The Phantom Cash card in one clear-eyed pass

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only

The Phantom Cash card is a virtual prepaid Visa debit card that spends the balance of a CASH account inside the Phantom wallet. For people who already hold dollar stablecoins in Phantom and want to spend them like ordinary money, it does one thing neatly. For everyone else — and it is worth saying this at the start — it comes with real limits on who can hold it, thin official detail about fees, and no cash machine. I gave it a 5.3 out of 10.

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
Phantom Cash works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

The conditions described below are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict: 5.3 out of 10, and a very specific fit

My score is not a rounding of something warmer. Phantom Cash works best for one narrow group: US residents, outside New York, who already sit on dollar stablecoins inside Phantom and are content to spend that stored balance through a virtual card in a phone wallet. For that person it is a tidy little bridge between a crypto balance and everyday spending. For anyone hoping for a normal-feeling bank card — a physical card in the post, a card that works at any cash machine, a card that is welcome in a shop in another country — it falls short, sometimes hard.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Phantom Cash starts with a transfer to the right network

Here is how the marks break down, criterion by criterion, exactly as I scored them.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 4 / 10 United States only, excluding New York, by place of residence
Cost 7 / 10 Officially, fees are not disclosed; unofficial: issuance, replacement and inactivity free, top-ups free, international transaction 1% + $0.30
Top-up options 4 / 10 Card spends the CASH balance; top-up via Apple Pay, Google Pay, debit card or bank; withdrawal to bank or Solana wallet; direct crypto top-up is not named
Reliability and complaints 6 / 10 Issuer Lead Bank, programme manager Bridge Ventures LLC, Stripe; virtual card is being replaced as the issuer changes, no dates; no complaints found
Everyday use 5 / 10 Virtual Visa only, Apple Wallet and Google Wallet; unofficial: no ATM
Total 5.3 / 10

Two numbers in that table are worth pausing on, because they are the ones that decide this card for most people. Eligibility is 4 out of 10 — not because the process is hard, but because the door is narrow: US only, no New York. And top-up options are also 4, because the card spends a stored CASH balance that you fill through the ordinary rails (Apple Pay, Google Pay, a debit card, a bank account), not by handing it crypto directly. If your mental picture was “my tokens, straight onto the card,” this is not that card yet.

Where it earns its keep is cost (7/10) and reliability (6/10). On cost, the official line is thin — the card says only that “fees may apply” and points to its Cardholder Agreement — but the third-party numbers are gentle: no issuance fee, no replacement fee, no inactivity fee, free cash loads, free US purchases, and 1% + $0.30 on international transactions. On reliability, the structure is conventional (a bank issues under Visa’s licence, a programme manager runs it, Stripe processes it), the one live wobble is a planned issuer change that will require you to re-add the card to your phone wallet, and I found no Phantom-specific complaints.

Who will they give you the card

United States only, and not New York. That is the official rule, and it is based on where you live, not on citizenship or on where your money sits. If you are reading this from outside the US, the honest answer is that this card is not offered to you. If you are in the US but in New York State, same answer. This is the single hardest constraint on the card, and it is why the eligibility mark is a 4 and not higher.

So if you are weighing Phantom Cash against other options, the eligibility question is likely to answer itself before the fee question ever comes up.

How to get it

Getting the virtual card runs through identity verification via Link, and applicants must be 18 or over. The marketing page frames it slightly differently — it says verification is handled by Stripe for the three rails that matter most: bank transfers, direct deposit, and the debit card. The sequence it describes is simple: fund the Cash balance, verify your identity, get the virtual card, then add it to Apple Wallet or Google Wallet. Proof of address is not stated.

It helps to be precise about what verification is and is not required. KYC — the full identity-verification regime — is not required for Phantom or Phantom Cash in general. Identity verification is required specifically for bank transfers, direct deposit, and the debit card, and it is those three features that sit behind it. The verification levels, how long they take, and the reasons a check might be rejected are not stated on the pages I read, so if a verification stalls, that is not something I can explain from the public material.

The card itself is a virtual prepaid Visa debit that works wherever Visa is accepted. There is no physical card; the card delivery section is not stated, because as far as the public pages go, a physical card simply is not part of the offer. The currency is USD in practice — it follows from the CASH stablecoin the balance sits in — though the card’s own currency is not stated outright.

Fees: what it really costs

Here is the thing you need to hold in your head as you read this section: the card’s own public pages do not itemise its fees. They say fees may apply and defer to the Cardholder Agreement. The monthly fee, the detailed conversion terms, the ATM terms — none of them are stated on the pages I read. That is a genuine gap in the official information, and I am not going to paper over it with estimates.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Phantom Cash payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

What I can give you is a clear table separating what is official from what is unofficial, because a third-party card-details page (DeFiLlama, data last verified in September 2026, though partly carried forward from an older dataset) does publish specific numbers. Treat every unofficial line as unofficial.

