A cheap way to spend USDT, with a thin paper trail around the company behind it

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only

The ExCards card is a virtual card you load with USDT and spend like an ordinary payment card, with Apple Pay and Google Pay on all three products and no monthly fee. On paper it is a clean fit for someone who earns in crypto and pays in crypto — subscriptions, advertising, services — without converting to a bank account first. That is the version of the card the pitch describes, and for that specific person it is genuinely useful.

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
ExCards works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

What stops me recommending it more warmly is not the product. It is the absence of information around it. The brand publishes no legal entity, no country of registration, and no name for the issuer that actually holds the balance. The Terms of Service page is described by the card itself as a placeholder. There is no third-party review history I could find at all — no Trustpilot page, no Reddit or review-site entries. I scored it 5.9 out of 10, and the reasoning behind that number is worth walking through in full, because you should be able to see exactly where the marks come from and disagree with me if you weigh them differently.

The conditions described on this page are current as of October 28, 2026.

The score, and who this card is for

Here is the breakdown, criterion by criterion, with the reasons as I see them.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 9 / 10 Excluded places are named explicitly; eligibility runs on country of residence, not citizenship
Cost 3 / 10 $29–$50 once, 2%–3.5% per top-up, $0.50 authorization, up to 2% FX markup — and no monthly fee
Top-up options 9 / 10 USDT across ERC-20, TRC-20, BEP-20, Bitcoin, Polygon, Arbitrum, Optimism, Avalanche and others; BTC, ETH, SOL converted first
Reliability and complaints 4 / 10 No legal entity or issuer published, custodial balance, placeholder Terms, no reviews found
Everyday use 5 / 10 Three virtual cards in about 10 minutes, both mobile wallets — but no ATM, and physical plastic only by pre-order
Total 5.9 / 10

Who this suits: someone already holding USDT who pays for things online — subscriptions, ad platforms, hosting, services — and who has decided they would rather spend that balance directly than move it through a bank. For that person the 2% top-up fee on the cheapest card is a small, predictable price for convenience, and there is no monthly charge to remember.

Who it does not suit: anyone who needs cash, anyone who needs a card a shop will treat as a normal domestic card, and anyone whose decision depends on reading a company’s legal name, licence number or terms. That last group is not being paranoid; it is being ordinary. A bank account comes with a named institution behind it. Here, the pages do not give one.

The single most important fact for your decision sits in the reliability row and I want it in front of you early: the balance is custodial — held with the card issuer partner, not by you. More on what that means in the risks section below.

Will they give you the card?

Mostly yes, and the geographic rules are unusually clear for a card in this category. The catch is that the page lists only the places you *cannot* be, not the places you can.

The excluded list: North Korea, Iran, Syria, Cuba; Crimea, Donetsk, Luhansk, Zaporizhzhia and Kherson “where applicable”; Russia is listed “depending on transaction context and issuer policy”; Belarus “for sanctioned persons”; Myanmar and Sudan. Everything else is not addressed, and the public pages do not publish a list of supported countries. If your country is not on that exclusion list, you are not thereby guaranteed approval — but the rule is the rule, and the rule is set by where you live.

What matters more than the list is *how* the rule is applied. Eligibility runs on residence, not citizenship. The card states: “You must accurately disclose your country of residence at issuance.” If you move, you must report the change within 30 days. And if the disclosure turns out to be false, the card says that may lead to retroactive card closure — that is, they can close the card after the fact.

That last sentence is the one I would want you to read twice before applying. It is not a threat, it is a standard compliance clause, but it means the answer to “can I get this card” depends on an honest answer about where you sleep rather than on where your passport is from. If your residence is complicated — travelling, working across jurisdictions, no fixed address — then this is a card where that complication becomes a live risk rather than a paperwork detail.

Age: 18+ in most countries, and you must be at or above the legal age in your own jurisdiction.

How to get it

The route is short, which is a real plus. Sign up at the web dashboard app.excards.io, or through the @ex_cards_bot Telegram mini-app. Upload a clear scan of the photo page of a government-issued passport. The issuer partner checks the document’s authenticity and screens it against sanctions and PEP lists. The card says it is issued “within 10 minutes after a successful check.”

The verification level is genuinely light. There is no selfie, no video, no liveness check, and no proof of address mentioned. One passport scan is the whole thing. For someone without a utility bill or a bank statement to hand — which is exactly the reader this page is written for — that matters more than it might sound.

Three card products come out of the same application: Visa Universe, Visa E-commerce and Mastercard Business. The balance is denominated in USDT/USD. All three are virtual; a physical Visa E-commerce card can be pre-ordered, with a mandatory first top-up of 10 USDT and no shipping date given on the page.

