A crypto card you actually control, with strings attached you should read first
XHYPE is a prepaid card built on top of a self-custody wallet. You keep the keys, the card is funded from a balance you load with stablecoins, and the rest of the experience is the same as any Visa or Mastercard you would put in Apple Pay or Google Pay. The interesting part is what’s not in the marketing: who issues the card, how much FX really costs, and how reliable the support is when something goes wrong. This review walks through the score, the eligibility rules, the signup steps, the fees on everyday purchases, the top-up routes, and the alternatives worth considering if XHYPE doesn’t fit.

Conditions on this page are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict: 7.0 out of 10
XHYPE earns 7.0 out of 10 in my scoring. That’s a respectable number, not a strong one, and the reasons line up with what you actually feel as a cardholder.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 9 / 10 | Available from 203 countries and territories; eligibility depends on residence and nationality at the moment of applying |
| Cost | 5 / 10 | Annual fee starts at $10 for Essential and rises sharply for Premium and Whale; top-up fee 1.2–2.1%; FX fee not published |
| Top-up options | 9 / 10 | USDT, USDC and the native coin on BNB Smart Chain, Ethereum, Base, Polygon and Arbitrum, deposited to the XHYPE Superwallet |
| Reliability and complaints | 4 / 10 | Card issuer is unnamed in the terms; user reports point to AML-related freezes, delayed refunds and a summer 2025 recharge disruption |
| Everyday use | 9 / 10 | Virtual card on every plan, physical card on Premium and Whale, Apple Pay and Google Pay everywhere, ATM up to $1,500 per day |
The card suits people who already hold crypto in their own wallet and want a payment rail that doesn’t hand custody to a third party. If you keep USDT or USDC in MetaMask or Trust Wallet, you can connect the same key to XHYPE’s Superwallet and spend from it without giving up control. That is the audience the product is built for, and it does that job well on paper.
It is not the card I would recommend to someone who wants a flat-fee travel card, predictable FX, or a strong dispute path when a merchant charges them the wrong amount. The terms say “we are not a card issuer” and the issuer is never named, which means most of the protections you would expect from a regulated bank card — clear FX, chargeback rules, escrow of funds — are not spelled out anywhere. Combine that with published top-up fees that range up to 2.1% and an FX margin that isn’t published, and the cost story is murky. That’s the main reason the score sits at 7 instead of closer to 8.
The breakdown also shows where XHYPE is clearly ahead of typical crypto cards. The country list is wide. The supported networks for top-up cover the chains most people already use. The daily-use features (Apple Pay, Google Pay, ATM, virtual card from day one) are present on every plan, not gated to the top tier. The weak spots are the things that bite later: a quiet terms page, an unknown issuer, and a thin support footprint.
If you’re an existing self-custody user who treats XHYPE as one option among several and won’t park a large balance on it, the 7 is fair. If you need it to be your main card, the 4 in reliability is the number to read twice.
Who will they give you the XHYPE card
XHYPE says the card can be ordered from 203 countries and territories. That number is the legal claim from the terms, not a list you’ll see on the website. Whether you actually get a card depends on two things the company checks at signup: your country of residence and your nationality when you apply. The terms also say the service is not available “in jurisdictions where such services are restricted”, which is a hedge that gives XHYPE room to refuse a country without committing to a published list.
A third-party profile of the card puts the working country list lower: 184 countries available, with 9 explicitly restricted. That list, from CryptoCardHub and dated August 2026, names Afghanistan, Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Syria and Yemen. Treat that as unofficial: it is not in the official terms, and the company has not confirmed it. What you can rely on is the high-level rule — residence and citizenship both matter, and the company reserves the right to refuse specific jurisdictions.
You have to be at least 18 to sign up; that is the only age line in the terms. Beyond that, the identity checks are described as “Private KYC” through a verification partner called Verinex, with XHYPE saying it receives only the result of the check and not the underlying documents. The terms do not say which documents you will be asked for, whether proof of address is required, or how long the review takes. That’s a gap that matters if you’re in a hurry.
