A free-to-issue Visa that spends from a euro balance you fill with crypto — with several important details the public pages do not spell out.

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only

If you have been looking for a card you can spend from a crypto balance, PayPilot comes up as a name with a short page list behind it: a Visa, a euro balance, no issuance fee, no monthly fee. That much is easy to confirm. Almost everything else — who qualifies, what the exchange rate costs you at the till, how much you can move in a day — is either described in general terms or not described at all. My job here is to separate the two, and to be honest about the gaps rather than filling them with plausible-sounding assumptions. I have never held the card, so treat everything below as a reading of the published material and of what the material leaves unsaid.

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
PayPilot works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

The conditions described are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict: 7.4 out of 10, and a clear-eyed look at who it suits

PayPilot scores 7.4 out of 10 in my assessment. That is a good card for a specific person: someone who already holds euros, already holds crypto, and wants a plain Visa to spend a euro balance without paying to hold it or to load it. For that person it is genuinely well priced — issuance 0 EUR, service 0 EUR, no commission on payments from the euro balance, and a 0.4% charge to turn crypto into euros. The everyday mechanics are strong too: virtual card usable straight away, physical card by post, Apple Pay, Google Pay, ATM withdrawals, and a Lithuanian electronic money licence behind it that dates to 2018.

The score is not higher because the numbers you would use to decide whether to rely on it are mostly absent. The list of countries is not published. The foreign exchange fee is not stated. The daily, weekly and monthly limits are not stated. The networks you can deposit over are not named. You are told a fee exists and then told the value is not available — which, in a card review, is a finding in itself, not a technicality.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 5 / 10 Eligibility depends on your country of residence and local regulations; the supported regions are not listed, and citizenship is not mentioned.
Cost 9 / 10 Issuance 0 EUR, service 0 EUR, no commission on payments from the euro balance, 0.4% to convert crypto to euros; the foreign exchange fee is not disclosed.
Top-up options 6 / 10 BTC, ETH, USDT and EUR; you can fund with crypto or euros, but the networks are not named.
Reliability and complaints 8 / 10 Issued by Walletto UAB under Bank of Lithuania electronic money licence No 33 of 29 March 2018; I found no PayPilot-specific complaints.
Everyday use 9 / 10 Visa, virtual immediately and physical by post, Apple Pay, Google Pay, ATM withdrawals.
Total 7.4 / 10 A well-priced euro card with a crypto-funded top-up, held back by undisclosed limits and fees.

I would sum it up this way. If you spend euros day to day and treat crypto as a source of euros rather than as something you want to hold on a card, the economics are good. If you are outside the euro area, or you plan to lean on this card for large or unusual payments, the missing foreign exchange fee and missing limits are reasons to keep a second card in your wallet.

Will they give you the card?

The short answer is: it depends on where you live, and the card does not tell you where that is. The stated position is that availability “depends on your country of residence and local regulations”. The supported regions are not listed anywhere on the public pages. Citizenship is not mentioned at all — the rule is framed purely around residence.

That distinction matters more than it sounds. Sanctions screening, and the risk policy most issuers apply, often treat nationality and country of birth separately from where you live. A card that says “residence” and is silent on citizenship has told you the criterion it is applying, and told you nothing about the other one. It is not a red flag; it is simply a hole in the information you would need if you are in an unusual position — for instance a citizen of one country living in another.

The background here is worth understanding rather than worrying about. In the EU, customer due diligence for a regulated firm normally covers name, address, date of birth, nationality and identity documentation, a sanctions check, the purpose of the relationship, and whether you are a politically exposed person. If that due diligence cannot be completed, the rules expect the institution to hold back the transaction or the relationship, and where necessary to end it. That is the machinery behind accounts being frozen pending documents everywhere in this category, and it applies whether or not a particular card says so on its own page.

So: if you are an adult in a supported region with ordinary documentation, the process is routine. If you are not sure whether your country is on the list, you cannot find out from the public pages — you would have to apply and see. Card terms do reserve the right for the issuer to re-verify identity and request further documents at any time, which is normal, but it also means a first approval is not a permanent answer.

How to get it

The route is short and deliberately plain: register, verify, create card. Before the card is created you complete a one-time “quick identity verification”. The account is described as verified once, and identity verification partners named on the material are KycAid and Ondato. The levels of verification, how long they take and the reasons a check might be refused are not stated.

Once verified, the card is a Visa for online and in-store payments, and it spends from a euro balance. Whether you get a virtual card first or a physical card is not stated on the card page itself, but the card terms allow both: a virtual card usable immediately, and a physical card that needs activation and arrives by post. The terms also say the issuance fee includes postal costs, at issuer pricing per country — and they do not state the delivery time or the cost.

