A prepaid Visa that stopped opening its door in June 2026
SpectroCoin is a prepaid Visa Debit card denominated in euros that you fund by exchanging crypto inside the SpectroCoin wallet. That was the pitch, and for years it was a workable one for people who wanted to spend crypto without handing their whole balance to an exchange. What has changed is not the card mechanics but the company around it. Since June 30, 2026 the operator has stopped onboarding new clients, stopped accepting deposits and stopped executing exchanges and transactions, and its crypto arm says it can no longer provide crypto-asset services in the EU/EEA. On top of that, the card’s own pages are thin: no country list, no coins or networks named, no mobile wallet support mentioned, no rewards mentioned.

That makes this a strange review to write. I am reviewing a product that, for new applicants, no longer exists. If you are reading this hoping to open an account, stop here — this is not the card for you. If you already hold one, then the questions become different and more urgent: what does it cost to keep, what does it cost to spend, what do I do with the balance, and who answers when something goes wrong. I try to answer both sets.
The conditions described below are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict: 3.4 out of 10, and the score is mostly about the closure
My score for the SpectroCoin card is 3.4 out of 10. That number is low not because the card is badly built — the Visa Debit is competent, the fee table is readable and unremarkable — but because the company has withdrawn the crypto side of the business in the EU/EEA and closed to new clients, while the score for reliability and complaints is 1 out of 10.
Let me show you how that adds up, criterion by criterion, so you can disagree with me where you disagree.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 0 / 10 | Closed: since June 30, 2026 new clients are not accepted and crypto services in the EU/EEA have stopped |
| Cost | 6 / 10 | Physical €5, virtual €1, €1 per month; loading via the wallet is free, EEA ATM in EUR €1, international 2% (min €2); unofficial reviews mention 4–5% fees when topping the card up |
| Top-up options | 5 / 10 | The card is loaded with EUR from exchanging virtual currency in the SpectroCoin wallet; coins and networks are not named |
| Reliability and complaints | 1 / 10 | Issuer is UAB Pervesk (EMI licence No. 17, Bank of Lithuania); Spectro Finance OÜ has no MiCA authorisation and crypto services in the EU/EEA have stopped; Trustpilot 2.3 out of 5 from 1,996 reviews |
| Everyday use | 6 / 10 | Visa Debit in EUR, virtual and physical, ATMs available; Apple Pay and Google Pay are not named |
| Total | 3.4 / 10 |
Who this suits, on today’s facts: almost nobody who is not already inside. The one group the situation genuinely fits is existing cardholders who are withdrawing their balance — people who treat the card as a thing to empty, not a thing to open. The card still works for spending what is on it, and the closure notice itself asks users to withdraw assets.
Who it does not suit: anyone starting out. If you have been reading about crypto cards as a way to get a card you did not qualify for, this is now the wrong example — not because the rules are unfair, but because the door is shut and the operator says the crypto part of its business is over. And if you were planning around Apple Pay, cashback, or a long list of coins, none of that is on the card page.
One more thing about the Trustpilot split that I find more informative than the average: 76% of reviews are five stars and 16% are one star, which is a bimodal pattern, not a middling one. People who got a good year left a good review. People who hit the post-closure wall left a bad one. Recent volume is thin — 33 reviews in the last 12 months out of 1,996 — so the average sits between two very different experiences rather than describing one.
Will they give you the card?
No — not to anyone who is not already a client. The card’s own pages still exist and still describe fees, limits and delivery, but since June 30, 2026 the company has stopped onboarding new clients.
So the short answer to “will they give you the card” is: if you already have one, yes; if you are applying, no. The eligibility language on the card page is also worth reading carefully, because it is oddly vague where it could have been specific. The fee tables use the term “EEA” and “outside EEA”, the page says the card is “Not intended for US residents”, and there is no country list anywhere. I cannot tell you from the card’s public pages which countries are eligible, because the card does not say. That is not a gap I can fill from general knowledge without guessing, and guessing here would be irresponsible — eligibility for a card like this is decided by the issuer under anti-money-laundering rules, not by me.