The practical advice is to assume the following before you start: you will need a government ID that matches your country of residence, your nationality will be screened alongside your address, and the process can be slow or fail in countries that are not on friendly terms with the card issuer’s home jurisdiction. If any of that is uncertain where you live, the safer approach is to test the signup with a small deposit first, not to load a large balance upfront.
How to get the XHYPE card
The signup is web-based, not a mobile app you download. The whole flow lives in the browser at superwallet.xhype.io. The company describes the wallet as “nothing to download”, and there is no App Store or Google Play listing to rate. That single-page design is also why the card is available to anyone with a browser — but it also means you should check the URL carefully before you type your seed phrase into anything.
The steps, in order, are: sign up in the web app, complete the private KYC check, pick a plan, deposit crypto into your Superwallet, and load the card. The KYC runs through Verinex, and XHYPE says it only receives the result, not your documents.
On the card side, there are three plans that drive most of what you get:
- Essential: $10 per year, one virtual card, $50,000 annual limit, 2.1% top-up fee.
- Premium: $58 per year (or $118 for three years), one virtual plus one physical card, $250,000 annual limit, 1.8% top-up fee.
- Whale: $70 per year (or $148 for three years), two virtual plus one physical card, $1,000,000 annual limit, 1.2% top-up fee.
A third-party source lists higher annual prices ($108, $228 and $588) and describes them as auto-renewed monthly equivalents. Those figures do not match the official price list, so the official numbers are the ones to plan around. The site also says prices shown in the app are the current ones, which leaves room for the on-page figures to drift from what you actually pay.
Delivery is the clearest part of the signup. A virtual Essential card is delivered instantly once your account is set up. Physical cards on Premium and Whale ship about 15 days after you enter a correct address. The terms do not say which countries physical cards ship to, what shipping costs, or what a replacement costs if the card is lost. If any of that matters to you — and it usually does for a Premium plan — those are open questions to ask support before you pay.
The network the card runs on is also not stated on the official page. A third-party profile lists Visa and Mastercard programmes, virtual only, with no physical card; that conflicts with the official “physical on Premium and Whale” line, so it should be read as unconfirmed. What you can do in practice: try a virtual card first on the cheapest plan, see whether it lands in Apple Pay and Google Pay, and only then decide whether the physical upgrade is worth the annual fee.
What the XHYPE card really costs: Fees, top-ups and ATM
The headline numbers are in the table. The numbers that bite you in real life are the ones the table doesn’t show.

| Fee or limit | Essential | Premium | Whale |
|---|---|---|---|
| Annual fee | $10 / year | $58 / year or $118 / 3 yrs | $70 / year or $148 / 3 yrs |
| Cards included | 1 virtual | 1 virtual + 1 physical | 2 virtual + 1 physical |
| Top-up fee | 2.1% | 1.8% | 1.2% |
| FX fee | not stated | not stated | not stated |
| ATM fee | not stated | not stated | not stated |
| ATM per transaction | n/a (no physical) | $1,500 | $1,500 |
| ATM per day | n/a | $1,500 | $1,500 |
| ATM operations per day | n/a | 30 | 30 |
| ATM per month | n/a | $15,000 | $15,000 |
| Annual limit | $50,000 | $250,000 | $1,000,000 |
The annual fees are reasonable at the low end and steep at the top. The real cost story has three things to think about: the top-up fee, the FX fee, and the combined effect when you spend in a currency you didn’t load.
Scenario 1: coffee and groceries in your home currency
If you load USDT, USDC or the native coin into the Superwallet and then spend in dollars, you’ll pay the top-up fee when the crypto becomes a card balance (2.1%, 1.8% or 1.2% depending on plan) and the network fee for the on-chain transfer. The network fee is set by the blockchain, not by XHYPE. The conversion from crypto to USD is a separate line that the company does not break out. Third-party sources describe the card as converting USDT to USD at the point of spend, but the percentage is not published. If you’re on Essential, the top-up fee is 2.1%, and with an additional conversion margin, your total cost before you buy anything is higher than the top-up fee alone.
Scenario 2: travel spending in a foreign currency
If you load the card with USDT and spend in euros or pounds, the FX margin is the unknown variable. The official page does not publish an FX fee. A third-party profile says the FX is described only as a “standard fee” with no percentage. Compared to cards that publish a single number for their FX fee, XHYPE leaves you in the dark. For travel, this is the deal-breaker. The card’s structure is fine; the disclosure isn’t.
