A regulated Gibraltar bank that lets you spend USD and Bitcoin from a single account, priced like a premium service
Xapo Bank sits in an unusual corner of the card market. It is a regulated credit institution in Gibraltar, it issues metal, standard and virtual debit cards under the Visa network, and it lets you spend directly from a USD or Bitcoin balance held in your Xapo Account. That combination, a real banking licence alongside a Bitcoin-native spending flow, is rare, and it is also what the card charges you for. The headline number is a USD 1,000 annual membership, refundable in full for 30 days. After that, the day-to-day experience is lean: no FX fees, no markups, a USD 100 monthly ATM allowance, and a card that converts your USDC and USDT to dollars in the background.

This review walks through who Xapo Bank will actually issue a card to, what the card costs in real situations, how you fund it, what daily spending looks like, and where the product falls short. I have read the card’s terms and the public-facing pages, cross-checked against a third-party card directory for the figures the issuer does not publish, and weighed the whole package against the 5.8 out of 10 the card scores once you put a number on access, cost, funding options, reliability and everyday use. The verdict at the end tells you whether the card makes sense for your situation.
Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict
The Xapo Bank card earns a 5.8 out of 10. That score reflects a card that is well-built and well-regulated, but expensive to keep and narrow in where it can be issued. The mark breaks down like this.
| Criterion | Mark | Reason |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 7 / 10 | The official pages do not list eligible countries, and the card is closed to a long list of jurisdictions that includes the United States |
| Cost | 2 / 10 | USD 1,000 a year in membership, with no FX fees or hidden markups, but a 2% ATM fee above a small free allowance |
| Top-up options | 6 / 10 | Card spends the Xapo Account balance; USDC and USDT auto-convert to USD; SWIFT, ACH, SEPA, Faster Payments and Bitcoin via Lightning |
| Reliability and complaints | 7 / 10 | Gibraltar FSC credit institution, USD deposits covered up to the GBP 120,000 equivalent, mixed user reviews on support and freezes |
| Everyday use | 8 / 10 | Metal, standard and virtual debit cards, ATM access in 100+ countries, wallet support not published |
The card suits a specific reader: someone who already wants a Xapo Account for USD, EUR and GBP custody, holds Bitcoin in the same place, and is happy to pay for the privilege. If that is you, the daily experience is clean. If you only want a card to spend stablecoins and could not care less about the wider bank, the membership fee will feel like a toll road for a journey you do not need to take.
Who Xapo Bank Will Issue a Card To
The first question with any card is whether the issuer will send you one, and the honest answer for Xapo Bank is that the official pages leave a lot of the answer to discretion. The card terms carry the title “Cards Issued Outside Europe Region,” which confirms the programme exists, but the eligibility list itself is not published. The card sits on top of a Xapo Account, and the bank may refuse a card at its discretion; previously suspended users cannot order one.
What is published elsewhere is more useful. A third-party card directory, last updated 11 August 2026, lists around 50 countries where the card is reportedly available, including the United Kingdom, Canada, Germany, Japan and Singapore, alongside roughly 28 restricted jurisdictions that include the United States, Russia and Ukraine. A separate source puts the figure above 100 countries, with US residents and US passport holders excluded. I am treating both as unofficial: they are not confirmed by the card’s terms, and you should verify your own country before you put any data into the application.
A few practical points follow from the gaps. The first is that citizenship and residence are handled differently. The terms do not state which one the bank screens on, and a national ID from a supported country is not the same as a residency permit in a supported country. The second is that, even if your country is on the unofficial “available” list, the bank can still say no, and the discretionary refusal is the kind of clause you only learn about when it is too late. Treat any third-party country list as a starting point, not a guarantee.
The bottom line: if you are in the United States, in Russia, in Ukraine, or in any of the other commonly restricted jurisdictions, do not assume a workaround. If you are in a country that is not on the unofficial list, the realistic answer is “probably not.” If you are in a country that is on the list, you still need a clean history with the bank.
How to Get the Card
Xapo’s onboarding flow is built around the Xapo Account rather than the card, so the card is a feature you enable once the account is in place. Three facts shape the experience.
First, age. You must be at least 18 to order a card. The terms do not state a higher minimum for any country.
Second, identity. The card terms do not publish the exact KYC document list, but the wider onboarding flow does. You will need a valid passport or national ID, personal details that confirm your identity and your residence, and a real-time photo or short video taken inside the app. Beyond the document list, the terms do not publish processing times, verification tiers or the reasons an application might be rejected, so the experience is opaque until you are in it.
