Cashi card reviewed: a stablecoin-funded virtual Visa, with a few open questions

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only

Cashi is a relatively new entrant in the crypto-card space: a USD-denominated virtual Visa debit card that you fund with stablecoins, send cash to in 20-plus local currencies, and use anywhere Visa is taken. The product is still in public beta, and the company behind it is unusually quiet about who actually issues the card and under which licence it operates. That tension — a sleek, well-designed user experience sitting on top of an under-disclosed banking structure — is what makes a Cashi card review worth writing carefully.

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
Cashi works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

This page goes through the things you would want to know before signing up: who can get one, what the fees really are, how the top-up flow works, and what could go wrong. The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict

Cashi earns 6.6 out of 10 in this review. That is a respectable score for a card still in public beta, but the gaps in how the company presents itself stop it from going higher.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 5 / 10 No country list published; works wherever Visa is taken, with some merchant categories restricted for regulatory reasons
Cost 9 / 10 $5 activation, returned as Spending Credit; 0% on USD payments, 1% on non-USD; no monthly fee stated
Top-up options 10 / 10 USDC and USDT on nine networks, plus BTC, ETH and SOL; cash in 20+ currencies
Reliability and complaints 5 / 10 Cashi says it provides technology only; issuer and licences are not named; public beta since August 2026
Everyday use 4 / 10 Virtual card only for now; Google Pay works in store; Apple Pay is on the roadmap; no ATM access on the virtual card
Total 6.6 / 10

The card is well suited to stablecoin holders who want to fund a Visa from many networks without paying a deposit fee to the card provider, and who can live with a virtual-only card for now. It is less suited to people who want a physical card today, who need ATM withdrawals, who care strongly about which regulated institution actually holds their funds, or who live in a country where crypto-card issuance is restricted by local law.

If you are reading this because you have trouble getting a regular bank card, Cashi is worth a closer look, but the questions at the end of the page about the issuer, the licence and the country list should be answered in your own case before you load any meaningful balance.

Who will they give you the card

The first thing you usually want to know about a crypto card is whether the issuer will let you sign up at all. For Cashi the answer is, in practice: probably, but the rules are not written down.

The official site and help articles do not publish a list of supported countries. The sign-up flow quietly checks what it calls “local laws” before letting you proceed, and the card itself is described as working “anywhere Visa is accepted”. The same help text adds that “certain merchant types may be restricted for regulatory reasons”, which is the issuer’s way of saying: yes, some categories of shop will not work, and the categories will be decided case by case.

A few data points are worth noting. Unofficial coverage of the sign-up screen has shown country flags including Argentina, Bangladesh, Brazil, Colombia, the Dominican Republic, Spain, Ghana, Kenya, Malaysia, Nigeria and Saudi Arabia. That is not the same as an eligibility list. Treat it as a hint about where users have been able to complete sign-up, not as a promise about your country. If you are not in one of those places, the only way to find out is to try the sign-up and see whether the local-laws check lets you through.

What is also absent is any statement of minimum age, proof-of-address requirements or other eligibility criteria beyond an ID check. The age requirement is not stated on the public pages, and proof of address is not stated either, so it is not safe to assume that the KYC process will not at some point ask for a utility bill or a bank statement.

For people whose main reason to look at a crypto card is that no ordinary bank will serve them, this is the most important section to read carefully. A card that does not say who it serves is a card that may say no after you have already moved funds in.

How to get it

The sign-up process is the part of Cashi that has been most clearly documented, and it is fairly standard for a regulated crypto card.

You start by creating an account. Cashi then runs what it calls “a quick check with your ID and a selfie”. In most cases this finishes in minutes; in some cases it can take up to 24 hours. The company does not describe different verification tiers or a “level 1, level 2, level 3” structure — there is just one identity check.

Before the card becomes usable, you need to add at least $5 to your balance and then tap an “Activate card for $5” button in the app. The $5 activation fee is returned to you as $5 of Spending Credit, so the activation itself is net zero as long as you spend the credit before it expires or until the card is used.

The card you receive is a USD-denominated virtual Visa debit card. It is a virtual card only for the moment; Cashi says physical cards “will be available in the future” but does not give a date. There is therefore no delivery, no shipping address and no replacement-by-post process to think about. If your virtual card details are exposed, the company’s documented route is to email support.

