Fiat24 card is closed to new sign-ups — here is what that means for you

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only

Fiat24 was a Swiss-built debit card on the Mastercard network, tied to a self-custody wallet rather than a traditional bank account. In late 2024 the card page carried a “Coming soon” banner; by the time this review was written, the site is in maintenance mode and new applications are no longer accepted. If you are weighing the card, the short answer is that you cannot get one right now, and if you are an existing holder the practical question is how to get your balance out. This review walks through what changed, what the card’s own pages still say, what the third-party record shows, and which alternatives serve a similar role for someone who struggles to get an ordinary bank card.

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
The Fiat24 card programme no longer issues new cards

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict

The card scores 3.3 out of 10. The headline number is dragged down by a single dominant fact: the programme is not issuing new cards. A “who can get it” score of zero is unusual for a review and reflects that reality. The breakdown explains how the rest of the marks fall.

Criterion Score Why
Who can get it 0 / 10 The site is in maintenance mode and not accepting new applications; the card page itself says “Coming soon in December 2024”
Cost 5 / 10 The card’s own pages do not publish any fees; unofficial sources list issuance, monthly, ATM and top-up as free, but a 1–1.75% fee plus gas on crypto deposits and a 1 USD/EUR/CHF fee per refund
Top-up options 5 / 10 Not disclosed officially; unofficial: USDC, USDT and ETH on the Arbitrum network, plus fiat in EUR, CHF, USD and RMB
Reliability and complaints 2 / 10 The issuer SR Saphirstein AG is supervised by FINMA, but the site is in maintenance; Trustpilot shows 2.2 out of 5 from 8 reviews, all one-star, with reports of unresponsive support and frozen funds
Everyday use 6 / 10 A virtual Mastercard with no PIN, plus Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay according to the user docs (one unofficial source disagrees); ATM withdrawals listed as unlimited by an unofficial aggregator

I would point this card only at existing holders who are working through how to withdraw their remaining balance. For anyone reading this with the question “should I get the Fiat24 card?” the answer is that the card is not being issued, and the questions of cost, top-up method and country coverage that would normally shape a decision are no longer the deciding factor. The deciding factor is that the door is closed.

What happened to the programme

The clearest single fact is also the strangest one for a review to deal with: the card’s own product page still says “Coming soon in December 2024.” That banner was a holdover from the announced launch and has not been replaced with a formal closure notice. What has changed is everything around it.

The main Fiat24 website is in maintenance mode. New applications are not being accepted. The product page that used to walk you through issuing a card now shows the December 2024 placeholder, and there is no public statement confirming whether the programme is paused, reorganised, or wound down entirely. Reviews and aggregator pages, which I describe below, were still being written through May 2026, so it is not a case of the company having vanished. The project simply stopped taking new sign-ups.

The card itself, where the rules are set out, describes a Mastercard debit card. Card transactions settle from the available balance in the transaction’s currency, and if that balance is short you can choose a different “default card currency” to cover the shortfall in full rather than splitting the payment. Refunds in USD, EUR, CHF or RMB return to the same-currency balance; refunds in other currencies are converted to the default card currency. A refund processing fee applies from 15 May 2026: 1 USD, 1 EUR or 1 CHF per refund (7 CNH for RMB), deducted from the refund amount and capped at the value of the refund.

Spending limits are tied to the length of your account number, which on Fiat24 is an NFT. A Standard tier (an account with 5 to 8 digits) is capped at 10,000 EUR per day and 20,000 EUR per month. A Premium tier (4 digits) raises that to 100,000 EUR per day and 200,000 EUR per month. An Ultimate tier (3 digits) reaches 500,000 EUR per day and 1,000,000 EUR per month. The tier is upgraded by buying the matching Premium NFT inside the Fiat24 dApp, paid in Ether or in the platform’s native token, and the upgrade is processed within one business day.

The card supports balances in EUR, USD, CHF and RMB. A feature the docs call “Direct Pay” tries to spend the balance that matches the merchant’s currency first, so a Swiss shop is paid from your CHF balance rather than triggering a conversion. Where conversion is unavoidable, the FX fee amount is not stated on the card’s own pages.

