Pay Card: A Closed Programme in Review — What Happened and What to Do Now
If you have been searching for a way to spend crypto at ordinary shops without opening a bank account, the Pay card probably came up early in your research. You may still have the app on your phone. You may even have a balance sitting in it right now, wondering what to do with it. Here is the short version of everything I found.

The Pay card programme is closed. Prepaid card purchases through Wyre were disabled on 2022-12-05, and the last version of the app, 1.2.0, dates from 2023-02-18. No new cards are being issued through the app. This is not a card I can recommend to anyone who wants a crypto payment card today, because there is nothing to recommend — you cannot get one. The 1.8 out of 10 score below reflects that reality, not a judgment on whether the idea was sound when it launched.
Who this page is for: anyone, anywhere, who has trouble getting an ordinary bank card, or who already holds crypto and wants to spend it. Country and citizenship rules are described below exactly as the cards themselves state them, because they vary considerably between providers and you need to check your own situation against them.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict: 1.8 out of 10 — a closed programme, not a live card
Let me be direct about this one. The Pay card is not available. The programme stopped issuing cards, the payment rail that supplied them was switched off at the end of 2022, and the company that supplied it announced its wind-down in 2023. The app still exists in the App Store (UK), but its last update was in February 2023. There is no path to getting a new Pay card.
The score is low because so much of what a card review measures simply does not apply here. You cannot assess top-up options for a card that is not being issued. You cannot assess everyday spending when no cards are in circulation. And the reliability question has a definitive answer: the card supply line failed.
Here is how the score breaks down, criterion by criterion:
| Criterion | Mark | Reason |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 0 / 10 | Programme closed: prepaid card purchases via Wyre disabled 2022-12-05; last app version 1.2.0 dated 2023-02-18 |
| Cost | 5 / 10 | Not disclosed: card fees not stated; only in-app purchase is “Account on Gnosis Chain” at GBP 0.99 |
| Top-up options | 2 / 10 | Programme closed; top-up methods not disclosed; Polygon removed in version 1.1.13 |
| Reliability and complaints | 1 / 10 | Wyre card purchases disabled; Wyre announced its closure in 2023; issuer not named; App Store 5.0 from 3 ratings |
| Everyday use | 0 / 10 | No cards issued through the app; physical delivery not mentioned |
| Total | 1.8 / 10 | A closed programme with a dead card-supply line |
The one point above zero in Cost reflects that the app itself was free to download. That is a very thin consolation.
Who this card suits: almost no one, because you cannot get one. The exception is holders of the old Card Pay wallet — that is, people who already used it and may have a balance or history there. For them, the relevant question is not “should I get this card” but “what do I do with what I already have,” which is the subject of the next sections.
Who this card does not suit: anyone looking for a crypto card today, full stop. If you are starting from scratch, skip to the alternatives section and the recommendation at the end.
What happened to the programme
This is the part most worth reading, because it tells you not just that the card is gone but how it went — and that pattern repeats across the crypto card market.
The sequence, as far as the public record goes:
- On 2022-12-05 (version 1.1.12), prepaid card purchases through Wyre were disabled “until further notice.”
- In January 2023, MetaMask stopped supporting Wyre, as Wyre was reportedly closing (reported by Benzinga).
- The last app release was 2023-02-18 (version 1.2.0).
- In June 2023, Wyre announced its wind-down (reported by The Block).
One thing to be careful about here: Cardstack’s public pages do not link to any of these Wyre reports. The connection between the card programme and Wyre’s collapse is real — the cards were supplied through Wyre and that line was switched off — but the company’s own material does not tell the story in full. You are partly relying on outside reporting for the closing chapter, and you should know that.
Beyond the shutdown, most of the basic facts you would want in a card review are simply not stated. The card’s public pages do not say who can get it, what the KYC requirements were, what the card fees were, what limits applied, or which currencies were supported. The listing describes “Manage your prepaid cards” inside a DeFi payments wallet, with the network and currency not stated. There is no published fee schedule, no tier structure, no ATM or withdrawal information — because the programme is closed and the company stopped publishing.
