A crypto-adjacent Visa with 0% FX markup, aimed squarely at African users — and light on published fees
Kredete is a USD Visa card built around a mobile account, aimed at people who have crypto or cross-border income but no easy access to an ordinary bank card. It arrives as a virtual card in seconds and a physical one by post, works in Apple Pay and Google Pay, and charges 0% FX markup in 170+ countries. Those are real strengths, and the everyday-use side of this card is genuinely good.

The catch is disclosure. Kredete’s public pages tell you almost nothing about issuance fees, monthly fees, ATM charges or limits — the numbers that decide whether a card is cheap or expensive. They also do not name the issuer, or say whether identity checks are required. If you are choosing a card to run your money through, those silences are not footnotes; they are the review.
I gave it 6.7 out of 10.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict: a strong daily card built on an unpublished price list
The card’s best feature is not crypto. It is that Kredete is a USD Visa that works in 170+ countries with 0% foreign-exchange markup, with instant virtual issuance, mobile wallets and in-app freeze. For the reader who has been declined a normal card, or who earns in dollars or naira and spends elsewhere, that solves a real problem quickly.

Where it falls short is arithmetic. You cannot tell from the public pages what the card costs to hold, what a withdrawal costs, or what your daily ceiling is. A 0% FX markup sounds wonderful until you discover the issuance fee is high — and the fee is not published. Nor is the issuer named, which matters more than it might seem: your money sits behind an institution whose name the card’s own site omits.
My score, broken down by what I could actually verify:
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 6 / 10 | App Store says “global accounts in 60+ countries”; card works in 170+ countries. Unofficial reporting points to selected African markets and planned Gulf launches. Eligibility rules themselves are not stated. |
| Cost | 7 / 10 | 0% FX markup is a genuine win, but issuance, monthly and ATM fees are not disclosed. |
| Top-up options | 5 / 10 | The card is described as spending from the Kredete account balance; the card page does not mention crypto. Unofficial sources describe USDC settlement. Top-up methods are not stated. |
| Reliability and complaints | 6 / 10 | Kredete, Inc. is the App Store seller; the issuer is not named. Unofficial sources describe a Nigerian startup founded in 2023 with a US$2.25 million seed. No complaints found, but the iOS rating is 3.97 from 98 ratings. |
| Everyday use | 10 / 10 | Virtual card in about 10 seconds, physical option, Apple Pay and Google Pay, ATM access, freeze from the app. |
Total: 6.7 / 10.
Who this suits: users in Africa who want a USD Visa with cashback, and anyone whose bank has declined them or whose income arrives in a currency their home card cannot hold. The everyday mechanics are excellent and the FX promise is the best in its class.
Who it does not suit: anyone who needs to know the total cost of a card before signing up, anyone in a hurry to send large sums, and anyone for whom an unnamed issuer is a dealbreaker. If your decision hinges on “what does this cost per month?”, you cannot answer that question from what Kredete publishes — and I would not guess on your behalf.
Who will they give you the card?
Short answer: the card’s own page does not say. Eligibility is not stated on the official card page, and neither is the KYC level or what documents are required.
What is stated: the App Store listing for the iOS app says it offers “global accounts in 60+ countries”. The card itself works in 170+ countries. Those two numbers describe reach, not eligibility — an app being available in 60+ countries is not the same as a card being issued to residents of 60+ countries.
Unofficial reporting gives a sharper picture, but you should treat it as unofficial and not confirmed by the card. AppsAfrica (April 2026) reports that users in 50 African countries can spend USD-backed stablecoins, that it launched “in selected African markets”, and that it plans to go live in the UAE, Saudi Arabia and Oman. An earlier report from Disrupt Africa (4 June 2025) puts the figure at “more than 40 African countries”. Neither is the card speaking.
So who actually gets one? On the evidence: people in the African markets where it has launched, and people whose identity the app accepts. The KYC requirements themselves are not stated — not the documents, not the tier, not whether a selfie and a passport are enough. For a regulated financial product that is an unusually large hole, and one you should press on before you commit money.
