Nigerian crypto spending through a virtual dollar card, with sharp costs and quiet gaps

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only

Monica Pay is one of a handful of services aimed at a specific person: someone in Nigeria who holds crypto, wants to spend it at ordinary shops and websites, and cannot get a normal bank card to cooperate. The pitch is a virtual dollar Visa or Mastercard funded from a naira balance you create by selling crypto inside the app. The marketing promise that stands out is “0% conversion fees” on that sale and on loading the card. The reality is narrower than the promise in ways that matter — the card is virtual only, the issuer is never named, and a good deal about limits, custody and support is simply not written down anywhere public.

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
Monica Pay works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

I scored it 5.6 out of 10. That is not a rejection. It is a card that solves a real problem for a real group of people while leaving too many questions unanswered to recommend without the caveats attached. Below I go through who gets the card, how you sign up, what it costs, how you fund it, what daily life with it looks like, what can go wrong, and what you might use instead. My scores and every figure below are as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict: a narrow, useful card with too much left unsaid

The score breaks down into six criteria, and the table is the honest shape of the thing — two strong marks, one solid, one middling, two weak.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Monica Pay payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 2 / 10 The page is Nigeria-centred (Lagos, “EN-NG”, “NGN payouts”); there is no country list
Cost 9 / 10 “0% conversion fees” when selling crypto for naira and funding the card; unofficial: a one-time non-refundable $1 fee to open the card
Top-up options 7 / 10 BTC, ETH, SOL, TRX, BNB, USDT and USDC are sold for naira and the card is loaded from the naira balance; networks are not itemised
Reliability and complaints 6 / 10 Monica Technologies Limited (Lagos), stated alignment with the SEC VASP framework, issuer not named; App Store 4.6 from 15K ratings, Trustpilot 3.7 from 1 review
Everyday use 4 / 10 Virtual dollar Visa and Mastercard, NFC and QR; Apple Pay and Google Pay are not mentioned, there is no ATM
Total 5.6 / 10 A specialist tool for Nigerian residents spending crypto through a virtual dollar card

Cost gets a 9 because the headline economics are genuinely the best part of the offer: converting crypto to naira and loading the card is advertised at no conversion fee, and the FX spread is said to go to the scheme operator rather than to Monica. Whether a $1 card-opening fee exists depends on a third-party listing rather than Monica’s own pages, and I treat that as unconfirmed. Top-up gets a 7 rather higher because the asset list is generous — seven coins and tokens, majors plus Tron — but the networks are not written down, and that omission is where deposits get lost in this category.

The two low marks pull the total down. Availability scores 2 because everything about the service points at Nigeria and nothing tells you what happens if you are elsewhere; a card aimed at one market cannot be a global recommendation. Everyday use scores 4 because virtual-only means no ATM, and neither Apple Pay nor Google Pay is mentioned, so you are typing card details into checkout forms rather than tapping. Reliability sits at 6: a named company with a Lagos address and stated regulatory alignment is better than an anonymous brand, but no issuer name, one Trustpilot review, and no independent reviews of the virtual card specifically.

Who is this for? A Nigerian resident who already has crypto, already has naira coming in from somewhere, and wants to pay a foreign website or an imported subscription without a bank card that works. Who is it not for? Anyone outside Nigeria, anyone who needs cash from an ATM, anyone who wants their crypto held in their own wallet, and anyone who needs Apple Pay. If you fall into any of those groups, the alternative section is the more useful part of this review.

Will They Give You the Card?

The short answer is: if you are in Nigeria and pass verification, most likely yes; if you are anywhere else, nothing on the public pages tells you.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Monica Pay starts with a transfer to the right network

The product page is built around Nigeria. It carries Lagos, the “EN-NG” language tag and “NGN payouts”, and the top-up flow sells crypto for naira. There is no list of supported countries anywhere on it, and no statement about residents of other countries applying. I would not read that as an invitation to try from elsewhere. Where the card itself goes is a different question and a wider one: because it is a Visa or Mastercard, it works wherever those networks are accepted, online and in stores. So the sensible reading is that the account is Nigeria-shaped and the spending is not.

One clause in the terms is worth reading twice, and it is not a technicality. The terms bar use from any jurisdiction where crypto-asset services are unlawful. That means the service follows the law of where you are, not only of where it is registered. If you are in a country where holding or spending crypto is restricted, the card is not an exemption from that. I am not going to explain how to work around it, and you should not look for a way to either.

