A cheap-looking Mastercard with $10 a month attached
The GFPAY card comes with a number you can use in shops and online, both as a piece of plastic and as a virtual card in your phone’s wallet — but the price of getting in is high, the running cost is a flat ten dollars a month, and the public pages leave several important things unsaid. I have read the card’s own overview, its FAQ, its terms and the company information behind it, and this is what I found.

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict: 5.0 out of 10
GFPAY scores 5.0 / 10 overall. That is a middling card with one genuinely attractive feature — both virtual and plastic options on a Mastercard — wrapped in a cost structure that makes it hard to recommend as a primary everyday card, and in a set of published terms that leave too much unsaid to be comfortable.

Who it suits: someone who needs a Mastercard they can load with crypto, who wants a virtual card in seconds and a physical card shortly after, and who is comfortable paying $50 for the card plus $10 every month. If your spending is mostly online and you want a virtual number in a mobile wallet, the fit is better.
Who it does not suit: anyone keeping a meaningful balance on this card for long. At $10 a month, the running cost alone eats the interest on a $1,000 balance several times over, and there is no tier system, no rewards programme and no stated reason to hold funds here rather than in your own wallet.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 7 / 10 | Almost worldwide, with a list of 27 prohibited countries, but no stated basis of eligibility (citizenship or residence) |
| Cost | 1 / 10 | $50 issuance, $10 a month, 5% to top up, 2.0% currency conversion, $0.30 a purchase, $4.00 + 1% at an ATM |
| Top-up options | 6 / 10 | Described as stablecoin-focused and multichain, but no coins or networks are actually listed, and money cannot be converted back to crypto |
| Reliability and complaints | 5 / 10 | A Dubai company whose issuer and licences are unnamed, with a support domain that did not resolve, and terms allowing account closure without notice |
| Everyday use | 7 / 10 | Virtual and physical Mastercard, plus ATMs — but the plastic card cannot go into Apple Pay or Google Pay |
The cost score is the one that decides this for me. One point out of ten is not a rounding error. Every month you keep this card open costs $10 whether you use it or not, and the card’s own terms say it is cancelled if the balance is insufficient. You are not being asked to pay for a service you use; you are being asked to keep a balance alive.
Will they give you the card?
Yes, in a very large part of the world — and the list of exceptions is longer and more specific than the marketing line suggests.
GFPAY says it serves everyone except a defined set of prohibited countries: Afghanistan, Albania, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Cuba, DRC, Ethiopia, Iran, Iraq, Lebanon, Libya, Mali, Montenegro, Myanmar, North Korea, Palestine, Russia, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Syria, Ukraine, Venezuela, Yemen, Zimbabwe and the Central African Republic. That is 27 names, including Russia, Belarus and Ukraine.
What the card does not say is the basis on which it decides eligibility. Whether it looks at your citizenship, your country of residence, or the address on your documents is not stated in the public pages, and that matters more than the headline does. If you hold the passport of one country and live in another, you cannot tell from what is published which of the two it will look at. Nor is there a published list of the countries where delivery is possible: shipping is described only as going to an “approved countries” list that is not published.
A useful thing to know about the wider category here: nationality is recorded and screened separately from residence almost everywhere, because sanctions screening and issuer risk policy are usually applied to a citizen’s country of birth as well as to the address. A card that opens broadly on address may still ask harder questions about a passport from a screened jurisdiction.
How to get it
The application is a KYC flow, and the documents it wants are ordinary ones.
You need proof of identity valid for at least six months from the date you apply, and proof of address that is no older than 75 days according to the overview — or no older than 90 days according to the physical-card FAQ. The two figures do not agree, so allow for the stricter one if you can. Accepted documents include a passport, an ID card, a driving licence, a residence permit and bank or card statements. On age, the terms say minors need a guardian’s permission, which in practice means the general 18-plus threshold for prepaid and debit cards.