A little background that explains why that language is written that way, and why it matters to you: in the EU, customer due diligence covers name, address, date of birth, nationality and identity documentation, a sanctions check, establishing the purpose of the relationship, and a politically exposed person determination. Nationality is recorded and screened separately from residence, because sanctions screening and issuer risk policy are often applied to citizenship and country of birth and not just to where you live. If due diligence cannot be completed, EU rules require the institution to refrain from the transaction and, where necessary, end the relationship. That is the honest reason accounts get closed or frozen pending documents — it is the law working, not a coin flip by a support agent.
Prepaid and debit cards are generally available to adults 18 and over; some issuers set higher limits. The card’s own KYC level requirements are not stated.
How to get it
The only way to get one now is to have got one already. There is no application path for new clients. Everything below describes what the card’s pages say, so that you holding an existing card can see what your terms were.
The card must be verified and activated before use. Which documents are required is not listed on the page.
The card itself is a Visa Debit denominated in euros, available as a physical card and a virtual one, with a free personal IBAN account offered alongside. There are no cash advances. Delivery, if you need a replacement, runs like this:
| Delivery option | Cost | Time |
|---|---|---|
| Production | — | up to 2 business days |
| Standard mail | free | up to 10 business days |
| Registered mail | €3 | up to 10 business days |
| Expedited | €60 | up to 3 business days |
| Replacement | €15 | — |
Countries are not listed for delivery. A €15 replacement is worth remembering if your card is lost abroad and you need one quickly, because the €60 expedited option is real money.
Fees: what it really costs
The headline costs are small: €5 for the physical card, €1 for the virtual one, €1 a month to keep it. Currency exchange within the wallet and loading or unloading through the wallet are free, and spending in EUR inside the EEA in person costs nothing. The fees that cost you money are in three places: non-EUR spending, cash machines, and replacement.
| Fee or limit | Amount |
|---|---|
| Physical card issuance | €5 |
| Virtual card issuance | €1 |
| Monthly service charge | €1 |
| Replacement | €15 |
| Renewal | €6 |
| Load / unload via SpectroCoin Wallet | free |
| Currency exchange fee (non-EUR) | free |
| POS purchase, EEA, EUR | free |
| POS purchase, EEA, non-EUR | 0.5% |
| POS purchase, international (outside EEA, non-EUR) | 1% |
| ATM, EEA, EUR | €1 |
| ATM, EEA, EUR in Lithuania | 1% fee |
| ATM, EEA, non-EUR | 1% (min €1) |
| ATM, international | 2% (min €2) |
| ATM balance inquiry | €0.50 |
| Local or foreign payment receipt (top-up) | €10 |
| Chargeback / dispute fee | €25 |
| Daily POS and online limit | €25,000 |
| Daily ATM limit | €2,500 |
| Minimum load | €1 |
| Load limit | €25,000 |
| Cards per person | 2 physical, 10 virtual |
Three everyday payments, so you can see which lines actually bite.

A coffee in an eurozone country outside your home market. Suppose you are in a eurozone country that is not in the EEA — that is impossible, actually, the eurozone is inside the EEA, so take a eurozone example inside the EEA instead, say a café in Berlin, and you spend in EUR. That is POS EEA in EUR: free. This is the best case, and it is genuinely free.
A supermarket run in a eurozone country outside the EEA is not a real example, because the eurozone sits inside the EEA — so let me use a real one: a restaurant in Prague, outside the EEA, billed in Czech koruna. The card converts at the exchange rate it applies and charges 1% on the international purchase. There is no FX markup line on top, but the 1% is the cost of not being at home.
A cash machine in Lithuania. You are in Lithuania, which is inside the EEA, and you take out euros: €1. In Lithuania itself the card’s own table also shows a 1% fee — those two lines sit in the table side by side, and if you are in Lithuania I would read both before assuming the cheaper number is the one that applies. Outside the EEA, a cash machine costs 2% with a minimum of €2, which is the fee that punishes you for treating a cash machine as a cheap way to get a currency.