A few things to know about what happens after approval. There is a single light-KYC level, no tiers: no upgrade path, no higher limit for proving more. Your KYC data is refreshed at card expiry, on a change of residence, on suspicious activity, or by default every 24 months. Replacement of a lost, leaked or expired virtual card costs the card price again — 29, 35 or 50 USDT.

And the stated grounds for refusal are worth reading as a list of things that end the relationship, not just delay it. Rejection reasons given: false or altered documents, which is a permanent block; a sanctions or PEP hit; failed checks; or issuance that would breach the law or issuer policy. The card also reserves the right to refuse without giving a reason. There is no appeal path described anywhere in the public pages.

Fees: what it really costs

The headline costs are the ones you will see before you sign up. The ones that will actually move your money are the top-up fee, the authorization fee and the currency markup — and they stack.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a ExCards payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Fee or limit Visa Universe Visa E-commerce Mastercard Business
One-time card price $29 $35 $50
Monthly fee None None None
Mandatory first top-up 10 USDT 10 USDT 10 USDT
Top-up fee 2% 3.5% 3.5%
Authorization fee $0.50 flat $0.10 under $1.00; free at $1.00 and above; plus $0.03 per 3-D Secure authentication; plus $0.80 if the decline rate exceeds 10% in a rolling window $0.50 flat
FX markup Up to 2% over the interbank rate Up to 2% Up to 2%
ATM withdrawal Not available Not available Not available
Per-transaction limit $1,000,000 $20,000 $250,000
Daily limit $3,000,000 None $500,000
Monthly limit $3,000,000 None $1,000,000

The card price is paid in USDT and is non-refundable. There is no maintenance fee and no inactivity fee — genuinely, nothing monthly to forget.

The authorization fee is the line most people will not have seen before, so let me be plain about it. On Universe and Business it is $0.50 flat per authorization. That is not a percentage; it is a fixed toll on every transaction, so it costs the same on a $2 subscription as on a $200 one. On E-commerce it is $0.10 under $1.00 and free at $1.00 and above, which makes that card the right pick if you pay many small amounts — but you also pay the highest top-up fee and you have the lowest per-transaction ceiling, $20,000.

Now three everyday payments, with the fees each one triggers.

A $12 monthly subscription, paid on Visa Universe, funded from a USDT balance. You top up first, at 2%. On a $12 top-up that is $0.24. Then the payment itself: $0.50 authorization. Then the $12 spend. No FX cost if the merchant bills in USD. Total overhead on that purchase: roughly $0.74, most of it the flat authorization fee. On Visa E-commerce the same purchase would be free of authorization fee at $1.00 and above, but you would have paid 3.5% on the top-up instead of 2%.

A €40 purchase from a merchant billing in euro, on Visa Universe. The card converts using the issuer reference rate “with a markup of up to 2% over the interbank rate.” On €40 the markup is up to €0.80. Add the $0.50 authorization. So the conversion cost is small in absolute terms here — the percentage is what should worry you when the amounts are larger, since it scales while the authorization fee does not.

A $4.99 purchase declined by the merchant and retried. This is where the E-commerce decline-rate clause bites: if the decline rate exceeds 10% in a rolling window, an extra $0.80 is charged. And on E-commerce specifically, the $0.03 per 3-D Secure authentication is charged on top of each challenge. Failed attempts are not free here in the way they are on a bank card.

Two other costs live outside the table. Non-USDT coins are converted to USDT at network rate before spending, with no fee stated. And blockchain network fees are paid to the network for your deposit — that is the chain’s charge, not ExCards’, but you still pay it.

Top up: how the balance gets funded

The funding side is the strongest part of this card. The balance is in USDT, and the listed networks are ERC-20, TRC-20, BEP-20, Bitcoin, Polygon, Arbitrum, Optimism and Avalanche — with the note that “these networks are just examples, we accept others too.” If you hold something other than USDT, BTC, ETH and SOL are converted to USDT at network rate first, so you are not restricted to holding only stablecoins.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up ExCards starts with a transfer to the right network

The top-up fee is 2% on Universe and 3.5% on E-commerce and Business. The card’s own worked example: 100 USDT at 3.5% credits 96.50 USDT. The minimum first top-up is 10 USDT, which is credited to the balance and remains spendable — so the mandatory first deposit is money you can actually use, not a sunk cost. Transfers between your own cards are 0%. Fiat top-up is not mentioned anywhere.