Third, the cards themselves. Membership includes a metal card, a standard card and a virtual debit card. The non-European card is issued under Visa’s network, though the network name is not published on the Transact page itself. All three cards spend from the same account balance.
Delivery is straightforward with a caveat. Cards are posted only to your verified address; sending one to an alternative address is possible but at your own risk and not guaranteed. The card terms do not publish delivery times, delivery costs or country-by-country availability of physical cards. For replacements, the first re-issue inside a calendar year is the rule you need to know: an additional replacement card costs USD 25, and the terms reserve the right to charge other lost, stolen or damaged re-issue fees, with the amounts in a separate Fees Information Sheet that is not on the page. Unofficial figures from a third party put emergency replacement at USD 100 plus address-dependent shipping for the first replacement of the year, but again, the issuer does not confirm those numbers.
A practical reading: budget a few weeks for delivery, keep the address in the app in sync with where you actually live, and treat any “first replacement free” line as a third-party claim rather than a guarantee until the issuer’s own document says so.
Fees: What the Card Really Costs
The headline cost of the Xapo Bank card is membership, and it dominates everything else. The card costs USD 1,000 per year, with a 30-day full-refund window from the date of payment. After those 30 days, the membership is yours whether you use the card or not. Issuance of the premium metal card is currently free to order, which softens the entry but not the running cost.

The day-to-day fees are lean, and that is the one place where the card genuinely delivers against its marketing. Foreign spending carries “no FX fees and no hidden markups.” Spending Bitcoin is advertised with “no fees and competitive spreads.” Dynamic currency conversion at the till, where a merchant offers to charge you in your home currency at a poor rate, is discouraged, and rightly so. The card’s value proposition is to convert at the wholesale layer and let you keep the difference.
ATM use has a small free allowance. Withdrawals cost 2% of the amount above USD 100 in any month; the first USD 100 per month is free, and you should also be ready for the ATM operator’s own fee, which the bank does not control.
Spending limits exist in the form of default monthly caps, adjustable in the app. The terms describe “high spending limits” without naming the figures. A third-party source puts in-store and online spending at USD 50,000 per day, the ATM at USD 2,000 per day, and case-by-case approvals up to USD 750,000. I am flagging those as unofficial: the bank’s own page does not name them. Some merchant categories are blocked; recurring pre-authorised payments, self-service petrol pumps and cash-like transactions can be declined.
Refunds usually arrive within 10 business days. Refunds in currencies the card does not support are converted at the payment-system rate, and Xapo says it is not liable for any loss from that conversion.
The table below summarises the costs as the card publishes them.
| Fee or limit | Amount |
|---|---|
| Annual membership | USD 1,000 (30-day full refund) |
| Metal card issuance | Free to order |
| First replacement card in a year | Not stated on the terms |
| Additional replacement in a year | USD 25 |
| Foreign spending | No FX fees, no markups |
| Bitcoin spending | No fees, competitive spreads |
| ATM withdrawal | First USD 100/month free, 2% above that; operator fee may apply |
| Daily and monthly limits | Not stated officially; unofficial: USD 50,000/day in-store and online, USD 2,000/day ATM |
| Refund processing | Up to 10 business days |
What does that look like in practice? Three everyday situations help.
Paying for a EUR 80 dinner in Berlin on a USD balance. The card converts at the wholesale rate, debits USD from your balance, and that is it. There is no foreign-transaction fee, no percentage added on top, and the receipt shows the dollar amount that left the account.
Withdrawing GBP 200 from a London cashpoint. The first USD 100 in the month is free, so the remaining USD 100-equivalent attracts the 2% fee, which works out to USD 2. The ATM operator may add its own fee on top, so the true cost depends on the machine you choose. A foreign-currency ATM in a country whose currency is not one of your balances is still charged in dollars from your account, but the operator’s fee can be a multiple of Xapo’s.
Buying a USD 500 flight with Bitcoin. The card debits Bitcoin from your account, the bank’s spread is “competitive” but not published as a number, and that is the cost you cannot see. If you have ever used a Bitcoin debit card before, the spread is the line item that quietly erodes the value of the convenience; here, that line is left to your own trust in the bank.
