The card that spends your USDC balance and nothing else
The Currency.com Card is not a bank card with a crypto bonus attached. It is a Visa Platinum virtual card that draws directly on a USDC balance sitting inside a Currency.com account. If the balance is empty, there is no credit line to fall back on, so the card simply has nothing to spend. That single design choice explains almost everything about who this card suits and who it does not.

I scored it 6.5 out of 10. It is strong on access and on everyday convenience, weak on flexibility and on what you can do with the money afterwards. It rewards exactly one situation: you already hold Currency.com account, you are comfortable holding USDC on a custodial platform, and you want that USDC to pay for ordinary things without selling it first.
Here is the breakdown behind that number, with the marks I gave each criterion:
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 8 / 10 | Stated as available globally, decided case by case on country of residence, and not usable in sanctioned territories |
| Cost | 6 / 10 | Card and servicing are free, but a 1% processing fee, an FX fee up to 1% outside USD, a cross-border fee up to 1% and a 2% ATM fee all sit on top |
| Top-up options | 4 / 10 | USDC only, either on-chain to the platform wallet or bought inside the platform, and the networks are not named |
| Reliability and complaints | 6 / 10 | Two regulated entities behind it, but no issuer named on the help pages, and a 4.2 Trustpilot score from 2,006 reviews with frozen accounts and slow checks recurring |
| Everyday use | 8 / 10 | Virtual Visa Platinum issued instantly, Apple Pay and Google Pay, banknote withdrawals available — but no physical card |
| Total | 6.5 / 10 | Good for spending a stablecoin balance, thin everywhere else |
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
Two things to understand before you read further. First, “virtual” here means there is no plastic card described anywhere on the help pages — you add the card to your phone wallet and pay by tap or by entering the details online. Second, this is a custodial arrangement: the platform holds the credentials and you do not manage private keys. Neither point is a dealbreaker on its own, but together they decide whether this card is a convenience or a constraint.
Will they give you the card?
Mostly, yes — and the decision is not automatic. Currency.com states that “The Currency.com Card is available globally”, but immediately qualifies that the ability to receive the card “may depend on multiple factors, including but not limited to the country of residency of the applicant. The final decision will be made on a case-by-case basis.”
Read that carefully, because it is the whole answer to “is it available in my country”. Global availability is the starting position, not a promise. No list of eligible or excluded countries is published, so I cannot tell you from the public pages whether your country of residence is one of them. What I can tell you is what the card does say: it “cannot be used in certain countries, including sanctioned territories”. The word that matters there is “certain” — the set is not published.
There is one firm gate, and it is not about geography at all. Only verified Currency.com account holders can get the card. If you have never used the platform, or your account is not fully verified, the card is not available to you yet, regardless of where you live. That makes this a product for existing customers, not an on-ramp for new ones.
So the honest answer is: the card is open in principle almost everywhere, gated in practice by a verified account, and decided individually by country of residence. If your situation is unusual — a sanctioned territory, a country the platform is winding down, or simply a region it does not serve — you will find out by applying rather than by reading. Plan for a possible no.
How to get it
The route runs through the platform, not around it. There are two steps, in this order.
First, complete KYC inside your Currency.com account. The requirements are the standard ones: profile data, proof of identity with a valid ID or passport, sometimes proof of address such as a bank statement or a utility bill — the help text explicitly rules out a mobile bill — and then a liveness test. The page describes the process as automated and says it “usually includes identity verification and proof of address. The process is automated and takes an average of 5 minutes”.
That average is an average, not a promise. Automated systems fall back to manual review, and manual review is where delays live — that theme comes up repeatedly in user complaints about this platform, which I come back to below.
Second, order the card in the Cards section. A minimum USDC balance is required. The card that comes out is a virtual Visa Platinum, issued instantly. The help text calls it “a Visa credit card”, but it only spends the USDC balance — “no credit line”. That wording is misleading if you read it quickly; there is no borrowing here, and there is no credit period.
Some things the public pages simply do not say. The minimum age is not stated. Physical card, delivery timing and replacement cost are not stated either, because no physical card is described. Reasons for rejection are not stated. If any of those matter to you, you will need to ask support before you commit.
