Capitalist card, looked at closely: eligibility, fees, top-ups and the questions nobody answers on the homepage
Capitalist sells virtual payment cards that you can load from a balance topped up by SWIFT, SEPA or USDT. The site markets them to users who need a virtual card for digital services, and the cheapest route in is a $2.50 / €2.00 issue fee with no monthly charge, but the same site is quiet on the basics that would normally help you decide: the legal entity behind it, the licences it holds, the FX margin, the ATM terms, the country list, and the network logo on the card. After a few hours reading the public pages and user reports, my impression is of a cheap virtual card aimed at online advertising and subscriptions, and a frustrating experience the moment you ask anything outside that lane.

Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict
Capitalist earns 5.0 out of 10. It is a workable answer for one narrow use case, and a poor one for almost anything else, and the score reflects that.

| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 6/10 | Cards are issued in Hong Kong and accepted worldwide, but the site never publishes a list of supported or excluded countries |
| Cost | 4/10 | $2.50 / €2.00 to issue, no maintenance fee, 4% top-up, and the FX fee is not disclosed anywhere |
| Top-up options | 6/10 | SWIFT, SEPA and USDT are named officially; an older page also lists BTC, ETH and USDC loaded into the wallet free and 3%–4.7% to push to a card (unofficial) |
| Reliability and complaints | 5/10 | Eleven years of operation and a 4.2/5 Trustpilot score, but the legal entity, card issuer and licences are not named, and there is a recent report of a USDT deposit that did not arrive after five days |
| Everyday use | 4/10 | Virtual only, USD or EUR, Apple Pay works, Google Pay is a logo without detail, ATM terms are not published |
The audience that gets the most out of Capitalist is a freelancer or marketer who wants a cheap virtual card to pay for ad accounts and online services, is comfortable topping up in USDT or SEPA, and does not need a physical card or a mobile wallet beyond Apple Pay. If you want a card you can hand to a waiter, a card that works in 200+ countries with a published country list, a card with a clear FX margin, or a card that draws on a US or EU e-money licence, this is not it. If those are your needs, the alternatives below are closer to what you are looking for.
Who can get the card
Capitalist says the cards are issued in Hong Kong and that payments are accepted worldwide. That is the entire answer on geography, because the public pages do not publish a list of supported or excluded countries. If your country is not named, you have to assume it is allowed until you actually try, and the risk of an account pause or refusal is paid by you, not by the provider.
The cards are virtual, with no physical version. They are sold in two flavours that the site describes as “any purchases” and “advertising”, and the advertising cards are pitched with a “No complicated KYC procedure” line. The general “Verified user” account status, which is the level needed to spend, requires identity and address documents, with the address document not older than three months. The exact set of accepted documents, the time it takes to review them, and the higher tiers (if any) are not stated on the pages I could read.
In plain terms, if you already have a Verified status on Capitalist, ordering an ad card is fast and cheap. If you do not, expect to be asked for an ID and a recent proof of address before any of this works.
How to get it
The sign-up path is the standard fintech flow: create an account, complete identity verification, open a wallet, top it up, then order a card. Ad cards are marketed as having no complicated KYC, but the general Verified status that the rest of the account depends on still needs ID and a recent address document.
Cards are virtual, so there is no delivery step, and you can request more than one. The site says there are “No limits on top-ups and spending” and that you can order an unlimited number of cards. That sounds generous, but it also means a stolen password is a much larger problem than it would be with a card that has a daily cap.
The currency you pick at order time is USD or EUR, and the BINs the site mentions for the ad cards are “Trusted BINs UK and USA”. The card network logo is not stated for the everyday virtual card, which is unusual for a Visa or Mastercard product, and the ad cards are explicitly advertised for online advertising, not for a general wallet.
What it really costs: fees
The fee structure has a friendly headline and a quiet middle.

| Fee or limit | Amount | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Card issuance | $2.50 / €2.00 | One-off, per card |
| Monthly maintenance | Free | No monthly fee stated |
| Top-up | 4% | “$ 4%” and “€ 4%” shown on the page |
| FX (foreign exchange) | Not stated | No percentage published |
| ATM | Not stated | No fee or limit published |
| Daily and monthly limits | “No limits on top-ups and spending” | An unlimited number of cards can be ordered |
| Card currency | USD or EUR | Single tier, no premium option |
To make that concrete, three everyday situations show where the cost actually lands.
Paying a $50 ad bill with USDT. You send USDT to the Capitalist wallet. The 4% top-up fee is taken “from the payment amount” rather than on top of it, so $50 of USDT in your hand becomes $48 of spend. If you topped up via SWIFT, your bank’s wire fee is added on top, and the blockchain network fee for the USDT transfer is paid by you separately.