Scenario 3: ATM cash
ATM is available only on Premium and Whale. Limits are $1,500 per transaction, $1,500 per day, 30 operations per day and $15,000 per month. The ATM fee itself is not stated in the official material. The ATM operator’s fee (a separate charge from your card’s bank) is also typical, but on a card with no published ATM fee you should not assume anything. Plan on testing with a small withdrawal before relying on it.
A third-party set of figures (CryptoCardHub, August 2026) gives a much more expensive version: Essential at $108 a year, Premium at $228, Whale at $588, with top-up fees of 4.5%, 3.5% and 2.3% and auto-renewal. Those do not match the official price list. If you see them quoted elsewhere, treat them as out of date or wrong; the official page is the reference, and the app is said to show current prices.
How to top up the XHYPE card
Top up is the part of XHYPE that genuinely works well, and it works well because the supported coins and networks are the ones most self-custody users already hold.

The official page lists USDT, USDC and the XHYPE native coin on five networks: BNB Smart Chain, Ethereum, Base, Polygon and Arbitrum. The flow is: send the supported coin to the right network address in your Superwallet, wait for confirmations, then load the card. The card never touches the chain at the moment you swipe; it spends the balance that already exists in the Superwallet, which is the safer model.
| Coin | Networks | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| USDT | BNB Smart Chain, Ethereum, Base, Polygon, Arbitrum | Most stablecoin liquidity is here |
| USDC | BNB Smart Chain, Ethereum, Base, Polygon, Arbitrum | USDC on Tron was discontinued by Circle in February 2024 and is not a path |
| Native XHYPE coin | BNB Smart Chain, Ethereum, Base, Polygon, Arbitrum | Project’s own token, smaller liquidity |
A third-party profile describes top-up as USDT only, on Tron (TRC20) and BNB Chain (BEP20). That conflicts with the official list and is treated as unofficial. If you only hold USDT on Tron, you can still move it via a bridge, but that’s a step the company does not promise to support.
The top-up fee applies when the crypto becomes a card balance, not on the on-chain transfer. On-chain network fees are paid to the blockchain, not to XHYPE. There’s a third-party note that a minimum crypto deposit of 15 USDT applies; the official page does not state a minimum. The minimum fiat load, the minimum network fee that the company will cover, and who pays the gas on the deposit are also not stated. In practice, you’ll often pay the gas yourself from the same wallet.
The company does not state that you can top up by bank transfer or card. The only top-up method the page confirms is crypto. That’s consistent with a self-custody product, but it does mean there is no on-ramp inside XHYPE itself; you have to bring the crypto from somewhere else.
Fiat refunds, account closure and balance withdrawal are not stated in the terms. That is a real gap, not a minor one. If you need to convert card balance back to crypto or to a bank, the path isn’t documented. A support-only Telegram channel is the only published contact for resolution, and that is described in the support section below.
Paying with XHYPE every day
For day-to-day spending, the card behaves like a standard prepaid card. You can add it to Apple Pay and Google Pay on every plan, both virtual and physical. That makes the card usable at any contactless terminal and most online checkouts, and it sidesteps the “is this an unusual foreign card?” hesitation some merchants have with crypto-branded BINs.
The card is prepaid, not a credit card, so it cannot overdraw. If the balance runs out, the next payment declines; no interest, no debt, no surprise bill a month later. That’s the safer model, especially on a card with an unpublished FX fee. The annual limit is the cap: $50,000 on Essential, $250,000 on Premium, $1,000,000 on Whale. There’s no universal daily or monthly spend cap stated; the daily and monthly caps apply to ATM withdrawals, not to point-of-sale.
There’s no cashback or rewards line on the official page. A third-party profile (CryptoCardHub, August 2026) lists welcome credits ($5 / $10 / $40), a points program called XTraveler (290 / 690 / 2,490 points by tier) and a 15% referral commission paid in USDT from the referees’ reload fees. None of that is on the official site, so the welcome credit and the referral program should be considered unofficial until you see them in the app.