What is not stated anywhere on the public pages is what happens if the ID check is refused. There is no published list of rejection reasons, and there is no appeals procedure described. That is normal for an early-stage product, but it is also a real risk: if the only sign of trouble is a “we are sorry” email, you will want to test the service with a small balance first, not a large one.

A second thing that is not stated is how the ID documents you upload are stored, who has access to them and for how long. Cashi points to a generic “secure account controls” line in its security page. For a card that is meant to serve people who are sensitive about their data, that is thinner than the market standard.

Fees: what it really costs

The cost story is where Cashi looks strongest in this review, and it is the main reason the card earns a 9 out of 10 on the cost criterion. The headline numbers are simple, and the company is not in the habit of adding a lot of small print.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Cashi payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Fee or limit Value
Card issuance $5, returned as $5 Spending Credit (net zero)
Monthly fee Not stated
Conversion fee on USD payments 0%
Conversion fee on non-USD payments 1%
Crypto deposit fee charged by Cashi None (only blockchain network fee)
Cashi-to-Cashi transfer Free
ATM withdrawal Not available on the virtual card
Daily spending limit Set by user in app, up to $50,000 per day
Monthly limit Not specified
Dispute / chargeback $50
Cashback monthly caps Per category (amounts not stated on the public pages)

The activation fee is the one fixed up-front cost. You pay $5, and the same $5 shows up as Spending Credit on the card. If you use that credit, you have effectively paid nothing to start using Cashi. If you never spend the credit, you have paid $5 for a piece of plastic — except there is no plastic yet, so even that framing is generous.

After activation, the everyday fees depend mostly on which currency you are paying in. A coffee in New York charged in USD costs you nothing on the Cashi side. A coffee in Berlin charged in euros costs you 1% on top of the exchange rate Cashi uses, because the card has to convert euros to USD before settling. The 1% is not advertised as a markup on a wholesale rate — it is a flat conversion fee. Cashi does not publish a “crypto conversion spread” the way some cards do, and it is not stated what rate the conversion runs at relative to mid-market.

To make this concrete, here are three everyday payments and how the Cashi fees apply.

A typical US shop coffee paid by tapping the virtual card on a contactless terminal through Google Pay. The merchant charges USD, the card charges USD, the conversion fee is 0%. Total Cashi cost: $0. The blockchain network fee was paid when you loaded the card, not at the till.

A €38 dinner in a European restaurant, again tapped through Google Pay. The merchant charges euros, the card converts to USD. The Cashi fee is 1% of €38, which is about €0.38, applied at the exchange rate of the moment. Total Cashi cost: about €0.38, on top of the FX rate Visa used for the underlying conversion. The customer-visible cost is the 1% plus whatever margin sits inside Visa’s own rate.

A $120 annual subscription to a streaming service, paid online by typing in the card details. Same as the first case in fees: 0% on USD, no Cashi charge. If that subscription counts as an “eligible subscription” for the 3% cashback programme, you would actually come out ahead by $3.60 in Spending Credit, subject to the monthly caps described in the cashback section below.

Two things the cost table does not cover are worth flagging. The first is the dispute fee: raising a chargeback through Cashi costs $50, while simply asking the merchant for a refund is free. That is a meaningful deterrent to using the formal dispute route for small problems. The second is the cash-deposit and cash-withdrawal side: Cashi supports 20-plus currencies for adding and removing cash, and the fee for those is quoted in the app before you confirm. The amounts vary by currency, method and amount, so they are not in a single table.

Top up: how to fund the card

Cashi’s top-up flow is the strongest part of the product, and it is the reason the card earns a 10 out of 10 on the top-up criterion. The breadth of networks and assets is unusually wide for a card that is still in beta.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Cashi starts with a transfer to the right network

You can fund the card with USDC or USDT on nine different networks: Tron, Solana, Polygon, BNB Chain, Arbitrum, Ethereum, Bitcoin and Base. You can also send BTC, ETH and SOL directly. On top of that, you can add or withdraw cash in 20-plus local currencies through the cash side of the app.