Buying a €30 subscription in EUR with a EUR card. No currency conversion is needed, so the only fee in the chain is the 4% you paid at the top-up step. That is roughly €1.20 in real terms on a €30 spend, which is the cleanest case the card has.
Paying a £40 invoice in pounds with a USD card. Capitalist does not publish an FX margin, so the only published number is the 4% top-up fee, and the rest of the cost is whatever the network or issuer charges and does not show. The site asks you to trust that this is fair, with no way to check.
The unofficial figure from an earlier reading of the site is that BTC, USDT, ETH and USDC can be deposited to the Capitalist wallet free, and that loading a card from the wallet costs 3% to 4.7% depending on the coin. I have not seen the same numbers on the current pages, so treat them as unofficial and unconfirmed.
The single most important thing on this page is the missing FX margin. A 4% top-up is easy to swallow for a one-off ad card, but a 2% to 3% FX margin on every non-USD/EUR purchase turns an “unlimited” card into a quiet tax. Until Capitalist publishes the number, you are buying on trust.
How to top it up
The official top-up channels are SWIFT, SEPA and USDT. SEPA works in euros, SWIFT in US dollars (and other currencies, with the receiving bank fees on you), and USDT is the only crypto option named on the current public page.
The unofficial information I found says you can also deposit BTC, ETH, USDC and USDT to the Capitalist wallet for free, and that loading a card from the wallet then costs 3% to 4.7%, depending on the coin. This is the route most people seem to use in practice, and it is also the one that is least visible on the current site.
The site warns that “Capitalist service charges commission additionally from the payment amount” rather than adding it on top, which means the fee is taken out of the value you intended to load, not added to your bill. For a $100 top-up that is $4 less in your card balance, not a $104 charge.
A few practical points on the crypto route. USDT lives on several blockchains, and a transfer on the wrong network can sit uncredited, get lost, or require manual support recovery with no guarantee of a refund. If you only ever send USDT on TRC-20, that is the network to confirm in the deposit instructions before you send anything. Crypto transfers are irreversible once broadcast, so the network and address have to match first time.
The minimum top-up amount is not stated on the pages I could read, and the withdrawal fee page text was not retrievable when I checked, so I cannot tell you what it costs to take fiat back out.
Paying with it every day
The card is virtual, so the only place you can “tap” it is on your phone. Apple Pay is supported and the cards can be tokenised into Apple Wallet. Google Pay shows as a logo on the site, but the detail behind it is not given, and I could not confirm tokenisation, so treat Google Pay as a logo rather than a feature.
For online payments, the cards are described as supporting 3D Secure, which is the standard identity check (one-time code, biometric or app approval) that European banks and many merchants now require. The BINs the ad cards use are “Trusted BINs UK and USA”, which means the cards will read as issued in those countries to the merchant’s systems, and that is sometimes a help with ad platforms and sometimes a problem with merchants that decline prepaid or foreign-issued cards.
There is no cashback, no rewards programme and no spending category bonus on the public pages, and there is no published list of blocked merchant categories.
The Capitalist app is a Telegram bot rather than a phone app, and the store ratings for an iOS or Android app were not read in this review. That matters in two ways: you manage the card through Telegram, and the security of the card depends partly on the security of the Telegram account tied to it.
A few everyday consequences follow from that. Apple Pay only works on Apple devices, so on Android you are limited to entering the card number online. There is no physical card, so you cannot hand it to a waiter, give it to a child, or keep a backup in a drawer. The dispute process, in the sense of a formal chargeback right against the merchant, is not stated on the public pages, and that is a meaningful gap if you ever need to recover money from an online seller.
What can go wrong
The most important things to know are the things the site does not tell you.
The legal entity, card issuer and licences are not named. The brand is Capitalist and the site says the service has “11 years of successful work”, which is a long track record, but the registered company, the card issuer, and the licence numbers are not on the pages I could read. For a payment product that holds your money, that is the first question to answer, and the site does not answer it.
The FX margin is not disclosed. The top-up fee is 4%, and the site does not publish a percentage for currency conversion. For a card denominated in USD or EUR, that means every purchase in a third currency carries an unknown cost.
ATM terms are not published. The card is virtual, so ATM access is not a normal use case, but the site does not say what happens if a virtual card is used to generate a one-time ATM code or to push cash to a bank account. If you need a card with cash access, this is not it.
Customer support runs on Moscow time. Working days are 10:00 to 19:00 MSK, weekends and Russian public holidays 11:00 to 19:00 MSK, and outside those hours the channel is internal messages and a feedback form only. There is a Telegram bot. The languages supported are not stated. For a card “accepted worldwide”, the support hours cover a single time zone.
