Solflare Card Review — the card programme is closed to new sign-ups

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only

If you landed here looking for a way to spend crypto from a normal-looking card, the first thing you need to know changes the whole question: Solflare is not issuing cards right now. Cards were paused on 28 July 2026 after the issuer behind them wound down, and as of the date I checked the cards, no relaunch had been confirmed. That single fact shapes everything else below — who the product was for, what happens to money already in the system, and what you should look at instead. I have gone through the card’s own pages, what the official notice says, and the outside sources that are filling the gaps, and I want to be straight with you about which parts are official and which are somebody’s guess.

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
The Solflare card programme no longer issues new cards

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

My score for this card is 3.2 out of 10 — and I want to explain that number before anything else, because a score without reasons is just an opinion with decimals.

The score, and who this card actually suits

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 0 / 10 Issuing is closed: cards are paused while the programme moves to a new issuer, and no restart has been confirmed
Cost 7 / 10 Not disclosed officially; unofficially the annual fee is free, a 1% service fee, FX 0.7%, ATM 2% — sources disagree
Top-up options 4 / 10 The card debited USDC straight from the Solana wallet; no other coins or networks
Reliability and complaints 2 / 10 Cards paused 28 July 2026 after issuer Kulipa closed, no new partner named; the funds stay in the self-custody wallet
Everyday use 3 / 10 No card being issued at all; Google Pay worked, Apple Pay was “coming soon”; unofficially a virtual card instantly and a physical one on request, ATM 2%
Total 3.2 / 10

Notice that the zero is not about safety or about crypto. It is about availability. You cannot apply for something that is not being issued, and the 2 out of 10 for reliability is not a complaint score — it is the weight of a programme that stopped in mid-flight without naming its replacement.

Who does this suit, then? Honestly, in its current state, nobody who is making a decision today. The product described on the card’s pages — a self-custody Mastercard that spends USDC directly out of your Solana wallet at the checkout — is a genuinely interesting idea, and there is a specific group it was built for: people who hold crypto they refuse to hand to a custodian and want that crypto to be spendable without first selling it into a bank account. If you are in that group, the design still makes sense on paper. But the design is not the product you can buy this month.

There is one more audience I want to name, because the score is not really about them: existing Solflare wallet holders who are waiting to see whether the card comes back. For you, this page is about your money and your options, not about whether to switch cards.

What happened to the programme

Here is the timeline, and I would read it slowly because the sequence is what tells you what kind of failure this was.

The card was offered in the EEA, the UK and “other countries”, decided case by case — eligibility is checked by requesting a card in the mobile app, and there is no published country list, so neither residence nor citizenship as the basis of the test is stated anywhere official. Verification in the app was instant, though which documents, what proof of address and what age threshold applied is not stated either.

Then, on 28 July 2026, the cards were paused. The reason given was that the issuer, Kulipa, wound down; a Solflare co-founder cited Kulipa’s solvency issues. The replacement card was promised “in August” 2026, with Apple Pay and Google Pay, higher limits and cash back. As of a late-August 2026 roadmap the relaunch was still a future item, and I found no relaunch by 20 October 2026. So when you read “coming soon” anywhere on Solflare’s pages about the new card, read the date next to it.

One thing that will confuse you if you go looking: the card’s own site still shows the old “Get Solflare Card” marketing with no pause notice on the main pages. The pause notice exists, but it is not on the page you land on first. That is a marketing-site gap, not evidence that the programme is running.

Two more details worth holding on to. First, Google Pay worked with the card; Apple Pay was described as “coming soon” and explicitly tied to the relaunch. Whether gambling or merchant categories are blocked is not stated. Second, the official pause notice says cash back returns with the relaunched card — the rate and the payout currency are not stated, so if you saw a cash back figure quoted anywhere, it is not from the card.

And a structural note: existing cards do not carry over to a replacement. That is stated plainly by the card. If you had a working card before 28 July, you are not getting that card back when the new one arrives; you are applying into a new programme from a position of less leverage than you had.

If you already have the card

This is the section I would put at the very top if I could, because it is the one with money in it. The good news is genuinely good, and it is not a small thing in this industry.