What arrives depends on what you choose. It is a Mastercard prepaid card, offered physically and virtually, denominated in USD or EUR, with 3D Secure enabled. Tokenisation for the physical card is described as “coming soon”. You may hold up to 3 cards per user according to the overview, or 4 physical cards according to the FAQ — another small inconsistency between the two pages.
On delivery: the physical card ships the next business day after payment, or within 3 days after the invoice is paid. The delivery cost is invoiced separately and the amount is not stated. On a lost or stolen card, the card is deactivated and a replacement is issued with the remaining balance preserved; the fee for that replacement is not stated either.
Two things the public pages never mention: how many KYC levels there are, and how long processing takes. If getting money onto the card quickly is part of your plan, that silence is worth raising before you rely on the timing.
Fees: what it really costs
This is the section that decides the verdict, so I will put the numbers up front and then show what they do to an ordinary purchase.

| Fee or limit | What the card states |
|---|---|
| Card acquisition | $50 |
| Activation | Free (overview) or $10 (physical-card FAQ) |
| Monthly maintenance | $10 — the card is cancelled if the balance is insufficient |
| Reload / top-up | 5% |
| POS or online purchase | $0.30 per transaction |
| Currency conversion | 2.0% on foreign-currency transactions |
| Crypto conversion rate | Not stated |
| ATM withdrawal | $4.00 + 1% |
| ATM balance inquiry | $1.00 |
| ATM limits | $1,000 per transaction and per day, 25 per day (overview); 25 per day, $2,000 per day, $20,000 per month, 60% of balance (physical FAQ) — sources differ |
| Minimum load | $15 |
| Maximum load | $100,000 |
| POS / online transaction limit | $100,000, $100,000 per day, 25 per day (overview) |
| Maximum balance | $150,000 (physical FAQ) |
| Monthly spend | $175,000 (physical FAQ) |
There is no tier system — it is a single programme, and the only choice is virtual or physical.
Three ordinary payments, and what they actually cost
A $30 supermarket shop. The card states $0.30 per POS transaction, so the total you pay is $30.30. This is the least painful category, and it is the one that makes the card look reasonable at first glance.
A $12 monthly streaming subscription, paid in EUR from a USD balance. Here the 2.0% currency conversion fee lands on top of whatever the card’s own conversion rate is — and the crypto conversion rate is not stated. On a $12 charge, $0.24 is the fee you can see. The part you cannot see is the rate itself. If the balance was funded from crypto, the rate you received when you loaded is the rate that decides whether the subscription costs $12 or noticeably more, and the card does not publish it.
$80 taken out of an ATM. $4.00 plus 1% is $4.80, so the withdrawal costs $84.80. That is a steep percentage on a cash amount, and the ATM section also lists a $1.00 balance inquiry — so checking your balance at the machine costs a dollar. The limits here also disagree with each other: the overview says $1,000 per transaction and per day, while the physical-card FAQ says $2,000 per day, $20,000 per month and 60% of the balance.
Two of those numbers deserve a second look. The $100 initial deposit described in the physical-card FAQ covers acquisition and activation together, “net $40” — which is the clearest indication of how the $50 and $10 figures reconcile, and it means the effective entry cost is higher than the headline $50 once you count the activation the other page charges. And the $10 monthly fee is not a tier you can escape by spending more; it is simply the price of keeping the card open.
How to top it up
Here the card is vaguer than any part of its pricing, and that is a problem for anyone who actually intends to use it.
The overview does not list a single coin or network. An earlier check described the card as stablecoin-focused and multichain, and that is as far as the public information goes. The gift-card FAQ mentions $10 creation, the 5% load fee and Bitcoin — one asset named in a side article about gift cards, which is not a reliable guide to what the main product accepts. Who pays the network fee on a deposit is not stated either.
The mechanics that are stated: the top-up fee is 5%, the minimum load is $15, and the initial deposit for an online purchase is $100.
The direction of travel matters more than the details. The card-product FAQ states plainly that funds cannot be converted back into crypto, and cannot be moved between cards. What happens to a remaining balance if the account is closed is not stated. Combined with the terms’ allowance for GFPay to terminate accounts without notice, that is the single most important thing to understand about topping up this card: money goes in, and there is no stated way to take it back out.