Account security is in your hands. The account has a personal greeting, IP restriction, SMS confirmation, a certificate, a one-time password table and a payment PIN, and the site recommends turning on at least two of these. That is a sensible list, but it puts the burden of securing the account on you, and any one of those methods can be the weak link if you do not keep them up to date.
Recent user reports. A Trustpilot review from August 2026 describes a USDT transfer from Trust Wallet that “never arrived” after five days. Other reviews from August to September 2026 complain about unclear or high fees, and one from August 2026 about unhelpful support. The Trustpilot overall is 4.2 out of 5 across 115 reviews, read on 2026-10-21, with around 25% one-star ratings. A 4.2 average is solid, but a 25% one-star rate is the kind of number that deserves a closer look at the negative reviews before you send any money.
No public incident has been confirmed. I did not find an official statement from Capitalist on a security breach, a frozen programme, or a regulatory action. The site has been around for 11 years, which counts for something, but it does not replace a published licence number.
The through-line is that Capitalist has been operating for a long time, the user base is broadly positive, and the public information is unusually thin for a product that holds your money. If you are comfortable with that mix, the card is usable for the narrow case it is built for. If you are not, the alternatives below publish more of the picture.
What to take instead
The three alternatives below are not head-to-head replacements, because Capitalist’s niche is narrow. They are the next things to look at if Capitalist’s gaps are deal-breakers for you.
Cardex (5.6/10). Cardex is sold as a single crypto card for 200+ countries, with no published country list. The card is a debit crypto card on the VERVE, Visa, Mastercard and UnionPay networks, available as virtual and physical, and the App Store listing prices the card currency in Nigerian Naira, which is the giveaway that the product is built around a specific market rather than around you. The fee model is “real-time crypto-to-fiat conversion at the moment of payment” with an “AI-Powered Conversion Rate” that scans global exchanges; the percentage is not stated. Top-up is from USDT, USDC and BTC wallets, and the supported networks are not stated. If you need a multi-network card and you live in one of the markets Cardex serves, it is worth a closer look. If you need a published country list, a clear FX margin, or a known issuer, you will need to keep looking.
TakeCard (5.5/10). TakeCard is the card product of Takenos. The physical card is currently Bolivia-only, while the virtual card is sold as available immediately in several Latin American and European countries (Argentina, Bolivia, Peru, Chile, Paraguay, Colombia, Ecuador, US, Spain, Italy in the starting data; the official help articles do not list countries). The card is a prepaid Visa issued in the United States, denominated in USD with USD payments 1:1 and other currencies at the official Visa rate of the transaction day. The pricing is clear: USD 5 for a virtual card, USD 20 issuance plus USD 20 shipping for the physical card in Bolivia (one source says USD 10 for the physical in Bolivia, so the price is contested), with no monthly fee. A 1% commission per purchase is added, and the crypto-to-fiat fee is not stated. Top-up is from the Takenos balance; the supported coins are not named in the article. If you live in one of the supported Latin American countries and you want a card with a clear percentage and a US-issued Visa, this is closer to what you are after.
OkiCard (6.0/10). OkiCard markets itself for 150+ to 200+ countries with “no geo-blocking based on your passport”, and it asks you to confirm you are not in a sanctioned jurisdiction. The card is virtual, with a physical version mentioned but not detailed; the network is “Visa/Mastercard” without specifying which; the card currency is USD or EUR pegged. The pricing is the most generous of the three on paper: $0 issuance, $0 monthly, with a $15 starting price for a virtual card (and a FAQ that mentions a one-time issuance fee, so the pages disagree). The deposit required is 100 USDT. The load fee is 3%, the in-USD transaction fee is 0%, and the site says “no hidden exchange spreads” without publishing the FX margin. Top-up is from USDT on BSC, Ethereum, Tron and Solana, with USDC “soon” and BTC and other coins “coming soon”. If you want a clearly priced virtual card with a published load fee and several stablecoin networks, OkiCard is the most transparent of the three.
The honest comparison: Capitalist is the cheapest to issue and the longest-running, Cardex has the widest network coverage on paper, TakeCard has the clearest US-Visa pricing, and OkiCard has the cleanest published fee structure for a virtual card. None of them publish a country list in the way a bank would. For a user with a stablecoin balance, Capitalist is still in the running. For anyone else, OkiCard is the more obvious answer.