Your verification level also sets what the account can do, and it is worth knowing which tier you are on before you order — not because it gates the card, but because it caps how much you can move in and out of the account.
| Tier | Per transaction (deposit / withdraw) | Daily | Monthly | Lifetime |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tier 1 | $500 / $1,000 | $1,000 | $3,000 | $15,000 |
| Tier 2 | $15,000 / $15,000 | $15,000 | $15,000 | $30,000 |
| Tier 3 | $50,000 / $50,000 | $50,000 | $50,000 | $300,000 |
Processing takes an average of 5 minutes and is automated. Whether those limits are a problem for you depends entirely on how much you are moving — a Tier 1 ceiling of $1,000 a day is fine for spending money on a card and is a serious obstacle if you were planning to use this as a way to move larger sums.
Fees: what it really costs to spend
The headline is genuinely good: the card itself is free to order, and there are “no monthly fees, annual fees, or account maintenance charges”. You get a single card. There is no tier of spending required to keep it.

The catch is that free to hold is not free to use. Here is what the card’s own fee table says:
| Fee or limit | Value |
|---|---|
| Card order fee (virtual) | None |
| Monthly or annual fee | None |
| Processing fee | 1% |
| Foreign exchange (FX) fee, non-USD | Up to 1% |
| Cross-border fee | Up to 1% |
| ATM fee | 2% |
| Deposit of USDC | No fee; network gas fees may apply |
| ATM maximum per transaction | $750 (including ATM surcharge) |
| ATM daily maximum | Up to $750 USD |
| ATM attempts | Maximum three in a rolling 24 hours, declined attempts counting |
| Free ATM allowance | None stated |
| Card spending limits | Not stated on the help pages |
| Minimum age | Not stated |
Now let me run three everyday payments through that table, because the percentages behave very differently depending on what you are buying.
A coffee in your own country, in your own currency. You are spending, so the 1% processing fee applies. If you pay in anything other than USD, the FX fee of up to 1% may also apply. A card with no foreign exchange fee in the product name is not a card with no FX cost — this one charges for the conversion.
A subscription billed in USD from a merchant in another country. The processing fee still applies at 1%, and now the cross-border fee of up to 1% can apply on top. Cross-border and FX can stack, and the published figures are ceilings rather than fixed rates, so the worst case on a single purchase is meaningfully more than the base 1%.
Withdrawing cash from a banknote machine. Here the flat charge dominates: 2%, capped at $750 per transaction including the surcharge and up to $750 daily, with three attempts allowed in any rolling 24 hours and declined attempts counted against the three. That last detail matters more than it sounds — three failed attempts in a day and the card is unusable at ATMs until the window rolls over, whatever caused the failures.
One more number worth separating out: the separate crypto exchange *on the platform* charges a 1% transaction fee. That is not a card fee. But if you top up by buying USDC inside Currency.com, you may pay it, so I would not describe topping up as free.
Top up: USDC and nothing else
This is the weakest part of the card, and it is why the top-up criterion scored 4 out of 10. There is one fuel and it is USDC.

You have two ways to get it in. Either you deposit USDC on-chain to the Currency.com wallet, or you buy it inside the platform. There is no direct card top-up from a bank account that I could find on the help pages — fiat top-up for the card is not stated, though USDC can of course be purchased within the platform.
Depositing USDC carries no provider fee, but standard blockchain gas fees may apply depending on the network you use. The networks are not listed on the help page, and that is the single most useful thing you could ask support before sending anything. A transfer on a network the platform does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost or need manual recovery with no guarantee of success — blockchain transfers are irreversible by design. Get the network and the address confirmed in writing first.
Timing is good where it matters: the balance is available for card use “within minutes” after on-chain confirmation, and “your USDC balance is automatically used to collateralise the transaction”. Nothing needs arranging per purchase.
Two things about the money’s position afterwards. First, it stays a USDC balance in the Currency.com account — spending it does not move it into a separate bank balance. Second, how much you can move in or out is capped by the tier table above; withdrawal fees and what happens to a leftover balance on closure are not stated on the card pages.
