rather than anything the card itself decided.

How does the BitMart card work?

You hold crypto in your BitMart account, and when you pay with the card the balance converts to USD in real time at the purchase, and a 1.3% transaction fee applies. Daily limits were tiered: 10,000 USD for the virtual card, 50,000 USD for plastic, unlimited for Platinum. The card worked at Visa merchants worldwide, and the virtual card could be added to Google Pay; Apple Pay was not mentioned.

Is BitMart a bank?

No. BitMart is a cryptocurrency exchange platform that also offered a card, and the card’s own pages did not name the issuing entity, legal entity or any licence. That is an important gap, because a card’s usefulness and your protections come from the institution behind it, and here that institution was not identified in the official documentation.

Who owns BitMart?

I could not establish ownership from official pages I could read, and I am not going to guess at it. What is documented in the public record is the wind-down itself: a phased shutdown announced 26 July 2026, trading ending 26 August, and platform operations planned to cease 31 January 2027, alongside a report that the founder denied misappropriating user funds. For any question that turns on who is on the other side of a balance, check the register of authorised crypto-asset service providers in your jurisdiction rather than relying on a review.

Can I use the BitMart card in my country?

You could not get the card at all now, so this question has one answer everywhere. For the record, the card page itself did not publish a country list, only that all BitMart users could apply. Third-party sites disagreed — one cited 115+ countries, another listed 183 available and 10 restricted — and none of that is confirmed by the card. It is moot.

How do I withdraw money from BitMart?

If you hold a balance, work from the platform’s announcement rather than the card. Withdrawals may be held for review around KYC, source of funds, address ownership and sanctions checks, the general-user deadline to submit them was 26 August 2026, and operations are planned to end 31 January 2027. The card’s own documentation stated no card-specific withdrawal method or fee, so do not rely on one existing.

Does the BitMart card require KYC?

Yes — it required Identity Verification Level 2, with extra documents possible and proof of address required; age was not stated. If you are mid-wind-down, an incomplete verification is the most likely thing to stall a withdrawal, so treat finishing verification as the first order of business rather than a formality.

Is the BitMart card safe?

Safe is not one question. As a product it was unremarkable: a custodial card spending an exchange balance, which means your money’s safety depended on the exchange, not the card. The specific risk here is that the exchange is closing — reviews describe held withdrawals, silent support and frozen funds, and Trustpilot shows 2.3/5 from 2,915 reviews. Treat any balance still on the platform as needing to be moved, carefully and on official channels.

Is the BitMart card worth it?

For a new applicant, the question is moot because the card is closed and the platform is winding down. For someone already holding one, “worth it” was never really the point — the point is moving your balance safely before the deadlines. Neither cashback tier nor the low transaction fee changes that; a good rate on a card you cannot keep is not a benefit.

What should I use instead of the BitMart card?

The alternatives I looked at are MSX (6.4/10, but with most card details not stated officially), Bybit Card (6.0/10, the best-documented, with explicit region lists and funds drawn from your exchange account rather than a stranded card balance), and MEXC (5.6/10, virtual-only, funded via USDT). Whichever you consider, check who holds the balance and whether they are named, before you look at any cashback rate.

Content created by the «cryptocardbest.com» team