There is no card balance to worry about. The funds stay in your own self-custodial wallet — you keep the keys — and the official notice says plainly: “There is nothing you need to do.” No withdrawal queue, no waiting period, no balance to unwind. Your existing cards stopped working on 28 July 2026, and any subscription auto-renewals tied to the card also stop. Open Borrow positions remain accessible in the Cards tab. The wallet itself, staking and swaps are unaffected.

Compare that with what usually happens when a card programme closes. The pattern, when it works properly, is a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then users are asked to withdraw remaining balances. Secondary reporting on one 2026 closure puts new loads ending 8 July and spending stopping 8 August — single source, unconfirmed, and I include it only to show how much slower and gentler this one was for you.

Support is described as a 24/7 human team reachable by message in the app. If you need to ask something specific — what happens to an open Borrow position, whether an old card balance is recorded anywhere — that is the channel. What I could not find stated: ATM terms, spending limits, withdrawal mechanics beyond “there is nothing to do”, and the dispute process. The help centre has a single card article about the pause.

On limits, the official pause notice says higher limits return with the new card. Everything else is unverified and the sources contradict each other: one site shows daily, monthly and ATM limits as unlimited, another says no limits have been published at all, and on ATM fees one review site lists 2% while another lists free ATM withdrawals — the same review page then tells you to confirm in the app. I am not going to pick a number for you out of that. If limits matter to you, they are an in-app question.

One more thing about fees, since holders are the group most likely to have run into this: the official pages state no cost and no fee schedule at all. Unofficially, one October 2026 review page says the annual fee is free and the card price is “TBD, confirm in app”; the same source lists a 1% service fee, an FX fee of 0.7% in its table against a 0.40%–0.70% range for the UK and EEA in the text, while another piece of the same site says FX is 1% and a Solflare help article is said to describe a fixed 1% FX fee; a third site lists 0.55%. The sources disagree, which means the honest answer is that I cannot tell you what it costs.

What can go wrong

Three things, and none of them is “you will lose your crypto to a hack” — that is the one risk this design genuinely reduces.

The programme risk is realised, not hypothetical. This is the actual lesson here. A card is not one thing. It is a card network that routes the payment and writes the rules, an issuer that actually holds the card programme, and usually a crypto brand on top as the front end and programme manager. When the issuer disappeared, spending stopped — the network and the wallet were fine. Visa and Mastercard do not issue crypto cards to consumers themselves; they license issuers, and a licence relationship can end. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes. So the thing that failed here is a normal industry failure mode, not an exotic one.

The counterparty you never see. Solflare’s footer names Solrise Finance Ltd, Tortola, British Virgin Islands; marketing may be handled by an affiliate, Blockadopt d.o.o., Zagreb, Croatia. The card issuer is not named on any official page — the name Kulipa comes from third-party reporting. Licences are not stated. That is what you are trusting when the issuer changes: an entity you did not choose, in a jurisdiction you did not pick.

The wallet you do keep. Self-custody means the funds stay yours until the moment of payment, which is the design’s whole argument. It also means sole responsibility. Control of crypto belongs to whoever holds the private key or seed phrase — typically 12 to 24 words, unencrypted, and anyone who has them can restore the wallet and spend it. Blockchain transfers are typically irreversible and a stolen key has no built-in recovery. A known attack in this space is clipboard-hijacking malware that swaps a copied address so your deposit goes somewhere else entirely. On top of that, stablecoins can move: TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022, and USDC temporarily lost its peg in March 2023 during the US banking crisis. A card that spends a stablecoin is spending something that is designed to be steady, not something that is guaranteed to be.

A few smaller things I would not skip. If a merchant looks up the BIN, it sees which institution and country issued the card, and can apply extra scrutiny when that differs from your billing address — so a card issued in one country can look “foreign” in another shop. Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign BINs for that reason. Address Verification Service compares numbers in the billing address you typed with issuer records and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which can cause declines. A declined authorisation can leave a hold on your funds for several days, typically up to seven. A merchant category code of 7995 covers gambling, and many issuers block it by policy rather than by law — but Solflare’s policy is not stated, so do not assume either way.