For digital assets, there is no stated minimum deposit, no Cashi fee and no spread stated on the conversion. The only cost is the blockchain network fee, and even that is structured to be visible. When you deposit from an external wallet, the network fee is paid by the sending wallet, so you can see exactly what it costs before you sign the transaction. When you send digital assets out from your Cashi balance, the network fee is again the only cost.

For cash, the situation is more conventional. Each cash deposit or send carries a Cashi fee that depends on the currency, the method and the amount; the fee is shown in the app before you confirm, so you cannot be surprised by it. Minimum amounts vary. The USD account has a specific cap: you can receive cash for free, but sending or receiving more than 3,000 USD in any 7-day window is subject to bank and transfer fees, which the company describes as a small fixed bank fee plus a small transfer fee.

The one quirk worth knowing about is the $5 activation requirement. You have to put at least $5 on the balance before the card activates; that $5 is the same money you then “pay” as the activation fee, which is why the activation is net zero. If you top up exactly $5 and never spend the Spending Credit that comes back, you have effectively paid $5 for an unusable balance.

A second quirk is the deletion flow. The help articles say that to delete your account you must “transfer any remaining balance out of your Cashi account” first, and that after deletion “you won’t be able to access your funds”. In practice that means: do not leave money sitting on the card, because there is no permanent “close account” button yet. The card itself cannot be permanently closed either, only frozen.

Paying with it every day

The everyday-use score is the weakest part of this review, and that is mostly because of the physical-card question.

What you can do today, in October 2026, is: use the virtual card for online purchases anywhere Visa is taken, add the card to Google Pay on an Android phone for in-store tap-to-pay, freeze and unfreeze the card in the app, set a daily spending limit up to $50,000, turn online payments on and off, and watch real-time activity alerts.

What you cannot do today: use the card at an ATM. The help center is explicit that “the virtual card cannot be used at ATMs”, and there is no physical card yet, so there is no card-with-PIN flow at all. For people who rely on cash, that is a serious gap, and it is one reason the everyday-use criterion only gets 4 out of 10.

On Apple Pay the situation is more awkward. The help center has a “Does Cashi support Apple Pay?” article and the answer is “not available yet, but it’s on our roadmap”. iPhone users therefore have two options today: pay online by typing in the 16-digit card details, or use the Android version of the app and add the card to Google Pay on a separate device. Neither is a great experience for someone in the Apple ecosystem.

The card also offers a cashback programme, branded as the “3-2-1” structure: 3% back on eligible subscriptions, 2% back on eligible online shopping, 1% back on eligible travel. The cashback is automatic, paid as Spending Credit, and subject to monthly caps that vary by category. Unofficial coverage of the help articles suggests the following caps, which are worth treating as guidance rather than contract until Cashi publishes them in the main help pages:

The 3% subscription cashback is the most useful of the three. If you already pay for one or two of those services and you can route the charge through Cashi, you will come out a little ahead each month.

The app itself is published on the Apple App Store and Google Play, and Cashi’s site is available in English, Chinese, Arabic, French, Spanish, Portuguese, Japanese and Korean, with support staff covering a subset of those languages. Store ratings are not visible on the public pages and were not looked up in detail for this review.

What can go wrong

Every crypto card carries risks that do not exist for a regular bank debit card, and Cashi is no exception. The risks here fall into four groups: regulatory, custodial, technical and dispute-related.

The regulatory risk is the one Cashi itself flags. The card is described as working “anywhere Visa is accepted”, with “certain merchant types may be restricted for regulatory reasons”. In practice that means the card may decline at gambling sites, at adult content merchants, at certain financial services, or at any other category that the issuer has decided to block for compliance reasons. The list of blocked merchant categories is not stated publicly, and you will not know which categories are blocked until you try to use the card there. This is true of most crypto cards, but it is worth saying out loud: a Visa logo is not a guarantee that the card will work at every shop with a Visa logo.

The custodial risk is the more structural concern. Cashi is unusually open about the fact that it does not itself hold customer funds: the company says it “provides technology services only”, and that financial products are “issued and managed by licensed third parties”. That is a defensible business model, and many well-regarded crypto-card companies work the same way. The problem is that Cashi does not name the issuer, the country of registration, the licence number or the safeguarding arrangement. Without that information, you cannot independently check whether the third party that actually holds your money is regulated, where it is regulated, or what would happen to your balance if the issuer failed. This is the main reason the reliability criterion only gets 5 out of 10.

