The Nexo card is cheap to hold and simple to use, but its access rules, its $5,000 plastic barrier and its unresolved MiCA paperwork are the story

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only

If you hold a meaningful crypto balance in Europe and you want to spend it like ordinary money without touching an exchange every time you buy coffee, the Nexo card does that job competently. There is no monthly fee, no annual fee, no inactivity fee, the foreign-exchange fee is 0.2% on weekdays inside the EEA and the UK, and both a virtual card and Apple Pay or Google Pay work immediately. That is a genuinely good offer for the person it is aimed at.

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
Nexo works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

But I want to be direct about the parts that will frustrate you. Nexo does not publish a country list, so “can I get the card” is not a question the official page can answer. The plastic card requires a balance above $5,000 and at least the Gold tier, which puts it out of reach of anyone starting out. Cashback exists only in Credit Mode, so it is not the reward people assume it is. And the company’s European regulatory position went through a visible transition in 2026, with custody and trading moved to licensed partners and no Nexo-named entity found on the ESMA interim register in independent checks in August and September 2026.

My score is 6.3 out of 10. That is a good card wrapped in an uncertain wrapper, and it suits Europeans with large crypto balances who want cashback. It does not suit someone who needs to know today, in writing, that their country is covered, that their money is insured, or that they can withdraw on demand.

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

Score: 6.3 / 10, and who it suits

Here is how the six criteria break down, with the reasoning behind each mark.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 5 / 10 “Selected European countries, including the EEA and the United Kingdom”; no official country list, and an unofficial list of 30 countries excludes Bulgaria, Estonia and the United States
Cost 7 / 10 No monthly or annual fee, issuance is free, FX 0.2% on weekdays in the EEA and UK and 2% outside; an unofficial 0.75% crypto swap fee can stack on top of the FX fee, ATMs cost 2% above the allowance, and plastic requires Gold tier plus a $5,000 balance
Top-up options 7 / 10 It spends straight from the Nexo account, supports 100+ assets, and in Debit Mode uses stablecoins and FiatX, but the networks are not disclosed
Reliability and complaints 5 / 10 The issuer DiPocket UAB of the Bank of Lithuania is named, and Trustpilot shows 4.4, but reviews mention withdrawal delays, closed accounts, a Bulgarian police raid, the MiCA partner transition and confusion over ordering plastic; no cardholder insurance found in unofficial sources
Everyday use 8 / 10 Virtual card, plastic, Apple Pay, Google Pay and ATMs all work; the catch is that plastic needs Gold tier and a $5,000 balance
Total 6.3 / 10 Strong daily mechanics, held back by unclear access, a high entry price for plastic and an unsettled regulatory picture

The everyday-use mark is the highest because the mechanics are genuinely good. You add a card to a phone wallet, you tap, and the crypto side handles itself. The two marks that drag the total down are eligibility and reliability, and both are about things Nexo tells you less clearly than it could.

For the reader this card is written for: if you are in Europe, you already hold a Nexo account or are willing to open one, and your crypto balance is large enough that the card is a convenience rather than a necessity, this is a sensible everyday card. If you are anywhere else, or your balance is small, or you need the physical card in your wallet next month, keep reading before you commit.

Will they give you the card

The eligibility wording is “residents and citizens of selected European countries, including the EEA and the United Kingdom”. Note that both words are there: it is not only residents, it is not only citizens. The page does not name the countries, and it says only that the card is “not available in certain jurisdictions” without naming those either.

That gap matters more than it sounds. An unofficial source compiled in August 2026 lists 30 countries as available: Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and the United Kingdom. The same source marks Bulgaria, Estonia and the United States as restricted. That list is not Nexo’s own, and Nexo has not confirmed it, so treat it as a pointer rather than a guarantee.

One more thing that is not official but that you should know about before applying from anywhere in the Balkans: Cointelegraph reported a 2025-era Bulgarian police raid on Nexo’s Sofia office over alleged Russia-sanctions and anti-money-laundering violations. There was no official Nexo statement saying Russians had been found. The Sofia office is not the same thing as the card’s availability in Bulgaria, but it is the kind of fact that makes an unofficial list less reliable than it looks.

The practical question you actually have is “can I get this in my country”. The honest answer is that only Nexo’s support can settle it, and I would ask them before you move any money, not after.

