TakeCard at a glance: a low-fee Latin-American crypto card with a thin public footprint
TakeCard is a prepaid Visa card tied to the Takenos crypto wallet. It is built for people who already hold crypto and want to spend it through a familiar card rail rather than another exchange transfer. The product is straightforward on the surface: a virtual card you can issue in minutes, a physical card in Bolivia, a 1% purchase commission and USD-denominated spending without an extra spread on dollar payments. Underneath, the public information is thin: the card issuer and licensing are not named on the pages I read, country eligibility is barely described and Trustpilot reviewers report frozen balances with no reply from the company. This review goes through the parts the card’s own help centre covers, the parts it does not, and where the gaps leave you exposed.

The conditions described below are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict
My overall score for TakeCard is 5.5 out of 10. That reflects a card that is cheap to use in the right setup, but built on a company that publishes very little about who actually issues it or what happens to your money if something goes wrong.
The card suits you if you live in Bolivia, hold a balance in Takenos, and want a simple way to convert and spend that balance in USD without learning new apps. It also works for a crypto holder in one of the few other countries the support pages hint at — the help centre does not list countries explicitly, and the published list of supporting markets is unofficial. It does not suit you if you need a transparent issuer, a published fee schedule beyond the headline 1%, a card you can order to most countries, or any kind of customer-service track record beyond what 147 Trustpilot reviews can show you.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 4 / 10 | Countries are not listed in the help articles; physical card is Bolivia only; the wider country list comes from unconfirmed sources. |
| Cost | 7 / 10 | USD 5 virtual, 1% per purchase, USD payments 1:1, but the crypto conversion fee and any monthly fee are not stated. |
| Top-up options | 6 / 10 | Top-up comes from the Takenos balance; the underlying coins and networks are not named in the TakeCard articles. |
| Reliability and complaints | 4 / 10 | No issuer or licence is named; Trustpilot sits at 3.2/5 with reports of deactivated accounts and frozen funds. |
| Everyday use | 7 / 10 | Virtual card is instant; Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported; ATM withdrawals capped at USD 250 per transaction; plastic only in Bolivia. |
| Total | 5.5 / 10 | A cheap-to-use card in the right setup, with thin disclosure and uneven user feedback. |
If you are a Latin American crypto holder paying in USD, the headline numbers are appealing. The reason I cannot score the card higher is that the same low fees are paired with a company that does not tell you, in plain language, who holds your money, under which licence, and what recourse you have if that holder stops responding. The score breakdown in the table mirrors the structure used elsewhere on this site, so you can compare it against other cards on the same scale.
Will they give you the card
TakeCard’s own help pages do something unusual for a card product: they do not list the countries where you can apply. The support centre describes the physical card as “available only to Bolivian users for now”, and a separate Takenos page says the wallet itself can receive payments “from any country”. The wider claim that the virtual card is available in Argentina, Bolivia, Peru, Chile, Paraguay, Colombia, Ecuador, the US, Spain and Italy comes from a starting dataset I could not confirm on a public page. Treat that list as unofficial until you see it on a page you can verify.
What this means for you in practice: before you sign up, check whether the app is downloadable and whether the identity check completes in your country. The Takenos app is on iOS and Android, but that does not mean a card will be issued to you. The most reliable path is Bolivia, where the physical card is also an option.
For the identity check itself, the card uses a single one-time step: a photo of the front and back of your national ID (DNI) plus a short biometric gesture video. Takenos says it takes up to 24 business hours. There is no mention of proof of address, age verification or any tier beyond this one check, and there is no published list of reasons an application would be rejected. If you are an adult with a valid DNI, you can probably get through the door. Whether your country is actually on the issuer’s list is the part the help centre leaves unanswered.
How to get it
The signup flow is short and lives entirely in the Takenos app. From the main screen, you go to *Tarjetas* (Cards), pick *“Internacional”*, and tap *“Quiero mi tarjeta”* (“I want my card”). You then pass the identity check described above. Once the check is approved, the card is pushed to you as ready inside the app.
There are two card products: a virtual card available immediately after approval, and a physical card that the help pages say is “available only to Bolivian users for now”. The card network is Visa, the card is issued in the United States, and it is prepaid, which means it draws on a balance you have already loaded rather than a bank account in the background. The card’s currency is USD, and payments in USD go through at 1:1 with no currency adjustment, a point I come back to in the costs section.