Three practical warnings, none of them ExCards’ fault but all of them capable of costing you real money.

Wrong network, wrong address. Blockchain transfers are irreversible. A deposit sent on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost or need manual support recovery with no guarantee. Before you send, confirm the network matches what your account shows.

Token support is not network support. USDC over TRC20 is not a native option — Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024. And on ERC-20, gas is paid in ETH, so a wallet holding USDT with no ETH in it cannot actually send. If you are topping up from a self-custody wallet, check that you have the native token for the fee.

Choose your chain on cost. Tron fees are typically cheap in resource terms; Ethereum’s are not. The network choice is yours, but the difference lands in your wallet, not in the card’s fee.

And one thing I could not find: there is no described way to withdraw the balance. The public pages do not say how, or whether, you can move your funds back out. If that matters to you — and for a card where the balance is held by a third party, it should — the honest answer is that the card’s public pages do not state it.

Paying with it every day

The everyday experience is good in the ways that are easy to check and worse in the ways that are not.

Apple Pay and Google Pay work on all three cards, which is the single most practical feature here. For most day-to-day spending you will add the virtual card to your phone’s wallet once and then tap, and that is the whole experience. Virtual cards are issued in under ten minutes, so a failed payment or a compromised card number is recoverable within the hour.

What you cannot do: withdraw cash. The card states plainly that “all cards are virtual, and ATM cash withdrawal is not available.” There is no workaround implied and I would not look for one — that is simply outside what this product offers. The plastic Visa E-commerce card is pre-order only, with shipping time and cost not stated, and it is still a card with no ATM access.

Blocked categories are named in principle — the terms bar use for illegal goods or services, terrorism financing, money laundering, and sanctioned-country transactions — but no merchant-category list is published. So you cannot check ahead whether the things you buy weekly will go through.

Rewards are thin. No cashback is mentioned. There is a referral programme: Bronze at 20% per card issued plus 0.05% of top-ups, rising to Platinum at 40% plus 0.20%, and 10% off a first card with a code. I would treat the referral percentages as a description of the programme’s structure rather than as something to plan a budget around.

On the app side, there is no App Store or Google Play app stated. The service is the web dashboard at app.excards.io and a Telegram mini-app. The interface languages are English, Russian, Spanish and Ukrainian — so a Russian-language interface is available. Support runs 24/7 through in-app chat, with answers promised “within minutes,” and through the Telegram bot at t.me/excards_bot.

When something goes wrong, the default is generous in one narrow way: declined transactions return funds to the card balance automatically. But the card price, top-up fees and authorization fees are non-refundable, no dispute or chargeback process is published, and the card says it is “not liable for declined transactions, FX losses, network downtime, or merchant rejections.” Read that as: if a payment fails through no fault of yours, the money returns, but the fees you spent getting there stay spent, and nobody will make you whole for the exchange rate you were quoted.

What can go wrong

This is the section where the score loses most of its points, and I want to separate what is a general risk of crypto cards from what is specific to this one.

The counterparty you cannot name. The brand ExCards carries a © 2026 notice, but no legal entity and no registration country are published. Cards are “issued by a third-party card issuer partner,” described as licensed BIN sponsors — the issuer is not named and no licences are named. Your balance is custodial: held with the issuer partner. The practical consequence is precise. If something goes wrong, the entity you would complain to is one you cannot identify from the public pages, in a jurisdiction you cannot determine.

The terms are unfinished. The Terms of Service page shows “last updated 17 May 2026” and describes itself as a placeholder, with the final version due May–June 2026. Fee changes are announced in-app at least 30 days ahead — so the numbers in this review can change with a notice that appears inside the app rather than in a public changelog.

No review history. I searched for reviews, Trustpilot and Reddit discussion, and found nothing about excards.io. No Trustpilot page exists. No official incident is published either. I read that two ways and both are fair: a young product may simply not have a track record yet, and a product that nobody writes about has no independent account of how it behaves when things go wrong. Absence of complaints here is weak evidence, because there is also an absence of any third-party account at all.

Custodial balance means counterparty and hack risk. When the provider holds the credentials, you must trust it completely. This is not theoretical for the category: Mt. Gox reported about US$350 million stolen between 2011 and 2014, Coincheck about US$400 million in 2018, and the Ronin Network US$625 million in 2022. The structure is the one that carries that exposure.

No freeze feature, no safeguarding statement. Security described: TLS 1.3, 3-D Secure 2.0 on all authorizations, suspicious activity automatically declined. What is not described: an instant freeze or card-block control, and any statement that customer funds are safeguarded or segregated. For context, e-money institutions in the EU are required to safeguard customer funds by segregating them or insuring them, and those funds are not bank deposits — but here no licence is named, so no such regime can be assumed.