Two limits worth internalising: your daily ATM limit is €2,500 against a daily purchase limit of €25,000, so the cash machine is the bottleneck by a factor of ten. And the €25 chargeback fee means disputing a payment costs you more than a large fraction of everyday transactions.
Now, a caveat I want to be straight about. Those figures are what the card states. Third-party reviews of the site — unofficial, and not confirmed by the card — describe crypto-to-card fees of 4–5% when topping up, plus card failures, clustered in February to April 2026. If the number that matters to you is the all-in cost of getting crypto onto the card and spending it, the published fee table may not be the whole story. I would rather flag that than pretend the table settles it.
Top up: how the money gets onto the card
The card is loaded in euros, and the euros arrive from exchanging virtual currency inside the SpectroCoin wallet. That is the mechanism in one sentence. Loading and unloading through that wallet are both free, the minimum load is €1 and the load limit is €25,000.
Here is where I hit a real gap, and I want to name it rather than paper over it. The card page does not name a single coin or a single network. It does not say who pays the network fee on a transfer. It does not say whether you send from your own wallet or from an exchange. Multi-currency balances are not mentioned — the card is in euros, and there is a stated fee structure for spending in other currencies, but no indication that you can hold a non-euro balance. So the practical question “how do I get my money onto this card” cannot be answered from the card’s own pages, and any answer I gave you would be me filling in a gap with a guess.

This matters more than usual because of how transfers work. A blockchain transfer is typically irreversible, so a deposit sent on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to another network, can be lost or need manual support recovery with no guarantee of outcome. On-chain network fees for your deposit are charged by the blockchain, not by the card provider — which is a third party to this arrangement entirely. If you are moving stablecoins, it is also worth knowing that Circle lists USDC as natively supported on 38 networks as of 16 September 2026, that Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024 so “USDC over TRC20” is not a native option, and that fees on ERC-20 networks are paid only in ETH — a wallet holding USDT with no ETH cannot send it. Tether describes USDT as issued on networks including Ethereum, Tron, Solana, Polygon and Avalanche. None of that appears on the SpectroCoin card page, and all of it is the kind of detail that determines whether a transfer lands or disappears.
One line on the mechanics of what you hold: a stablecoin aims to hold a stable value against a fiat currency, but stablecoins are not necessarily stable. TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022 and USDC temporarily lost its peg in March 2023 during the US banking crisis. Tether says it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity, so stablecoins are not censorship-proof either.
Withdrawing is the direction that matters now. Unloading back to the SpectroCoin wallet is free, and a banner on the site asks users to withdraw their assets. The page gives no deadline and no procedure. Client funds are held in a segregated account — which is real protection against the company’s own insolvency, and distinct from deposit insurance, which this card does not have.
Paying with it every day
It is a plain Visa Debit in euros, so day-to-day spending is unremarkable where the payment is in euros inside the EEA. Physical and virtual variants, ATMs available, no cash advances. In that narrow band the card does its job.
Outside that band, some standard features simply are not there. Apple Pay and Google Pay are not mentioned anywhere, which means the tokenised-wallet route is not one I can describe for you. Blocked merchant categories are not stated — and that is not a small omission, because gambling, for example, runs under a merchant category code that many issuers block by policy rather than by law, with the list differing by issuer. Cashback or rewards are not mentioned. I did not read the app’s documentation, so I will not characterise it.
A few general mechanics that decide whether a payment goes through, since none of them are card-specific but all of them apply here. A card number starts with a 6- or 8-digit issuer identification number that merchants can look up, which reveals the issuing institution and country; if that country differs from your billing address the merchant may apply extra scrutiny, and this is exactly why a card issued in one country can look foreign to a shop in another. Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign BINs for precisely that reason. Address Verification Service compares the numeric parts of the billing address you type with issuer records, is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK, and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which can cause declines. A declined authorisation may leave a hold on your funds that can remain for several days, typically up to seven.