What that adds up to in practice is that the “free” card is free at issuance in the euro sense, but the delivery specifics are outside your control until the issuer tells you. Practically, the fastest route to a working card is the virtual one, because it is usable immediately, and then the physical card for the places that want to see plastic.

A few document questions are worth having in mind before you start, because the card does not answer them: which documents are acceptable, whether proof of address is required, and what age threshold applies. General practice in this category is that prepaid and debit cards are available to adults from 18, with some issuers setting higher limits, but that is the category default rather than a PayPilot term.

Fees and limits: what a PayPilot payment actually costs

Here is the honest picture. Two of the four numbers you would most want are given precisely; two of them are described as existing without a value.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a PayPilot payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Item What the card states
Issuance 0 EUR
Monthly service fee 0 EUR
Paying from the euro balance No commission
Crypto-to-euro conversion 0.4%
Foreign exchange fee Not stated
ATM withdrawals Cash can be withdrawn; fee and allowance not stated
Single, daily and monthly limits Exist; values not stated
Daily, weekly and monthly maximum payment amounts Set by the issuer; values not stated
Tiers Not stated — a single card, no tiers described
Currencies Euro balance, converted to the merchant’s currency when needed; the wallet holds BTC, ETH, USDT and EUR

Let me put three everyday payments through that table, because a fee list is only useful once you know which line it touches.

Two category facts explain the rest. Paying from a stored balance means the card cannot overdraw — the model is pre-loaded, not a credit line, so there is no borrowing cost to worry about. And the euro balance model has one more consequence: the rate you effectively get is set by the issuer’s exchange, not by the network’s headline rate.

One practical note on limits. Single, daily and monthly limits exist, and the terms add that daily, weekly and monthly maximum payment amounts are set by the issuer. So the structure of the limits is described and their size is not. If a large rent payment or a single expensive purchase is part of your plan, that number matters, and you would need it from support before you commit.

Top up: crypto in, euros on the card

You have two routes in. The FAQ lists BTC, ETH, USDT and EUR, and you can top up with crypto or with euros. The card spends from the euro balance, so crypto is converted to euros at 0.4%. That 0.4% is charged only when converting crypto to euros — an euro top-up is not described as carrying it. The minimum top-up and any fee on euro top-ups are not stated.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up PayPilot starts with a transfer to the right network

The critical missing detail is the network. Which chains are accepted for BTC, ETH and USDT is not specified. That matters more than it might look, and the reason is technical rather than bureaucratic. Blockchain transfers are irreversible. A deposit sent over a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost or need manual recovery with no guarantee. USDT in particular exists on many chains — Ethereum, Tron, Solana, Polygon, Avalanche and others — and they are not interchangeable. A wallet holding USDT on one of them is not, in the eyes of a receiving address, the same asset as USDT on another. So before you send anything, the first question is which network to use, and the answer should come from the provider, not from your own general knowledge of crypto.

If you hold stablecoins, you will also have noticed that USDC and USDT are dollar-pegged rather than euro-pegged. Tether’s USDT and Circle’s USDC are US-dollar-pegged, and the BIS in July 2025 put about 90% of stablecoin market capitalisation in these two. A euro balance is not the same as a dollar-pegged token, and there is a conversion step somewhere in that path. The card’s own terms also note that a stablecoin’s name does not guarantee its stability: stablecoins can depeg.

Getting money back off is the mirror image. The off-ramp is selling crypto for euros and withdrawing to an IBAN, subject to limits and compliance checks. If the payment account is closed the card becomes invalid, and what happens to a remaining balance on closure is not stated. That last point is the one I would ask about before I ever left a meaningful amount sitting in the balance, and it applies to every provider in this category, not just this one.

Paying with it every day

Day to day, the card is in the Visa system, works online and in stores, and can be linked to Apple Pay or Google Pay. That is genuinely everything most people need from a payment card, and the mobile wallet support is a real quality-of-life gain rather than a checkbox.

There are no stated rewards. No cashback, no points, no tiers — the card describes a single card with no tiers, and no rewards are mentioned anywhere on the material. Some cards in this category offer cashback at selected merchants; this one does not, so do not build your expectations around one.

The app is on both the Apple App Store and Google Play. The store ratings could not be read, so I will not tell you whether users rate it highly or poorly — that is a question I could not answer rather than one I answered badly.

Blocked merchant categories are not stated. This is worth a moment. Merchant category codes are four-digit numbers assigned when a business starts accepting cards, and codes like the one covering gambling are commonly blocked by issuers as policy rather than by law, with the list varying by issuer. So whether gambling, or anything else, is refused on this card is something only PayPilot can tell you, and it is another item to ask.

Then there are the declines. Some merchants refuse prepaid or foreign-issued cards because the BIN lookup reveals the card type and the issuer’s country; a card issued in Lithuania can look foreign to a shop elsewhere. Address verification, which compares the numeric parts of a billing address with issuer records, is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which can itself cause declines. And a declined authorisation may leave a hold on your funds for several days, typically up to seven. None of that is PayPilot-specific, but it is what a decline looks like in practice.