How to get it

The path is straightforward. You complete Identity Verification with a supported ID document issued in the EEA, the UK or another eligible European country. Beyond that the card page is thin: proof of address is not stated, the minimum age is not stated, and there is only one verification level described, with no published tiers, no processing times and no published reasons for rejection. That silence is worth knowing about, because if a document fails you will find out through the process rather than through a published list.

On the card itself: you get a virtual card that activates in the app and a physical card. A Mastercard trademark notice appears on the page, but the network is not stated explicitly there. An unofficial source says it runs on Mastercard. The issuer named on the page is DiPocket UAB. The card currency is not named on the page either, though fee tables are quoted in EUR and GBP.

Ordering the physical card happens inside the app, in the Card tab, under Order Nexo Card, at no additional cost. Standard delivery is quoted as up to four weeks, it may be delivered to your local Post Office, and you must activate it in the app once it arrives. The country list for delivery and the cost of a replacement card are not stated. Availability here is also disputed: reports in October 2026 include conflicting statements on whether physical cards can be ordered at all following the MiCA transition.

Two conditions on plastic are clear and they are the ones that decide most cases. Your balance must be above $5,000 in digital assets, and you must be at least Gold tier. If either fails, you still have the virtual card, and that is genuinely enough for phone-wallet payments.

Fees: what it really costs

No monthly fee, no annual fee and no inactivity fee. Issuance is free. The virtual card needs at least $50 in the account to activate. The physical card ships free but carries the $5,000-and-Gold requirement described above.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Nexo payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

The costs that actually show up in day-to-day use are these.

Fee or limit Value
Issuance Free; virtual card needs at least $50 in the account to activate
Monthly fee None
Annual fee None
Inactivity fee None
Physical card Free shipping; requires balance above $5,000 in digital assets and at least Gold tier
FX fee, weekdays 0.2% (EEA, UK, Switzerland); 2% elsewhere
FX fee, weekends 0.7% (EEA, UK, Switzerland); 2.5% elsewhere
Crypto conversion fee Not stated on the card page; unofficial sources describe a 0.75% Debit Mode swap fee that can stack with the FX fee
ATM free allowance, Base EUR 200 / GBP 180 per month
ATM free allowance, Silver EUR 400 / GBP 360 per month
ATM free allowance, Gold EUR 1,000 / GBP 900 per month
ATM free allowance, Platinum EUR 2,000 / GBP 1,800 per month
ATM fee above allowance 2%, minimum 1.99 EUR or GBP per withdrawal
Daily and monthly spend limits Not stated; the page only says clients with $100,000 in assets get “higher Nexo Card spending limits”
Card currency Chosen at virtual card activation; cannot be changed on the physical-card order screen

Now three ordinary payments, so the percentages land somewhere real.

A coffee in Frankfurt, EUR 4, on a weekday. You are inside the EEA, so the FX fee is 0.2%, which is roughly 0.8 cents. If the crypto conversion is handled as an unofficial 0.75% swap on top, add about 3 cents. Total: a few cents. This is the case the card is good at.

A subscription billed in dollars, USD 10, on a weekday. You are outside the EEA and UK for this transaction, so the FX fee is 2%, or 20 cents. With the unofficial swap fee it is closer to 27.5 cents. For a USD 10 subscription that is the difference between an invisible cost and one you notice.

Cash, EUR 250, from a machine in Warsaw, with a Base tier account. Your free monthly allowance is EUR 200, so EUR 250 exceeds it. The excess is charged at 2%, and the minimum per withdrawal is 1.99 EUR. The card page does not explain whether the 2% applies to the whole withdrawal or only the part above the allowance, which is exactly the sort of thing to test with a small withdrawal before you need a large one.

One structural point that catches people out: the currency is chosen once, at virtual card activation. If you pick the wrong one, it cannot be changed on the physical-card order screen, and the card page tells you to contact Nexo. So choose deliberately, on day one.

Top up

There is no top-up in the usual sense, and that is the concept worth getting right. The card spends directly from your Nexo account balance. There is no separate card balance to load, no prepaid float and no step between holding crypto and paying for something.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Nexo starts with a transfer to the right network

What backs the spend is wide: over 100 digital assets are supported, and in Debit Mode the card uses stablecoins, crypto and FiatX assets, which are Nexo’s own fiat-denominated tokens such as EURx, USDx and GBPx. Cashback, when you qualify for it, arrives in NEXO tokens or Bitcoin.

