Moonwell card review: the programme is shut, so what do holders do now?
The Moonwell card scored 2.3 out of 10 — not because it was a bad card, but because it no longer exists in any usable sense. Card loading and new issuance ended on 8 July 2026, the last day to use any card was 8 August 2026, and the app, dApp and withdrawal channel shut on 6 September 2026. There is nothing left to sign up for and nothing left to apply to. The only people this review is written for are former cardholders who need to confirm the closure details and get their money out, and — at the other end of the spectrum — anyone searching for a crypto card today who should read this page as a closed door and a shortlist of live alternatives instead.

The conditions described below are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict: 2.3 out of 10, because the programme ended
Let me give you the score first, then the table, then the reasoning, because the reasoning here is unusual: this is not a case of a card that scored badly on features. It is a case of a card that no longer operates.
The score breaks down as follows.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 0 / 10 | The programme is closed: card loading stopped and new issuance ended on 8 July 2026; the last day of use was 8 August 2026 |
| Cost | 7 / 10 | Unofficial figures: a 0.5% fee for loading USDC and 1.5% for currency conversion |
| Top-up options | 2 / 10 | Card loading stopped on 8 July 2026; unofficial and historical only: on-chain USDC and a “borrow-and-load” option against Moonwell lending positions |
| Reliability and complaints | 1 / 10 | The card closed together with the Cypher infrastructure, which was bought by Nium; fee-free withdrawals ran until 6 September 2026; no complaints about the card itself were found |
| Everyday use | 0 / 10 | All cards were cancelled on 8 August 2026 and the app was switched off on 6 September 2026 |
Total: 2.3 / 10.
Read those five rows as a single picture rather than five separate verdicts. “Who can get it” and “Everyday use” are both zero because the answers are “nobody” and “no day at all” — the card was cancelled. The 7 for cost is the only mark that reflects the card as it was designed rather than as it ended, and even those numbers are unofficial: the 0.5% load fee and 1.5% foreign-exchange fee come from third-party reporting, not from the card’s own pages, and the card’s own pages no longer carry card content. A low mark on cost cannot rescue a total of 2.3. “Reliability” scores 1 because reliability became irrelevant — the whole infrastructure under the card was acquired and wound down.
Who does this suit? Almost nobody, and that is the honest answer. There is no version of “this card suits you” that applies in 2026, because you cannot obtain one and a card you hold no longer works. The audience this page genuinely serves is narrower and more specific: former Moonwell cardholders who need to confirm the closure dates, understand what happened to their balance and rewards, and know that the support channel that will help them has a deadline. If you are one of those people, the sections on what happened and what to do as a holder are the ones to read, and you can skip the alternatives.
Who does it not suit? Anyone looking for a crypto card to spend from today. If your search was “how do I get a Moonwell card,” the answer is that you cannot, and no amount of persistence will change that — the issuance stop and the infrastructure shutdown are both dated facts, not a temporary pause you can wait out. The alternatives further down are the live options.
What happened to the programme
The card is gone, and the sequence of events is short enough to state exactly. On 8 July 2026, the infrastructure provider Cypher published a notice stating it had been acquired by Nium. The same notice set out the wind-down: card loading and new issuance ended on 8 July 2026; the last day of card use was 8 August 2026 at 00:00 UTC, after which all cards were cancelled; the final rewards cycle ran 2–16 July 2026; and the app, dApp and withdrawals closed on 6 September 2026. Moonwell said it was building a successor platform on Nium infrastructure and was exploring new card providers, with no timeline attached to that statement.
So this was not a crypto company failing and its card disappearing in the aftermath. It was the card’s infrastructure being bought, and the card being wound down as part of that. The distinction matters for anyone assessing blame or expecting a refund: the closure was an orderly wind-down of a working programme attached to an acquisition, with dated notice, rather than a collapse.
Here is the shape of it at a glance.
| Date | What happened |
|---|---|
| 8 July 2026 | Cypher notice: acquired by Nium. Card loading and new issuance end |
| 2–16 July 2026 | Final rewards cycle |
| 8 August 2026, 00:00 UTC | Last day of card use; all cards cancelled |
| 6 September 2026 | App, dApp and withdrawals close |
There is a gap in the official record, and I want to be straight about it rather than paper over it. The card’s own public pages no longer carry card content, so on the official side I cannot tell you the original eligibility rules, the card format, the stated costs and fees, the supported wallets, the tier structure, the currencies, the delivery arrangements, the KYC approach, or the identity-verification levels. None of that is publicly stated by the card any more, because the card’s public pages have been taken down or emptied of card content.