Online payments run through 3-D Secure, where the issuer assesses risk and either approves frictionlessly or challenges you with a one-time code or biometrics. Visa’s brand is Visa Secure. Under 3-D Secure, liability for fraudulent online payments can shift from the merchant to your bank — or, per its critics, to you.
What the card page does commit to on disputes is a €25 chargeback/dispute fee. It does not state the time frames. And prepaid-card coverage varies by country and should not be assumed; US debit reversal rights come from Regulation E and credit card rights from Regulation Z, neither of which transfers cleanly to a euro prepaid card in Lithuania.
What can go wrong
The main thing that can go wrong is not a declined payment. It is the closure itself, and the gap between what the notice says and what it leaves you with. Let me put the official record first, then the third-party picture, clearly separated.
Officially: a help-centre banner states that Spectro Finance OÜ can no longer provide crypto-asset services in the EU/EEA and asks users to withdraw their assets. That banner carries no date on the page, though the linked article’s slug mentions 10 September 2026. A footer notice dated June 30, 2026 says onboarding, deposits and exchanges have stopped. On June 30, 2026 the company stopped onboarding new clients, stopped accepting deposits and stopped executing exchanges and transactions. Spectro Finance OÜ is described as not authorised as a crypto-asset service provider under Regulation (EU) 2023/1114 (MiCA).
Why that matters in general terms: MiCA took legal effect in June 2023, its token rules applied from 30 June 2024 and the crypto-asset service provider rules from 30 December 2024, with a transitional period letting providers already operating under national law continue only until 1 July 2026 or until they receive or are refused a MiCA authorisation, whichever comes first. ESMA maintains an interim register of authorised CASPs that you can check a provider against. So a company saying it can no longer provide crypto-asset services in the EU/EEA is describing a regulatory position, not just a commercial decision.
The corporate structure is worth understanding, because the issuer and the crypto brand are not the same legal entity. The issuer is UAB “Pervesk”, holding electronic money institution licence No. 17, dated 06-11-2017, from the Bank of Lithuania. Its funds are not covered by the Lithuanian Deposit Insurance System. The group includes Spectro Finance OÜ (code 14608294, not MiCA-authorised), Spectro Finance Limited in the BVI (code 2022454) and Spectro Finance Systems Inc. in Panama (code 155770356). This is a common shape in the category: the crypto brand is often only a programme manager or front end, while a licensed bank or e-money institution holds the card programme and the client money. An EU electronic money institution can issue e-money, payment cards and e-wallets but cannot lend, and may serve the whole EU/EEA from a licence granted in one member state. MiCA covers the crypto side; the card itself is regulated separately as a payment service — which is why a crypto card often depends on two licences, and why one of them disappearing can strand the other.
On money safety specifically: client funds are held in a segregated account, which is what an EMI is required to do, and such funds are not the same as bank deposits and may not be covered by deposit guarantee schemes. Two-factor authentication and instant freeze are not stated. Support is a Live Chat for lost or stolen cards, email for existing clients, and a Help Centre at help.spectrocoin.com; languages and hours are not stated. There is no mention of deleting an account, and I am not going to speculate about how.
Third-party complaints — unofficial, from Trustpilot, read 2026-10-21, not confirmed by the card. The score is 2.3 out of 5, labelled “Poor”, from 1,996 reviews, 33 of them in the last 12 months. The themes, in the users’ own reports: crypto payments held or not refunded between April and September 2026; account blocks and KYC rejections between September 2025 and June 2026; slow or automated support between February and May 2026; IBAN and SEPA withdrawal problems in January 2026; and 4–5% fees with card failures in February 2026. I am reporting these as reported experiences, not as established facts, and I would not hang a decision on them alone. But the pattern is coherent with the official timeline: a business that stopped accepting deposits in June 2026 will naturally generate complaints about held payments in the months after.
One category note on closures, because it sets expectations rather than alarms: programme closures typically give a notice period, then stop spending and loading, then ask users to withdraw remaining balances. A 2026 closure reported by a secondary source — single source, unconfirmed — ended new loads on 8 July 2026 and spending on 8 August 2026. That is what a wind-down looks like in practice.