Transactions can look foreign. A merchant can look up the card’s BIN and see which institution and country issued it, and may apply extra scrutiny if the issuer country differs from your billing address. Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign BINs for exactly that reason. Address verification is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which can cause declines.

A decline can hold your funds. Declined authorizations may leave a hold that can remain for several days, typically up to 7. If you are spending the same balance across several merchants in a day, a run of declines can quietly tie up money you expected to be available.

A programme can simply end. Card networks license issuers and can suspend a programme. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022, and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied several crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all its Visa programmes. The pattern when these happen: a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then users are asked to withdraw remaining balances. With no named issuer and no stated withdrawal route here, that sequence is worth thinking about before you hold a large balance.

One more thing you should not expect: a refund. No dispute or chargeback process is published, and Regulation E and Regulation Z reversal rights that apply to US debit and credit cards should not be assumed for a prepaid-style card.

What to take instead

Three alternatives came up in the same category. None of them is dramatically better, and each trades the ExCards strengths for something different — but comparing them makes the choice clearer than the score alone.

ExCards Cardex TakeCard OkiCard
Score 5.9 / 10 5.6 / 10 5.5 / 10 6.0 / 10
Coverage Exclusions listed; no supported-country list “One crypto card, 200+ countries”; no exclusions published Physical card only for Bolivian users; virtual wider “150+ countries” (some pages say “200+”)
Card Virtual Visa Universe, Visa E-commerce, Mastercard Business Virtual and physical on VERVE, VISA, Mastercard, UnionPay Virtual; physical Bolivia only; Visa; prepaid; USD 1:1 Virtual, page also mentions physical; network not specified
Card cost $29 / $35 / $50 Not stated USD 5 virtual; USD 20 physical plus shipping Issuance and monthly listed as $0; starting price $15 — pages disagree
Top-up fee 2% / 3.5% Not stated 1% commission per purchase 3% load
Networks ERC-20, TRC-20, BEP-20, Bitcoin, Polygon, Arbitrum, Optimism, Avalanche and others Not stated Not stated in the article; USDT and USDC over Polygon, BNB Chain, Tron or Ethereum appears in starting data I could not confirm USDT on BSC, Ethereum, Tron, Solana; USDC “soon”; BTC “coming soon”
Rewards Referral tiers only Not stated Not stated Not stated
ATM Not available Not stated Not stated Not stated

Read across the row for top-up fee and ExCards looks competitive — 2% on its cheapest card against Cardex’s unstated fee, TakeCard’s 1% purchase commission, and OkiCard’s 3% load. But the comparison that matters is not the percentage. It is what sits underneath: ExCards names no legal entity, no issuer and no licences, and publishes no reviews. OkiCard, scoring slightly higher at 6.0, at least publishes a pricing page and states the rules about geo-blocking. TakeCard publishes substantially more operational detail than anything I found for ExCards, including networks and fees, though its own help articles contradict each other on physical card pricing.

Cardex is interesting if network coverage is your problem: it runs on four networks including UnionPay, which matters in parts of Asia and Africa, and its App Store listing is Naira-focused. But it states no fee percentage at all, which makes it impossible to cost a payment in advance, and its “AI-Powered Conversion Rate” language describes picking a rate rather than disclosing a markup.

TakeCard publishes the most concrete detail of the three and the simplest fee — 1% per purchase, USD payments at 1:1, other currencies at the official Visa rate of the transaction day. If you are in Bolivia, or in one of the Latin American markets and Spain or Italy listed in its starting data, it is worth a look. Its weakness is narrowness and some internal inconsistency.

OkiCard is the one to check if your priority is a published pricing page and a stated policy on not geo-blocking by passport. It also says “no hidden exchange spreads,” with a transaction fee of 0% in USD — though its FX fee is not stated, and its pages disagree with each other on whether issuance is free or $15.

My own read: if your reason for wanting this card is that ordinary bank cards have been difficult or impossible for you, take the one that publishes its numbers most plainly. If your reason is simply that you hold USDT and want to spend it, ExCards is a reasonable pick with a 2% top-up fee and no monthly charge — but size your first deposit accordingly, because you cannot check a review record.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend this card to someone specific: a person who already holds USDT, pays for subscriptions, software or advertising online, has no reliable way to open an ordinary card, and is comfortable treating the balance as money handed to a partner institution whose name the public pages do not give. To that person, the 2% top-up on the Universe card and the $0.50 flat authorization fee are predictable costs for a real convenience, Apple Pay and Google Pay work everywhere they need, the ten-minute issuance is genuinely fast, and there is no monthly charge to remember.