My practical advice: expect to prove who you are, expect the process to resemble any other financial app onboarding, and do not assume your nationality is a non-issue. Nationality is recorded and screened separately from residence in this industry, because sanctions and issuer risk policy often apply to citizenship and country of birth, not just your address. If your citizenship is sensitive, establish that point with support before you upload documents — the app’s own listing does not address it.
How to get it
The mechanics are simple and, in one respect, astonishingly fast.
Kredete issues a USD Visa in two forms. A virtual card is issued in about 10 seconds inside the app, and a physical card is also available. The physical card is delivered to 70+ countries; the card page does state a delivery time or cost — that is, it does not say. (Delivery time and cost are not stated.)
To get set up you need the iOS app — it is called “Kredete Send Spend Save Credit” and is free, version 4.4.0 (7 October 2026), requiring iOS 16.2 or later. The Google Play listing I did not read, so I cannot tell you what the Android experience looks like.
How to apply: download the app, create an account, complete whatever identity verification the app asks for, and your virtual card appears in about 10 seconds. Activate it by adding it to Apple Pay or Google Pay, or by using the card details in-app. The physical card, if you want one, is a separate request.
A note on the ten seconds. That is not a loophole or a shortcut around identity checks — it is simply how quickly the card number is generated once the account is open. Any checks that apply still apply. The card arriving quickly says nothing about whether you were verified, and nothing about how long a large transaction might later take.
Also worth knowing: activation is not described in detail on the public pages, so treat “download, verify, add to wallet” as the expected shape rather than a documented procedure.
Fees: what it really costs
Here is the honest core of this review. Kredete states one fee clearly and leaves the rest to you to guess.

What is stated: 0% FX markup. That is a real, valuable promise — you are not paying a spread on currency conversion, which most cards do. The App Store release notes (v4.4.0, 7 October 2026) also say that rates and fees are grouped by currency — USD, EUR, GBP, NGN — and that each transfer method shows its fee inside the app. So the fee information exists; it just lives in the app rather than on the page.
What is not stated on the public pages:
| Fee or limit | What Kredete publishes |
|---|---|
| Issuance fee | not stated |
| Monthly fee | not stated |
| FX markup | 0% |
| ATM fee | not stated |
| ATM allowance | not stated |
| Crypto conversion fee | not stated |
| Daily limit | not stated |
| Monthly limit | not stated |
Read that table again. The one number on it that is filled in is the 0% FX markup. Everything you would use to work out “what will this cost me to keep and use?” is a blank.
There are also plans named Basic, Flex and Premium — the release notes tell you to “Compare Basic, Flex, and Premium side by side” — but what each plan gives and what each costs is not stated. So the tier structure exists and its pricing does not.
I want to be careful not to do your arithmetic for you, because I cannot. But I can say clearly what the blanks will bite. If you are deciding whether this card replaces your current one, the deciding number is usually the monthly or issuance fee, and that number is not published. If you plan to use ATMs, the ATM fee and allowance are both blank — and in some markets that is the fee that matters most. If you plan to hold and convert crypto, the conversion fee is blank.
Three everyday payments, and what applies to each:
- Buying something in a shop in a country that is not your own. The 0% FX markup applies. That is the card at its best: you pay the local price with no conversion spread added. This is the scenario Kredete is built for and the one it serves best.
- Paying online in a foreign currency. Same 0% FX markup. But be aware that some merchants apply extra scrutiny to foreign-issued cards, and prepaid cards can be declined where a merchant’s systems do not recognise the issuer — the fee you avoid can come back as a failed payment.
- Withdrawing cash from an ATM. The physical card works at ATMs, but the ATM fee and any monthly allowance are not stated. You also face the ordinary limits and holds any card carries: a declined authorisation can leave a hold on your funds for several days, sometimes up to seven.
The one place I can point you to a figure: network fees. When you send crypto to fund the account, the on-chain network fee (gas or bandwidth) is charged by the blockchain, not by Kredete. That cost exists whatever the card charges you.
My verdict on cost: 7 out of 10. The FX promise is genuinely competitive. The disclosure is not, and I have marked it down for that rather than assumed the best case.
How to top it up
The card spends from your Kredete account balance. That is the core mechanic, and it is the one thing the card page is clear about.