What to take instead
If the reason you wanted a crypto card is that ordinary banking is hard, the honest comparison is with other cards that are still open — not with a competitor to SpectroCoin, which does not exist in this category. These are the alternatives I looked at, with the same scepticism applied.
| Alternative | Score | Card | Cost and fees | Funding | Key caveat |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Whop Cards | 5.2 / 10 | Visa, works anywhere Visa is accepted online and in stores; virtual/physical type and card currency not stated; cards can also be issued to team members | Page says “No extra fees”; no issuance or monthly amounts listed | Spends from a Whop balance; pending balance usable as soon as a payment arrives, standard withdrawals use settled funds; backed by stablecoin collateral from a linked wallet; coins and networks not stated | Consumer access covers 31 US states and business access 41 states; unsupported consumer countries include Belarus, China (Mainland), Cuba, Hong Kong, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela and Vietnam; citizenship/residence basis not stated |
| Stella | 6.5 / 10 | Virtual and physical, VISA, works at “over 40 million VISA merchants globally” | Not stated officially; fees “described under this User Agreement and/or on the App” | Deposit crypto into the account, which automatically tops up the card; in-app wallet, custodial | Countries not stated on the official site; terms bar users under economic sanctions programmes and route US and European users through affiliates; no cashback stated on the card page — the Earn product is separate yield |
| UniFi Card | 4.7 / 10 | “Prepaid Debit Visa Card” issued by Lead Bank; app also supports Apple Pay; USD, spending from the USD balance | Not stated — “Fees may apply. See UniFi website for more details.” | Receive funds via ACH, wire, SEPA (IBAN) or SPEI (CLABE); get paid to a USDC wallet; coins and networks beyond USDC not stated on the listing | Not confirmed from official pages; the App Store lists send-money routes to the Philippines (PHP), Mexico (MXN), the eurozone (EUR), with recent release notes mentioning Colombia, Brazil (PIX) and the UK (GBP); listing claims “3% rewards on balances” but card cashback is not stated |
Whop is the most transparent of the three on what it charges — it says there are no extra fees and then lists none, which is at least a clear position. Stella scores highest here, at 6.5, and its custodial in-app wallet that tops the card up automatically is genuinely convenient, but its terms route US and European users through affiliates, which tells you something about how it handles jurisdictions in a way the marketing does not. UniFi is the one I would point at if Apple Pay on a phone matters to you, since it is the only one of the three that states app support for it; against that, its eligibility is not confirmed from official pages and I am working from app store listings.
Notice what all three share with SpectroCoin: coins and networks not stated. If your decision depends on which chain you can send on, you will not find that answer on any of these card pages. You have to ask.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend this card to exactly one group: existing cardholders who want to spend down what is left and withdraw the rest. For them the fee table is reasonable, the euro spending inside the EEA is free, and the wallet load and unload are free, so an orderly wind-down costs little.
For everyone else — anyone trying to open an account, anyone choosing a crypto card for the first time, anyone who needs Apple Pay, cashback, a named coin list or a named country list — I would not recommend it. Not because the card is fraudulent, but because the operator’s help centre confirms that those services are ended, because onboarding closed on June 30, 2026, and because the customer-money side runs through an EMI whose funds sit in a segregated account without deposit insurance behind them. When the service on top of the money layer goes away, the money layer does not automatically become a safe harbour.
If you hold one and you are deciding what to do, three things are worth doing without any product advice attached: withdraw what you are not going to spend, take your own records of balances and transactions while the account is still readable, and use the free personal IBAN as a route out if the card stops working. And if a chunk of your balance is in crypto, remember that converting digital assets to goods, services or dollars generally produces a taxable gain or loss in most jurisdictions, measured in local fiat currency at the fair market value on the date of the transaction — which can mean each card payment funded from crypto is a separate disposal. That is a question for a qualified professional in your country, not something I should answer for you.
Frequently asked questions
What is the SpectroCoin card?