If you are wondering whether to hold the balance as USDC at all: it is a dollar-pegged token, not a dollar. It aims to hold a stable value but, as the BIS put it in July 2025, the two largest stablecoins together account for about 90% of stablecoin market capitalisation, and stablecoins have lost their peg before — TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022, and USDC wobbled in March 2023 during the US banking crisis.
Paying with it every day
Once issued, the virtual card goes into Apple Pay or Google Pay, and from there it behaves like any other contactless card in your phone. That is the strongest part of the whole proposition: no plastic to wait for, no delivery to track, and the card exists in your wallet the moment you order it.
Where it will not work. Some merchant categories are simply blocked at the card network level: the help text names “certain merchant categories (e.g., gambling, adult content)” as examples. This is a policy choice by the card network rather than law, and blocked lists differ between issuers.
One trap that catches almost everyone. The card is USD-denominated. Local currency conversion happens automatically and “the FX fee will apply for non-USD transactions”. If you think you are avoiding currency costs by holding a stablecoin, the fee still appears at the point of payment. A multi-currency balance is not described.
Why a payment might be declined anyway. A merchant can look at the card’s first six or eight digits — the issuer identification number — and see the type of card and the country of issuer. If that country differs from your billing address, the merchant may apply extra scrutiny, and some merchants decline prepaid or foreign-issued cards outright. This is why a card issued in one country can look foreign to a shop in another. It is not a malfunction; it is the payment system working as designed.
Rewards: not stated. The card pages do not describe any cashback, points or rebate. If a rewards programme is part of why you are considering a crypto card, this one does not offer one on the published material, and I would not assume one exists.
The app. The iOS listing on the App Store under Currency Com Limited carries the notice “This app hasn’t received enough ratings or reviews to display an overview”, which was still true when I read it on 21 October 2026. The Google Play listing shows 1K+ downloads and was updated on 21 September 2026; I did not read a star rating. Thin public feedback either way, which is worth knowing if you are about to depend on this app daily.
If something goes wrong with a payment. For an unauthorised transaction, freeze the card in the app and write to support; “standard Visa dispute and fraud protection processes apply”. For goods not received, contact the merchant first, then request a Visa dispute with the date, amount, merchant and a description. Pending authorisations normally settle in 1–3 business days — contact support if it is still unresolved after 5 business days. The dispute deadline is not stated.
What can go wrong
Let me split this into the things that are structural and the things that are reported.
Structural. The card is custodial. Currency.com’s own words: “Currency.com is a custodial service … You do not manage private keys.” You are trusting the platform with the funds, and that trust carries counterparty and hack risk — Mt. Gox, Coincheck and the Ronin Network are the historical reference points for what happens when a custodial holder fails. Transfers are irreversible; a stolen key has no built-in recovery, because the network cannot freeze or return funds. And prepaid-card consumer protection is less uniform than ordinary debit coverage, so I would not assume the same reversal rights apply.
The issuer is not named. This one bothered me. The help pages identify CURRENCY COM INTERNATIONAL INC. (Ontario, Canada; FINTRAC Money Services Business registration C10001741, Mississauga) and Currency Com Limited (Gibraltar, company 117543; a DLT Provider authorised by the Gibraltar Financial Services Commission, Licence No. 25032). The platform states plainly: “Currency.com is a financial technology company, not a bank.” But no card-issuing bank or institution is named on the pages I read. When you ask who stands behind the card, the public answer is incomplete.
An unofficial note, so treat it as such and not as fact from the card: per TradeInformer on 12 March 2026, the card is powered by Rain, a Visa Principal Member that settles with Visa in stablecoins. I have not seen this confirmed on Currency.com’s own pages.
The complaint pattern. Trustpilot, for Currency.com as a platform rather than this card specifically, shows 4.2 out of 5 from 2,006 reviews, read on 21 October 2026 — roughly 69% five-star and 10% one-star. The recurring themes, all marked user report rather than verified fact: frozen or locked accounts and slow compliance review (including a 4 May 2026 review describing business funds held over 15 days), account termination without reasons (2023), unclear balances and dormant fees (2023), delisting and high fees (2024), and login confusion after a site redirect to Dzengi.com (2023). No official incident notices were found.