A few things to know before you order:
- The physical card costs more than the virtual one and only ships within Bolivia. Shipping is listed at USD 20 on the fee page, but another article in the same help centre quotes USD 10 for physical issuance in Bolivia. The two numbers disagree, so budget for the higher figure until the company clarifies.
- The delivery time and the cost of a replacement card are not stated on the pages I read.
- You do not get to pick a tier. There is one product line, and the only choice is virtual or physical (Bolivia).
Fees
This is the part of the card that the help centre spells out the most clearly, and it is also where the gaps show up. Here is what the published pages say:

| Fee or limit | Amount |
|---|---|
| Virtual card issuance | USD 5 |
| Physical card issuance (Bolivia) | USD 20 (one source says USD 10) |
| Physical card shipping (Bolivia) | USD 20 |
| Monthly fee | Not stated |
| Purchase commission | 1% |
| USD payments | 1:1, no extra spread |
| Other currencies | Visa rate of the transaction day |
| Crypto conversion fee | Not stated |
| ATM fee (Takenos) | 1% of the amount |
| ATM operator fee | Typically around USD 5 |
| Free ATM allowance | Not stated |
| Daily spending limit | Balance only (no fixed cap) |
| Default weekly limit | USD 5,000 (changeable in app) |
| ATM per-transaction cap | USD 250 including ATM fee |
| ATM per-day cap | USD 750 over up to 3 transactions |
| ATM attempts per 24 hours | 3 |
To make those numbers feel like real life, here are three everyday payments and which lines of the table they touch:
- Buying a USD 50 lunch in Miami with the virtual card. You pay the 1% commission, which is USD 0.50. The payment is in USD, so there is no currency adjustment. The merchant may pass a card-present processing fee, but that is between the merchant and their bank, not Takenos.
- Buying a EUR 30 train ticket from a Spanish site with the virtual card. Takenos takes 1% of the EUR amount, and the EUR is converted to USD at the Visa rate of the day. The conversion rate is not a fee Takenos controls; it is the network rate. The article you read on the help centre may be priced in pesos, but the card settles in USD.
- Withdrawing USD 200 from an ATM in La Paz with the physical card. Takenos takes 1%, which is USD 2. The ATM operator typically charges around USD 5. Total cost: about USD 7 on a USD 200 withdrawal, before any FX conversion if the ATM dispenses in Bolivianos. Note that the per-transaction cap is USD 250 including the ATM fee, so a USD 200 withdrawal is fine but you are close to the limit.
The numbers that are not stated matter as much as the ones that are. There is no published monthly fee, which is good, but also no published crypto conversion fee, which is the fee that often makes crypto cards expensive when you actually try to fund them. The lack of a stated conversion fee could mean it is folded into the 1% purchase commission, or it could mean it is shown only at the moment you top up. The only way to find out is to put a small amount in and watch what you actually get credited.
Top up
Top-up is the part of the card that is least spelled out in the TakeCard help centre. The help article on the topic says, in Spanish, “you can top up your TakeCard quickly from your Takenos account”. That is the whole public answer. The coins you can deposit into Takenos, the networks you can use and any deposit fee are not named in the TakeCard articles.

A starting dataset I could not verify on a public page lists USDC and USDT on Polygon, BNB Chain, Tron and Ethereum as the funding options for Takenos. That matches what most stablecoin-funded cards in the region accept, but the page I am reading is unofficial, so treat it as such until you see the same list in the app or on a Takenos support article.
What this means for you in practice:
- Funding the card means funding your Takenos balance first, and then loading the card from that balance. The card never holds crypto directly; it always holds a fiat balance converted from your crypto.
- Because the help centre does not name the supported coins or networks, you should not send a deposit before you see the deposit address and network in the app. Sending USDT on the wrong network, or sending a coin the account does not support, can result in funds that need manual recovery with no guarantee.
- The deposit fee, the minimum top-up and which side pays the network fee (gas, bandwidth) are not stated. On-chain fees are charged by the blockchain, not by the card provider, so even if Takenos does not take a fee, the network will.
- Withdrawing back to crypto, withdrawing to a bank, and what happens to a leftover balance when you close the account are not stated on the read pages. Cash out is described only via ATM.