Activation, in user documentation, is done from the card icon inside the dApp and is usually ready in seconds. That description is from the live user guide and contradicts the “Coming soon in December 2024” placeholder on the products page, which is itself part of the reason this review is difficult to write cleanly: the public surface of the programme does not match itself.

The card is described as virtual only, with no PIN and no physical card or shipping mentioned. Validity is five years, with automatic renewal unless the card has been unused in the six months before expiry.

The verification process the card pages describe is a single KYC step: a biometric ID or passport, an age check over 18, a check that you are not a US Person, not a politically exposed person and not on OFAC or EU sanctions lists, a GPS location capture and a tax identification number. The account opens in under one business day during CET hours. Some emerging-market residents are limited to CHF 1,000 per 30 days. The cards and accounts are issued by SR Saphirstein AG, a Swiss fintech supervised by FINMA, and the card’s BIN is 5481 0849.

There is no dedicated mobile app. The product runs as a web dApp at app.fiat24.com, with a wallet connection on the Arbitrum network, and a Telegram bot. There is no email address or phone number on the official site; the public contact channels are the Telegram bot at t.me/fiat24bot, the status page at status.fiat24.com, and social accounts on X, LinkedIn, Medium and Telegram.

The cost of the card is the section where the official pages are most silent. The card docs page has no fee schedule at all: no monthly fee, no issuance fee, no conversion or FX fee, no ATM fee. Unofficial sources fill in some of that gap, and you should treat anything you read elsewhere as unofficial until you see it on Fiat24’s own pages. cryptocards.so, a third-party aggregator, lists monthly fee, issuance, ATM, FX, top-up and decline as free. The same source reports a 1–1.75% fee on crypto deposits plus gas (the network fee paid to the Arbitrum blockchain), and Trustpilot reviewers describe roughly 50 EUR charges on SEPA transfers that were re-routed through TARGET2. None of these numbers comes from Fiat24 directly.

The card was usable with the major mobile wallets. The official user documentation says Apple Pay, Google Pay, Samsung Pay and most digital wallets are supported, and that payments to OFAC-sanctioned countries or entities will be refused. Some merchant categories are limited in certain countries, including public transport, utility bills and in-flight shopping; fine dining is restricted in the United States. One unofficial source, cryptocards.so, says Apple Pay and Google Pay are not supported, which contradicts the official description. The discrepancy matters if you were planning to use the card in a wallet, and is a good example of why third-party pages should be treated with caution.

If you already have the card

If you are a current Fiat24 cardholder, the practical work right now is getting your money out cleanly. The card’s own pages describe how that is done, and most of it is the same flow you would use while the card is active.

The card is topped up through the Fiat24 dApp. Activation requires a minimum balance of 10 EUR for users in the Eurozone, 10 CHF for users in Switzerland or 10 USD for users elsewhere. Payouts have a higher minimum of 100 EUR or 100 CHF, which means a small residual balance is not enough to trigger a withdrawal on its own.

To pay out to a bank account, you first make a small deposit from that bank account so the IBAN is linked, then request the payout. You can link up to 10 bank accounts per currency. A successful payout is booked the same business day; one submitted after 15:00 CET, on a weekend or on a public holiday is booked on the next business day. A successful payout is free; a returned payout costs 10 EUR or 10 CHF.

To close the account, you bring balances to zero, then go to id.fiat24.com, open the Profile tab, and choose Close Account. The closure is final, and a second account is not allowed once the first is closed. The KYC data Fiat24 collected is kept for as long as Swiss anti-money-laundering law requires.

Cardholder support is the second practical concern. There is no email or phone number on the site. The Telegram bot is the only direct contact channel named for general inquiries, with a status page and social accounts as the public surfaces. Trustpilot reviewers describe email, Telegram and Discord support as unresponsive, with funds held and bot menus that loop, so the practical advice is to use the dApp’s payout flow rather than relying on support to release a balance.

The disputes and refunds process is not described in the card docs. The only official number around disputes is the refund processing fee of 1 USD, 1 EUR or 1 CHF per refund (7 CNH for RMB) that took effect on 15 May 2026. The card’s user documentation says refunds usually arrive within 7 days, and up to 30 days for cross-border refunds, but there is no chargeback procedure or escalation path described.