On reputation: Trustpilot for solflare.com shows 3.9 out of 5 from 66 reviews, per Coin Bureau, with the date not stated and the live page not read by me — about 45% of them critical, citing lost funds, failed transactions and suspicious token approvals. Note what those are: wallet complaints, not card complaints. No card-specific complaints surfaced. If you are reading that score and deciding about the card, you are reading about the wallet.

Security features the card names: biometric protection, 3-D Secure authentication, partner fraud defences and instant spending notifications. Insurance is not stated. I want to be careful here, because there is a specific trap. Under 3-D Secure, liability for a fraudulent online payment can shift from the merchant to your bank — or, per its critics, to you. So a “3-D Secure” line on a feature list is not the same as a promise that someone else covers a disputed payment.

What to take instead

Since Solflare is not issuing, the question becomes which other card does the same job. Here is what I could actually establish about the three I looked at, with the gaps left as gaps.

Alternative Score Card and network Fees Top-up
Cardex 5.6 / 10 Debit crypto card on VERVE, VISA, Mastercard and UnionPay; virtual and physical Real-time conversion at payment with an “AI-Powered Conversion Rate”; no percentage stated USDT, USDC and BTC wallets; networks not stated
MSX 6.4 / 10 Not stated officially Not stated Not stated
Whop Cards 5.2 / 10 Visa; works anywhere Visa is accepted online and in stores Page says “No extra fees”; no amounts listed Spends from a Whop balance; coins and networks not stated

Cardex is the one with the most concrete card mechanics I could find: one card across four networks, virtual and physical, with real-time crypto-to-fiat conversion at the moment of payment. Two cautions. Its “200+ countries” claim comes with no country list and no stated exclusions, and its App Store listing is Naira-focused, which tells you something about how the product is actually shaped. Rewards are not stated, and cost is not stated.

MSX scored highest of the three at 6.4 — and I want to be honest that I cannot tell you why. I could not read an official page covering who can get it, what the card is, what it costs, how it is funded or what the rewards are. A higher number from a thinner file is not an endorsement; if anything it is a reminder to check the current terms yourself before you commit.

Whop Cards is the clearest on eligibility, which is exactly what you cannot get from Solflare right now. Consumers: 31 US states — Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Florida, Hawaii, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Texas, Utah, Virginia, West Virginia and Wyoming. Businesses: 41 states. Unsupported consumer countries: Belarus, China (Mainland), Cuba, Hong Kong, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela and Vietnam; unsupported corporate countries include Russia and Belarus. Note that whether eligibility follows citizenship or residence is not stated — and that distinction matters, because sanctions screening and issuer risk policy are often applied to citizenship and country of birth as well as to country of address. Whop also offers 5% cash back at select merchants, currently Uber, with more planned; payout currency and conditions are not stated. Its funding model is different in kind: it spends from a Whop balance, and pending balance is usable as soon as a payment arrives while standard withdrawals use settled funds, starting data backed by stablecoin collateral from a linked wallet.

Two general notes before you choose. A prepaid-style balance and a standard debit card fail differently: a pre-loaded balance simply cannot overdraw, because the card only spends what you loaded. And a card is a payment service regulated separately from the crypto side — MiCA covers custody, exchange and transfer, so a crypto card often rests on two licences at once. In the EU, an electronic money institution can issue e-money, payment cards and e-wallets but cannot lend. MiCA’s stablecoin rules have applied since 30 June 2024, with the remaining provisions including crypto-asset service provider rules from 30 December 2024; its transitional period lets providers operating under national law continue only until 1 July 2026 or until a MiCA authorisation is granted or refused, whichever comes first. ESMA keeps a public interim register of authorised providers and white papers, and that register is the place to check a name before you trust it with money.

Who I would recommend it to

To be direct: I would not recommend applying for anything Solflare right now, because you cannot, and because the card’s own marketing pages still do not tell you the programme is paused. That second part is not a small complaint — if you were about to hand over money based on those pages, the absence of a pause notice on the front page is the kind of thing that turns an informed decision into an uninformed one.

I would recommend it to exactly this person: someone already using the Solflare wallet who keeps funds there in self-custody anyway, whose spending needs are modest and stablecoin-denominated, and who treats the card as a convenience layer over money they have already decided to hold — not as a place to keep cash. For them, a relaunched card would be a sensible fit, because the part that failed (the issuer) is replaceable and the part that didn’t (the wallet, the custody model, the Solana settlement) still works.