Fee or limit Value Source
Issuance fee No fee Unofficial
Replacement fee No fee Unofficial
Inactivity fee No fee Unofficial
Cash loads Free Unofficial
US purchases Free Unofficial
International transaction 1% + $0.30 Unofficial
Monthly fee not stated —
Conversion fee detail not stated; stablecoin trades described as fee-free —
ATM withdrawal No; ATM fee not disclosed Unofficial
Daily spending limit $2,000 by default, up to $5,000 on request Unofficial
Monthly limit not disclosed Unofficial

The word “not stated” appears twice for a reason. There is no officially published monthly fee figure, and there is no officially published conversion schedule — the card only describes stablecoin trades as fee-free, which tells you the swap itself is not where the cost sits. And there is no published FX markup beyond the unofficial 1% + $0.30 on international transactions.

Let me walk a few everyday payments through this table so the numbers mean something.

If you are outside the US, the fees are almost beside the point — you cannot hold the card in the first place.

How to top it up

Topping up does not mean sending crypto to the card. The card spends the balance of the Cash account, which is denominated in CASH, and that Cash balance is funded through the ordinary payment rails: Apple Pay, Google Pay, a debit card, or a bank account, depending on your region. Fees on those loads are not stated (the unofficial figures say cash loads are free), and no minimum is stated. Trades within the stablecoin side are described as fee-free.

Getting money back out is possible too: Cash can be withdrawn to a US bank account, or to a Solana wallet. The fees and timing on withdrawal are not stated on the pages I read, and neither is what happens to the balance if you close the account. If you are planning to move meaningful sums, those two unknowns are worth asking the Help Center about directly before you commit.

So the mental model is: this is a prepaid balance you fill from your bank or phone wallet, and empty either back to the bank or onto Solana. It is not a card you load directly from an exchange or from a self-custody wallet, at least not according to anything the public pages say.

Paying with it every day

Day to day, the card lives in your phone. It can be added to Apple Wallet and Google Wallet, and it is available in the Phantom mobile app. The app’s platform list and store ratings are not stated on these pages. Any categories the card is restricted from — gambling, say, or another category — are not stated either.

Two things about the money itself. There is no card cashback mentioned; instead, the pitch around holding CASH is that it earns passive income without lockups, though no rate is given, so I would not build a yield story on it. And if something goes wrong with a payment, Stripe handles disputes for debit card transactions — but the process and the time frames are not stated, which is exactly the detail you would want before you rely on it.

Stripped to its essentials: this card is for spending the stored balance through a phone wallet, in the US, on everyday purchases, with cash-machine spending simply not on the table.

What can go wrong

The most concrete live issue is not a disaster, it is an inconvenience with a date that hasn’t been given. Phantom’s own Help Center carries a notice that your virtual debit card “is being replaced as we move to a new card issuer,” and users will need to add the replacement to Apple Wallet or Google Wallet. No dates are published for the switch. Today the chain is Lead Bank as issuer, Bridge Ventures LLC as programme manager, and Stripe processing transactions and disputes — and that arrangement “is to change” with the new issuer. So expect to re-add the card to your wallet at some point, with a gap where the old card stops working and no published date to plan around.

Beyond that switch, there are structural things worth weighing, and I want to be straight with you about which are the card’s fault and which are just how this kind of card works.

On the positive side of this section, I want to be fair: I searched for user complaints and found no Trustpilot or Reddit complaints specific to Phantom Cash, and no Phantom-specific user reports or news problems. That is not the same as a perfect track record — it is a thin one — but it is not a card with a public complaint pile either.

What to take instead

If Phantom Cash’s narrow fit bothers you, the honest move is to compare it against cards that solve a different part of the problem. Here are three I looked at, and why each might suit you better.

BloFin Wallet Card — score 6.9 / 10. The most obvious upgrade if the thing you want is a country list rather than a US-only door. The starting data lists 35 countries including the US, Australia, Japan, the UAE, Brazil, Mexico, Malaysia and New Zealand, though the card page itself just says “select your country or region” and the list is not published there, and it is not stated whether eligibility follows citizenship or residence. On money: activation, annual, issuance and dormancy fees are each $0.00, and cancellation is free. The catch is spend: the fee is “1% or lower” by VIP tier, from 1.00% at VIP 0 down to 0.00% at VIP 5, charged at the point of payment — so you pay a percentage on every purchase instead of nothing on US purchases. You top up with USDT and USDC on Arbitrum and Base, and there is no cashback, just a reduced spend rate by tier.

Decaf — score 6.2 / 10. Wider in a different way, with an explicit restricted list: not issued in Belarus, China, North Korea, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Cuba, Ukraine, Venezuela, Vietnam, Nicaragua, Puerto Rico, Nigeria, and not in the restricted US states of Arizona, Delaware, Georgia, Idaho, Louisiana, Maryland, Montana, Ohio, Oregon, Rhode Island and Washington. The free part is good: no annual or monthly fee, and the FX rate is the one Visa offers, with Decaf adding nothing. But you pay to start — $5 for the virtual card worldwide, $10 for the physical card in the US, $90 for the physical card elsewhere. It offers both a virtual and a tracked physical card, which Phantom Cash does not, and you can pay a Decaf payment link or account details by card, bank transfer or USDC. What funds the card balance directly is not stated.

