The Cryptomus card is cheap to open, thin on detail, and its users rate it poorly

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only

The Cryptomus card is a virtual Visa or Mastercard that you load with USDT or USDC and then spend like an ordinary payment card. That is the whole idea, and on paper it is a sensible one: you hold dollars-denominated stablecoins, the card converts them to fiat at the moment you top up, and from then on you are just paying for things. The catch is that a lot of what you would want to know before signing up is simply not published. No country list. No monthly fee figure. No ATM answer. No named card tiers. No stated issuer. And behind all of that sits a fee schedule that third-party sites describe in two different ways.

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
Cryptomus works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

I went through the card’s own pages and then read what users and outside reviewers say. My score is 4.7 out of 10. That is not a verdict on whether the card works on the day you use it; it is a verdict on how much you can find out before you commit, how much it costs when the official pages go quiet, and how the people already using it rate the experience. For a Cryptomus user whose whole routine is paying online with USDT, the card probably does that job. For anyone who wants a dependable everyday card with clear terms, the gaps are too wide.

Conditions stated here are current as of October 28, 2026.

The score at a glance

Here is how I broke the total down. Each line is one of the criteria I scored, with the mark I gave it and why.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Cryptomus starts with a transfer to the right network
Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 8 / 10 “Most countries worldwide”, with a caveat about local restrictions. No country list is published, and it can change.
Cost 3 / 10 Issuance is $4, top-up is 3.2%, and any monthly or inactivity fee depends on the card type. An unofficial figure puts FX at 3.9%.
Top-up options 5 / 10 USDT and USDC, with no networks named. The list may expand.
Reliability and complaints 3 / 10 No issuer or legal entity named. Trustpilot shows 2.4/5 from 521 reviews. One report describes a virtual card deactivated after a $1,200 payment with the refund refused, and there are AML holds on funds.
Everyday use 4 / 10 Virtual Visa and Mastercard only. NFC phone payment is mentioned. Unofficial sources list Apple Pay and Google Pay and say there are no ATMs.
Total 4.7 / 10 The card is easy to describe and hard to evaluate.

Two things pull in opposite directions here. The eligibility mark is generous because the stated reach is genuinely wide — most countries worldwide, unlike several rivals that name a short list or gate the physical card to one country. The cost mark is low because $4 to open plus 3.2% on every top-up is not the whole bill, and the FX percentage that determines much of your real cost is not on the official page. If your spending is small and infrequent, the fixed $4 stings less than the percentage. If you convert often, the missing FX figure is the thing that should stop you.

Will they give you the card?

Probably, but you will not be able to confirm that from the card’s own pages. Eligibility is described as “Most countries worldwide”, with the standing caveat that availability may be restricted by local regulation. There is no published list of countries, and the list may change. So the honest answer to “can I get one in my country” is: probably yes, but the only way to know is to register and find out. If your country is under active financial sanctions or its regulator has forbidden such products, “most countries worldwide” does not include you, and I would not expect it to.

One distinction the card leaves open matters to a lot of readers: residence versus citizenship. The pages do not say whether it checks where you live, where your passport is from, or both. This is not a technicality. Sanctions screening and issuer risk policy are routinely applied to citizenship and country of birth, not only to your address, and a card can be available to residents of a country whose nationals it will not serve. If your situation is cross-border — living in one country with a passport from another — that is exactly the case where you want the answer in writing before you upload documents.

For everyone else: the route in is the same, and it is described in the next section.

How to get it

You register on Cryptomus and pass KYC, and that is the entire stated requirement. The card itself is virtual only, on Visa or Mastercard, across “10+ BINs” and multiple currencies, though the card currencies are not named. It is issued in about five minutes. The pages also mention NFC payment from your phone.

There is no physical card. The wording is that the card is “issued instantly and works immediately after activation”, so the whole process is: account, verification, activation, spend.

The detail that will decide whether you are annoyed is what is not here. The card’s pages say only “Register on Cryptomus and pass KYC”. They do not say which documents are required, whether proof of address is needed, what the minimum age is, whether there are verification tiers, how long verification takes, or what the rejection reasons are. If you have been turned down by other providers for a document mismatch, you are walking in without knowing the rules.