The point is that the card’s published cost is one number, USD 1,000, and the actual cost depends on how you use it. If you spend a lot in foreign currency, the absence of FX fees is meaningful. If you withdraw a lot of cash, the 2% above USD 100 is not. If you spend Bitcoin often, the spread is the only fee that matters, and the bank is not telling you what it is.
Top Up: How to Fund the Card
The card spends only the Xapo Account balance, which is the phrase to take literally. You do not top up the card; you fund the account, and the card draws from that balance. The rails depend on the currency.

For US dollars, you can deposit via SWIFT or ACH. For pounds sterling, the Faster Payments rail is available. For euros, SEPA. For Bitcoin, the account accepts transfers over the Lightning network. Stablecoin deposits are the most unusual entry point: USDC and USDT arrive in the account and are automatically converted to USD, so you do not need to manage a stablecoin balance separately.
The card’s terms do not state a deposit fee, a minimum top-up, or a maximum per transaction. The official pages also do not say how long each rail takes to settle, which is a real gap if you are timing a payment. In practice, ACH and SEPA in Europe can settle in a business day or two, Faster Payments is closer to instant, SWIFT is slower, and Lightning is variable depending on the channel you use to send.
A few details matter here. First, USDC and USDT arrive as the tokens and are converted to dollars inside the account. The conversion rate is not published as a fee line, so the spread is built into the rate you see in the app. Second, you can withdraw funds from the account the same way you deposit them: SWIFT, ACH, Faster Payments, SEPA, or Lightning for Bitcoin. Withdrawal fees are not published either. Third, closing the account cancels the card; you can cancel the card without closing the account. How remaining balances are handled on closure is not stated, and the bank can end the agreement with two months’ written notice.
If you are sending stablecoins, the practical advice is the same as with any other card that takes them: send on a network the account accepts, double-check the address, and remember that blockchain transfers are irreversible. A deposit sent on a network the bank does not support, or to an address of a different network, can be lost or stuck in support with no guarantee of recovery.
Paying With the Card Every Day
The everyday experience is what makes or breaks a card, and here the Xapo card behaves like a normal premium debit card. The metal card is a talking point in person, the standard card is what you keep in your wallet, and the virtual card is for online use or for tokenising into a mobile wallet. ATM access is available in 100 or more countries, which is broad, though the practical density of compatible machines depends on where you actually travel.
Wallet support is the one place where the public information is thin. Apple Pay and Google Pay are not mentioned in the card terms. That is a meaningful gap, because a metal card does not help at a turnstile reader that needs a tap. If mobile wallet support matters to you, this is a question to ask the bank before you pay the membership.
Spending behaviour is mostly set by category rules. The bank blocks a list of merchant category codes, which is normal, but the list itself is not published on the card page. You will only find out a category is blocked when a transaction declines. Recurring pre-authorised payments, self-service petrol pumps and cash-like transactions can be declined as a matter of policy, and a declined authorisation can place a hold on funds for several days.
Rewards are currently a campaign, not a permanent feature. From 1 July to 31 October 2026, the card runs a 3% cashback in Bitcoin on rideshare and taxi spending, and the offer requires an active Metal card. The cashback is described as “available for selected spending only,” and the wider card does not advertise general cashback; that category of reward was replaced by targeted campaigns from 1 July 2026. If you spend heavily on taxis and ride-shares, this is real money back; if you do not, the campaign is a footnote.
The app is the operational centre. There is a single iOS and Android app, available 24/7, and the app store ratings and review counts were not retrieved as part of this review. Card freeze and unfreeze are managed in the app, which is the standard control you want.
Disputes and chargebacks are the weakness. The terms do not give a dispute or chargeback timeframe, which is unusual. Refunds are described as usually up to 10 business days, and refunds in unsupported currencies are converted at the payment-system rate, with Xapo disclaiming liability for any loss from that conversion. If you dispute a charge, you are depending on support rather than on a published process.
There is also an introductory savings offer running for members paying between 22 September and 23 November 2026: 4.6% per annum on the first USD 100,000 in USD Savings for 90 days. That is not a card feature, but it is part of the same membership package, and it is worth knowing about if you sit on a dollar balance.
What Can Go Wrong
Three categories of risk are worth understanding before you commit a thousand dollars a year to a card.
The first is regulatory and operational. Xapo Bank is incorporated in Gibraltar, Company No. 111928, with its registered office at 2 Irish Town, Gibraltar GX11 1AA. It is regulated by the Gibraltar Financial Services Commission as a “credit institution” under the Financial Services Act 2019, permission number 23171. A separate Xapo VASP entity is licensed as a DLT provider, permission number 26061. That is a real banking licence, not just an e-money licence, and the difference matters for the protections you get.