One more cost that does not come from the card: if you send a deposit on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, the transfer is irreversible and the funds can be lost or need manual support recovery with no guarantee. Getting the network right matters even more here than usual, precisely because there is no published list to check against.
Paying with it every day
The card works the way most crypto cards work, and it fails in some of the same ways.
You can add the virtual card to mobile wallets. The physical card is not tokenised and is not compatible with Apple Pay or Google Pay, so the plastic card in your pocket is a card you tap or insert — not one you wave. On Apple Pay, a tokenised number normally replaces the card number with a device-specific number in the Secure Element; here, for the physical card, that step is described as “coming soon”.
Some purchase categories are declined. The card blocks or may decline “quasi cash” purchases — crypto itself, travellers’ cheques and gift cards. So this is not a card you can use to buy more crypto, which is worth knowing before you assume it is a bridge.
Other day-to-day facts: there is no mobile app, only a web dashboard at dashboard.gfpay.net. There is no rewards programme, no cashback and no stated tier. Chargebacks are not mentioned. For disputes generally, the terms give you 30 days of negotiation and then binding ICAC arbitration seated in Dubai, and they state there are no refunds on prepaid gift cards.
Some of the ways a card gets declined have nothing to do with crypto. A merchant can look up the issuer identification number at the front of your card number and see which institution and country issued it, and may apply extra scrutiny when that country differs from the billing address on the payment — which is why a card issued in one country can look foreign in another. Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign-issued cards for exactly that reason. Address verification, which compares the numeric parts of the billing address the buyer typed against issuer records, is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards. And a declined authorisation can leave a hold on your funds that stays for several days, typically up to 7.
What can go wrong
I want to be plain about the two risks that worry me most, and then about the ones I checked and did not find.
The company behind it. GFPAY SOLUTIONS – FZCO, Aspin Commercial Tower, Sheikh Zayed Road, Dubai, UAE. The issuer is not named and no licences are named. The terms are governed by UAE law with arbitration in Dubai through ICAC. That is a legal framework, but it is not the same as a named, licensed issuing institution you can point to. For context on why that matters: Visa and Mastercard do not issue crypto cards themselves — they license issuers, and they can suspend a programme. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022, and WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied several crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued programmes. Programme closures typically follow a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then users are asked to withdraw remaining balances. None of that says GFPAY is in trouble; it says the failure mode of a card programme is real and has a name.
The support channel. Support is via gfpay.biz/support, and that domain did not resolve when I checked. If you cannot reach support, your only other route is a Telegram channel whose hours and languages are not stated. There is no app. So the practical test is simple: before you load anything, open the support page and see whether it loads for you. If it does not, that is a fact you should weigh before you transfer $100.
On complaints: I found no official incidents, and I found no reviews of GFPay on Trustpilot or Reddit. Some readers will hear that as reassuring. I would rather you hear it for what it is — an absence of public history, which cuts both ways. A card with a track record would have one.
On security: 3D Secure is enabled, which for Mastercard means Identity Check, adding a risk assessment and either a frictionless approval or a challenge such as a one-time code. Whether the custody model is custodial or self-custody is not stated, so I cannot tell you who holds the keys. Given that funds cannot be converted back to crypto, the money appears to be held as fiat balance rather than as crypto — but that is inference, not a published fact.
On the documents themselves: the overview carries a 2025 copyright line and the terms say last updated October 05, 2023. A 2023 terms document attached to a live 2025-2026 product is a fair thing to ask about. Whether there are more recent news items about the company is not stated.
What to take instead
None of these is a glowing endorsement. All three sit in the same 5.5–6.0 band, and each has the same structural issue as GFPAY: you load, you spend, and there is no stated route back to crypto.