The company behind it is Monica Technologies Limited, based in Lagos, Nigeria. It states that it is “SEC VASP-framework aligned” and compliant with the NDPA 2023 and NFIU — those are claims made on its own site, and I have no way to confirm them from outside. What matters more for a cardholder is a detail the site does not name: the card issuer is an unnamed third-party card partner. Monica is running the programme; some other institution actually issues the card. You are dealing with two parties, and the terms you would read for a complaint route are the card terms, which do not address disputes at all (see the risks section).

There is a broader context worth knowing about why a Nigerian crypto card exists in this shape. Cards like this are usually prepaid instruments drawing on a stored balance rather than a bank account: crypto is converted and loaded as fiat balance, and the card cannot overdraw because it only spends what is already there. The card network routes the payment and sets the rules, the licensed issuer holds the programme, and the crypto brand is often just the front end. That structure explains a lot of what Monica does and does not tell you, including why the issuer name is missing and why the scheme operator, not Monica, takes the FX spread.

How to Get It

The signup is described in one phrase — “one-screen KYC” in the app — and that phrase is doing more work than it can bear.

The terms say only “eligible verified Users” may apply. The app describes a single-screen verification flow. Beyond that, the public pages do not say which documents you need, what the minimum age is, or how long review takes. I am not going to fill that gap with guesses about what a Nigerian identity check normally involves. Read the app’s own prompts when you get there, and assume you will need something that proves who you are and where you live.

What you end up with is a virtual dollar debit card, on Visa or Mastercard, denominated in USD. The “Pay Cards” product adds NFC tap-to-pay and QR. Virtual means there is no delivery step — nothing arrives in the post, so there is no shipping delay and no delivery address to worry about. It also means no physical fallback if your phone dies at the till.

One thing to know before you start: general verification tiers in the terms, in clause 5.2, apply to naira withdrawals. Card-specific verification levels are not stated. So the KYC depth you need to withdraw naira is documented, and the depth you need for the card itself is not. If the card is the reason you are signing up, that asymmetry is worth an email to support before you commit.

Prepaid and debit cards are generally available to adults at 18 and over, and some issuers set higher limits for particular products. The card’s own age requirement is not stated on the pages I read.

What It Really Costs

Here is the part that went well, and then the part where the page goes quiet. One number comes from a third-party listing rather than Monica, and I mark it as unconfirmed.

Fee or limit What Monica states
Card opening Not stated by Monica. Unofficial: one-time, non-refundable $1 fee to unlock the Virtual USD Card (third-party app listing page, 2026)
Monthly fee Not stated
Conversion “0% conversion fees” on selling crypto for naira and on funding the card
FX spread Set by the scheme operator; Monica does not retain it
ATM Not stated
Spending limits Manageable in real time; amounts not given; transactions outside Nigeria may be subject to “additional regulatory limits”
Tiers One tier
Card currency USD, funded from a naira balance; multi-currency balances not stated

Everyday examples, so the table lands somewhere real. When you sell USDT for naira in the app and load the card, the conversion fee is 0% by Monica’s own wording. When the payment itself is in a currency other than the card’s dollars — say a euro subscription on a site that prices in euros — the cost is the scheme operator’s spread, and Monica says that is not theirs. When you send a friend money or pay a naira bill from the app, the same 0% conversion line is quoted for crypto-to-naira, and the App Store listing says money can be moved to your bank without fees. What none of these tells you is what a naira withdrawal or a card-to-bank transfer costs, because those amounts are not published.

The $1 charge is the figure to keep in view. It comes from a third-party app listing page dated 2026, not from Monica, so I would not treat it as settled until you see it in the app or in a written fee schedule. If it exists, it is small — but it is one more reason the card is not quite “free”, and it is the kind of detail that a headline “0% fees” line leaves out entirely.

Three separate gaps are worth naming. There is no published ATM figure, which is not the same as “no ATM fee” — the card is virtual, so cash withdrawal is not obviously available at all, and the page does not say. There is no published monthly fee, which usually means you should ask rather than assume zero. And the limits line is unusually abstract: “additional regulatory limits” on transactions outside Nigeria is a phrase that tells you extra rules may apply to exactly the cross-border spending the card is presumably for. You will find out what that means only by hitting it.