A few unofficial notes are worth flagging for completeness. cryptocards.so lists ATM withdrawals as unlimited, which differs from the official tiered daily and monthly limits, and the same site lists supported top-up rails as USDC, USDT and ETH on Arbitrum, plus fiat in EUR, CHF, USD and RMB through SEPA, SIC and SWIFT. None of that is confirmed by Fiat24’s own pages, and you should confirm a payout route in the dApp before relying on it.

What can go wrong

The risks section for a card in maintenance mode is mostly about the risks of holding funds with an operator that is no longer actively onboarding customers. The regulatory background is reassuring in part: SR Saphirstein AG holds a Swiss fintech licence under Article 1b of the Banking Act and is supervised by FINMA, which is a real regulator with real powers. The card’s BIN is registered to that issuer. That gives a cardholder a defined legal counterparty if something goes wrong, which is more than you have with an unlicensed operator.

The operational picture is harder. The site is in maintenance mode, new applications are not being accepted, the user-facing description of card activation says it is usually ready in seconds while the products page still says “Coming soon in December 2024,” and there is no public closure notice or timeline. Trustpilot (read 2026-10-20) shows a 2.2 out of 5 rating from 8 reviews, all one-star, between April 2024 and May 2026. The themes are unresponsive support across email, Telegram and Discord, pre-authorisations and funds not being released, SEPA transfers arriving weeks late with a roughly 50 EUR fee after re-routing, and scammers impersonating support in community channels. There is no Fiat24 Reddit thread or Trustpilot page beyond the 8 reviews, so the record is thin, but it is consistently negative.

The card’s security model has some unusual features worth understanding. Sign-in is by wallet-connect to your own self-custody wallet: the Fiat24 account is an NFT in that wallet, and the operator does not hold your credentials. That is a real design choice with a real tradeoff. The upside is that Fiat24 cannot freeze your crypto at the account level. The downside is that if your private key is stolen, the attacker has the same access to the linked account that you do, and there is no recovery path; the official advice in that case is to move funds quickly. The card itself uses 3-D Secure one-time passwords by email, automatic blocks on unusual activity, and a lock/unlock control inside the dApp. Each lock or unlock action locks further changes for 24 hours, which slows down account takeover but does not stop a determined attacker with the wallet’s seed phrase.

A second risk is the third-party impersonation problem. The reviews describe scammers posing as support in Telegram and Discord. That is not unique to Fiat24 — it is a general risk in any crypto project with public community channels — but the combination of no email or phone support and an unresponsive Telegram bot makes impersonation more attractive. The practical rule is to treat any DM claiming to be support as hostile until you have verified it through a public channel Fiat24 itself has signed.

A third risk is the stablecoin and network risk that comes with funding on Arbitrum. The crypto top-up side, which is the only practical way to move funds in cheaply, runs through USDC, USDT and ETH on Arbitrum. Blockchain transfers are irreversible: a deposit sent on a network the card provider does not support, or to an address of a different network, can be lost. Stablecoins themselves are not guaranteed stable: Tether and Circle, the two issuers that cover most of the market, have both had public incidents (Tether has frozen wallets on the OFAC sanctions list; USDC briefly lost its peg during the March 2023 US banking stress). That risk is general to stablecoins, not specific to Fiat24, but it is the rail you are depending on for the cheap part of the flow.

Finally, the absence of a stated chargeback or dispute procedure is itself a risk. The card docs do not describe a chargeback process, and the only formal number in that area is the refund processing fee. Cardholder rights under US Regulation E or EU payment-services law depend on whether Fiat24 qualifies as the regulated entity in your jurisdiction, which is not stated on the card page. That uncertainty is the strongest argument for treating any balance held with Fiat24 as money you would be willing to lose, and moving it out as soon as you are able to.

What to take instead

The alternatives below are cards I have reviewed that play a similar role for someone who struggles to get an ordinary bank card. None of them is a like-for-like replacement for Fiat24’s specific combination of self-custody wallet, NFT account number and tiered spending limits, but each is something a reader in a similar situation could look at.