What is not clear: the card page does not mention crypto. So if you came to Kredete specifically to spend crypto directly, that is not what the official page describes. The card draws on a balance, and how you get value into that balance is not stated on the public pages — not the transfer methods, not the minimums, not whether bank transfer, card or something else.
Unofficial sources fill in part of this picture, but again, unofficial and not confirmed by the card. Launch Africa (July 2025) describes a card that “links to a user’s digital wallet”, settles near-instantly in USDC, and converts at real-time FX rates at the point of purchase. Press reporting also refers to settlement in USDC. If that is right, crypto is a funding and settlement rail behind the balance rather than the thing the card spends directly.
So how do you top it up? Honestly, the documented answer is thin. In practice the flow is: fund your Kredete balance by whatever method the app supports, and the card then spends that balance. The app is the authority on which methods exist and what each costs — the release notes confirm that each transfer method shows its own fee. Do not treat my description, or any third party’s, as the specification.
Withdrawals are not stated either. If you want to move money back out of the balance to a bank account or wallet, that process, its timing and its fees are undocumented on the public pages. Check it in the app before you rely on it.
Two warnings specific to funding a crypto-linked balance:
- Networks matter, and mistakes are expensive. A transfer sent on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost or need manual support recovery with no guarantee. Blockchain transfers are irreversible by nature; there is no chargeback button for a wrong-chain deposit.
- If you send USDC, check the network. USDC is natively supported on many networks — Circle lists 38 as of 16 September 2026, including Ethereum, Solana, Base, Polygon PoS, Avalanche, Arbitrum and Stellar — and is not natively supported on all of them. Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024. Getting this wrong is the single most common way people lose money funding a card.
Paying with it every day
This is where the card earns its 10 out of 10, and it is worth saying plainly: on the mechanics of daily use, Kredete is excellent.
What you get: a virtual card in about 10 seconds and a physical card, both USD Visa. Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported. The physical card works at ATMs. You can freeze both the virtual and physical cards from the app’s top bar — a genuinely useful control that most people in this category have to go hunting for. Crypto sends and swaps confirm with Face ID or passcode, and the app lists privacy tools. On the security checklist, this is above average.
Add cashback: the card offers cashback up to 6%, and the card page also lists up to 5% APY on balance. The payout currency and conditions for the cashback are not stated, so treat the 6% as a headline rather than a promise — you would want to know what you have to spend, in which merchants, to earn it, and what currency you receive.
Where daily use gets its friction, and none of it is Kredete’s fault:
- Blocked categories are not stated. Some issuers block particular merchant category codes — gambling (MCC 7995) is the one most often blocked — and the list varies by issuer. You cannot tell from the public pages whether Kredete blocks anything.
- Foreign-issued cards get looked at twice. Merchants can see the issuer’s country from the card’s identification number, and some apply extra scrutiny or decline prepaid and foreign cards outright.
- Online payments may need 3-D Secure. If a payment is challenged, you will be asked for a one-time code or a biometric check; the issuer decides frictionlessly or not.
- Declines can leave holds. An authorisation that fails can still hold your funds for several days, up to about seven. Budget for that if you keep a thin balance.
If your day-to-day is: phone top-ups, groceries, a café, a ride, subscriptions, and the occasional cash withdrawal — this card handles all of it well, and the wallet support means you rarely touch the physical card at all.
What can go wrong
I looked for trouble and found relatively little of it, which is itself worth reporting carefully. I found no official incidents, and no independent user reviews or complaints in my searches on 21 and 22 October 2026. There is no Trustpilot page or reviews for Kredete. That silence cuts both ways: no known disaster, but also a young product with a thin public track record.
The rating is the one soft signal: the iOS app scores 3.97 out of 5 from 98 ratings. That is below what a well-settled product usually carries, though 98 ratings is a small sample.
The risks that concern me most are structural, not reputational:
- Unnamed issuer. Kredete, Inc. is the App Store seller name. The issuer is not named on the official page. In this category the issuer is the institution that actually holds your balance and carries the regulatory licence; the app brand is often just the front-end. Not knowing which institution that is means you cannot check its licence, its safeguarding policy, or its complaint route. Unofficial reporting (Launch Africa, July 2025) describes Kredete as a Nigerian fintech founded in 2023 by Adeola Adedewe, built with Visa, Stellar and Rain, with a US$2.25 million seed in September 2024 — and even that source does not name an issuer.