How to Top It Up

Top-up is the mechanism the card runs on, and it works in two steps that you should keep separate in your head, because they are priced differently and settle at different speeds.

Step one is selling crypto for naira inside Monica. BTC, ETH, SOL, TRX, BNB, USDT and USDC are all sellable for naira at the app’s live rate, with a 0% conversion fee. Step two is loading the card from that naira balance. The card is a dollar card, so the naira becomes dollars in the background — a multi-currency structure the pages describe only in that thin sentence.

Alternatively, crypto can be sent to a Monica wallet, converted to naira at the live rate, and loaded to the card, with the app describing this as instant. Naira can reach your bank within 60 seconds of on-chain confirmation. That 60 seconds is doing real work: it is measured from the moment the blockchain confirms, not from the moment you press send. A transaction that sits unconfirmed for ten minutes is not late.

Three things are not stated, and one of them is a genuine trap. The minimum top-up is not stated. Who pays the network fee for your deposit is not stated — normally the blockchain charges it and not the card provider, but the provider may absorb it or pass it on, and here the pages are silent. And the networks are not itemised: the seven assets are named, the chains they travel on are not. That last one is the one to get right before you send anything. Sending a token on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can lose the funds outright or need manual support recovery with no guarantee. Blockchain transfers are irreversible by design.

Stablecoins are the practical choice here and it is worth knowing what “stable” means. USDT and USDC are dollar-pegged, and the BIS put about 90% of stablecoin market capitalisation in those two as of July 2025. But they are not the same as dollars. USDC is redeemable 1:1 for USD and backed by cash and cash equivalents, mostly in an SEC-registered government money market fund, with monthly reserve attestations. Circle lists USDC as natively supported on 38 networks as of 16 September 2026, including Ethereum, Solana, Base, Polygon PoS, Avalanche, Arbitrum and Stellar. USDT has been issued on Ethereum, Tron, Solana, Polygon, Avalanche and others. Depeg is real history: TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022, and USDC briefly lost its peg in March 2023 during the US banking crisis. And if you are planning to hold USDT on Tron specifically, note that Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, so “USDC over TRC20” is not a native option. Tron fees also work differently: that network prices transactions in bandwidth and energy resources, often burning TRX.

The card balance and the naira balance are not the same thing, and what happens to leftover card funds is not stated. The App Store listing says you can move money to your bank without fees; the terms of a return from the card balance itself are not published.

Paying With It Every Day

Everyday use is where this card is thinnest, and it scores 4 for a set of reasons you will notice within a week.

What you have is a virtual dollar Visa or Mastercard with NFC tap-to-pay and QR. That is genuinely enough for contactless terminals and many QR readers. It is not enough for most of the ways people actually pay in 2026.

No Apple Pay, no Google Pay. Neither is mentioned anywhere on the public pages. Without a tokenised mobile wallet, every online checkout is a typed card number, expiry and CVC — a worse security posture than you have on your ordinary card, and more places where a mistake gets declined.

No physical card, so no ATM, no cash withdrawal, no place to show a screenshot when a shop wants to see something physical.

No rewards. Nothing is stated about cashback or any incentive, which in a category where competitors advertise 5% cashback is worth registering.

Blocked merchant categories are not stated either, so you do not know in advance whether gambling, adult content or whatever else will simply be refused. That is a live uncertainty rather than a known restriction.

Two categories of decline are worth anticipating, and both are normal rather than signs of a bad card. First, the BIN. The first six or eight digits of your card number identify the issuing institution, and merchants can look it up and see which institution and country issued the card; if that differs from your billing address, they may look harder. A Nigerian-issued card at a merchant elsewhere can read as foreign, and some merchants decline prepaid or foreign BINs for that reason. Second, address verification: AVS compares the numeric parts of the billing address you typed against issuer records, it is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK, and it is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards — which for this one is a decline waiting to happen at some checkouts.

Also plan for holds. A declined authorisation may leave a hold on funds that can remain for several days, typically up to 7. And on the app side, Monica is on iOS and Android, with an App Store listing for “Monica – Pay, Send, Bills” sitting at 4.6 from 15K ratings when I read it on 2026-10-21. I did not read the Google Play rating, so treat the store picture as partial.