Cardex — 5.6 / 10. “One crypto card, 200+ countries”, with no country list and no exclusions published; its App Store listing is Naira-focused. It runs on VERVE, VISA, Mastercard and UnionPay, with virtual and physical cards. Cost is not stated. Fees are structured unusually: real-time conversion at the moment of payment, and the site says an “AI-Powered Conversion Rate” scans global exchange rates and picks the best one when you spend — though no fee percentage is published. Funding is from USDT, USDC and BTC wallets; networks not stated. Unofficial detail worth flagging: the conversion-rate claim comes from the site’s own text and is not a figure anyone has audited.
TakeCard — 5.5 / 10. The physical card is “available only to Bolivian users for now”, which is the single hardest limitation of the three. Countries are not listed in the help articles, and starting data suggesting virtual cards for Argentina, Bolivia, Peru, Chile, Paraguay, Colombia, Ecuador, US, Spain and Italy is not something I could confirm on a page I could read — treat it as unofficial. It is a virtual-then-physical Visa prepaid card issued in the United States, card currency USD, payments in USD 1:1. Cost is where it beats GFPAY by a distance: virtual card USD 5, physical (Bolivia) USD 20 issuance plus USD 20 shipping — though another article in the same help centre says USD 10 for physical in Bolivia, which is a conflict. No monthly fee is stated. Commission is 1% per purchase. Funding is from the Takenos balance; USDC/USDT via Polygon, BNB Chain, Tron or Ethereum into the Takenos account appears in starting data but is unverified by me.
OkiCard — 6.0 / 10, the highest of the four. “150+ countries” on some pages and “200+” on others, “no geo-blocking based on your passport”, with users confirming they are not in a sanctioned jurisdiction. Virtual card, with a physical card mentioned but not detailed, on a network given only as “Visa/Mastercard”. Pricing is the interesting part: the pricing page shows issuance $0 and monthly $0, with a starting price of $15 for the virtual card, while the FAQ mentions a one-time issuance fee — the pages disagree. Initial deposit 100 USDT. Fees: 3% to load, 0% transaction fee on USD, and “no hidden exchange spreads” — which is a claim about a rate rather than a number. Funding is the clearest of the three: USDT on BSC (BEP-20), Ethereum (ERC-20), Tron (TRC-20) and Solana (SPL), with USDC “soon” and BTC and altcoins “coming soon”. Deposits go to a generated address and are converted to fiat at the moment of spending. No cashback is mentioned.
| GFPAY | Cardex | TakeCard | OkiCard | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Score | 5.0 / 10 | 5.6 / 10 | 5.5 / 10 | 6.0 / 10 |
| Card | Mastercard prepaid, virtual and physical | VERVE, VISA, Mastercard, UnionPay | Visa prepaid, virtual; physical Bolivia only | Virtual card; physical mentioned |
| Where | Global except 27 prohibited countries | “200+ countries”, no list published | Not listed; physical Bolivia only | “150+ countries” (or “200+”) |
| Entry cost | $50, activation free or $10 | Not stated | USD 5 virtual; USD 20 physical plus shipping | Issuance $0 and monthly $0 on the pricing page; $15 starting price |
| Running cost | $10 per month | Not stated | No monthly fee stated | $0 per month on the pricing page |
| Spending fee | $0.30 per purchase | Not stated | 1% per purchase | 0% on USD |
| Load fee | 5% | Not stated | Not stated | 3% |
| Assets named | None in the overview | USDT, USDC, BTC | Takenos balance; USDC/USDT unverified | USDT on BSC, Ethereum, Tron, Solana |
If your priority is a low running cost, the two with $0 monthly figures — OkiCard on its pricing page, and TakeCard where no monthly fee is stated — are worth a look before GFPAY, whose $10 a month is the single largest line in its cost sheet. If your priority is having both a virtual card and a real piece of plastic, GFPAY and Cardex both offer them and TakeCard, for now, does not outside Bolivia.
Who I would recommend it to
If you need a Mastercard, you want the choice of a virtual card now and a physical card shortly after, you will spend in USD or EUR, and you are treating this as one card among several rather than the one your salary lands in — that is a reasonable fit, and the $0.30 purchase fee is not bad.