So the realistic expectation is the ordinary one: identity checks exist and you should assume they will ask for something. The difference here is that you cannot look up the list in advance. Plan to have an identity document to hand and a little patience, and treat the five-minute card issuance as a separate clock from the verification clock, which is the part with no published figure.

Fees and what a payment actually costs

The published numbers are thin. Issuance is $4. On top-ups, 3.2%. Your crypto is converted to fiat at the market rate at the time of top-up, and payment and conversion fees “may vary” with no figure attached. A monthly fee is not stated; there may be optional maintenance or inactivity fees depending on the card type, and there are no named tiers to look at, only a prompt to “choose a card that fits your needs”. Whether or not a card is free to keep is therefore something you cannot answer from the public pages.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Cryptomus payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

I have put what exists into one table so you can see the shape of it. Blank rows are not zeroes — they are gaps.

Fee or limit What the card states
Issuance $4
Monthly fee Not stated; optional maintenance or inactivity fees may apply depending on card type
Top-up 3.2%
Crypto-to-fiat conversion At the market rate at the time of top-up; payment and conversion fees “may vary”, no figure
FX fee Not stated. Unofficial: 3.9%
ATM Not stated. Unofficial: two listings disagree — one says no ATM use because the card is virtual-only, another says the ATM withdrawal limit is “unlimited”
Daily limit Not stated. Unofficial: $10,000 daily
Monthly limit Not stated. Unofficial: $25,000 monthly

Three ordinary payments, and what each one costs you. The arithmetic is illustrative; the rates are the card’s, the pattern is the category’s.

A $20 subscription you pay for from an already-loaded balance. The top-up fee does not touch this purchase; you already paid it when you loaded. What can still apply is the FX fee if the merchant bills in a currency other than the one you loaded, and that fee is not on the official page. On an unofficial 3.9%, a $20 charge in an unconverted currency would carry roughly 78 cents on top. This is the case where the missing FX figure is least painful, because you loaded the right currency in advance.

A $300 grocery shop, same setup. Again no new top-up fee. But a card loaded with, say, $300 can only spend $300 — the balance model is prepaid, so there is no credit and no overdraw. If you under-load, the payment fails; there is no line of credit to catch it.

A $1,200 flight in a currency you did not load. This is where the FX fee and the top-up fee can both land on one purchase if you top up in the wrong currency and let the card convert. An unofficial 3.9% FX fee plus a 3.2% top-up fee, if both apply to the same money, is a little over 7% of the amount before the airline’s own fare differences. The card says the FX fee exists only in third-party listings, so treat that number as a reason to check, not as a fact to plan around.

Two more costs sit outside the card’s table. Converting on-chain also costs a network fee — gas on Ethereum, or bandwidth and energy on Tron — charged by the blockchain, not by the card. And if you hold a token rather than a stablecoin, selling it can be a taxable disposal in many jurisdictions. I am not advising you on tax; I am flagging that a “small” fee picture can be incomplete.

How to top it up

Top up in USDT or USDC, and the card is funded in fiat. That is the stated mechanism, and it is the whole flow. The top-up fee is 3.2%. The list of coins may expand.

Here is where I would slow down. The networks are not specified. That single missing detail is the difference between a transfer that lands in seconds and one that is lost or stalled. USDC and USDT each exist on several chains — Circle lists USDC as natively supported on 38 networks as of 16 September 2026, and Tether describes USDT as issued across Ethereum, Tron, Solana, Polygon, Avalanche and others — and sending the right token down the wrong network can mean the funds never arrive. Transfers are irreversible; a deposit sent to an address for a network the provider does not support can be lost or need manual support recovery with no guarantee. There is also a stablecoin trap specific to this pair: Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, so “USDC over TRC20” is not a native option, and a wallet full of USDT plus a small ETH balance is a wallet that cannot send an ERC-20 token at all, because gas on Ethereum is paid only in ETH.