Where I would have liked more, and where the card page is silent: deposit fees, the minimum top-up, the fiat top-up options and their fees, and the withdrawal process are all not stated. Networks are also not stated. That last one is the detail to watch. If you plan to send a stablecoin in from an exchange, the network you choose has to be one Nexo supports, and you will not find that list on the card page. Blockchain transfers are irreversible: a deposit sent on an unsupported network, or to an address belonging to another network, can be lost outright or need manual support recovery with no guarantee. So verify the network and address from inside your Nexo account before you send anything, and keep the transaction hash.

Paying with it every day

Day-to-day use is where this card earns its best mark. Apple Pay and Google Pay are both supported, so you rarely touch the physical card at all. ATMs work, with the tier-based allowances listed above. Blocked merchant categories, such as gambling, are not stated.

Rewards need care, because the headline cashback rate is not what most people assume. Cashback applies only to purchases made in Credit Mode, and the account must hold more than $5,000 in digital assets. It is paid in NEXO tokens or Bitcoin, and you can change the payout currency.

Tier Cashback in NEXO Cashback in Bitcoin
Platinum 2% 0.5%
Gold 1% 0.3%
Silver 0.7% 0.2%
Base 0.5% 0.1%

Your tier depends on the share of NEXO tokens in your portfolio, so the rate is a moving target rather than a promise. Rates may change and vary by region. Loyalty Program members are described as earning “up to 13%” on idle funds, with the rate per tier not stated.

Read the Credit Mode condition again, because it is the one that trips people up: if you spend in Debit Mode, the cashback table above does not apply to you. Debit Mode is what spends your stablecoins and FiatX; Credit Mode is what borrows against your holdings, and borrowing is precisely the part of the product set that sits outside the licences of the partners Nexo moved to after the MiCA transition.

The app is solid on Apple devices: iPhone, iPad, iPod touch and Apple Vision, rated 4.2 out of 5 on the App Store from “2K” ratings when I checked on 2026-10-20, in 18 languages including Russian, Ukrainian, Kazakh and Uzbek. The Google Play listing I did not read. Dispute handling is not stated.

What can go wrong

Start with the company structure, because it is the least obvious risk and the one that changed most recently.

The card is issued by DiPocket UAB, which the card page names, and DiPocket UAB is authorised by the Bank of Lithuania. That is the solid part, and it is a real banking authorisation rather than a marketing claim. Separately from that, Nexo’s own operating entity, its registered country and its MiCA or VASP licences are not stated on the card page.

Here is the timeline as I found it, and it matters. On 2026-06-03 Nexo said on social media that it had set up a MiCA-compliant structure under German oversight with products unchanged, which is a company post rather than a regulator record. The MiCA transitional period ended on 2026-07-01. Independent checks of the ESMA interim register in August and September 2026 found no entity named Nexo among authorised CASPs. EEA custody and trading run through partners Tangany for custody and DLT Finance for trading. A Bulgarian FSC application was reportedly filed in February 2026 and is still pending according to a third-party report. Under MiCA, custody and exchange are one regulatory world and the card is another: a card is a payment service under e-money and payments law, so a crypto card commonly depends on two separate licences. That is why the issuer being a licensed Lithuanian bank does not by itself answer the MiCA question.

Second, the complaints. Trustpilot shows a TrustScore of 4.4 out of 5 across 18,805 reviews when I read it on 2026-10-20, which is a good score in absolute terms. The recurring themes in recent reviews are more specific than the number: high fees on small transactions and frustration with the $5,000 minimum balance, including the grace period when you fall below it; delayed withdrawals and locked or closed accounts; support described as unhelpful on technical problems by some reviewers and praised for speed by others; deposits slow to appear; a third-party “Earn Provider” custody objection; and regional restrictions on bank funding and card access.

Under EU rules this last pattern is partly expected rather than arbitrary. If due diligence cannot be completed, the institution must refrain from the transaction or relationship and, where necessary, end existing relationships. Accounts get closed or frozen pending documents as a legal duty, not as a favour. That does not make it pleasant, and it does not tell you in advance which side of the line a given account lands on.

Third, security. On the card page Nexo offers instant card freeze, security spending controls, biometric locks and what it calls “industrial-grade custody”. Two-factor authentication and insurance or safeguarding of funds are not stated on the card page. Unofficial sources state that there is no cardholder insurance, and I found no source at all confirming 2FA. Do not read “industrial-grade custody” as a deposit guarantee. Custodial providers carry counterparty risk that a self-custody wallet does not, and the industry’s record includes Mt. Gox at roughly US$350 million reported stolen between 2011 and 2014, Coincheck at about US$400 million in 2018 and the Ronin Network at US$625 million in 2022. Stablecoins are not a remedy either: Tether says it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity, and stablecoins themselves have broken their peg, TerraUSD in May 2022 and USDC briefly in March 2023.