The SpectroCoin card is a prepaid Visa Debit denominated in euros that you fund by exchanging virtual currency inside the SpectroCoin wallet. It comes as a physical card costing €5 or a virtual one costing €1, with a €1 monthly service charge, and a free personal IBAN account is offered alongside it. There are no cash advances. A free personal IBAN account is offered with the card. The important context is that since June 30, 2026 the operator has stopped onboarding new clients, accepting deposits and executing exchanges.
Is SpectroCoin a bank?
No. The card is issued by UAB “Pervesk”, an electronic money institution holding licence No. 17 from the Bank of Lithuania, dated 06-11-2017. An EMI can issue e-money, payment cards and e-wallets but cannot lend, and its client funds sit in a segregated account rather than a bank deposit. Those funds are not covered by the Lithuanian Deposit Insurance System, so SpectroCoin is not a bank and your balance is not a bank deposit.
Can I still apply for a SpectroCoin card?
No. Since June 30, 2026 the company has stopped onboarding new clients, along with accepting deposits and executing exchanges and transactions. The card page still shows fees, limits and delivery options, which is why the product still appears described, but there is no application path for anyone who is not already a client. The page does not list eligible countries and says the card is “Not intended for US residents”.
Does the SpectroCoin card require KYC?
Yes, the card must be verified and activated before use, and the page does not list which documents are needed. In the EU, customer due diligence covers name, address, date of birth, nationality, identity documentation, a sanctions check and a politically exposed person determination. If that cannot be completed, EU rules require the institution to refrain from the transaction and, where necessary, end the relationship — which is why accounts get frozen or closed pending papers.
How do I top up the SpectroCoin card?
The card is loaded with euros received from exchanging virtual currency in the SpectroCoin Wallet, and loading or unloading through that wallet is free. The minimum load is €1 and the load limit is €25,000, with a €10 fee for a local or foreign payment receipt. The card page does not name any coins or networks, does not say who pays the network fee, and does not say whether multi-currency balances are supported.
What does it cost to use the card day to day?
Spending in euros at a point of sale inside the EEA is free, as is the wallet load and unload. A purchase in a non-EUR currency inside the EEA costs 0.5%, and one outside the EEA in a non-EUR currency costs 1%. Cash machine withdrawals cost €1 for EEA euros, 1% with a €1 minimum for other EEA currencies, and 2% with a €2 minimum internationally, with a €0.50 balance inquiry. Limits are €25,000 daily for purchases and €2,500 daily at ATMs.
Is SpectroCoin card safe to use?
The card itself is a Visa Debit, so the payment rails are standard, and client funds are held in a segregated account as an EMI is required to do. What I would not call safe is the situation around it: the operator’s help centre states these crypto services are no longer offered, funds are not covered by deposit insurance, and two-factor authentication and instant freeze are not stated. Trustpilot, unofficial and unconfirmed by the card, shows 2.3 out of 5 from 1,996 reviews.
Can I add the SpectroCoin card to Apple Wallet?
Apple Pay and Google Pay are not mentioned on the card page, so I cannot tell you that either is supported. This is one of the features most people check first, and its absence is a real limitation of this card compared with alternatives. If a mobile wallet matters to you, UniFi Card states app support for Apple Pay, though its own eligibility details are not confirmed from official pages.
Is SpectroCoin worth it for someone starting out?
No, not now. It is closed to new clients, and the crypto services behind it in the EU/EEA have stopped. Even setting the closure aside, the card page names no coins, no networks, no eligible countries, no rewards and no support languages, which makes it hard to plan around. If you already hold one, the fee table is reasonable for spending euros in the EEA, so the sensible use is to spend what you need and withdraw the rest.
What happens to money left on the card?
Unloading back to the SpectroCoin wallet is free, and a banner on the site asks users to withdraw assets, though it gives no deadline and no procedure. Funds sit in a segregated account, which protects them from the company’s own insolvency but not from the company failing to return them promptly. Trustpilot reviews — unofficial — include reports of crypto payments held without refund between April and September 2026.
Highest-scored app and neobank cards – cryptocardbest.com
Content created by the «cryptocardbest.com» team