What Can Go Wrong

No official incident surfaced in my checking, and I want to be precise about what that does and does not mean. It does not mean nothing has happened. It means I found no official incident and, more importantly, no independent reviews of the virtual card at all. The absence of complaint themes on Trustpilot is not reassuring either — that page shows 3.7 from 1 review, a five-star review dated 19 May 2026, on an unclaimed profile, read on 2026-10-21. One review tells you almost nothing.

The unresolved risks, roughly in order of how much they should bother you:

What to Take Instead

Three alternatives came up in the same category, and all three score differently on the same criteria. I am not going to pretend they are interchangeable — they are not, and two of them serve different countries.

Monica Pay Whop Cards Stella UniFi Card
Score 5.6 / 10 5.2 / 10 6.5 / 10 4.7 / 10
Where it fits Nigeria-centred (Lagos, EN-NG, NGN) 31 US states for consumers, 41 for businesses Countries not stated; US and European users routed via affiliates Not confirmed; send routes to Philippines, Mexico, eurozone, plus Colombia, Brazil, UK in release notes
Card Virtual USD, Visa and Mastercard, NFC and QR Visa; virtual/physical not stated Virtual and physical Visa Prepaid debit Visa, issued by Lead Bank; USD
Fees “0% conversion fees”; unofficial $1 to unlock “No extra fees”; amounts not listed Not stated “Fees may apply”; amounts not stated
Funding Sell BTC, ETH, SOL, TRX, BNB, USDT, USDC for naira Whop balance, backed by stablecoin collateral from a linked wallet Deposit crypto into an account that auto-tops the card ACH, wire, SEPA, SPEI, or get paid to a USDC wallet
Rewards Not stated 5% cashback at select merchants, currently Uber No cashback stated on the card page 3% on balances claimed; card cashback not stated

Where Monica leads is narrow but real: it is the only one of the four that names the coins and tokens you can sell for local currency, and it is the only one with an explicit 0% conversion claim on both the sale and the card load. If you are Nigerian and holding crypto, that is a genuine advantage.

Where Stella leads is breadth and clarity of product shape: 6.5 / 10, virtual and physical, a Visa that the official card page says works at “over 40 million VISA merchants globally”, and a custodial in-app wallet that tops the card automatically on deposit. Its weaknesses are the mirror image of Monica’s: fees are not stated officially, being kept “described under this User Agreement and/or on the App”, and the country question is answered with silence. Its terms do bar users under economic sanctions programmes and route US and European users through affiliates, which is at least an explicit statement of how it handles geography.

Whop Cards is the one with the clearest fee language — “No extra fees”, though no amounts — and the best rewards offer, 5% cashback at select merchants, currently Uber, with more planned, though the payout currency and conditions are not stated. Its geography is the most precisely drawn of the four: consumers in 31 US states, businesses in 41, with a named unsupported list for consumers including Belarus, China (Mainland), Cuba, Hong Kong, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela and Vietnam, and unsupported corporate countries including Russia and Belarus. What basis it uses, citizenship or residence, is not stated — and that distinction matters, because sanctions screening is often applied to citizenship and country of birth as well as address.

UniFi Card is the weakest of the four at 4.7 / 10 and I would only point you at it if you are in one of its corridors. It is a prepaid debit Visa issued by Lead Bank, it supports Apple Pay — which Monica does not mention — and it takes money in through ACH, wire, SEPA and SPEI, or pays you into a USDC wallet. Its fees are an unhelpful “may apply”. Its rewards claim is “3% rewards on balances”, not on card spending.

One structural note that applies to all four. A crypto card usually rests on two licences, not one: the card is a payment service regulated separately under e-money and payments law, while the crypto side falls under MiCA. That is why an EMI can issue e-money and payment cards but cannot lend, and why providers who say they are MiCA-compliant may still be working through a partner for the card itself.

Who I Would Recommend It To

Monica Pay to a specific person, with a specific warning attached. If you are resident in Nigeria, you already hold crypto, you want to pay a foreign website or an imported subscription, and you are comfortable with a virtual-only card, a custodial arrangement, and support that is a URL rather than a phone number — this card does that job, and the 0% conversion line makes the economics better than most of what I looked at.

The score of 5.6 / 10 is not a hedge, it is arithmetic: strong on cost, reasonable on funding, and poor on reach and daily convenience.