What third-party reporting described, and which I pass to you as unofficial and not confirmed by the card, is roughly this: the card was said to be available in more than 180 countries excluding New York and Vermont; it was a Visa debit card spending on-chain USDC at more than 44 million merchants, launched in December 2024; it charged 0.5% to load USDC and 1.5% on currency conversion; and Apple Pay and Google Pay were supported. Treat all five of those as descriptions of how the card used to work, gathered from secondary sources, not as current terms. None of them is something the card itself states today.
The successor platform, if it arrives, is a different product with different terms and its own due diligence. Nothing in the notice commits anyone to a replacement card on any date. If you are waiting for a Moonwell card to come back, that is a wait with no announced end.
If you already have the card
If you held one of these cards, the practical question is not whether it works — it does not — but whether your money is reachable and whether you have claimed what you earned. Here is the short version: check your balance, withdraw it, claim your rewards, and do both before the deadlines, because the channels that make this possible have already closed on the dates given above.
On the money itself: the infrastructure provider Cypher made the card balance withdrawable through the Cypher app or dApp at no fee, and that withdrawal deadline was 6 September 2026. The Cypher wallet is non-custodial — you hold the keys, not the provider. That distinction is doing real work in your favour here, and it is the one piece of genuinely good news in this page: because the keys are yours, a non-custodial wallet does not depend on a provider’s goodwill to keep your balance intact. What it does depend on is you having kept the keys safe. If you have lost your seed phrase or private key, that is a different and much harder problem, and no provider can recover it for you, because that is the design of self-custody.
On rewards: rewards earned before 16 July 2026 were honoured, and they had to be claimed before the end date. That window has passed. If you believe you have an unclaimed balance, your route now is Cypher’s support, not the Moonwell app.
On support: Cypher’s support contact was [email protected], available through 6 September 2026 and then for a further 60-day transitional period. Languages and hours were not stated. I am passing on the address as it was published, and you should expect it to be a transitional window with a fixed end rather than a permanent helpdesk.
What the card’s public pages no longer state about holder experience is worth knowing, because it saves you hunting: ATM withdrawals, spending limits, card funding routes, the dispute process and chargeback handling are all not stated, because the programme is closed and the pages carry no card content. You will not find limits or a disputes policy for this card on the official site, and that absence is a fact about a closed programme, not an oversight you can wait out.
The one piece of unofficial background that helps you picture the old funding routes: the card was said to draw on on-chain USDC, and a “borrow-and-load” feature reportedly let users borrow against Moonwell lending positions and load the borrowed funds onto the card. If that second feature ever applied to you, it is worth understanding what it meant — you were not spending your own assets, you were spending borrowed ones against a collateral position, and the position and the card were both parts of one setup that has now been dismantled. I flag that as something to look at rather than as advice.
My honest summary for a holder: this was handled in an orderly way, with dated notice and a fee-free withdrawal window and a non-custodial wallet, which is about as clean as a card shutdown gets. What is left undone is whatever you personally did not do inside those windows.
What can go wrong
Two kinds of risk matter here, and they are different in kind. One is the risk that already materialised — the card is closed and there is nothing to do about it. The other is the general risk that comes with this whole category, which is worth understanding precisely because you may be moving this money to a replacement card.
On the specific facts, let me separate what is documented from what is not. The Cypher notice is dated 8 July 2026 and says what I set out above: loading and new issuance ended 8 July, the last day of card use was 8 August 2026 at 00:00 UTC with all cards cancelled, the app and platform went offline and the withdrawal deadline was 6 September 2026, Cypher has been acquired by Nium, and funds remained withdrawable without fees. What is not stated: Moonwell’s own company and registration details, Moonwell-specific security controls, and any complaint record. The notice itself, it is worth noting, is Cypher’s and does not mention Moonwell.
On complaints, the search came back clean in a way that is easy to misread. No Trustpilot or Reddit complaints about the card were found. That is not evidence of a flawless card; it is mostly evidence that people were not unhappy with it in public. A card that ends on schedule with a fee-free exit does not generate the volume of angry reviews a collapsed one does. Read the absence of complaints as “no loud problems,” not as “no problems.”