What the app itself looked like, for the record: iOS 13.0+, macOS 11.0+ (Apple M1+), and visionOS 1.0+. The App Store (UK) rating was 5.0 from 3 ratings when I read it on 2026-10-20. Three ratings is not a meaningful sample of anything — it is a number too small to draw conclusions from. The Google Play situation is not stated.
The rewards angle: the listing mentions claiming “rewards” individually as of version 1.1.13, but the rate is not stated. Early version notes (1.0.11) mention “Reward withdrawal” bug fixes. Whether any of this still functions after closure is not something the public pages address.
The developer is CARDSTACK SERVICES PTE. LTD. on the App Store; the Cardstack homepage footer references the Cardstack Foundation. An issuer is not named, an absence worth noting, because when a card runs through an e-money institution, knowing which institution holds your funds matters.
If you already have the card
If you are reading this with a Card Pay wallet open on your phone, you are exactly the person this section is for. Here is the honest position: the public pages do not tell you what happens to a card balance after the programme closes.
That is not a reassuring answer, and I want to be clear about it rather than dress it up. Specifically, these things are not stated:
- Whether the old cards continue to work for spending
- What happens to any balance you still had loaded
- How — or whether — you can withdraw it
- Whether customer support is still operating and what channel to use
The App Store listing links no support page. It points only to the developer site and a privacy policy. So if you need to reach anyone, the developer site is the door that exists, and I cannot tell you what you will find behind it.
Here is what I would do, in order, if I were you:
- Open the app and look at your current balance before anything else. Know the number and the currency it is denominated in before you touch anything.
- Do not delete the app or the account. Deleting removes your access to whatever recovery or withdrawal path might exist. Keep it installed.
- Check whether the app still shows any withdrawal, transfer or “convert” function for your balance. If it does, move funds out to a wallet you control the keys to, if you can.
- If the app shows nothing, go to the developer site and look for a support or contact route. Write down the date you contact them and who you speak to.
- Treat any balance as potentially at risk until you have either withdrawn it or received a written statement from the company about what happens to it.
On the crypto side: the listing mentions crypto balances, and Polygon support was removed in version 1.1.13. If any of your funds sit on a Polygon address inside this wallet, that removal is relevant to you.
I want to add one honest piece of general background here, because it bears directly on your situation. Custodial platforms have a poor track record when they fail. Mt. Gox lost roughly US$350 million (reported, 2011–2014); Coincheck about US$400 million in 2018; Ronin Network US$625 million in 2022. Holding funds with a custodian carries real counterparty and hack risk. The general pattern for programme closures is that you get a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then you are asked to withdraw remaining balances. That is the shape of it, and it is why step 3 above matters.
One thing that may help you sleep slightly better: the company at least did not vanish overnight. The card supply was switched off with a version note and a date, the app kept updating for a few more months, and the shutdown of the supplier was reported publicly by outlets like Benzinga and The Block. That is not the same as an account being drained. It is, however, not the same as a guarantee either.
What can go wrong
Since the programme is closed, the honest list of risks is shorter than for a live card — but the risks that remain are the ones that matter to you right now.
Losing access to a balance you cannot withdraw. This is the live concern. The public pages say nothing about withdrawal of a card balance or what happens to it after closure. If the app and the support routes stop working while a balance remains, you have no stated path to it.
A support black hole. No support page is linked from the App Store listing — only the developer site and a privacy policy. If you need help, your only route is the company site, and no one has committed publicly to a response time.
Silent dependency on a dead supplier. The cards came through Wyre. Wyre is gone. Whatever else was built on that relationship went with it, and the company has not published a post-mortem.
No issuer named. Because the issuer is not stated in any of the material, you cannot check whether an e-money institution safeguarding your funds is involved, or look it up in a regulator’s register.