Two smaller frictions to plan around. A declined authorisation can leave a hold on your funds for several days, typically up to seven. And because merchants can look up the six- or eight-digit issuer identification number at the start of your card number to see which institution and country issued it, a card issued in one country can look foreign to a shop in another; some merchants decline prepaid or foreign-issued cards on that basis. Address verification is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which causes further declines online.

Support is nominally 24/7 with a Help Center at support.nexo.com, a contacts page and a status page at status.nexo.com, but the specific channels and hours were not readable.

What to take instead

The honest framing is that none of these is dramatically safer or dramatically cheaper; they trade different problems. All three also come with the same category-wide risks, and I would not treat any of them as a way around identity checks or country rules.

Pay3 — 6.3 / 10. Open to users outside “Restricted Locations”, meaning countries under trade sanctions, export controls or crypto and fintech prohibitions; the list is not published and may change without notice, and users, citizens or residents of restricted locations are excluded. Card terms require you to attest that you are not a US citizen and not OFAC-blocked. Virtual, physical and wallet cards on Visa. Issuance starts at $5, spend from $0.15 per transaction; monthly and annual fees are not stated. Conversion from 1.15%, foreign exchange up to 3% for non-USD, cross-border up to 3%, foreign transaction up to 3%. Collateral-based: the collateral sets your limit. Rewards are not stated. Its fees are visibly higher than Nexo’s, and its eligibility language is vaguer.

Exa — 6.2 / 10. Issued in 45 countries including Argentina, Brazil, Japan, Kenya, Mexico, Singapore, South Africa and the UAE, with Nigeria conditional, plus 31 US states. 18 ineligible countries include Belarus, China, India, Iran, Israel, Turkey, Ukraine, Vietnam and Russia; Russian residents cannot be issued a card and the card cannot be spent in Russia. The rule is by residence. Virtual Visa, accepted at over 150 million merchants in more than 150 countries. Marketed as free with no amounts on the page. Fees not stated. Spending works through Pay Now or installments against collateral in the self-custody Exa App. No cashback stated; “Earn while you spend” refers to yield on assets. This is the one with the widest country coverage, and the one whose collateralised credit model is closest to Nexo’s Credit Mode.

Cardex — 5.6 / 10. “One crypto card, 200+ countries” with no country list or exclusions, and a Naira-focused App Store listing. Debit card on VERVE, Visa, Mastercard and UnionPay, virtual and physical, with Naira as the card currency. Fees not stated; the site describes real-time crypto-to-fiat conversion at the moment of payment using an “AI-Powered Conversion Rate” that scans global exchange rates and picks the best one, with no percentage published. Funds from USDT, USDC and BTC wallets, networks not stated. Rewards not stated. Broadest reach on paper and the least documented pricing.

Nexo Pay3 Exa Cardex
Score 6.3 / 10 6.3 / 10 6.2 / 10 5.6 / 10
Coverage EEA and UK “selected” countries, no official list Outside “Restricted Locations”, list unpublished 45 countries and 31 US states “200+ countries”, no list
Card Virtual and physical Virtual, physical, wallet Virtual Visa Virtual and physical
Standout number 0.2% weekday FX in EEA/UK $5 issuance, $0.15 spend Collateral credit line Real-time conversion at payment
Weakest point Plastic needs Gold and $5,000 Fees up to 3% Fees not published Fees not published

If your priority is the lowest visible cost inside Europe, Nexo stays ahead. If your priority is being able to name your country from a published list, Exa is the clearer fit. If you are nowhere near Europe, Pay3 is worth a look, with the caveat that its own restriction language is unpublished.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend the Nexo card to a European who already keeps a substantial balance on Nexo, is comfortable leaving it there, and wants a phone-wallet card that costs 0.2% to use across the EEA and the UK. The absence of any monthly or annual fee means there is no reason to close the account in a quiet month, and the ATM allowances rise with your tier if you do use cash.

I would steer you elsewhere if any of these apply: you are outside Europe and need certainty about your country; you want the physical card now rather than in up to four weeks; your balance is small, because the virtual card’s $50 activation minimum and the $5,000 plastic threshold will not make sense for you; you were planning to spend in Debit Mode expecting cashback, because cashback belongs to Credit Mode; or you are holding money mainly because you do not trust a custodian with it, in which case this card is the wrong shape of product.