I would steer everyone else toward an alternative that publishes its country list and its fees, because that is precisely the information Solflare is currently not publishing. And if your problem is that an ordinary bank card is hard to get where you live, that is a real problem worth naming before you go shopping for a crypto card: the card that is missing for you may be one you can obtain through a local bank, an e-money institution authorised in your region, or a card issuer in your own country. A crypto card is not a workaround for that, and it is not a substitute for a bank account — it is a different instrument with a different risk profile, and picking it under pressure is how people end up with funds in the wrong network or the wrong currency.

What Solflare does demonstrate is worth keeping, even with the programme down. Spending straight from a self-custodial Solana wallet at the point of sale, with no load step and no balance to hold, is a clean idea. The failure was not in the idea. It was in the plumbing — an unnamed issuer, unstated licences, unstated fees, and a marketing site that outran the pause notice.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Solflare card?

The Solflare card was described by the card’s own site as a self-custody Mastercard that deducts USDC directly from your Solana wallet at checkout, accepted at “100M+ merchants”. It was a single product with virtual and physical options rather than a tiered programme. As of 28 July 2026 it is not being issued.

How does the Solflare card work?

Instead of loading a balance, the card spends USDC straight from your self-custodial Solana wallet, so there is no separate card balance and no top-up step. Google Pay worked with it; Apple Pay was described as “coming soon” and tied to the relaunch. Whether gambling or specific merchant categories were blocked is not stated by the card.

Is Solflare a bank?

No — and the card’s own official pages do not even name the issuer. The site footer names Solrise Finance Ltd, Tortola, British Virgin Islands, with marketing possibly handled by affiliate Blockadopt d.o.o., Zagreb, Croatia. Licences are not stated, and third-party reporting names Kulipa as the issuer that wound down.

Who owns Solflare?

Solflare the app and the wallet are operated under Solrise Finance Ltd in the British Virgin Islands, per the site footer. Marketing may be handled by a separate affiliate, Blockadopt d.o.o. in Zagreb, Croatia. The company behind the card itself is a separate question the official pages do not answer.

Can I get a Solflare card in my country?

Not right now — cards are paused, so no one can get one. Before the pause, the card was offered in the EEA, the UK and “other countries” decided case by case, with eligibility checked by requesting a card in the app. No country list was published, and whether residence or citizenship decided it is not stated.

Why was the Solflare card discontinued?

Cards were paused on 28 July 2026 after the issuer, Kulipa, wound down; a Solflare co-founder cited Kulipa’s solvency issues. A replacement was promised “in August” 2026 with Apple Pay, Google Pay, higher limits and cash back, but as of late August the roadmap still listed it as future and I found no relaunch by 20 October 2026.

What happened to my money if I had a Solflare card?

Nothing needs doing. Funds stay in your own self-custodial wallet — there is no card balance to withdraw — and the official notice says “There is nothing you need to do”. Your card stopped working on 28 July 2026, subscription auto-renewals tied to it stopped, and open Borrow positions remain accessible in the Cards tab.

Is the Solflare card safe for my crypto?

The design is safer in one specific way: self-custody means your funds stay in your own wallet until payment, so there is no custodian holding them. That shifts responsibility to you for key loss, phishing and wrong-network transfers, which are typically irreversible. Note the issuer risk is exactly what failed here in July 2026, and that insurance is not stated.

Is the Solflare card free, and what are its fees?

Officially, neither is stated — the card publishes no cost or fee schedule. Unofficially, one October 2026 source says the annual fee is free, a 1% service fee applies, FX is somewhere between 0.40% and 1% depending on the source, and ATM withdrawals are either 2% or free depending on which site you read.

Is Solflare worth it, and should I switch to another card?

With the programme paused there is nothing to switch from, so the question is what to use instead. Whop Cards is the clearest on who can have one — 31 US states for consumers, 41 for businesses, with an unsupported-country list published — while Cardex covers four networks. Both publish more about eligibility than Solflare currently does.

Content created by the «cryptocardbest.com» team