What can go wrong

Two risks deserve real attention, and they are different in kind.

The first is authorised-payment risk, and the card’s terms are unusually blunt about it: a payment made with your card credentials is deemed authorised, and there is no refund unless the payee agrees to refund. The chargeback procedure and time frames are not stated. In the wider category a chargeback is a refund ordered by the issuer to settle a dispute, with reason codes such as fraud, duplicate billing or goods not received — but under the card’s own terms, a payment that went through with your credentials is treated as authorised, which puts a lot of weight on 3-D Secure and on never sharing your details. If a dispute is something you need covered, you should ask what the procedure is before you rely on the card for anything you would be upset to lose.

The second is provider risk. There is a layer of companies here, and it is worth keeping them straight. The footer says the platform is developed by Pilot Innovation Sp. z o.o. and that financial services are provided by Nexora Fintech Limited “where applicable”; the card issuer, named in the card terms, is Walletto UAB, company code 304686884, registered in Vilnius, Lithuania. Walletto UAB holds electronic money institution licence No 33, issued by the Bank of Lithuania on 29 March 2018, and the card terms carrying that detail are dated May 2024. Licences for the platform itself are not stated — the material refers to regulated partners without naming them, and the issuer is not explicitly named on the marketing pages.

That layering is normal for this category and it is not in itself a warning. A card payment involves several parties: the network routes the messages and sets the rules, the issuer holds the card programme, and the crypto brand is often just the front end that markets it. What is worth understanding is that an electronic money institution can issue e-money, payment cards and e-wallets but cannot lend, and that its customer funds must be safeguarded by segregation or insurance — which is not the same as a bank deposit and may not sit under a deposit guarantee scheme. So “is PayPilot a bank” is a fair question with a clear answer: it is an e-money card programme, not a bank account.

On security claims: the site states AES-256 encryption, PCI-DSS, ISO 27001, cold wallet storage, two-factor authentication and an audit reserve. The custody model — whether funds sit with a custodian or in your own wallet — is not stated, and that is the question those claims are really about. If the funds are custodial, you are trusting the provider with them, and the category has a long record of why that is worth thinking about: Mt. Gox, around US$350 million reported stolen between 2011 and 2014; Coincheck, about US$400 million in 2018; and the Ronin Network, US$625 million in 2022. Blocked-after-use is also real. The terms let you request a block at any time, block the physical card after three wrong PIN entries, and let the issuer block for suspected fraud.

Support is by email and a contact form, with social channels on X, Telegram, Instagram, Facebook and LinkedIn; opening hours are not stated. No PayPilot-specific complaints or official incidents have been reported, though the service’s relative quietness may reflect its current user base. PayPilot provides support channels for users, but it is important to verify terms and limits directly through support.

One more piece of background worth knowing, because it shows what happens when a crypto card programme goes wrong. In November 2022 Visa said it had terminated its global agreements with FTX and the FTX US debit card programme was wound down by its issuer. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all its Visa programmes. Closures typically follow a pattern: a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then users are asked to withdraw remaining balances. The lesson is simple — do not treat any single card programme as permanent infrastructure.

What to take instead

If PayPilot’s euro balance is not the right fit, the honest comparison is not “another crypto card is better”, because none of these are strictly the same product. Here is where the main alternatives stand.

Card Score Card and cost Who it is for
PayPilot 7.4 / 10 Visa; issuance 0 EUR, service 0 EUR, 0.4% crypto-to-euro conversion; FX fee not stated Euro-area spenders who top up with crypto
Stella 6.5 / 10 Virtual and physical Visa, accepted at over 40 million merchants; fees described in the User Agreement and/or the app, not stated here Users who want a crypto deposit to top the card automatically
Whop Cards 5.2 / 10 Visa; “no extra fees” with no amounts listed; 5% cashback at select merchants, currently Uber People inside the covered US states with a balance to spend
UniFi Card 4.7 / 10 Prepaid debit Visa issued by Lead Bank, USD balance; fees “may apply” Users of the UniFi app sending money to the Philippines, Mexico, the eurozone, Colombia, Brazil and the UK

Two things stand out. First, coverage. Whop’s consumer side covers 31 US states and businesses 41, and it explicitly does not support users in a long list including Belarus, China (Mainland), Cuba, Hong Kong, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela and Vietnam. If you are outside the euro area and outside the US, this whole category narrows sharply. Second, disclosure. Every one of these alternatives also withholds fee figures — Stella points you to its agreement and app, Whop says “no extra fees” without amounts, UniFi says fees may apply. That is the category norm, and it is precisely why I scored PayPilot’s undisclosed foreign exchange fee as a deduction rather than treating it as business as usual.