Cardex

Cardex scores 5.6 out of 10. It bills itself as one crypto card usable in over 200 countries, with no exclusion list on the public site, although the App Store listing is Nigeria-focused and shows a Naira-denominated card. The card runs on Verve, Visa, Mastercard and UnionPay, with both virtual and physical options. The conversion story is the unusual part: Cardex describes an “AI-Powered Conversion Rate” that scans global exchange rates and picks the best one at the moment of payment. The fee percentage is not stated, and the supported wallets are USDT, USDC and BTC, with the networks not stated.

If Fiat24’s appeal to you was geographic reach and the ability to spend in a local currency, Cardex is the closer of the three alternatives. The unknown is whether the conversion rate it picks is consistently better than the market average, and whether the network-fee layer on the top-up side is reasonable. That information is not on the public page, and the card’s own fees are not published either.

MSX

MSX scores 6.4 out of 10. This is the briefest profile of the three, because the public page I could read does not state country coverage, card type, fees, funding or rewards. The score is a placeholder for a card that exists and is being reviewed elsewhere, not a positive endorsement. If you are reading this and have specific information about MSX, the place to start is the project’s own documentation, not a comparison review.

Whop Cards

Whop Cards scores 5.2 out of 10 and is the most developed profile here. The geographic story is concrete: consumers can get the card in 31 US states (Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Florida, Hawaii, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Texas, Utah, Virginia, West Virginia, Wyoming), and businesses in 41 states. Unsupported consumer countries include Belarus, Mainland China, Cuba, Hong Kong, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela and Vietnam. Whether the rule is based on citizenship or residence is not stated.

The card is on the Visa network, works wherever Visa is taken online or in stores, and the site says there are “no extra fees,” without listing issuance or monthly amounts. The conversion or FX fee is not stated either. The funding model is a Whop balance, with the pending balance usable as soon as a payment arrives; standard withdrawals use settled funds. The underlying collateral is stablecoin, with the specific coins and networks not stated. The reward story is a 5% cashback at selected merchants (currently Uber, with more planned), with the payout currency and conditions not stated.

For a US-based reader in one of the 31 supported states, Whop Cards is the easiest of the three to evaluate, because the geographic coverage and fee structure are at least partially disclosed. For readers outside the US, the country list cuts heavily into the appeal.

How I compared them

The way I read the three alternatives against Fiat24 is on three axes: whether the card is actually being issued, how much of the cost is published, and how clearly the geographic rule is stated. Cardex is being issued and has a clear country reach claim, but the fees are not published. MSX is the weakest on published detail. Whop Cards is being issued, fees are partly published, and the country list is explicit, but only inside the US. None of the three has the self-custody-wallet sign-in model that distinguished Fiat24, and that is a real loss if that is what you came for.

Who I would recommend it to

I would not recommend the Fiat24 card to anyone who is reading this in order to get one. The programme is in maintenance mode, the public surface contradicts itself, and the most useful thing a prospective user can do is look at the alternatives above. The card’s score of 3.3 out of 10 is not a “buy at a discount” score; it is a “the shop is closed” score.

For existing cardholders, the recommendation is narrower and more practical. I would recommend the card to an existing holder in the specific sense that they should use it, while they still can, to move balances out through the dApp’s payout flow to a linked bank account. The payout is free when it succeeds and costs 10 EUR or 10 CHF when it returns, so it is worth getting the IBAN right the first time. Once balances are at zero, the Profile tab in id.fiat24.com lets you close the account. That closure is final, and KYC data is kept per Swiss AML law, which is the normal retention rule for a supervised institution.

I would not recommend holding a balance with Fiat24 in the hope of a relaunch. The site gives no timeline, the Trustpilot record is uniformly negative on responsiveness, and the cost of waiting is a balance you cannot spend elsewhere. The two practical risks are that the payout flow itself could be slowed if the dApp is also affected by the maintenance mode, and that the 100 EUR/CHF payout minimum leaves small residual balances stranded. If you have less than 100 EUR/CHF left, the realistic options are to top the balance up to the minimum and then withdraw, or to absorb the loss if the residual is small.

I would also flag two cases where Fiat24 is not the right card even if it were open. If you need a card that you can hand to a dependent, or a card with a physical form factor for merchants who do not accept virtual-only cards, this is not it. If you need a card with a published fee schedule you can show to an accountant or a regulator, the lack of one on the official pages is a real problem, and you are better served by a programme that publishes its fees.