- Custody and safeguarding are not stated. If your balance is custodial, the provider holds the credentials and you must trust it completely. If you are ever told a seed phrase, anyone who obtains those 12–24 words can restore the wallet and spend the funds, and there is no built-in recovery because transfers are irreversible. Kredete’s public pages do not tell you which model you are in.
- Card programme closures are normal in this category. They typically give notice, stop spending and loading, then ask you to withdraw what remains. This is not a prediction about Kredete — it is the industry pattern. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down; WaveCrest, which supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all its Visa programmes. A provider’s licence, or its network’s patience, is not permanent.
- Stablecoins are not risk-free assets. They aim to hold a stable value, but as the BIS put it in July 2025, “despite the name, stablecoins are not necessarily stable”. USDC lost its peg briefly in March 2023; TerraUSD collapsed in 2022. About 90% of stablecoin market capitalisation sits in USDT and USDC.
- Support is not stated. No support channels, hours or response times are published. For a card aimed at people who may have limited banking alternatives, that is a real gap.
- Disputes are not stated. How you challenge a charge, and what protection a prepaid card carries, is undocumented. Do not assume credit-card-style reversal rights apply.
None of this means the card is unsafe today. It means the questions that would let you judge it are the ones the card has not answered — and a young provider in a young category deserves a margin of caution.
What to take instead
If Kredete’s gaps — unpublished fees, unnamed issuer — are dealbreakers for you, these are the alternatives I looked at, with the same scepticism.
| Card | Score | Who it’s for | What I could and couldn’t verify |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kredete | 6.7 / 10 | African users wanting a USD Visa with cashback | 0% FX; fees and issuer not disclosed |
| Stella | 6.5 / 10 | Users outside the US/EU barred by sanctions routing | Virtual and physical Visa (“40 million+ merchants”); deposits crypto into an auto-tops-up custodial wallet; no cashback stated |
| Whop Cards | 5.2 / 10 | US consumers in 31 states, businesses in 41 | Visa; “no extra fees” claimed but none itemised; 5% cashback at select merchants; consumer use unsupported in Belarus, China (Mainland), Cuba, Hong Kong, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela, Vietnam |
| UniFi Card | 4.7 / 10 | People moving money between Latin America, the Philippines, Mexico, the eurozone and UK | Prepaid Debit Visa issued by Lead Bank; USDC payout; “3% rewards on balances” claimed, card cashback not stated; “fees may apply”, none listed |
A few things worth pulling out of that comparison:
- Stella is the closest genuine alternative, and its structure is more transparent in one respect: it tells you the card tops up automatically when you deposit crypto into an in-app custodial wallet. But its terms bar users under economic sanctions programmes and route US and European users through affiliates, and it offers no cashback.
- Whop Cards has the most explicit country list of the four — and the most explicit exclusions. If you are outside the US, this one is very likely closed to you. Its basis for eligibility (citizenship versus residence) is not stated, which is exactly the ambiguity that trips people up.
- UniFi Card is the least like a crypto card here: a prepaid Visa funded by ACH, wire, SEPA or SPEI, with USDC payout. If your money arrives by bank transfer rather than by chain, that may be the more honest fit. Its fees are also undisclosed.
My honest read: if the deciding factor for you is cost, none of these four will hand you a full price list without an app download and a conversation with support. Stella edges Kredete on structural clarity; Kredete edges Stella on everyday features and cashback. If you are outside the US and want crypto funding specifically, your shortlist is really just Kredete and Stella.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend the Kredete card to you if all three of these are true of your situation: you are in a market where it has actually launched, your money genuinely arrives in dollars or in a currency your home card handles badly, and you mainly need a card that works in shops, wallets and online without a painful conversion spread. If that is you — particularly if you have been declined a conventional bank card — this is a good tool, and the 10 out of 10 on everyday use is not flattery.