What I would actually suggest, depending on what you are actually trying to do:

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend PayPilot to a person in the euro area who spends in euros, holds crypto, and wants a card with no issuance cost and no monthly fee. The 0.4% conversion, charged once on the way in rather than on every payment, is the right shape for that person, and the Apple Pay and Google Pay support means the physical card barely matters day to day.

I would not recommend it as your only card, and I would think twice if you are outside the euro area, because the foreign exchange fee is not stated and that is the number that would decide it. I would also hold off if you plan large payments, since the daily, weekly and monthly maxima are set by the issuer and not published, or if you intend to leave a balance sitting in the account, since what happens to a remaining balance on closure is not stated.

If you want to make this card your everyday card, the fastest route to spending is the virtual one and Apple Pay. If you want it to be the only card in your wallet, ask three questions first — what the foreign exchange fee is, what the daily and monthly limits are, and what happens to a remaining balance when the account closes. Support is by email and a contact form. Those three answers would move this review’s score more than anything else on this page.

Frequently asked questions

What is the PayPilot card?

PayPilot is a Visa payment card that spends from a euro balance you hold. You load the balance with crypto or euros, and the card behaves like an ordinary Visa online and in stores, plus Apple Pay, Google Pay and ATM withdrawals. It is a prepaid-style card rather than a credit card: it draws on the money already there and cannot overdraw. The card is issued by Walletto UAB under a Bank of Lithuania electronic money licence.

How does the PayPilot card work in practice?

You register, complete a one-time identity verification, and create your card. From then on the sequence is the same every time: crypto or euros go in, a euro balance is formed, and payments draw that balance down. Paying from the euro balance carries no commission. Converting crypto into euros costs 0.4%. If you pay in a currency other than the euro, the card converts to the merchant’s currency, and the foreign exchange fee for that is not stated.

Is PayPilot a bank?

No. It is an e-money card programme, not a bank, and the distinction is practical rather than technical. The issuer is Walletto UAB, an electronic money institution licensed by the Bank of Lithuania, and such institutions issue e-money and payment cards but cannot lend. Customer funds must be safeguarded by segregation or insurance, which is not the same as a bank deposit and may not be covered by a deposit guarantee scheme.

Who owns PayPilot?

The public pages split it into two roles. The footer credits platform development to Pilot Innovation Sp. z o.o. and says financial services are provided by Nexora Fintech Limited “where applicable”. The card itself is issued by Walletto UAB, company code 304686884, based in Vilnius, Lithuania. Licences for the platform itself are not stated; the material refers to regulated partners without naming them.

Is the PayPilot card available in my country?

The card says availability “depends on your country of residence and local regulations”, and it does not publish the list of supported regions. Citizenship is not mentioned; the rule is framed purely around residence. There is also a separate rule that matters for spending: the card terms say the card becomes invalid if the payment account is closed. Availability abroad is therefore separate from eligibility, and depends on where the merchant is.

Does the PayPilot card require KYC?

Yes, and it says so. You complete a one-time “quick identity verification” before the card is created, with KycAid and Ondato named as verification partners. Which documents are needed, whether proof of address is required, and the reasons a check might be refused are not stated. The terms also let the issuer re-verify your identity and request more documents at any time after that.

How do I top up the PayPilot card?

Two ways: crypto or euros. The FAQ lists BTC, ETH, USDT and EUR, and the card spends from the euro balance, so crypto is converted first. The 0.4% fee applies only to the crypto-to-euro conversion, not to euro top-ups. Before you send anything, confirm which network to use — the card does not name the accepted chains, and transfers on the wrong network can be lost.

Is the PayPilot card free, and are there any fees?

Issuance is 0 EUR and the monthly service fee is 0 EUR, and payments from the euro balance carry no commission. The one fee figure given is the 0.4% crypto-to-euro conversion. Everything else is either unstated or unspecified: the foreign exchange fee, the ATM fee and allowance, and the single, daily and monthly limits, whose values are not stated and are set by the issuer.

Is the PayPilot card safe, and what support is there?

The site states AES-256 encryption, PCI-DSS, ISO 27001, cold wallet storage, two-factor authentication and an audit reserve, though the custody model is not stated — which is the question those claims turn on. Support is by email and a contact form, with social channels on X, Telegram, Instagram, Facebook and LinkedIn; hours are not stated. I found no PayPilot-specific complaints, but the service is quiet enough that absence of complaints is weak evidence.

What are the drawbacks of the PayPilot card?

The honest list is short and specific: no published country list, no stated foreign exchange fee, no stated limits, no named deposit networks, no rewards, and no stated position on blocked merchant categories. Two terms deserve attention — payments made with your card credentials are deemed authorised with no refund unless the payee agrees, and what happens to a remaining balance on account closure is not stated.

Content created by the «cryptocardbest.com» team