I would not recommend it to someone who needs cash, whose weekly spending includes physical shops, or who wants to read a company’s licence before trusting it with money. Nor would I suggest loading it with an amount you would be uncomfortable seeing reduced to a support ticket.

What I would do before applying, if you decide to go ahead: have the passport scan ready, know which network your USDT sits on and confirm it matches what your account shows, put in the 10 USDT minimum rather than more, and look for the final Terms of Service when it replaces the placeholder. And keep the 24/7 in-app chat open as your first line of contact — not because it will be slow, but because with no published dispute process, the support chat is the only channel the card itself offers you.

Frequently asked questions

What is the ExCards card?

The ExCards card is a virtual payment card that spends a USDT or USD balance you top up yourself. Three products exist: Visa Universe, Visa E-commerce and Mastercard Business. You load crypto, the balance is converted and held by an issuer partner, and you pay with the card number or through Apple Pay and Google Pay. It works like a prepaid card, not a bank debit card, and there is no monthly fee.

Is ExCards a bank?

No, and the card does not claim to be one. It states that cards are issued by a third-party card issuer partner, described as licensed BIN sponsors, but it does not name the issuer or any licence, and publishes no legal entity or registration country. That is a meaningful distinction for you: you are not becoming a customer of a named bank, and the public pages give you no institution to hold accountable on paper.

How do I apply for an ExCards card?

Sign up at app.excards.io or through the @ex_cards_bot Telegram mini-app, then upload a clear scan of the photo page of a government-issued passport. No selfie, video or liveness check is required, and no proof of address is mentioned. The issuer partner verifies authenticity and screens against sanctions and PEP lists, and the card says it issues within 10 minutes after a successful check.

Does ExCards require KYC, and is it heavy?

It requires light KYC: a passport scan only. There is a single verification level with no tiers, so proving more does not raise your limits — every user shares the same ones. Your data is refreshed at card expiry, on a change of residence, on suspicious activity, or by default every 24 months. False or altered documents are a permanent block, and the issuer may also refuse without giving a reason.

How much does the ExCards card cost to use?

The card price is $29 for Visa Universe, $35 for Visa E-commerce and $50 for Mastercard Business, paid in USDT and non-refundable, plus a mandatory first top-up of 10 USDT that is credited to your balance. There is no monthly or inactivity fee. Ongoing costs are the top-up fee of 2% or 3.5%, a $0.50 flat authorization fee on Universe and Business, and up to 2% on currency conversion.

Can I use an ExCards card at ATMs or in physical shops?

There is no ATM access at all — the card states that all cards are virtual and ATM cash withdrawal is not available. For physical shops, the plastic Visa E-commerce card can be pre-ordered, though shipping time and cost are not stated, and the card is still ATM-free. Note also that merchants can look up the card’s issuing country and may decline prepaid or foreign-issued cards, so acceptance in shops is not guaranteed.

Is the ExCards card safe?

That depends on what you are being asked to trust. The card describes TLS 1.3, 3-D Secure 2.0 on every authorization, and automatic declines on suspicious activity. But the balance is custodial — held with the issuer partner — and no safeguarding statement, no freeze feature and no dispute or chargeback process is published. Nobody is promising safety here, including me; weigh the structure, not the marketing.

Can I withdraw money from ExCards back to my wallet?

The public pages do not say. No withdrawal method is described anywhere I could find; the only statement about the balance is that the mandatory 10 USDT first top-up remains spendable. Because the balance is custodial and no withdrawal route is documented, this is the first thing I would ask support about before loading anything substantial.

Which ExCards card should I choose?

Choose Visa Universe if you want the cheapest top-up fee at 2% and the highest limits — $1,000,000 per transaction, $3,000,000 daily and monthly. Choose Visa E-commerce if you pay many small amounts, since authorization is $0.10 under $1.00 and free from $1.00 up, but note the 3.5% top-up fee and the $20,000 per-transaction ceiling.

Is ExCards worth it?

For someone spending USDT on subscriptions, ads or services with no reliable ordinary card, yes — the fees are predictable, there is no monthly charge, and mobile wallets work on all three products. It is worth less if you need cash, shop in person often, or need a named licensed institution behind the balance before you will trust it. I scored it 5.9 out of 10 for exactly that balance of strengths and gaps.

Content created by the «cryptocardbest.com» team