Minimum top-up is not stated. The fiat top-up options — whether you can add money by bank transfer, card or anything else directly — are not stated either. How to get the balance back off the card, to crypto or to a bank, and what closing the card or the account involves, is not stated. That last one matters more than it sounds: if your card balance is stranded, the category pattern is that programme closures ask users to withdraw remaining balances after spending stops, and you do not want to discover the withdrawal route on the day it matters.

My practical read: confirm the supported network and the withdrawal route with support before you send a meaningful amount, and treat the coin list as a reason to prefer USDT or USDC over anything more exotic. Neither requires anything clever of you; both are just the questions to ask first.

Paying with it day to day

Day to day, this is a card with a balance and no physical piece of plastic. You activate it, load it, and spend it. Apple Pay and Google Pay are not stated on the card’s own pages, which mention only NFC payment from your phone; unofficial sources list both, so treat mobile wallets as plausible but unconfirmed. Which merchant categories are blocked is not stated. Cashback or rewards are not stated — the card page mentions none. Disputes and chargebacks are not stated: the FAQ page as I read it had no card content at all, so there is nothing telling you how a disputed payment would be handled.

The app is in the App Store and Google Play, with expense control and transaction history. Its ratings are not stated, which for me is a gap worth naming: ratings are the cheapest quality signal a public page can offer, and this one withholds it.

Some practical truths apply to any crypto card, and they are worth knowing before your first decline. A merchant can look up the card’s BIN and see which institution and country issued it, and may apply extra scrutiny if the issuer country differs from your billing address. Address verification, which compares the numeric parts of your billing address with issuer records, is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which causes declines. Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign BINs outright. A declined authorisation can leave a hold on your funds for several days, typically up to seven. And gambling, coded 7995, is blocked on many cards by policy rather than by law, with the list varying by issuer — though here the card does not publish a blocked list at all.

None of that is a reason on its own to walk away. It is a reason to load modestly at first, spend, and see how your usual merchants behave before you treat it as your main card.

What can go wrong

This is the part of the review I would want you to read twice, because it is where a 4.7 comes from.

The company’s own incident history: I found no official incident. I read no user report or news item that the card itself had a published breach. But I did find that third-party sources disagree on the fees — one describes a free virtual card and 0.5% conversion, which does not match the $4 and 3.2% the card states. That disagreement is the problem in itself: the fee schedule is unconfirmed.

The legal entity behind the card is not stated. Neither is the issuer. For a card, that is a real thing to want to know, not a formality. In this category the network (Visa or Mastercard) routes the payments, an actual licensed issuer holds the card programme, and the crypto brand is often just the programme manager or front-end that markets it. Visa and Mastercard do not issue crypto cards to consumers themselves; they license issuers, and they can suspend a programme — Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022, and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer. So knowing who the issuer is tells you who actually controls your card’s life.

The security features are reasonable on paper: 3-D Secure authentication, freeze and unfreeze, biometric authentication, and the promise that “no one will be able to withdraw funds or pay without your knowledge”. The custody model and any insurance are not stated. A CertiK project page is linked, which tells you someone wanted you to see an audit, but it is not the same as knowing who holds your funds or what happens if they fail. This is worth understanding structurally: whoever holds the private key controls the crypto, and with a custodial wallet the provider holds the credentials, so you must trust them completely. A seed phrase is an unencrypted key, and transfers are typically irreversible with no built-in recovery. The record of custodial platforms is not encouraging — Mt. Gox (about $350 million reported stolen, 2011–2014), Coincheck (about $400 million, 2018), and Ronin Network ($625 million, 2022) are the standard three examples.

Support is a Telegram bot, [email protected], and an FAQ. Languages and hours are not stated.

Then the user reports, and here I want to be precise about what kind of evidence these are. On Trustpilot, Cryptomus shows 2.4/5 from 521 reviews as I read them on 2026-10-20: 43% one-star and 49% five-star, which is a sharply split audience rather than a uniformly angry one, and the complaints are mostly about the payment service rather than the card. Trustpilot also flags the profile as possibly associated with high-risk investments. On the card specifically, a user report dated 24 September 2026 describes a virtual card deactivated after a $1,200 transaction with the refund refused; the company’s explanation is that the issuing bank blocked the card after high decline rates and that Cryptomus does not control that card programme. A single report is not a pattern, but it is exactly the failure mode you cannot fix yourself, and it explains the reliability mark. Recurring AML and KYC holds on funds appear in several reports across August to October 2026 — 30 August, 6, 14, 17 September and 6 October — along with slow support and tickets closed as duplicates.