The real forward-looking risks are these, and none of them is about Moonwell specifically.
- Self-custody risk sits with you. With a non-custodial wallet, key loss, phishing and clipboard-hijacking malware that swaps a copied address are your problem alone. There is no recovery and no support desk that can undo a stolen key.
- Blockchain transfers are one-way. A deposit sent on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost and may need manual recovery with no guarantee.
- Foreign-issued cards get declined. Merchants can look up the card’s issuing country from the number itself, and some decline prepaid or foreign-issued cards outright — a card that worked online may fail in person, for reasons that have nothing to do with you.
- Held funds from declined payments. A failed or declined authorisation can leave a hold on your money for several days, typically up to seven.
- Provider risk does not go away when you switch providers. Custodial platforms have a history of failing with customer funds — Mt. Gox, Coincheck, Ronin Network are the standard examples — and a card’s ability to suspend a programme is real, as this case shows.
- Address verification fails abroad. The address check that many merchants run is mainly available in the US, Canada and the UK, and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which causes declines.
- Sanctions screening is not optional. Identity checks and ongoing monitoring are legal requirements, and providers disable wallets and freeze funds tied to sanctioned parties. Stablecoins are not censorship-proof.
Two of those deserve a word each, because people get them wrong. The first is the reversal question. In the US, reversal rights on a debit card come from Regulation E and on a credit card from Regulation Z; prepaid-card coverage varies and should not be assumed. In the EU, strong customer authentication and 3-D Secure change who carries the loss on a fraudulent online payment — it can shift from the merchant to your bank, or, critics say, to you. Neither of those is a promise about this card; it is context for whatever you move to. The second is jurisdiction. The card is not the only thing that decides whether you can hold one — your citizenship, your country of residence and the issuer’s own policy all get screened, separately, and rules differ between programmes. Check the specific provider’s terms for your country rather than assuming a card that works for someone else works for you.
What to take instead
If you were going to use a crypto card for spending, the card that closed is not the only option, and the four below are live. I am not ranking them for you — they optimise for different things, and the right choice depends on where you are and what you want to spend from. Read them the way I read them: comparing what each one requires of you before it will let you hold it.
| Card | Score | Who it is for | What to check first |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nexo | 6.3 / 10 | Residents and citizens of selected European countries including the EEA and the UK | The physical card needs a balance above $5,000 and at least Gold tier |
| Pay3 | 6.3 / 10 | Anyone outside “Restricted Locations” | The Restricted Locations list is not published and can change |
| Exa | 6.2 / 10 | 45 countries and 31 US states; 18 countries ineligible | Eligibility turns on residence, not nationality |
The three scores are close together, which is the interesting part: on the criteria I scored, none of these three is dramatically better than the others, and all three sit in the low-to-mid sixes. That tells you something about the category in general — a working crypto card in 2026 is a competent, unremarkable product rather than a standout one.
Nexo is the most conventional of the three and the one with the most clearly stated conditions. It is for residents and citizens of selected European countries including the EEA and the UK; the page does not publish a country list, and it says only that it is not available in certain jurisdictions, so if you are outside Europe this is probably not your card. It offers a virtual card that activates in the app and a physical one, issued by DiPocket UAB. There is no monthly, annual or inactivity fee. The virtual card needs at least $50 in the account to activate. The physical card ships free but requires a balance above $5,000 in digital assets and at least Gold tier — that is a high bar, and if you are starting out it means the physical card is not really on the table. On fees, the foreign-exchange fee is 0.2% on weekdays in the EEA, UK and Switzerland and 2% in the rest of the world, rising to 0.7% and 2.5% at weekends; that weekend number is worth noticing, because weekend spending is when the fee hurts. The card spends from the Nexo account across more than 100 digital assets, and Debit Mode uses stablecoins, crypto and FiatX assets. Cashback applies only in Credit Mode with more than $5,000 held, paid in NEXO tokens or Bitcoin: Platinum 2% or 0.5%, Gold 1% or 0.3%, Silver 0.7% or 0.2%, Base 0.5% or 0.1%, with tiers depending on the share of NEXO tokens in your portfolio and rates that may vary by region. The crypto conversion fee is not stated. One thing to weigh if you are weighing Nexo: in 2025 there was a Bulgarian police raid on Nexo’s Sofia office over alleged sanctions and AML violations, reported by Cointelegraph, with no official Nexo statement about Russians found there. That is not a finding against the company, but it is the kind of thing you should know before depositing, and it is a reminder that a card’s licence and its jurisdiction matter.