SafePal — score 6.2 / 10. The pick if you want to load crypto directly rather than through Apple Pay. You can fund it from 40+ blockchains, converted to USDC by default or to fiat, with transactions on Arbitrum. It is a virtual Mastercard debit, and its limits are quoted in euros. On fees there is a mix: standard top-up 0%, a 1% FX fee on Mastercard non-USD settlement, a $1 / €1 / CHF1 / 7 CNH refund-processing fee, and swaps that include an unquantified spread — though another page on the same site says crypto top-up “as low as 0.4%” on the top tier. No cashback; instead referral commissions up to 40% of referred top-up fees and tier privileges tied to deposits, referrals and SFP staking. One caveat to flag honestly: the card requires you to be a “citizen of a supported region who lives in a supported area,” and the regions list on the site was empty when I fetched it, so I cannot tell you where that leaves you.

The pattern across all four is the one worth remembering: the cards that let you load crypto directly (BloFin, SafePal) charge you something on every spend, and the card that is cheap to spend (Phantom Cash) takes its balance from ordinary payment rails and limits you to the US.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend Phantom Cash to exactly one kind of person: a US resident, living outside New York, who already keeps dollar stablecoins in Phantom, wants to spend that stored balance at ordinary shops through their phone, and is content with a virtual card, no cash machine, and a forthcoming re-add to their wallet when the issuer changes. For that person it is a sensible, low-cost bridge and I would not talk them out of it.

I would steer everyone else elsewhere. Outside the US, or in New York, it is simply not available. Inside the US but wanting a physical card, a cash machine, or a country list that includes your own, one of the alternatives above will serve you better. And if the reason you are looking at crypto cards is that a normal bank card is hard to get, that is worth being honest with yourself about — a card that only works in one country, only as a virtual number, is a narrower answer than the problem you started with.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Phantom Cash card?

It is a virtual prepaid Visa debit card that spends the balance of a CASH account inside the Phantom wallet. It works wherever Visa is accepted, and it is added to Apple Wallet or Google Wallet rather than arriving as a physical card in the post. It is a spending bridge from a stored crypto balance, not a bank account, and Phantom is explicit that it is not a bank.

How does the Phantom Cash card work?

You fund the Cash balance, which holds value in the CASH stablecoin, and the card spends that balance directly. Top-ups come through Apple Pay, Google Pay, a debit card or a bank account depending on region, not by sending crypto straight to the card. You can also withdraw Cash back to a US bank account or to a Solana wallet.

Is Phantom Cash a bank?

No, and Phantom says so itself. The card is issued by Lead Bank under Visa’s licence, with Bridge Ventures LLC as programme manager and Stripe processing transactions and disputes — but the Phantom app itself is the platform, not a bank. That distinction matters if you are wondering where your money legally sits.

Who can get the Phantom Cash card?

United States residents only, and New York State is excluded. Eligibility follows your place of residence, and applicants must be 18 or over. If you are outside the US, or in New York, this card is not for you, and no fee or feature will change that.

Does the Phantom Cash card require KYC?

Not for Phantom or Phantom Cash in general. Identity verification through Link is required specifically for bank transfers, direct deposit and the debit card, and the marketing page says Stripe handles it for those features. Proof of address is not stated, nor are the verification levels, timings or rejection reasons.

How do I top up the Phantom Cash card?

Through ordinary rails: Apple Pay, Google Pay, a debit card, or a bank account, depending on your region. Fees and any minimum are not stated on the card’s pages, though unofficial figures call cash loads free, and stablecoin trades are described as fee-free. No direct crypto top-up to the card is named in the public material.

How much does the Phantom Cash card cost?

Officially, only that fees may apply, with amounts deferred to the Cardholder Agreement — the monthly fee and conversion terms are not stated. Unofficial figures list no issuance, replacement or inactivity fee, free US purchases, and 1% + $0.30 per international transaction. Trust the unofficial label: these come from a third-party page, not from the card.

Can I use the Phantom Cash card at an ATM?

Unofficial figures say ATM withdrawals are not available on this card, and the ATM fee is not disclosed. That is a real constraint for anyone who needs physical cash, and it is the main reason the card’s everyday-use rating sits in the middle rather than higher.

Is the Phantom Cash card safe?

There is no public complaint history specific to Phantom Cash that I could find, and the money is secured on-chain as CASH with verification handled by Stripe rather than stored by Phantom. Against that: Phantom is not a bank, the balance still depends on custodial providers, and the card is mid-switch to a new issuer. Card freeze, two-factor authentication and balance insurance are not stated.

Is the Phantom Cash card worth it?

For a US resident outside New York who already holds dollar stablecoins in Phantom, the low or zero fees make it worth it. For anyone wanting a physical card, ATM access, a country list that includes them, or direct crypto top-up, it is worth comparing against alternatives — one of which loads crypto directly and simply charges a percentage on every purchase instead.

Content created by the «cryptocardbest.com» team