Blocked merchant categories are not stated. Most crypto cards block gambling (the MCC 7995 category) and a few other high-risk categories, but XHYPE doesn’t publish a list. If you need to use the card for a specific category, the only safe move is to test with a small amount first.
The web app is the only place you manage the card, since there’s no native iOS or Android app. That’s good for accessibility but means you can’t rely on app-store reviews as a quality signal. There’s no Trustpilot page for xKard (the brand name used in earlier press), and the Trustpilot hit that shows up is for a different service (xkode.io). The only public rating I found is on KYCnot.me, where about 7 user ratings average roughly 2.9 out of 5. That’s a thin sample, but it tracks with the complaints below.
Online checkout support is consistent with the rest of the card. Because the card can be added to mobile wallets, you get the tokenised-device-number protection: a one-time dynamic security code is used per payment, the actual PAN doesn’t sit on Apple or Google servers, and the issuer can restrict the token to specific channels. That’s a meaningful upgrade over typing the card number into websites, and it reduces the impact of phishing or merchant data breaches.
Disputes, chargebacks and refunds are not specified in the terms. That is a real concern. On a card where the issuer is unnamed and the dispute process is not published, the right to challenge a charge is unclear. Prepaid card coverage under US regulations (Regulation E for debit, Regulation Z for credit) varies and is not the same as a bank debit card. If the merchant charges you the wrong amount, the recovery path is “ask the merchant, then ask support, then wait.” That’s not the same as a chargeback.
What can go wrong with the XHYPE card
This is the section that justifies the 4 out of 10 on reliability. Nothing here is theoretical; each item is something a real user has reported or the company has chosen not to say.
Unknown issuer
The terms say “We are not a card issuer” and that cards come from an independent third-party issuer. The issuer is not named anywhere in the public material. A third-party source says the issuer is a licensed provider in jurisdictions including Hong Kong, but that is unofficial. The legal company behind XHYPE is XHYPE FZCO, registered in Dubai Silicon Oasis, UAE, with the terms governed by UAE law and Dubai courts. The licences XHYPE itself holds are not stated. In practical terms, the card sits between a Dubai marketing company and an issuer you can’t identify by name, which means you don’t have a clear regulator to write to if something goes wrong.
Self-custody means self-responsibility
The Superwallet is self-custody: the user controls the authentication factors and can export the private key to MetaMask, Trust Wallet or any compatible wallet. The card balance, however, is held by the unnamed card issuer, not by the user. So you have two custody models in one product, and they don’t share a key. If you lose your seed phrase, the on-chain funds are gone; if the card issuer has an outage, the card balance is the affected side. That split is standard for crypto cards, but it’s worth naming because it’s the thing most reviews gloss over.
Recharge disruption in 2025
A user report from CryptoCardHub (dated August 2026) describes a June–July 2025 disruption that affected HKD Visa recharge and spending. The issue was later marked resolved, with balances reportedly refunded. The themes that came up: high combined costs, AML-related account restrictions, refunds delayed for months, and slow support. None of this is on the official site. Treat it as one third-party report, but it’s the only direct operational incident I can point to.
KYCnot.me ratings
KYCnot.me, a community review site for crypto services, lists about 7 ratings averaging around 2.9 out of 5. The sample is small. The reason it matters is the context: crypto card services with strong, public incident response tend to score higher on these sites, and a 2.9 with very few ratings is the kind of number that suggests the people who had problems did not come back to update them.
The privacy story has a soft underbelly
XHYPE markets a “Zero Data model” with private KYC: the company says it gets only the result of the verification, not the documents. Theon-chain side is genuinely private in the sense that the user holds the keys. But the card side is a standard prepaid programme, and the card network can see merchant, amount and timestamp on every transaction. Crypto cards are not anonymous, and XHYPE is no exception. AML screening happens on every deposit according to the third-party profile, and flagged funds can be rejected.
Support is one channel
The only support channel listed is a 24/7 Telegram contact in English and Spanish, @xhype_support. There’s no email, no ticketing system, no phone line. For a product that holds card balances and crypto balances, that’s a thin support footprint. If your account is frozen over an AML flag and the Telegram support is slow, your recovery path is the courts of Dubai, which is not a practical option for most cardholders.