If you already keep a stablecoin balance in a self-custody wallet and you only need a way to spend it in USD, the lack of a published funding list is a meaningful gap. You will have to test the rails yourself with a small amount before you commit a larger balance.
Paying with it every day
Once the card is loaded, the everyday experience is conventional. The virtual card is available as soon as your identity check clears, so you can add it to a mobile wallet immediately. The card works with Apple Pay on iPhone, Apple Watch and iPad — the help article notes you can add it manually once per 24 hours — and with Google Pay and PayPal, each of which has its own help article. The card is prepaid, so a declined transaction simply means your balance is too low; there is no overdraft and no credit line.
A few practical things to keep in mind:
- The default weekly limit is USD 5,000 and is changeable in the app under *Tarjetas > Ajustes > Limits and restrictions*. Your hard ceiling is your balance, not a published maximum.
- For ATM cash, the cap is USD 250 per transaction including the ATM fee, USD 750 per day across up to three transactions, with three PIN attempts per 24 hours. The PIN is set in the app.
- Blocked merchant categories are not stated, so if gambling, crypto purchases or another category matters to you, you have to test it.
- The app itself is on iOS and Android, served from a single download link. App-store ratings are not stated on the read pages, so I have not factored them into the score.
If something goes wrong with a payment, the procedure in the help centre is: pause the card in the app, then contact support with the date, amount and merchant. The page does not give a timeframe or mention a chargeback. Refunds are credited to your Takenos balance, and the help centre says they take the standard 15 to 30 business days after the merchant processes the return. That language is borrowed from regular Visa chargebacks, but “standard 15 to 30 business days” is not the same as a guarantee, and you should not assume you have Regulation E or Regulation Z protections — those are US debit and credit regulations and apply only if the issuer behind the card is a US bank and you are its customer, which the public pages do not confirm.
What can go wrong
The risks on this card are not the obvious “the card might get lost” risks. They are the ones that come from a product whose issuer and licence are not named on the public pages.
The issuer is not named on the site. The card is described as issued in the United States, on the Visa network, and provided by Takenos. Starting data attributes Takenos to a company called Global Flow S.A.U., but the public pages I read do not name a legal entity, an issuer, a regulator or a licence. That makes it hard to know which deposit guarantee, if any, applies to the funds on your card. The card is prepaid, so the balance is held by whoever issues it; if that party is not a regulated bank or e-money institution, your money is not segregated in the way EU EMI rules require, and you have no automatic claim on a compensation scheme.
Trustpilot sits at 3.2 out of 5 across 147 reviews, with 28 of those in the last 12 months. The themes that come up repeatedly are:
- Accounts deactivated without an explanation, with balances of more than USD 10,000 held and no replies from the company (a reviewer in July 2026).
- Users asked to deposit USD 200 to “verify” an account, which is not a standard KYC step in the help centre (a reviewer in September 2025).
- No replies from the company to negative reviews, as observed in 2026.
These are user reports, not adjudicated findings, and you should weigh them the way you would weigh any single review. The pattern is the signal, not any individual case.
The card may cost more than it looks. An Argentine article I read while researching this card says the TakeCard ends up over 15% more expensive than the “financial dollar” once other levies are included. The headline 1% commission does not include those levies, and the help centre does not list them. If you are in a country with capital controls or a parallel exchange rate, do the math against the rate you actually have access to before you assume TakeCard is the cheapest route.
Self-custody is not the default. The funding path is “deposit crypto into Takenos, then spend from the card”. That means your crypto leaves your control the moment you transfer it in. If Takenos pauses withdrawals, the funds on the card are part of the same balance, and the customer-service channel is in-app chat, WhatsApp and an email address — there is no phone tree and no published hours.
Programme-level risk is real for any card brand. Visa and Mastercard do not issue cards themselves; they license issuers, and they can end programmes. The 2018 WaveCrest suspension shut every crypto card running on its European licence, and the 2022 FTX termination ended the FTX US debit card. TakeCard is a smaller programme, but the structural risk is the same: if the issuer loses its Visa relationship, cardholders are usually given a notice period and then have to withdraw their balance within a window.