| Card | Score | Issue | Load fee | Card networks | Country list | FX margin |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Capitalist | 5.0 | $2.50 / €2.00 | 4% | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Cardex | 5.6 | Not stated | Not stated | VERVE, Visa, Mastercard, UnionPay | 200+ (no list) | “AI rate” (not stated) |
| TakeCard | 5.5 | $5 virtual / $20 physical | 1% per purchase | Visa (US) | Bolivia (physical), several LatAm + EU (virtual, unconfirmed) | Visa day rate |
| OkiCard | 6.0 | $0 (with $15 starting price) | 3% | Visa / Mastercard (unspecified) | 150+ to 200+ (no list) | “No hidden spreads” (not stated) |
Who I would recommend it to
If you are a freelancer or marketer who needs a cheap virtual card to pay for ad accounts and online services, who is happy to top up in USDT or SEPA, and who is comfortable with a 4% load fee and an undisclosed FX margin, Capitalist will do the job and will do it cheaply. The $2.50 / €2.00 issue fee, the free maintenance, and the 11 years of operation are real points in its favour, and the Apple Pay support is a usable mobile wallet if you are on an iPhone.
If you need a physical card, a card with a published FX margin, a card that names its issuer and licences, a card with a country list you can read before you sign up, or a card with cashback or rewards, look at OkiCard first and TakeCard second. If you need the widest possible network coverage and a card that is meant to work in 200+ countries, Cardex is the next thing on the list.
Before you sign up, do three things. First, read the Trustpilot reviews, especially the one-star ones, and pay attention to the August to September 2026 complaints about unclear fees and a USDT deposit that did not arrive. Second, send a small test top-up before you move a real balance, and confirm the network and address on the deposit page before you send. Third, turn on at least two of the account security methods (the site recommends this), and treat the Telegram bot as the control centre for the card, because that is what it is.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Capitalist card?
A virtual prepaid payment card denominated in USD or EUR, sold by Capitalist and marketed to users for online advertising and subscriptions. The card is issued in Hong Kong, payments are accepted worldwide, and the cards are loaded from a balance that you top up by SWIFT, SEPA or USDT.
How does the Capitalist card work?
You create an account, complete the Verified user KYC (ID and a recent proof of address), top up the wallet by SWIFT, SEPA or USDT, pay the 4% top-up fee, and then order a virtual card that draws on that balance. At the moment of payment, the card balance is used like any prepaid card, and the merchant sees the card as a UK or US-issued BIN for the ad cards.
Is Capitalist a bank?
Capitalist is not described as a bank on the public pages. The brand is Capitalist, the company says it has been operating for 11 years, and the legal entity, card issuer and licence numbers are not named on the pages I could read, which is unusual for a product that holds your money.
Who owns Capitalist?
The site names the brand as Capitalist and says the service has been running for 11 years, but the registered company, the card-issuing bank or e-money institution, and the licences behind it are not published on the public pages. That is one of the main reasons the card is hard to compare with a licensed European EMI.
Is the Capitalist card available in my country?
The site says the cards are issued in Hong Kong and accepted worldwide, but it does not publish a list of supported or excluded countries. The only way to know is to create an account, attempt the KYC, and see whether the document check passes for your country. If it does not, the time you spent is lost.
How do I get a Capitalist card?
Sign up on the site, complete the Verified user KYC (ID plus an address document not older than three months), top up the wallet, pay the 4% load fee, and order a virtual card for $2.50 / €2.00. Ad cards are marketed with a “no complicated KYC” line, but the general Verified status still requires the documents.
Does the Capitalist card require KYC?
Yes. The general account status is “Verified user”, which requires identity and address documents, with the address document not older than three months. The ad-card marketing line “No complicated KYC procedure” refers to the card order, not the account, so you still need a Verified account before the card works.
How do I top up the Capitalist card?
Officially by SWIFT, SEPA or USDT, with a 4% fee taken from the payment amount rather than added on top. An earlier reading of the site also described BTC, ETH, USDC and USDT deposited to the wallet free, and cards loaded from the wallet at 3% to 4.7% per coin (unofficial, not confirmed on the current pages). The minimum top-up amount is not stated.
How do I add the Capitalist card to Apple Wallet?
The site says the cards work with Apple Pay, so you add the card in the usual way through the Apple Wallet app by entering or scanning the card details. The exact steps depend on whether the card is already tokenised or whether you have to type the number in. Google Pay shows as a logo, but the detail is not given, so treat it as a logo rather than a confirmed feature.
Is the Capitalist card safe?
The account has personal greeting, IP restriction, SMS confirmation, a certificate, a one-time password table and a payment PIN, and the site recommends turning on at least two. The card is virtual only, and the app is a Telegram bot, so the security of the card depends partly on the security of the Telegram account tied to it. There is a recent Trustpilot complaint about a USDT deposit that did not arrive after five days, and the legal entity, issuer and licences are not named on the site, which is the part that makes a safety call hard to make.
Highest-scored virtual cards – cryptocardbest.com
Content created by the «cryptocardbest.com» team