Those themes line up exactly with the weak point in the getting-started path. An automated five-minute check is great when it passes; the reviews describe what happens when it does not. If your funds sit on this platform, treat account review as a real operational risk, not a formality.
Safeguards that do exist. You can freeze and unfreeze the card instantly in the app, 3-D Secure applies to online payments, Visa fraud monitoring runs, and card details are shown only inside an authenticated session. Two-factor authentication and the safeguarding of funds are not stated on the card pages.
Support. There is a support e-mail and a “Contact us” in the help centre, and the help centre is in English. The contact address is obscured on the page, and languages beyond English and opening hours are not stated.
Timing. The card was announced on Thursday 12 March 2026, aimed at high-net-worth individuals and corporate clients; IBS Intelligence dated the news 17 March 2026. A product this new, aimed at that audience, is exactly the kind where the published details are thinnest.
What to take instead
Two other cards in the same category came out close on score, and both differ in ways that matter depending on what you are missing here.
| Currency.com | Bybit Card | MEXC | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Score | 6.5 / 10 | 6.0 / 10 | 5.6 / 10 |
| Card form | Virtual only | Virtual and physical | Virtual only |
| Networks | Visa | Mastercard and Visa by region | Not stated |
| Fuel | USDC only | USDT, USDC, GRAM, BTC, ETH, XRP from the Funding Account | USDT to the Fiat account |
| Cost of holding | Free | Virtual issuance free; physical varies by region | Issuance 20 USD, service fee 0% |
| Conversion fee | Processing 1%; FX up to 1% non-USD; cross-border up to 1% | Crypto conversion 0.9% over the One-Click Sell rate; FX 2% on top of the network rate (varies widely) | Not stated |
| Rewards | Not stated | Cashback from 5 October 2026, tiers from 2% to 10%, monthly caps | 4% to 10% by M-Score tier |
| Where it is offered | Stated as global, decided case by case | Named regions only; EEA participation “strictly prohibited” | Philippines, Taiwan, Thailand listed |
Bybit Card is the one to look at if you want a physical card or a rewards programme. It issues both virtual and physical cards, rolled out in phases, with Visa or Mastercard depending on region, and a cashback structure running from a 2% base tier up to 10% — though only crypto-funded transactions earn from 5 October 2026, and the cards page says “Auto interest, no annual fees”. The catch is coverage: it is offered in a specific list of regions, the cards page states “This product is not meant for European Economic Area customers. All European Economic Area customer participation is strictly prohibited”, and if your country is not supported the application registers your interest rather than issuing a card. Its costs are also heavier — a 0.9% crypto conversion fee plus an FX fee of 2% on top of the network rate in much of the network — though Argentina, at 7% FX and some substantial local taxes, is its own story. Fees, eligibility and reward terms change; check the current pages rather than my summary.
MEXC Card is virtual-only and lighter on published detail. Issuance is listed at 20 USD with service fee 0%, you fund it by transferring USDT to the Fiat account, and cashback runs 4% to 10% by M-Score tier. Its conversion and FX fees are not stated on the page I read, and networks are not named, which is the same gap that makes Currency.com’s funding hard to plan.
Where Currency.com still wins: no card fee, no monthly fee, a single clean 1% processing fee, and a stated global availability that at least does not exclude whole regions by name.
Where it loses: no physical card, no rewards, one fuel only, and unnamed networks.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend the Currency.com Card to you if all four of these are true.
You already have a Currency.com account and it is fully verified. This is not a card you can walk into an application for cold; the verification gate comes first.
You are happy to hold USDC on a custodial platform and have thought about what that means. Not in the abstract — you understand that you do not hold the keys, that transfers are irreversible, and that you are exposed to the platform.
You want to spend that USDC on ordinary things without selling it first, and mostly on your phone. No plastic is a feature if tap-to-pay is how you already pay, and an inconvenience if you hand your card to someone or use it somewhere that wants a physical card.
You do not care about rewards. The published material describes none, and if cashback is part of your decision, Bybit’s structure or MEXC’s tier system is the thing to price in instead.