There is also a history in this market of issuers being shut down by the card networks. Visa publicly terminated its global agreements with FTX in November 2022 after the exchange collapsed, and in 2018 Visa suspended WaveCrest in Europe, which closed every WaveCrest-issued Visa programme overnight. Card-network rules allow a programme to be wound down with relatively short notice, and a programme closure usually follows a familiar pattern: a public announcement, a date by which new top-ups stop, a later date by which spending stops, and a window in which users are asked to withdraw any remaining balance. Cashi’s public-beta status and its lack of an issuer name make it harder to predict what would happen in such a scenario.

The technical risks are the ones the user can do most about. The card supports standard safeguards: instant freeze from the app, daily spending limits, online-payment toggles, two-factor authentication, PIN and biometric login, and real-time activity alerts. The help center has articles for each of these. The company describes its approach as “secure account controls and continuous monitoring”, but it does not state whether customer funds are insured, segregated, or covered by any compensation scheme, so this is another area where the published security story is thinner than the market average.

The dispute risk is the one with the most concrete price tag. Raising a chargeback through Cashi costs $50. Asking the merchant for a refund is free. The cashback you earned on a refunded purchase is removed. If you have a small problem with a large merchant — a missed refund, a duplicate charge, goods not received — the rational move is to talk to the merchant first and only use the formal dispute route when the amount at stake clearly beats the $50 fee.

One risk that is not stated is what happens to your balance if Cashi itself disappears. The standard crypto-card guidance is to keep only what you plan to spend in the next few weeks on the card, and to keep the rest in a self-custody wallet or a regulated exchange. That guidance applies to Cashi at least as much as it applies to any other card that does not name its issuer.

A final point: no Cashi-specific Trustpilot page, Reddit thread or news complaint was found for this review. That is not the same as saying there are no complaints — it is saying that, as of the date of writing, the public conversation about Cashi is thin. Public beta launched in August 2026, and it is normal for there to be few user reviews in the first few months. Treat the absence of complaints as a fact about the age of the product, not as evidence of reliability.

What to take instead

Cashi is not the only crypto card aimed at people who are not well served by a regular bank. Three alternatives are worth comparing directly, and the table below puts them side by side on the facts available.

Card Score Country reach Card form Activation cost Conversion fee Funding
Cashi 6.6 / 10 Not published; local-laws check at sign-up Virtual Visa only $5, returned as credit 0% USD, 1% non-USD USDC/USDT on 9 networks, plus BTC/ETH/SOL; cash in 20+ currencies
Cardex 5.6 / 10 “200+ countries”, no list Virtual and physical; Verve, Visa, Mastercard, UnionPay Not stated Not stated; “AI-powered conversion rate” claim USDT, USDC, BTC (networks not stated)
TakeCard 5.5 / 10 Bolivia for physical card; starting data lists AR, BO, PE, CL, PY, CO, EC, US, ES, IT for virtual Virtual plus physical (Bolivia only); Visa; USD $5 virtual; physical in Bolivia $20 plus $20 shipping (another source says $10) 1% per purchase; USD 1:1 Top-up from Takenos balance; starting data lists USDC/USDT on Polygon, BNB, Tron, Ethereum (unverified)
OkiCard 6.0 / 10 “150+” or “200+” countries, no list Virtual, with a physical card mentioned $0 issuance, $0 monthly, $15 starting price; 100 USDT initial deposit 3% load fee, 0% transaction in USD, FX fee not stated USDT on BSC, Ethereum, Tron, Solana; USDC “soon”

A few things stand out. Cashi is the only one of the four that publishes a clear conversion fee (0% on USD, 1% elsewhere) and a no-Cashi-fee deposit story across nine networks, which is the practical edge it has over the alternatives. OkiCard matches Cashi on the multi-network USDT funding but charges a 3% load fee that Cashi does not, and its pages disagree on whether there is an issuance fee. TakeCard is the only one of the four that is already a physical card, but only in Bolivia, and its own help articles disagree with each other on the physical-card price. Cardex is the most ambitious in its marketing (“AI-powered conversion rate”) and the thinnest in disclosed fees.