I would point you elsewhere if any of these apply: you need a card priced in advance and will not open an app to find the fees; you intend to move large sums often; you plan to live on ATM withdrawals; or you cannot accept an unnamed issuer holding your balance. In those cases, an ordinary bank card with published fees, even a basic one, is the safer choice than an attractive card with a blank price list.
My one concrete instruction, if you do go ahead: before you deposit anything, open the app and find three numbers — the monthly or plan fee, the ATM fee and allowance, and the daily limit — and confirm who the issuer is and what support looks like. Those are the five facts that decide whether this card is right for you, and they are the five the public pages leave out. Take five minutes in the app; it is the difference between a card you have evaluated and a card you have merely seen advertised.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Kredete card?
Kredete is a USD Visa card, available as a virtual card issued in about 10 seconds in its app and as a physical card delivered to 70+ countries. It spends from your Kredete account balance and supports Apple Pay and Google Pay. It is aimed at users in Africa and other markets who want a dollar-denominated Visa with cashback, and it advertises 0% foreign-exchange markup in 170+ countries. It is not a bank.
How does the Kredete card work?
The card is a payment instrument, not a wallet you spend from directly. You keep a balance in the Kredete account, and the Visa draws on that balance each time you pay. The card page does not mention crypto; unofficial reporting describes USDC settlement and a link to a digital wallet behind the balance. So the flow is: fund the balance, spend from it.
Is Kredete a bank?
No — not on the evidence. Kredete, Inc. is the App Store seller name, and the card’s own page does not name a bank or e-money institution as the issuer. That distinction matters: whoever issues the card is the institution that holds your balance and carries the regulatory licence, and Kredete does not publish that name on its official card page.
Who owns Kredete?
The registered seller is Kredete, Inc. Unofficial reporting (Launch Africa, July 2025, not confirmed by the card) describes it as a Nigerian fintech startup founded in 2023 by Adeola Adedewe, built with Visa, Stellar and Rain, raising a US$2.25 million seed in September 2024. News also records a stablecoin-backed credit card launch on 4 June 2025 and a Visa Africa Fintech Accelerator demo-day partnership on 20 April 2026.
Does Kredete require KYC?
The card’s public pages do not say. Identity verification requirements and KYC tier are not stated on the official card page. As with any regulated financial product, expect to verify your identity in the app before the account works fully, but treat the specific documents as something to discover in the app rather than something Kredete has published.
Is the Kredete card free?
Not stated — and this is the single most important gap in the review. Kredete publishes 0% FX markup but does not publish an issuance fee, a monthly fee, an ATM fee, or a crypto conversion fee on its card page. The app groups rates and fees by currency (USD, EUR, GBP, NGN) and shows a fee per transfer method, and there are Basic, Flex and Premium plans whose pricing is also not stated. Do not assume it is free.
Which countries can use the Kredete card?
The card works in 170+ countries, and the app store listing advertises “global accounts in 60+ countries”. Which countries can actually be issued a card is not stated on the official page. Unofficial reporting (AppsAfrica, April 2026) says users in 50 African countries can spend USD-backed stablecoins, with Gulf launches planned; an earlier report said more than 40 African countries. Check your own country in the app.
Is Kredete safe to use?
There is no evidence of trouble: I found no official incidents and no independent complaints in searches on 21 and 22 October 2026, and no Trustpilot page. But the issuer is not named, and custody and safeguarding are not stated, so I cannot tell you who holds your balance or how it is protected. Weigh the good everyday controls — instant card freeze, Face ID on sends — against that unnamed issuer.
Does Kredete have cashback?
Yes — the card advertises cashback up to 6%, and the card page also lists up to 5% APY on balance. However, the payout currency and the conditions are not stated, so the headline figure is not a guaranteed return. Treat it as a nice feature, not a reason to choose the card on its own.
How do I top up the Kredete card?
You top up the Kredete account balance, and the card spends that balance. The card page does not describe the funding methods, and the amount you can add is not stated. The app shows a fee for each transfer method. If you fund with USDC, check you use a supported network — Circle lists 38 as of 16 September 2026, and stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024 — because wrong-network transfers are irreversible.
Highest-scored app and neobank cards – cryptocardbest.com
Content created by the «cryptocardbest.com» team