USD deposits held in the account are covered by the Gibraltar Deposit Guarantee Scheme up to the USD equivalent of GBP 120,000. That is meaningful: it is a deposit guarantee, not a notional promise. Bitcoin and crypto balances are not covered by the scheme, which is the standard line for any card that mixes custody and payment, but it is a line to read carefully. The bank also lists PCI DSS, SOC 2 Type II and SOC 3 among its certifications, which is a reasonable baseline.
The second is support. The bank offers a dedicated Relationship Manager for members, an in-app support flow, and a customer support portal at customersupport.xapo.com, alongside a published complaint page. Two-factor authentication is not mentioned in the card terms, which is a gap; the app provides card freeze and unfreeze, but the second factor for signing in is not described on the card page.
The third is the user experience, and here the picture is mixed. Trustpilot shows Xapo Bank at about 3.9 out of 5 from around 1,100 reviews, with roughly 31% of those rated one star. The positives tend to be about the app and the support team; the negatives cluster around account freezes, slow or unresponsive compliance reviews, and difficulty withdrawing or closing accounts. A 1-star review cited a year of failed transactions and called the bank fraudulent; that is one user’s view, and you should weight it as such, but the pattern of complaints is consistent. Reddit threads in r/CryptoHelp from 2025 describe ID-verification problems that went unresolved for years, with unresponsive support. None of this means Xapo Bank is a scam, but it does mean the experience can be uneven, especially around compliance.
A 2014 backlash over an older Xapo debit card fee schedule is worth a brief mention as context rather than as a current issue: that was a different product under a different issuer, and Xapo publicly blamed its issuer at the time and promised reimbursements. It is not the card you are being asked to sign up for today.
The summary is this. The banking licence is real. The deposit guarantee covers dollars and not Bitcoin. The complaint pattern is uneven, and slow compliance reviews are the most common pain point in user reports.
What to Take Instead
The Xapo Bank card is not the only way to spend from a crypto balance, and three alternatives cover most of the situations a reader is likely to be weighing it against.
Whop Cards scores 5.2 out of 10 and is the most consumer-focused of the three. The card is Visa, works anywhere Visa is accepted, and is available to consumers in 31 US states and to businesses in 41. The unsupported list is long, including Belarus, China (Mainland), Cuba, Hong Kong, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela and Vietnam, so this is a US-centric product. The page advertises “no extra fees,” with no issuance or monthly amounts listed; conversion and FX fee amounts are not published. Whop Cards spends from a Whop balance that is backed by stablecoin collateral from a linked wallet. The published reward is 5% cashback at select merchants, currently Uber, with more merchants planned. If you live in one of the supported US states and your main goal is to spend a stablecoin balance with a cashback on top, Whop Cards is a simpler, cheaper fit than Xapo Bank.
Stella scores 6.5 out of 10 and is closer in spirit to Xapo Bank. Stella offers virtual and physical Visa cards usable at “over 40 million VISA merchants globally,” deposits crypto into an account that automatically tops up the card, and runs an in-app custodial wallet. The official page does not list countries, and the terms bar users under economic sanctions programmes; US and European users are routed through affiliates. Fees are described as in the User Agreement or the App, with no published card fees. The official card page does not advertise cashback; an “Earn” product is a separate yield feature, not a card reward. If you want a card that is closer to a custodial crypto account than a US-only card and you are happy with a non-bank issuer, Stella is the comparison to read carefully.
UniFi Card scores 4.7 out of 10 and is a prepaid Visa issued by Lead Bank, with a USD balance and Apple Pay support. Eligibility is not confirmed from official pages; the App Store listing describes send-money routes to the Philippines (PHP), Mexico (MXN), eurozone (EUR), and release notes mention Colombia, Brazil (PIX) and the UK (GBP). The card funds via ACH, wire, SEPA (IBAN) or SPEI (CLABE), and you can also be paid to a USDC wallet. Coins and networks beyond USDC are not stated on the listing. The card advertises “3% rewards on balances,” but card cashback is not stated. Fees are not stated beyond “Fees may apply.” UniFi is the weakest of the three on published information, and the score reflects that. If you are a freelancer in one of the supported countries and want a prepaid USD card that is paid in USDC, UniFi is an option; if you want clarity, it is not.