Two things to do before you commit. Ask Nexo support, in writing, whether the card is available in your country of residence and citizenship. And if the MiCA structure matters to you, check the ESMA interim register yourself, because I could not find a Nexo-named authorised entity there in the August and September 2026 checks and the card page does not state one.

On the regulatory side I am not giving advice and I am not qualified to; treat this as what I could verify from public pages, and take your own advice on where you keep money you cannot afford to lose.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Nexo card?

It is a payment card that spends directly from your Nexo account balance rather than from a bank account. Nexo supports more than 100 digital assets, and in Debit Mode the card uses stablecoins, ordinary crypto and FiatX assets such as EURx, USDx and GBPx. You get a virtual card that activates in the app, a physical card, and Apple Pay and Google Pay support. The card is issued by DiPocket UAB, authorised by the Bank of Lithuania.

How does the Nexo card actually work at payment time?

You tap or insert, the merchant is paid in ordinary fiat, and the Nexo side handles the conversion from whatever you hold. Because the card draws on a stored balance rather than a credit line, it cannot overdraw. In practice the merchant only sees a normal card payment, which is why this works in shops, on subscriptions and at ATMs without any special arrangement on your part.

Is Nexo a bank?

No, and the distinction matters for your protection. Nexo is a crypto platform, and the card is issued by DiPocket UAB, a separate entity authorised by the Bank of Lithuania. The card page does not state Nexo’s own operating entity, registered country or MiCA or VASP licences. Electronic money customer funds must be safeguarded, but such funds are not the same as bank deposits and may not sit under a deposit guarantee scheme.

Who can get the Nexo card?

Residents and citizens of “selected European countries, including the EEA and the United Kingdom”. Both words count. There is no official country list. An unofficial source from August 2026 lists 30 available countries and marks Bulgaria, Estonia and the United States as restricted. Since the official page does not confirm that list, ask Nexo support in writing before you move money.

Does the Nexo card need KYC, and what documents?

Yes. You complete Identity Verification with a supported ID document issued in the EEA, the UK or another eligible European country. Proof of address and the minimum age are not stated on the card page, and neither are verification tiers, processing times or rejection reasons. Note that EU rules require a sanctions check and a politically-exposed-person determination, and if due diligence cannot be completed the institution must decline or end the relationship.

What does a Nexo card cost to hold?

Nothing in the way you would expect. There is no monthly fee, no annual fee and no inactivity fee, and issuance is free. The virtual card needs at least $50 in the account to activate. What costs money is use: 0.2% on weekdays inside the EEA, UK and Switzerland, 2% elsewhere, with higher weekend rates of 0.7% and 2.5%, and an unofficial 0.75% Debit Mode swap fee that can stack on the FX fee.

Can I get the physical Nexo card, and how long does it take?

You can order it in the app under the Card tab, at no additional cost, with standard delivery up to four weeks. It may be delivered to your local Post Office and must be activated in the app. Two conditions: your balance must be above $5,000 in digital assets and you must be at least Gold tier. Reports from October 2026 include conflicting statements on whether physical cards can currently be ordered at all.

How do I top up the Nexo card?

There is nothing to top up. The card spends straight from your Nexo account, so you only need funds sitting in that account. What the card page does not tell you is the deposit fee, the minimum top-up, the fiat top-up options, or which blockchain networks are supported, and that last point is the one to confirm before transferring, since a deposit on an unsupported network can be lost.

Is the Nexo card safe, and is my money insured?

The card has real safeguards: instant freeze, spending controls, biometric locks and tokenised mobile wallets. But the card page does not state two-factor authentication, and unofficial sources say there is no cardholder insurance. Nexo describes “industrial-grade custody”, which is custodial, meaning the platform holds the credentials. Treat that as counterparty risk, not a guarantee, and check the ESMA register if the post-MiCA structure matters to you.

Is the Nexo card worth it?

For a European with a large crypto balance who wants cashless spending, yes, because the running cost is low and there is nothing to pay monthly. You are trading a little uncertainty about eligibility, licensing and withdrawal friction for that convenience. If you need the card in a specific country confirmed, or you want cashback from ordinary spending rather than Credit Mode, the value is much thinner than the headline suggests.

Content created by the «cryptocardbest.com» team