I would not recommend it as a card to hold a balance on. $10 a month is a standing charge on money that, as far as the published pages go, cannot be converted back to crypto, cannot be moved between cards, and has no stated outcome if the account is closed. There are no tiers, no rewards, no app and no published support page that resolved when I checked.
Before you put money in, I would do three things. Open the support page and see if it loads. Find out whether eligibility runs on your citizenship or your address, because that decides whether you are in scope at all. And decide what your exit is, given that the card does not describe one. If the answer to the last question is “there isn’t one”, then the 5% load fee is the smallest of your problems, and the $10 a month is the real price.
Frequently asked questions
What is the GFPAY card?
It is a prepaid Mastercard, offered both as a physical card and as a virtual card, denominated in USD or EUR, with 3D Secure enabled. You load a balance and spend it, rather than drawing on a linked bank account at the time of purchase. The card’s own pages describe it as stablecoin-focused and multichain, although no coins or networks are listed in the overview.
Is GFPAY a bank?
No, and this is the point to be clear about. The company behind it is GFPAY SOLUTIONS – FZCO, of Aspin Commercial Tower, Sheikh Zayed Road, Dubai, UAE. The issuer is not named and no licences are named in the public pages. Mastercard licenses issuers rather than issuing crypto cards itself, so the bank-like name on your card belongs to an entity the card does not identify.
Who owns GFPAY?
The published information names GFPAY SOLUTIONS – FZCO as the company, registered in Dubai, UAE. Beyond that, ownership is not stated: the terms are governed by UAE law with binding ICAC arbitration seated in Dubai. Anyone telling you they know who ultimately owns or funds it is going beyond what the card publishes.
Can I get a GFPAY card in my country?
Probably, unless you are in one of 27 prohibited countries — which include Russia, Belarus, Ukraine, Iran, Syria, Croatia and Albania. The card’s pages do not state whether eligibility runs on citizenship or residence, and no approved delivery list is published, so shipping to your address is not guaranteed even where the country is not excluded.
Does the GFPAY card require KYC?
Yes. You need proof of identity valid for at least six months from the application, plus proof of address no older than 75 days per the overview or 90 days per the physical-card FAQ. A passport, ID card, driving licence, residence permit or bank and card statements are accepted. The number of KYC levels and the processing time are not stated.
How much does a GFPAY card cost?
$50 to acquire, and activation is described as free on the overview page but $10 in the physical-card FAQ, where a $100 initial deposit covers acquisition and activation with $40 net. Then $10 every month, whether you use the card or not, and the card is cancelled if the balance is insufficient. Spending costs $0.30 per transaction, currency conversion costs 2.0%, and ATM withdrawals cost $4.00 plus 1%.
How do I top up the GFPAY card?
You transfer in, and the card takes 5% for the load with a $15 minimum and a $100,000 maximum. What the public pages do not say is which coins and networks are accepted — no list appears in the overview — or who pays the network fee. Getting the network wrong is unrecoverable, since blockchain transfers are irreversible, so check before you send.
Can I convert my balance back to crypto or move it between cards?
No, on both counts. The card-product FAQ states that funds cannot be converted back into crypto and cannot be moved between cards. It also does not say what happens to a leftover balance if the account is closed, and the terms allow GFPay to terminate accounts without notice. Treat any money on this card as money you intend to spend, not money you intend to store.
Can I add the GFPAY card to Apple Pay or Google Wallet?
The virtual card can be added to mobile wallets. The physical card cannot: it is not tokenised and is not compatible with Apple Pay or Google Pay, and tokenisation for it is described as “coming soon”. If contactless mobile payment from the plastic card is important to you, this rules the card out.
Is the GFPAY card safe to use?
Partly answered, partly not. On the plus side, 3D Secure is enabled and no public complaints, Trustpilot reviews or Reddit threads were found. On the minus side, no issuer or licences are named, the custody model is not stated, there is no app, and the support domain did not resolve when I checked. Those are reasons to keep a balance you can afford to lose, not a reassurance.
Highest-scored virtual cards – cryptocardbest.com
Content created by the «cryptocardbest.com» team