In one line: Xapo Bank is the only one of the four with a real banking licence and a published deposit guarantee. Whop Cards is the cheapest if you are in a supported US state. Stella is the closest analogue without the membership fee. UniFi is the prepaid option for the markets it serves.
Who I Would Recommend the Xapo Bank Card To
The card is not for everyone, and the quickest way to decide is to ask three questions.
Do you want a Xapo Account for the bank it is, not just for the card? The membership fee makes sense if the wider account is the product, with USD, EUR and GBP custody, USDC and USDT auto-conversion, a Lightning Bitcoin balance, and a published deposit guarantee on the dollar side. If you only need a card, the thousand-dollar-a-year fee is hard to justify against free or cheaper alternatives.
Are you in a country the card actually serves? The official pages do not publish a country list, and a third-party list is not a guarantee. If you are in the United States, in Russia, in Ukraine, or anywhere the bank has historically said no, the question answers itself.
Are you comfortable with the published gaps? The bank does not publish FX spreads for Bitcoin spending, ATM withdrawal fees for operators, delivery times, daily limits, dispute timeframes, or processing times for verification. If that opacity bothers you, the card is the wrong product. If you can live with it because the underlying bank licence is what you are paying for, the rest is a known unknown.
The card suits premium banking clients who hold USD, EUR or GBP balances and Bitcoin, who want to spend those balances on a single piece of metal, and who are happy to pay for a regulated, Gibraltar-based bank. It is the wrong card for a casual stablecoin spender, for someone in a restricted country, and for anyone who needs published dispute and verification timeframes more than they need a banking licence.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the Xapo Bank card?
The Xapo Bank card is a metal, standard or virtual debit card included with a Xapo Bank membership. The card spends from a Xapo Account balance, which can hold USD, EUR, GBP and Bitcoin, and converts USDC and USDT to dollars in the background.
How does the Xapo Bank card work?
You fund a Xapo Account using SWIFT, ACH, SEPA, Faster Payments or Lightning for Bitcoin, deposit USDC or USDT for automatic USD conversion, and the card draws on that balance when you pay. Foreign spending carries no FX fees, and the first USD 100 of ATM withdrawals per month is free, with a 2% fee above that.
Is Xapo Bank actually a bank?
Xapo Bank Limited is a credit institution incorporated in Gibraltar, regulated by the Gibraltar Financial Services Commission under permission number 23171, and its USD deposits are covered by the Gibraltar Deposit Guarantee Scheme up to the USD equivalent of GBP 120,000.
Who owns Xapo Bank?
The card terms name Xapo Bank Limited, incorporated in Gibraltar, Company No. 111928, at 2 Irish Town, Gibraltar GX11 1AA. Ownership of the wider group is not described in the card terms.
Is the Xapo Bank card available in my country?
The official card terms do not publish a list of eligible countries, and a third-party directory lists around 50 supported countries and 28 restricted ones that include the United States, Russia and Ukraine. You will need to confirm with the bank directly before applying.
How do I apply for the Xapo Bank card?
You first open a Xapo Account, complete KYC with a valid passport or national ID, a real-time photo or short video, and proof of address, and then order the card from inside the app. You must be at least 18.
Does the Xapo Bank card require KYC?
Yes. You will need a valid passport or national ID, personal details confirming your identity and residence, and a real-time photo or short video taken in the app. Processing times and rejection reasons are not published.
How do I top up the Xapo Bank card?
You cannot top up the card directly. You fund the Xapo Account using SWIFT or ACH for USD, Faster Payments for GBP, SEPA for EUR, Lightning for Bitcoin, or USDC and USDT for automatic USD conversion. Deposit fees and minimums are not published.
Can I add the Xapo Bank card to Apple Pay or Google Pay?
Apple Pay and Google Pay support is not mentioned in the card terms or on the Transact page. If mobile wallet support is important to you, this is a question to ask the bank before paying the membership.
Is the Xapo Bank card safe?
USD balances are held by a Gibraltar-regulated credit institution and covered by the Gibraltar Deposit Guarantee Scheme up to the USD equivalent of GBP 120,000; Bitcoin and stablecoin balances are not covered. The card supports in-app freeze and unfreeze, and the bank lists PCI DSS, SOC 2 Type II and SOC 3 certifications, but two-factor authentication is not described on the card page.
Highest-scored app and neobank cards – cryptocardbest.com
Content created by the «cryptocardbest.com» team