Theft and disputes sit with you. Theft of a crypto balance is irreversible by design; once a transaction is signed on-chain, no one can reverse it. For card-level fraud, the help centre tells you to pause the card and contact support, but does not publish a chargeback procedure or a timeframe, and does not name a regulator you can complain to.
The cost table hides the conversion fee. A 1% purchase commission looks competitive, but the conversion fee that often makes crypto cards expensive in real use is not stated. If the conversion is folded into the 1%, fine; if it is added at the moment of top-up, the effective cost is higher. The only way to know is to deposit a known amount, then check what is credited.
What to take instead
If you are reading this review because you want a crypto card and the TakeCard gaps are dealbreakers, three alternatives sit close to TakeCard on cost or use case. They are not the only options, but they are the ones with the most public information available in the same week I wrote this review.
Cardex — 5.6 / 10. A crypto card that advertises “200+ countries”, with virtual and physical cards on Verve, Visa, Mastercard and UnionPay. The App Store listing prices the card in Naira, and the headline feature is a real-time conversion at the moment of payment that the company calls an “AI-powered conversion rate”. Cards like this are useful if you want geographic reach and a network choice, but Cardex does not publish a fee schedule either, and the conversion-rate claim is its own marketing line, not a transparent spread table. If you want a card you can use in more countries than TakeCard documents and you do not mind testing the conversion, Cardex is the broader option.
OkiCard — 6.0 / 10. A virtual card that markets itself at “150+ countries” (some pages say “200+”), supports USDT on BSC, Ethereum, Tron and Solana, and converts to fiat at the moment of spending. The published fees are higher than TakeCard’s: a 3% load fee and a one-time virtual card price starting at USD 15 (the pricing page says USD 0 issuance and monthly, the FAQ says there is a one-time fee — the pages disagree). On the upside, OkiCard is more explicit about its supported coins and networks, which is the exact gap on TakeCard. If you want clarity on what you can fund the card with, OkiCard is the more transparent pick, at a higher upfront cost.
NEXA Cards — 4.7 / 10. A reloadable stored-value product with three tiers: Silver (virtual), Black (plastic) and Platinum (metal), on Visa and Mastercard. The pricing is heavy: Silver’s enrollment is USD 49.95 with USD 3.99 monthly hosting and USD 5.95 activation, displayed total USD 114.93; Black costs USD 99.95 plus USD 11.95 and USD 10.00 (total USD 133.85); Platinum is USD 99.95 with USD 11.95 plus USD 10.00 for a total of USD 281.85. The displayed totals do not match the line items, and the company does not explain why, which is itself a sign about how the product is presented. There is no public fee schedule, and the cryptocurrency funding list is a placeholder. NEXA is the option to look at if you want a metal or plastic card and do not mind the upfront cost; it is the weakest of the three on disclosure.
Quick comparison of the alternatives:
| Card | Score | Best for | Main trade-off |
|---|---|---|---|
| TakeCard | 5.5 / 10 | USD spending from a Takenos balance in Bolivia | Issuer not named, country list unpublished |
| Cardex | 5.6 / 10 | Wide country reach and a network choice | Conversion is opaque, no published fee schedule |
| OkiCard | 6.0 / 10 | Clear list of supported coins and networks | Higher load fee, conflicting pricing pages |
| NEXA Cards | 4.7 / 10 | A heavier plastic or metal card with tiers | Pricing math does not add up, no published fees |
The pattern is that the cards with the clearest fee schedule and the most explicit coin list are not the ones with the lowest headline commission, and the cards with the lowest headline commission are not the ones with the clearest disclosure. Your choice depends on which trade-off you can live with.
Who I would recommend it to
TakeCard is the right card for a narrow reader. If you live in Bolivia, you already use Takenos, and you want a simple way to convert and spend that balance in USD, the 1% purchase commission, the USD 1:1 settlement and the Apple Pay / Google Pay support are enough. The card is also defensible for a crypto holder in Argentina, Peru, Chile, Paraguay, Colombia, Ecuador, the US, Spain or Italy — but only if you verify in the app, with a small deposit, that the virtual card is actually issued to you in your country, because the help centre does not confirm that list.
The card is not the right one if you are looking for:
- A clearly identified issuer and a deposit guarantee or segregation regime you can name.
- A published fee schedule that goes beyond the 1% purchase commission.