Custodial risk generally. Control of crypto belongs to whoever holds the private key. With a custodial wallet — which this largely was — the provider holds the credentials and you must trust them completely. Cryptocurrency transfers are typically irreversible, and a stolen private key has no built-in recovery: the network cannot freeze or return the funds. A seed phrase, typically 12 to 24 words, is an unencrypted form of the private key, and anyone who obtains it can restore the wallet and spend its funds.
Deposits on the wrong network. If you were mid-transfer when things shut, note that blockchain transfers are irreversible. A deposit sent on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost, or need manual recovery with no guarantee attached.
The security features that did exist. For completeness: transactions were confirmed with Touch ID or Face ID. Whether funds were self-custody is not stated. Touch ID confirms it is you paying; it does not tell you who ultimately holds the coins.
On complaints specifically: there is no Trustpilot page or Reddit thread for Card Pay that I could find. Searches on 2026-10-20 returned unrelated companies. So I cannot tell you whether holders had a good or bad experience with support in the final months — the absence of complaints data is not evidence of good service, it is just absence.
What to take instead
The Pay card’s fatal flaw is not its fees or its features; it is that the programme ended and there is no successor. What you need instead is a card that is live, issued by a named institution, with published eligibility rules and top-up methods. Here are three that fit the bill, with their own trade-offs stated honestly.
| Card | Score | Card type | Cost to open | Key limits and caveats |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| BloFin Wallet Card | 6.9 / 10 | Visa Platinum, virtual/physical not stated | Activation, annual, issuance, dormancy all $0.00 | Spend fee 1% or lower by VIP tier; FX fee not stated |
| Decaf | 6.2 / 10 | Visa, virtual or physical (physical with tracked delivery) | Virtual $5 worldwide; physical $10 US / $90 rest of world | No annual fee; Decaf adds no FX fee; crypto conversion fee not stated |
| SafePal | 6.2 / 10 | Virtual Mastercard debit | No account or management fees; issuance fee not stated | 1% FX on Mastercard non-USD settlement; swaps include an unquantified spread |
BloFin Wallet Card — the strongest of the three
At 6.9 out of 10, this is the most complete option here, and the zero fees on activation, annual, issuance and dormancy are genuinely unusual.
What you should know before applying:
- Who can get it: the country list is not published on the card page — the app simply asks you to “select your country or region.” Starting data lists 35 countries including the US, Australia, Japan, UAE, Brazil, Mexico, Malaysia and New Zealand. Whether eligibility runs on citizenship or residence is not stated, and that distinction matters if you live in one country and hold another passport.
- The card: “BloFin Wallet Visa Platinum card.” Whether it is virtual or physical is not stated, and the card currency is not stated.
- Spending costs: a spend fee of “1% or lower” depending on VIP tier — VIP 0 at 1.00%, VIP 1 at 0.90%, VIP 2 at 0.80%, VIP 3 at 0.50%, VIP 4 at 0.20%, VIP 5 at 0.00% — charged at the time of payment. The FX fee is not stated, which is the number I would want to see before committing.
- Funding: top up with USDT or USDC on Arbitrum and Base.
- Rewards: no cashback or rebates. Instead you get a reduced spend rate by tier — their phrasing is “No waiting for cashback or rebates,” which is a fair trade if you would rather save the percentage than wait for a payout.
Decaf — cheap to open, but restricted where it matters
At 6.2 out of 10, Decaf’s appeal is straightforward: no annual or monthly fee, a $5 virtual card available worldwide, and no FX fee added on top of Visa’s own rate — Decaf’s words are “the FX is the one Visa offers.”
The catch is eligibility, and here you must read carefully. Decaf is not issued in these restricted countries: Belarus, China, North Korea, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Cuba, Ukraine, Venezuela, Vietnam, Nicaragua, Puerto Rico, Nigeria. There are also restricted US states: Arizona, Delaware, Georgia, Idaho, Louisiana, Maryland, Montana, Ohio, Oregon, Rhode Island, Washington and Wisconsin. Russia and Belarus both appear on the restricted list; whether the rule is applied by citizenship or by residence is not stated. If you are in any of these places, this card is not for you.