Pay3 is the most open in principle and the vaguest in practice. It is open to users outside “Restricted Locations” — countries under trade sanctions, export controls, or crypto and fintech prohibitions — and the terms require you to attest that you are not a US citizen and not OFAC-blocked. The Restricted Locations list itself is not published and may change without notice, which means you cannot check your own country against a list; you have to read the categories. It offers virtual, physical and Apple Pay and Google Pay cards under licence from Visa. The card is collateral-based, meaning your collateral sets your spending limit, and it spends from stablecoins or from fiat in a multi-currency account. On cost, issuance starts at $5 and card spend is from $0.15 per transaction, with no monthly or annual fee stated. On fees, currency conversion is from 1.15%, with the foreign-exchange, cross-border and foreign-transaction fees each up to 3% — three separate percentages that can stack depending on what you are doing. Rewards are not stated. So: the widest geographic promise, the least published detail.
Exa is the most geographically explicit, and the only one that lists its exclusions. It issues in 45 countries including Argentina, Brazil, Japan, Kenya, Mexico, Singapore, South Africa and the UAE, with Nigeria conditional, and in 31 US states. Eighteen countries are ineligible, including Belarus, China, India, Iran, Israel, Turkey, Ukraine, Vietnam and Russia. The rule is by residence, not nationality — and it says explicitly that Russian residents cannot be issued a card, and that the card cannot be used for spending in Russia, alongside Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Syria, Ukraine and Venezuela. It is a virtual Visa Signature card, accepted at over 150 million merchants in more than 150 countries; the help centre has an article asking whether there is a physical card. It is marketed as free, with no amounts on the page. Funding comes from account funds and collateral held in the self-custody Exa app, and spending works either as Pay Now or in installments against a collateral credit line. Fees are not stated, though the help centre carries articles on associated costs and on non-USD conversion. There is no cashback; what is advertised is yield on assets, plus Visa Signature benefits, 20% off Airalo eSIMs, and a US activation reward of $20 in XRP via Uphold for spending $100.
Set against each other on the things people actually weigh:
| Nexo | Pay3 | Exa | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Region | EEA, UK, Switzerland and selected others | Anywhere outside “Restricted Locations” | 45 countries, 31 US states |
| Card | Virtual and physical | Virtual, physical, Apple Pay, Google Pay | Virtual Visa Signature; physical unclear |
| Monthly or annual fee | None | Not stated | Marketed as free |
| FX fee | 0.2% weekday / 0.7% weekend in EEA, UK, CH | From 1.15% | Not stated |
| Other fees | None for issuance | Up to 3% cross-border, foreign exchange, foreign transaction | Not stated |
| Rewards | Cashback in Credit Mode, $5,000+ balance | Not stated | Yield, Visa benefits, one activation reward |
| Custody | Nexo account | Collateral on platform | Self-custody Exa app |
If you take one thing from this comparison: check what the provider requires of you *before* you deposit, because that is where these three differ most and where the money gets committed. Nexo gates the physical card behind $5,000 and Gold tier. Pay3 requires an attestation you must be able to make truthfully. Exa decides on your country of residence, and its exclusion list is the only one of the three you can actually read in advance.
Who I would recommend it to
I would not recommend the Moonwell card to anyone, in the straightforward sense of that phrase, because there is no card to recommend. It is closed to new applicants, cancelled for existing holders, and its app and withdrawal channel are gone. Recommending it would mean recommending something that cannot be obtained or used.
What I would recommend, specifically, is this. If you held a Moonwell card and have not yet checked the balance and claimed your rewards, that check is worth your time — but note that both windows have closed, so this is about confirming there is nothing stranded rather than about acting in time. If you are still holding USDC because you loaded it onto the card, treat locating and securing it as the first task, and treat the self-custodial nature of the wallet as a fact you need your seed phrase for, because that is the one thing that was never at risk here and also the one thing you cannot get back if lost. If you are looking for a card to replace it, look at the three above, starting with the region you actually live in, because that is the filter that eliminates most of them fastest — Nexo is a European card, Pay3’s exclusions are unpublishable, and Exa’s list is the one you can read today and check yourself against.