The terms page is the most useful risk document
The Terms were last updated 4 June 2025. They include the standard clauses: “We are not a card issuer”, UAE governing law, Dubai courts. They do not specify refund procedures, dispute procedures, blocked merchant categories, security features (2FA, freeze, spending controls), or fiat withdrawal. If you can’t find a feature listed in the Terms or on the product page, you should assume it isn’t there until proven otherwise.
What to take instead of XHYPE
XHYPE isn’t the only self-custody-friendly card on the market, and the alternatives score similarly but for different reasons. Here’s how the closest comparisons stack up.
| Card | Score | Best for | Where it hurts |
|---|---|---|---|
| XHYPE | 7.0 / 10 | Self-custody users with USDT/USDC on major EVM chains | Unnamed issuer, undisclosed FX, single-channel support |
| BloFin Wallet Card | 6.9 / 10 | Low-fee spenders, especially at higher VIP tiers | Unpublished country list, no physical card mentioned |
| Decaf | 6.2 / 10 | US users wanting a cheap virtual card | US-centric ($90 physical elsewhere), restricted US states and country list |
| SafePal | 6.2 / 10 | Existing SafePal wallet users with crypto on 40+ chains | Empty regions page, swaps include an unquantified spread |
BloFin Wallet Card
BloFin is built around a tiered spend fee that goes from 1.00% at VIP 0 to 0.00% at VIP 5, charged at the moment of payment. The top-up is USDT or USDC on Arbitrum and Base. There are no annual, activation, dormancy or cancellation fees, which makes the headline cost story cleaner than XHYPE’s. The downsides are also real: the country list is not published (the page asks you to “select your country or region” in-app and the starting data lists 35 countries including the US, Australia, Japan, UAE, Brazil, Mexico, Malaysia and New Zealand); whether the card is virtual or physical isn’t stated; and there are no cashback or rebate programs — instead, the reduced spend rate is the reward. If you want the lowest possible spend fee and you’re already in a country BloFin supports, the lower fees beat XHYPE’s published costs. If you need a physical card or predictable eligibility, XHYPE is the more transparent product.
Decaf
Decaf is a Visa card with both virtual and physical forms (physical ships with tracking to the US for $10 or to the rest of the world for $90). Activation is $5 for virtual and either $10 or $90 for physical; there’s no annual or monthly fee. FX is the Visa exchange rate with no Decaf markup, which is the cleanest FX disclosure of the four cards compared here. The down side is the country list: 17 restricted countries (Belarus, China, North Korea, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Cuba, Ukraine, Venezuela, Vietnam, Nicaragua, Puerto Rico, Nigeria — note that Russia and Belarus appear, and the rule’s basis, residence versus citizenship, is not stated) and 12 restricted US states (Arizona, Delaware, Georgia, Idaho, Louisiana, Maryland, Montana, Ohio, Oregon, Rhode Island, Washington, Wisconsin). The top-up side accepts card, bank transfer or USDC to a Decaf payment link, but the page is light on which coins and networks fund the card itself. For US-based users, Decaf’s no-FX-fee structure is hard to beat. For everyone else, the physical card pricing pushes it out of budget.
SafePal
SafePal is a virtual Mastercard debit card linked to a Swiss Fiat24 account, with spending limits given in EUR. There are no account creation or management fees; the top-up fee is 0% standard (a separate page elsewhere says “as low as 0.4%” on the top tier for crypto top-up), and the FX fee for non-USD Mastercard settlement is 1%. The card funds from 40+ blockchains converted to USDC or fiat on Arbitrum, which is the widest on-chain coverage in this comparison. The regions list was empty when the page was checked (“Citizens of supported regions who live in supported areas”), so you have to apply to find out. Swaps carry a spread that’s not quantified, refunds cost $1 / €1 / CHF 1 / 7 CNH, and there’s no cashback. SafePal is a fit for people already inside the SafePal hardware-wallet ecosystem; for everyone else, the empty regions page and the 1% FX fee are reasons to look elsewhere.