That holds pattern is not mysterious. KYC rules require regulated businesses to verify customers and monitor transactions as part of anti-money-laundering law, and if due diligence cannot be completed, EU rules require the institution to refrain from the transaction or relationship and, where necessary, end existing relationships. That is why accounts get frozen pending documents, and it is why a card can stop working while money sits in it. Whether the availability claim is legal in a given country depends on the regulation there, and MiCA in the EU makes the frame stricter for stablecoins: under it, e-money tokens may be issued only by a credit institution or an electronic money institution. Card programmes also get wound down: WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all its Visa programmes. Closures typically mean a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then users are asked to withdraw what is left. I would rather you knew that now than read it in a shutdown email.

One last stability note about the coins themselves. Stablecoins are not necessarily stable: TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022, and USDC temporarily lost its peg in March 2023. Holding USDT or USDC is a bet on Tether’s or Circle’s operations. USDC is the one with the clearer backstop — Circle says it is redeemable 1:1 for USD, 100% backed by cash and cash equivalents mostly in an SEC-registered government money market fund, with monthly reserve attestations by a Big Four firm — but Tether describes USDT reserves only as intended to back it 1-to-1, and neither issuer’s promise removes the counterparty risk. Tether also says it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity, so these balances are not censorship-proof. If a card holds your converted balance, that issuer is the risk, not just the chain.

What to take instead

None of these is a recommendation to switch today; they are the cards whose published terms are fuller than this one’s, so you can compare like with like. Scores are on the same scale as the 4.7 above.

Card Score Reach Cost and fees Card type
Cryptomus 4.7 / 10 “Most countries worldwide”, no list $4 issuance, 3.2% top-up, FX not stated Virtual Visa and Mastercard
OkiCard 6.0 / 10 “150+ countries” (some pages say “200+”), no geo-blocking by passport; must confirm not in a sanctioned jurisdiction Issuance $0 or a $15 starting price (pages disagree), monthly $0, 3% load fee, 0% transaction fee on USD, “no hidden exchange spreads” Virtual; a physical card is mentioned without detail
Cardex 5.6 / 10 “One crypto card, 200+ countries”, no list or exclusions No fee percentage stated; conversion at the moment of payment via an “AI-Powered Conversion Rate” Debit card on VERVE, Visa, Mastercard and UnionPay; virtual and physical
TakeCard 5.5 / 10 Physical card “available only to Bolivian users for now”; wallet says it can receive payments “from any country” Virtual $5; physical in Bolivia $20 issuance + $20 shipping (another article says $10 — conflicting); 1% commission per purchase Virtual immediately; physical Bolivia only; Visa, issued in the US, USD at 1:1

Reading the table: OkiCard scores highest because it publishes the most — a 3% load fee, 0% transaction fee on USD dollars, and an explicit promise of no hidden exchange spreads — and it names its networks (USDT on BSC, Ethereum, Tron and Solana; USDC “soon”; BTC and other coins “coming soon”), which is the detail Cryptomus omits. Its own pages contradict each other on whether issuance is free or $15, which is its version of the same problem. Cardex publishes no percentage at all, which is why it sits below OkiCard despite the wider network choice. TakeCard is the only one of the four with a physical card for anyone outside Bolivia and a flat, stated 1% purchase commission, but its own help centre contradicts itself on the physical card price, and its listing is Naira-focused or USD, depending on which page you read. None of them has the Cryptomus combination of $4 to open plus 3.2% on every top-up, which for high-volume loading is the cheapest headline of the four — that is a real point in Cryptomus’s favour and I will not pretend otherwise.

Who I would recommend it to

To the person already inside Cryptomus, holding USDT, paying online with it regularly, and comfortable that the card is a feature of a platform they have chosen for other reasons. For that person the card removes one specific friction — spending a stablecoin balance without converting it by hand at an exchange — and the $4 and 3.2% are easy to accept when you are loading in useful size.