Other details:
- The card: a Decaf Visa card, available virtual or physical, with tracked delivery for the physical version. Card currency not stated.
- Physical card cost: $10 in the US only, or $90 for the rest of the world. The $90 figure is steep and worth weighing against whether you need a physical card at all.
- Funding: you can pay a Decaf payment link or account details by card, bank transfer or USDC, and the sample balance on the page is shown in USDC. The app runs on Solana and Stellar. Which specific coins and networks top up the card itself is not stated.
- The crypto conversion fee is not stated. For a card whose whole purpose is spending crypto, that is the single number I would want confirmed.
- Rewards: not stated.
SafePal — cheapest to hold, most complicated to price
Also 6.2 out of 10. SafePal’s virtual Mastercard is free to hold — no account creation or management fees — but the costs are pushed into the transaction layer.
- Who can get it: “citizens of supported regions who live in supported areas.” The list at the SafePal regions page was empty when it was fetched, so you cannot pre-check this from the website. That is a real friction point.
- The card: a virtual Mastercard debit. Physical is not stated. Spending limits are given in EUR, tied to a Swiss Fiat24 account.
- Card issuance fee: not stated.
- Costs that are stated: standard top-up fee 0%; a 1% FX fee on Mastercard non-USD settlement; refund processing of 1 USD, EUR, CHF or 7 CNH; swaps include a spread that is not quantified. Elsewhere on their site, crypto top-up is advertised “as low as 0.4%” on the top tier — so the headline number depends on which tier you are on.
- Funding: crypto from 40+ blockchains, converted to USDC (the default) or fiat, with transactions on Arbitrum.
- Rewards: no cashback. Instead there are referral commissions of up to 40% of referred top-up fees, and tier privileges tied to deposits, referrals and SFP staking.
Comparing the three at a glance
- Lowest cost to start: BloFin (all fees $0.00), then Decaf ($5 virtual), then SafePal (no account fee, issuance not stated).
- Clearest funding route: BloFin (USDT/USDC on Arbitrum and Base) — the most specific of the three.
- Strongest fee transparency: Decaf on FX (no markup over Visa’s rate), weakest on crypto conversion (not stated).
- Most restrictions to check: Decaf, with its long restricted-country list and restricted US states.
- Highest overall score: BloFin Wallet Card, 6.9 out of 10.
Who I would recommend it to
After working through all of this, here is my honest recommendation.
If you are starting fresh: do not look for the Pay card — it does not exist as a product anymore. Look at BloFin first, because it has the highest score, the clearest funding route, and no opening or annual fees. If you want a card with no FX markup and you are not in a restricted country, Decaf is a strong second. Check SafePal only if the virtual Mastercard format specifically appeals to you and you can get a straight answer on the regions list, which was empty when I looked.
If you already hold the Pay card or wallet: my advice is in the “If you already have the card” section above, but the short version is — check your balance, do not delete the app, try to move funds to a wallet you control, and contact the developer site if the app gives you nothing. Treat any remaining balance as potentially at risk until you have it out or have a written statement about it.
Who I would steer away from recommending any of these to: anyone hoping these cards solve a fundamental problem they cannot. A crypto card does not give you anonymity — I am not going to describe any of these as a way around identity checks, because none of them is, and the regulatory framework requires verification. It does not exempt you from sanctions rules or country restrictions, because the restricted lists above apply whether you like them or not. And it does not remove tax obligations — if you are in the US, the IRS treats digital assets as property, so exchanging them for goods, services or dollars generally produces a taxable gain or loss, and each card payment funded from crypto may be a separate disposal measured at fair market value on the transaction date. This is not tax advice; it is a flag to talk to a professional about your own situation.
If your real problem is that you cannot open an ordinary bank account, a crypto card is a workaround with real costs and real failure modes, several of which you have just read about. Understand that trade-off before you commit.
Frequently asked questions
What is Pay card?