Who I’d recommend XHYPE to
The card is built for a narrow user, and it’s a good fit for that user. I’d recommend it if all of the following are true:
- You already hold USDT or USDC on Ethereum, BNB Smart Chain, Base, Polygon or Arbitrum in a self-custody wallet, and you’d rather not move that crypto to a custodial exchange just to spend it.
- You’re willing to keep your card balance modest (a month or two of spending, not a year’s salary) because the card issuer is unnamed and support is one Telegram channel.
- You mostly spend in your home currency, so the undisclosed FX margin is a small share of your total cost, not the dominant one.
- You’re comfortable with the fact that the dispute process and refund process are not spelled out in the terms.
If those conditions don’t hold, the alternatives above are worth a serious look. BloFin is cheaper per transaction if you climb the VIP ladder. Decaf wins on FX disclosure for US users. SafePal wins on chain coverage.
The one piece of advice that doesn’t depend on which card you pick: read the Terms once before you fund the wallet. The page is short, it tells you exactly which clauses apply (UAE law, Dubai courts, the issuer is a third party), and it’s the only document that binds the company. The marketing page doesn’t, the support channel doesn’t, and a 2.9 out of 5 on a small review sample doesn’t. The Terms are the contract.
Frequently asked questions
What is the XHYPE card?
XHYPE is a prepaid card linked to a self-custody crypto wallet called the Superwallet. You send USDT, USDC or the native XHYPE coin to the wallet on BNB Smart Chain, Ethereum, Base, Polygon or Arbitrum, the balance becomes a card balance, and you spend it with a virtual or physical card or through Apple Pay and Google Pay.
How does the XHYPE card work?
The card is prepaid, so it spends only the balance you load. The Superwallet holds your crypto, the card issuer (unnamed in the terms) holds the fiat balance that backs the card, and the network (Visa or Mastercard per third-party sources, not stated officially) routes each payment.
Is XHYPE a bank?
No. XHYPE FZCO is a Dubai-registered company that markets the card. The terms explicitly say “We are not a card issuer”, and the issuer itself is an independent third party that XHYPE does not name. Treat XHYPE as a programme manager, not a bank.
Who owns XHYPE?
XHYPE FZCO is registered in Dubai Silicon Oasis, United Arab Emirates, and the terms are governed by UAE law with Dubai courts as the venue. The beneficial owner and the issuer of the card are not disclosed in the public material.
Is the XHYPE card available in my country?
The official claim is 203 countries and territories, with eligibility depending on your country of residence and nationality at the time of application. A third-party profile lists 184 available countries and 9 restricted ones (Afghanistan, Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Syria, Yemen), but that list is not on the official page. The only way to know for sure is to start the signup.
How do I apply for the XHYPE card?
Open superwallet.xhype.io in a browser, sign up, complete the private KYC check through Verinex, choose a plan, deposit crypto, and load the card. A virtual Essential card is delivered instantly; physical cards ship about 15 days after a correct address is entered.
Does the XHYPE card require KYC?
Yes. The terms describe a “Private KYC” check through a verification partner called Verinex, with XHYPE receiving only the result. A third-party profile suggests no documents are required at signup, but every deposit is screened and flagged funds can be rejected. Plan on a government ID that matches your country of residence.
How do I add the XHYPE card to Apple Pay or Google Pay?
Virtual and physical XHYPE cards can be added to Apple Pay and Google Pay on every plan. The card data is stored as a device-specific token rather than as the real PAN, and each payment uses a one-time dynamic security code.
Is the XHYPE card safe?
The on-chain side is as safe as your seed phrase: you control the keys and can export them to MetaMask or Trust Wallet. The card side is held by an unnamed third-party issuer, so the safety of the card balance depends on the issuer. The published reliability score is 4 out of 10, driven by an unnamed issuer, slow support, and user reports of AML-related account freezes and delayed refunds in 2025.
How do I withdraw money from the XHYPE card?
The terms do not state a withdrawal path for card balances. There’s no published fiat off-ramp, and the only support channel is a 24/7 Telegram contact. Crypto can be moved from the Superwallet at any time because you control the keys, but converting card balance back to crypto or to a bank is not a documented flow.
Highest-scored wallet cards – cryptocardbest.com
Content created by the «cryptocardbest.com» team