I would not recommend it to you if any of these are true. You want to know what the card costs in foreign currency before you spend. You need a physical card. You need an ATM. You want Apple Pay or Google Pay confirmed rather than rumoured. You are relying on this as your only everyday card, or you cannot afford to have funds held for weeks while KYC is resolved. You want to know which bank issues it and which legal entity stands behind it. Or you simply plan to check in with your card provider before committing money — with this card you will find the answers thinner than you are used to.

The honest summary is that the card does a narrow job and hides its terms. If the narrow job is the one you need, it will probably serve you. If you are choosing between cards on the basis of what is written down, the cards that publish their numbers will serve you better, and I would rather point you at them than round up Cryptomus’s gaps.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Cryptomus card?

It is a virtual payment card, on Visa or Mastercard, that you load with USDT or USDC and spend as ordinary fiat. Your crypto is converted to fiat at the market rate at the moment you top up, and the card draws on that stored balance. There is no physical card. Issuance is $4 and a card appears in about five minutes once your account and verification are in place.

How does the Cryptomus card work in practice?

You register, pass KYC, get a virtual card, activate it, and load it. From then on it behaves like a prepaid card spending a balance you have already paid for. Because it is prepaid, it cannot overdraw — if you have not loaded enough, the payment simply fails. Some merchants may decline it because the BIN shows a foreign or prepaid issuer.

Do I need KYC to get a Cryptomus card?

Yes. The stated requirement is to register on Cryptomus and pass KYC before getting a card. The pages do not say which documents are required, whether proof of address is needed, the minimum age, how many verification tiers there are, or how long it takes. Assume an identity document check and plan around the fact that no timing is published.

Is Cryptomus a bank, and who issues the card?

The card’s public pages do not name the issuing bank or the legal entity behind it, so I cannot tell you. In this category the network routes payments, a licensed issuer holds the programme, and the crypto brand is often only the front-end. That distinction matters because an issuer can block a programme, as happened with FTX in 2022 and WaveCrest in Europe in 2018.

Is the Cryptomus card available in my country?

The card says “Most countries worldwide”, with the caveat that local regulation may restrict it, and it publishes no country list. Whether it checks your residence, your citizenship, or both is not stated, so if you live in one country and hold a passport from another, ask support before uploading documents.

How much does the Cryptomus card cost?

Issuance is $4 and the top-up fee is 3.2%. A monthly fee is not stated, and optional maintenance or inactivity fees may apply depending on the card type. The FX fee is not stated on the official pages; unofficial listings put it at 3.9%. Third-party sites also disagree about the fees, one describing a free virtual card and 0.5% conversion.

What are the Cryptomus card limits?

The card’s own pages do not state daily or monthly limits. Unofficial listings give $10,000 daily and $25,000 monthly, with no date on them. Two other unofficial listings disagree about ATMs — one says there are none because the card is virtual-only, another says the ATM limit is unlimited. Treat all of these as leads to confirm, not as terms.

Can I add the Cryptomus card to Apple Pay or Google Wallet?

The card’s own pages mention only NFC payment from your phone and do not confirm Apple Pay or Google Pay. An unofficial source lists both as supported. Since the official pages are silent, ask support before you rely on tapping your phone to pay in a shop.

Is the Cryptomus card safe to use?

It has the usual safeguards: 3-D Secure authentication, freeze and unfreeze, and biometric login, with a stated promise that no one can withdraw or pay without your knowledge. The custody model and any insurance are not stated, so you cannot tell who holds the balance. User reports describe funds held for weeks on AML grounds and a card deactivated after a $1,200 transaction, so load modestly at first.

Can I withdraw money from Cryptomus and close the card?

The card’s public pages do not say how to move the balance back to crypto or to a bank, nor what closing the card or the account involves. That matters because if a programme ever winds down, spending and loading typically stop and users are asked to withdraw what remains. Ask support for the withdrawal route before you load an amount you would not want to sit still.

Content created by the «cryptocardbest.com» team