If you specifically want a card that supports Apple Pay today, none of the four are obvious winners: Cashi is on the roadmap, OkiCard does not state Apple Pay support, TakeCard does not state Apple Pay support, and Cardex does not state Apple Pay support. If you specifically need a physical card today, only TakeCard (in Bolivia) and possibly Cardex can ship you one, and even Cardex’s physical availability is not described.

Who I would recommend it to

After going through the sign-up flow, the fee schedule, the top-up options, the cashback programme and the open questions about the issuer, the picture that emerges is a card with a strong technical story and a weaker regulatory one.

I would recommend Cashi to:

I would not recommend Cashi to:

If you fall in the first group, the sensible way to try Cashi is to load $20 to $50, set the daily spending limit low, use the card for a handful of small purchases, and see whether the ID check, the top-up flow, the conversion fee and the cashback match what this review describes. The product is in public beta, and the company itself is asking users to try it before the full launch, which is the right invitation to take it slowly.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Cashi card?

Cashi is a USD-denominated virtual Visa debit card issued through a licensed third party, funded with stablecoins such as USDC and USDT on multiple blockchain networks, and managed through a mobile app that also supports cash deposits and withdrawals in 20-plus local currencies. The card is in public beta and the company behind it positions itself as a technology provider rather than as the issuer.

How does the Cashi card work?

You add USDC or USDT to your Cashi balance on one of nine supported networks, the app converts and loads the balance, and the virtual Visa card then spends in USD at 0% conversion fee or in other currencies at a 1% conversion fee. The card is accepted anywhere Visa is taken, with certain merchant categories restricted for regulatory reasons.

Is Cashi a bank?

No. Cashi says it “provides technology services only” and that its financial products are issued and managed by licensed third parties. The company does not name the issuer, the registration country or the licences on its public pages, so the card is built on top of an undisclosed banking partner.

Who owns Cashi?

The company does not publicly state who owns it. One unofficial report described Cashi as Hong Kong-based, with a press release datelined Sharjah, UAE. Until Cashi publishes a corporate structure page, the ownership question is open.

Is the Cashi card available in my country?

Cashi does not publish a list of supported countries. The sign-up flow applies a local-laws check, and unofficial coverage of the sign-up screen has shown flags for Argentina, Bangladesh, Brazil, Colombia, the Dominican Republic, Spain, Ghana, Kenya, Malaysia, Nigeria and Saudi Arabia. Treat that as a hint, not as an eligibility list, and try the sign-up to confirm in your own case.

Does the Cashi card require KYC?

Yes. The sign-up process runs “a quick check with your ID and a selfie”, which most users finish in minutes and some finish within 24 hours. Proof of address and a stated age requirement are not described on the public pages.

How do I activate the Cashi card?

After completing the ID check, you add at least $5 to your Cashi balance, tap “Activate card for $5” in the app, and the $5 is returned to you as $5 of Spending Credit. The activation is therefore net zero as long as the credit is used.

How do I top up the Cashi card?

You deposit USDC or USDT on Tron, Solana, Polygon, BNB Chain, Arbitrum, Ethereum, Bitcoin or Base, and you can also send BTC, ETH or SOL directly. There is no Cashi fee on the deposit; you only pay the blockchain network fee. Cash deposits in 20-plus local currencies are also supported, with the Cashi fee quoted in the app before you confirm.

Is the Cashi card safe to use?

The card supports standard safeguards — instant freeze, daily limits, online toggles, two-factor authentication, PIN and biometrics, real-time alerts — but the company does not state whether customer funds are insured, segregated, or covered by any compensation scheme, and it does not name the licensed third party that holds the funds. That gap means Cashi is best used with a small spending balance rather than a long-term store of value.

How do I close my Cashi account?

The help articles say you must first transfer any remaining balance out of your Cashi account, because after deletion “you won’t be able to access your funds”. The card itself cannot be permanently closed today and can only be frozen, so the most reliable approach is to keep the balance small and move funds out promptly when you stop using the service.

Content created by the «cryptocardbest.com» team