- A card that ships to most countries — the physical card is Bolivia only.
- A track record of customer service on disputes and account deactivations.
- A way to top up with a coin and network of your choice that is documented in advance.
If any of those matter to you, the OkiCard, Cardex or a more established programme from a named issuer is a better starting point. TakeCard at 5.5/10 is a card I would use, but I would not park a balance in it that I am not prepared to lose to a customer-service failure.
Frequently asked questions
What is TakeCard?
TakeCard is a prepaid Visa card connected to the Takenos crypto wallet. You load your Takenos balance and spend it through the card at merchants that accept Visa. The card is issued in the United States, denominated in USD and available as a virtual card immediately after identity verification, with a physical card offered only in Bolivia. It is not a bank account and not a debit card linked to a bank; the balance you spend is the balance you have loaded.
How does TakeCard work?
When you pay, TakeCard converts the fiat balance on the card through the Takenos account. The card itself is a standard Visa prepaid product, so the payment experience at a merchant is the same as with any other Visa card, including Apple Pay and Google Pay. Behind the scenes, the funding path is: deposit crypto into your Takenos account, then load the card from that balance. The card never holds crypto directly; it always holds a USD balance.
Is TakeCard a bank?
No. TakeCard is a prepaid card product provided by Takenos, which describes itself as a wallet. The card is issued in the United States, but the public pages do not name the issuing bank, the licence it operates under or the regulator that supervises it. That is the single most important thing to know before you put a large balance on the card, because the protections that come with a regulated bank or e-money institution are not visibly in place.
Who owns TakeCard?
The card is provided by Takenos. Starting data attributes Takenos to a company called Global Flow S.A.U., but the public pages I read do not name a legal entity, an issuer or a licence. If ownership and licensing matter to you — and they should, for any prepaid card — ask support directly before you load a meaningful balance.
Is TakeCard available in my country?
The help centre does not list countries. The physical card is described as “available only to Bolivian users for now”. A wider country list, including Argentina, Bolivia, Peru, Chile, Paraguay, Colombia, Ecuador, the US, Spain and Italy, appears in a starting dataset I could not confirm on a public page, so treat it as unofficial. The only reliable way to know if you can get the card is to download the app, start the identity check and see whether it completes in your country.
How do I get a TakeCard card?
Download the Takenos app, open *Tarjetas*, pick *“Internacional”*, tap *“Quiero mi tarjeta”* and complete the identity check (a photo of the front and back of your DNI plus a short biometric video). The virtual card is available immediately after approval; the physical card is offered in Bolivia. Approval is described as taking up to 24 business hours, with no published list of reasons an application would be rejected.
Does TakeCard require KYC?
Yes, a one-time identity check at sign-up: a photo of the front and back of your national ID and a short gesture video. The help centre does not list proof of address, age verification or any tier beyond this single step. There is no published list of rejection reasons and no published sanctions or restricted-country policy, so if your situation is unusual, the only way to find out is to apply.
How do I top up TakeCard?
You top up the card from your Takenos balance. The help article on funding does not name the coins or networks you can deposit into Takenos, and does not list a deposit fee, a minimum top-up, or which side pays the network fee. The starting dataset, which I could not verify, lists USDC and USDT on Polygon, BNB Chain, Tron and Ethereum. The safe approach is to wait until the app shows you a deposit address and network, then send a small test amount before committing a larger balance.
How do I add TakeCard to Apple Wallet?
Open the Wallet app on your iPhone, Apple Watch or iPad, follow the prompt to add a card, and enter the TakeCard details manually. The help article notes you can add the card manually once per 24 hours. Google Pay and PayPal have their own help articles, so the same flow works on Android and through PayPal where available.
Is TakeCard safe?
The card has the standard prepaid-card safety features: pause the card in the app, set a PIN, set spending limits, use 3-D Secure for online payments. The risk you cannot control from inside the app is the issuer risk: the public pages do not name the issuer, the licence or the regulator, and Trustpilot reviews include reports of deactivated accounts with funds held and no reply from the company. Treat the balance on the card the way you would treat a balance on a small, lightly regulated exchange: useful, but not a place to park more than you can afford to wait out a support ticket.
Highest-scored virtual cards – cryptocardbest.com
Content created by the «cryptocardbest.com» team