Pay card was a prepaid payment card offered through the Card Pay wallet, a DeFi payments app. The App Store listing described it as letting you “manage your prepaid cards” inside a wallet rather than handing you a physical card. In practice it was a crypto-to-fiat spending tool: you loaded value and spent it at shops. The programme is now closed — card purchases via Wyre were disabled on 2022-12-05 and the last app update was 2023-02-18 — so you cannot get one today.
How does Pay card work?
In the pre-loaded balance model, you first convert or top up a fiat or stablecoin balance, and the card then spends only that balance, which means it cannot overdraw. A payment card number starts with a 6- or 8-digit issuer identification number, and the rest is an account identifier plus a check digit. Shops can look up that issuer number to see which institution and country issued the card, and may apply extra scrutiny if the issuer country differs from your billing address. That is why a card issued in one country can look “foreign” in another.
Is Pay a bank?
No, and the card’s public pages never named an issuer. In this market the brand is often only a programme manager or front end, while a licensed bank or e-money institution actually holds the card programme. In the EU, an electronic money institution can issue e-money and payment cards but cannot lend. One thing worth checking on any card like this: an EMI must safeguard customer funds by segregating them or insuring them, but those funds are not the same as bank deposits and may not sit under a deposit guarantee scheme.
Who owns Pay card?
The developer listed on the App Store is CARDSTACK SERVICES PTE. LTD., and the Cardstack homepage footer references the Cardstack Foundation. The card issuer itself is not stated in any of the public material. Beyond that, ownership structure is not something the card’s own pages set out, which is one of several reasons I would not treat it as a place to hold funds you cannot afford to lose.
Can I use Pay card in my country?
You cannot get a new one anywhere — the programme is closed and no cards are issued through the app. Its public pages never stated a country list, so there is no eligibility rule to check. This is worth contrasting with live alternatives, which do publish rules: Decaf, for example, is not issued in a long list of restricted countries including Belarus, China, India, Iran, Russia, Syria, Turkey and Ukraine, plus a set of restricted US states.
How do I get Pay card?
You cannot. Prepaid card purchases through Wyre were disabled on 2022-12-05 “until further notice,” and no version since has restored them. The last release was 1.2.0 on 2023-02-18. If you want a crypto card you can actually obtain, look at BloFin Wallet Card, Decaf or SafePal instead. None of them requires you to find a Pay card first, and all three have published at least some of their fee structures.
Does Pay card require KYC?
The card’s public pages do not say. That is an honest answer rather than a dodge: the programme is closed, so no verification requirements are stated. For context on why that matters generally, KYC rules require regulated businesses to verify customers and assess risk as part of anti-money-laundering law. In the EU, due diligence covers name, address, date of birth, nationality, identity documentation, a sanctions check, and whether you are a politically exposed person. Nationality is screened separately from residence.
How do I top up Pay card?
Top-up methods are not stated, because the programme is closed. The only purchase listed in the app is “Account on Gnosis Chain” at GBP 0.99, which is not a top-up — it is an in-app purchase. The listing did mention crypto balances and removed Polygon support in version 1.1.13. If you still hold a balance, do not delete the app while trying to work out how to move it.
How do I withdraw money from Pay?
This is the question the public pages answer least well, and it is the one that matters most if you have funds in there. Version notes mention “Reward withdrawal” bug fixes in 1.0.11 and say each reward is claimed individually as of 1.1.13, but there is no information about withdrawing a card balance or about what happens to a balance after the programme closed. My advice: check the app first, move what you can to a wallet you control the keys to, and contact the developer site if it offers nothing.
Is Pay card safe, and is it worth it?
It is not worth starting, because you cannot get one. On safety, I will not claim any guarantees: transactions were confirmed with Touch ID or Face ID, but whether funds were self-custody is not stated, and with a custodial wallet the provider holds the credentials, so you must trust them completely. Irreversibility is the deeper issue — blockchain transfers cannot be undone, and a stolen private key has no built-in recovery because the network cannot freeze or return funds. If you hold a balance, treat it as potentially at risk until you have withdrawn it.
Highest-scored wallet cards – cryptocardbest.com
Content created by the «cryptocardbest.com» team