And if you are holding crypto generally, the honest lesson from this closure is a modest one: a working card is a convenience layered on top of other dependencies. The card depended on an issuer, an infrastructure provider and an acquisition. That chain can break without anyone doing anything wrong, and when it does, what is left is what you can reach yourself. Judging any crypto card — this dead one or a live one — by what happens to your money when the provider’s circumstances change is a better test than judging it by the fees it charges.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Moonwell card?
It was a Visa debit card that spent on-chain USDC, reportedly launched in December 2024 and said to reach more than 44 million merchants in over 180 countries except New York and Vermont. That description comes from third-party reporting, not from the card’s own pages, which no longer carry card content. The programme itself has now closed, so this is a description of how it used to work.
How did the Moonwell card work?
You loaded USDC onto it, paid a reported 0.5% loading fee, and then spent the balance as ordinary card purchases anywhere the network was accepted, with a reported 1.5% currency conversion fee. It reportedly supported Apple Pay and Google Pay. All of those are unofficial figures from secondary sources describing the card’s design, and none of them describes how the card behaves now.
Is Moonwell a bank?
Not on the evidence available here, and the distinction matters. The card’s infrastructure was provided by Cypher, a company named as CypherD Wallet Inc., which was acquired by Nium. Moonwell’s own company and registration details are not stated on any card page now available. A crypto card usually depends on a licensed issuer rather than on the brand being a bank itself.
Can I still get a Moonwell card?
No. Card loading and new issuance ended on 8 July 2026, and the last day of card use was 8 August 2026, after which all cards were cancelled. Moonwell said it was exploring new card providers and building a successor platform on Nium infrastructure, but attached no timeline. There is nothing to apply for and nothing to wait for with a known end date.
What happened to my money if I had a Moonwell card?
Cypher made the card balance withdrawable through its app or dApp at no fee, with a deadline of 6 September 2026. The Cypher wallet is non-custodial, so you hold the keys yourself and the balance does not depend on a provider’s cooperation. If you cannot access it, that is a seed-phrase or key problem, and no support desk can restore a lost key — that is inherent to self-custody, not a failure of this particular provider.
Were Moonwell card rewards paid?
Rewards earned before 16 July 2026 were honoured, and the final rewards cycle ran 2–16 July. They had to be claimed before the end date, and that date has passed. If you believe a balance is unclaimed, your remaining route is Cypher’s support at [email protected], which was published as running through 6 September 2026 plus a 60-day transitional period. Languages and hours were not stated.
Was the Moonwell card safe, and were there complaints?
I found no Trustpilot or Reddit complaints about the card in my searches, which is weak evidence rather than strong: a card that shuts down on schedule with a fee-free exit does not generate many angry reviews. What is documented is the orderly wind-down itself, published by Cypher on 8 July 2026. No complaints about the card specifically were found, and the infrastructure provider’s notice does not mention Moonwell.
What should I use instead of the Moonwell card?
Four live options come up most: Nexo for residents and citizens of selected European countries including the EEA and the UK, Pay3 for anyone outside “Restricted Locations” whose list is not published, Exa across 45 countries and 31 US states with a readable exclusion list, and Base among those seeking a US crypto card. All three detailed above score in the low-to-mid sixes out of ten — working, competent products rather than standouts. Start with your own country, because that filter removes most options fastest.
Is Moonwell card available in my country?
It no longer is, anywhere, because the programme is closed to new applicants. Historically it was reported as available in more than 180 countries except New York and Vermont — an unofficial figure from third-party sources, not the card’s own statement. If you are choosing a replacement, check the specific provider’s country rules: Exa decides by residence and lists 18 ineligible countries, Pay3 relies on categories you must assess yourself, and Nexo publishes no country list at all.
Can I use Apple Pay or Google Pay with these cards?
On the closed Moonwell card, Apple Pay and Google Pay were reportedly supported, though that is unofficial. Among live alternatives, Pay3 explicitly offers virtual, physical and Apple Pay and Google Pay cards. Nexo offers a virtual card that activates in the app and a physical one, with no mobile wallet details stated. For Exa, the card is a virtual Visa Signature and the help centre has an article about a physical card, but the mobile wallet situation is not stated.
Highest-scored credit and cashback cards – cryptocardbest.com
Content created by the «cryptocardbest.com» team