And I would steer you away if any of these apply. You need a physical card, or you pay in places where the merchant will look at the issuing country and hesitate. You need more than one coin, or you want to top up straight from a bank account without touching a crypto purchase. You are in a region the platform does not serve and would rather know before applying. Or you are simply uneasy about a single balance sitting with a company that describes itself as “a financial technology company, not a bank” while naming no issuing institution on its card pages.
The card is a clean, cheap way to spend a stablecoin you already hold. That is a real use, and 6.5 out of 10 reflects doing one thing well rather than many things adequately.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Currency.com card?
It is a virtual Visa Platinum payment card that draws on a USDC balance held in your Currency.com account. You get a card number you can add to Apple Pay or Google Pay, and it spends that stablecoin balance directly — there is no credit line, so if the balance is empty the card has nothing to spend. No physical card is described.
How does the Currency.com card work in practice?
You verify your account, order the card in the Cards section with a minimum USDC balance, and the virtual card is issued instantly. At each payment the USDC balance is automatically used to cover it. A 1% processing fee applies, and non-USD transactions may add an FX fee of up to 1%. It works like a prepaid card, not a debit card.
Is Currency.com a bank?
No. The company’s own description is “Currency.com is a financial technology company, not a bank.” Behind it sit CURRENCY COM INTERNATIONAL INC. in Ontario, Canada (FINTRAC registration C10001741) and Currency Com Limited in Gibraltar (Licence No. 25032). The card-issuing bank or institution is not named on the help pages, which is worth asking about.
Does the Currency.com card require KYC?
Yes. Only verified account holders can get it. KYC runs inside the Currency.com account: profile data, a valid ID or passport, sometimes proof of address such as a bank statement or utility bill — a mobile bill does not count — and a liveness test. The page says the process is automated and averages 5 minutes, though manual review can take considerably longer.
Is the Currency.com card free?
The card itself is. There is no card order fee for the virtual card, and no monthly, annual or account maintenance charges. Spending is not free: the processing fee is 1%, the FX fee up to 1% on non-USD transactions, the cross-border fee up to 1%, and the ATM fee 2% with a $750 per-transaction maximum.
How do I top up the Currency.com card?
With USDC, by one of two routes: deposit USDC on-chain to the Currency.com wallet, or buy it inside the platform. There is no provider deposit fee, though blockchain gas fees may apply. The balance becomes usable within minutes of on-chain confirmation. Check which networks are supported before sending — the help page does not list them, and a transfer on the wrong network can be lost.
Can I use the card in my country?
Currency.com says the card “is available globally”, but that ability “may depend on multiple factors, including but not limited to the country of residency of the applicant”, with the final decision made case by case. No country list is published. The card also “cannot be used in certain countries, including sanctioned territories”. If your situation is unusual, expect to find out by applying.
How do I add the card to Apple Wallet?
The virtual card is issued instantly in the Cards section, and both Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported once you have it. Apple Pay stores a device-specific number in the phone’s Secure Element rather than on Apple’s servers, and each tap generates a one-time code. The issuer can still restrict the tokenised number for specific uses, so a decline is possible.
What are the limits on the Currency.com card?
At ATMs: $750 per transaction including the surcharge, up to $750 daily, and a maximum of three attempts in a rolling 24 hours — declined attempts count. Card spending limits are not stated on the help pages. Separately, account deposit and withdrawal limits depend on your verification tier, from $500 per transaction and $3,000 monthly at Tier 1 up to $50,000 and $300,000 lifetime at Tier 3.
Is the Currency.com card safe and worth it?
Treat it as custodial spending, not as storage. Currency.com states “You do not manage private keys”, so counterparty and hack risk sit with the provider, and blockchain transfers are irreversible. Safeguards that do exist include instant freeze in the app, 3-D Secure and Visa fraud monitoring. On Trustpilot the platform scores 4.2 from 2,006 reviews, with frozen accounts and slow compliance checks recurring. It is worth it if you are spending USDC you already hold; it is not a general-purpose bank card replacement.
Highest-scored exchange cards – cryptocardbest.com
Content created by the «cryptocardbest.com» team