Before you commit, I would do three things. Confirm the card-opening fee in the app, since the $1 figure is unofficial. Confirm which networks the supported tokens should be sent on, because the coins are named and the chains are not — and that is the mistake that loses money. And spend twenty minutes testing your likely merchants, because no Apple Pay, no Google Pay, no ATM and an unnamed issuer mean declines are the thing you will spend the most time on.

If any one of those three points stops you, do not push through. That is what the alternatives are for.

Frequently asked questions

What is Monica Pay card?

Monica Pay is a Nigerian crypto service whose product is a virtual dollar debit card on Visa or Mastercard. You sell crypto for naira inside its app and load the card from that naira balance, then spend it anywhere Visa or Mastercard is accepted. The card is virtual only, offers NFC tap-to-pay and QR, and is denominated in dollars. The company behind it is Monica Technologies Limited, based in Lagos.

How does the Monica Pay card work?

It works like a prepaid card rather than a bank debit card. You sell BTC, ETH, SOL, TRX, BNB, USDT or USDC for naira at the app’s live rate, Monica converts it into dollars, and the card spends that stored balance. Because it draws on a pre-loaded balance rather than a linked bank account, it cannot overdraw. Monica states “0% conversion fees” on both the sale and the card funding.

Who owns Monica Pay?

Monica Pay is operated by Monica Technologies Limited, a company based in Lagos, Nigeria. It describes itself as “SEC VASP-framework aligned” and compliant with the NDPA 2023 and NFIU, though those are the company’s own claims. Separately, the card itself is issued by an unnamed third-party card partner — Monica runs the programme rather than issuing the card.

Is Monica Pay a bank?

No, and you should not treat it as one. It is a crypto service that runs a card programme with a partner institution. Your balance is a stored prepaid balance, not a bank deposit, so deposit-guarantee schemes are not something you can assume applies. If you need a regulated bank account with deposit protection, this is not it.

Can I use the Monica Pay card in my country?

That depends on where you are, and the answer differs for signing up and spending. The service pages are Nigeria-centred — Lagos, “EN-NG”, “NGN payouts” — with no country list, so account eligibility outside Nigeria is not stated. The card itself works wherever Visa or Mastercard is accepted. The terms also bar use from any jurisdiction where crypto-asset services are unlawful.

How much does the Monica Pay card cost?

Monica states “0% conversion fees” when you sell crypto for naira and when you fund the card, with the FX spread going to the scheme operator. Card opening, monthly fees and ATM costs are not stated by Monica. Unofficial: a third-party app listing page dated 2026 mentions a one-time, non-refundable $1 fee to unlock the Virtual USD Card — worth confirming in the app before you rely on it.

How do I top up the Monica Pay card?

You sell supported crypto for naira in Monica at the live rate, then load the card from your naira balance. Alternatively you can send crypto to a Monica wallet, which converts to naira and loads the card instantly, with naira reaching your bank within 60 seconds of on-chain confirmation. Networks are not itemised on the public pages, so check which chain each token should be sent on before transferring — a wrong network can lose the funds.

Does the Monica Pay card work with Apple Pay and Google Pay?

Neither is mentioned on Monica’s public pages, so I would not assume they work. The card offers NFC tap-to-pay and QR directly, but without a tokenised mobile wallet you will be typing card details into online checkouts instead of tapping. That is a real downgrade in both convenience and security, and it is the main everyday-use limitation of the card.

Is Monica Pay safe?

There is no official incident I could find, but that is weak comfort because there are also no independent reviews of the virtual card. The custody model is not stated, the card issuer is unnamed, and Trustpilot shows 3.7 from a single five-star review dated 19 May 2026 on an unclaimed profile. Card terms do not address disputes; the general process is 30 days of negotiation, then arbitration in Lagos under Nigerian governing law.

Is the Monica Pay card free and worth it?

The conversion part is free by Monica’s own wording, and the card opening fee, if the unofficial $1 figure is right, is negligible. Whether it is worth it comes down to what you are spending: it earns its place for a Nigerian resident paying foreign subscriptions or imported services with crypto, and it falls short if you need cash from an ATM, a physical card, Apple Pay, or custody of your crypto in your own wallet.

Content created by the «cryptocardbest.com» team