For a reader who is choosing a crypto card for the first time, the broader point is that the Fiat24 story illustrates three things to look for in any programme: a live product page, not a “coming soon” banner; a published fee schedule on the operator’s own site, not a third-party aggregator; and a customer support channel that is more than a Telegram bot. The fact that Fiat24 falls short on all three, in addition to the programme being closed, is the reason the score is what it is.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Fiat24 card?

The Fiat24 card was a virtual Mastercard debit card issued by the Swiss fintech SR Saphirstein AG, tied to a self-custody wallet on the Arbitrum network rather than to a traditional bank account. The account number is an NFT held in your own wallet. The card’s own product page still says “Coming soon in December 2024,” and the site is in maintenance mode with no new applications being accepted.

Is the Fiat24 card still available?

No. The site is in maintenance mode and not accepting new applications. There is no public timeline for reopening, and the most recent product page text is the December 2024 “coming soon” banner. The cardholder support channels are the Telegram bot at t.me/fiat24bot and a status page; there is no email or phone number on the site.

How do I activate my Fiat24 card?

According to the user documentation, activation is done from the card icon inside the dApp at app.fiat24.com and is usually ready in seconds. You need a minimum balance of 10 EUR (Eurozone), 10 CHF (Switzerland) or 10 USD (rest of world) to activate. That description comes from the live user guide and contradicts the “Coming soon in December 2024” text on the products page, which is one of the inconsistencies in the public material.

How do I withdraw money from Fiat24?

You link a bank account by making a small deposit from that IBAN into your Fiat24 balance, then request a payout from the dApp. The minimum payout is 100 EUR or 100 CHF, and you can link up to 10 accounts per currency. A successful payout is free and booked the same business day; a returned payout costs 10 EUR or 10 CHF. To close the account, bring balances to zero, then go to id.fiat24.com, open the Profile tab and choose Close Account.

Is Fiat24 a bank?

No. The operator, SR Saphirstein AG, holds a Swiss fintech licence under Article 1b of the Banking Act and is supervised by FINMA, but that is a fintech licence, not a full banking licence. The card is a debit card on a Mastercard BIN, not a bank account. Funds held on the platform are not deposit-insured in the way bank deposits are.

Who owns Fiat24?

Fiat24 is operated by SR Saphirstein AG, a Swiss-registered company. The card programme is run under that entity’s fintech licence, and the card’s BIN (5481 0849) is registered to SR Saphirstein. The wider ownership structure of the company is not stated on the public card pages, and the social and corporate footprint of the brand does not name an individual owner.

Does the Fiat24 card require KYC?

Yes. The single KYC step described on the card pages takes a biometric ID or passport, an age check over 18, a check that you are not a US Person, not a politically exposed person and not on OFAC or EU sanctions lists, a GPS location capture and a tax identification number. The account opens in under one business day during CET hours. Some residents of emerging markets are limited to CHF 1,000 per 30 days.

Is the Fiat24 card safe?

The card has a self-custody sign-in model, which means Fiat24 does not hold your private keys; you do. The issuer is supervised by FINMA, the card uses 3-D Secure one-time passwords by email, and the dApp lets you lock and unlock the card with a 24-hour change delay. Against that, the site is in maintenance mode, Trustpilot shows 2.2 out of 5 from 8 one-star reviews, support is described as unresponsive, and there is no public chargeback procedure. Whether that balance is acceptable depends on how much you value regulatory supervision over day-to-day responsiveness.

What are the Fiat24 card fees?

The card’s own pages do not publish any fee schedule. Unofficial sources (cryptocards.so and Trustpilot reviews) list the monthly fee, issuance, ATM, FX, top-up and decline as free, with a 1–1.75% fee plus gas on crypto deposits, a roughly 50 EUR charge on SEPA transfers re-routed through TARGET2, and a 1 USD/EUR/CHF refund processing fee from 15 May 2026. None of these numbers is confirmed by Fiat24, and the official absence of a fee schedule is itself a concern for anyone who needs to know the cost in advance.

What are the best alternatives to the Fiat24 card?

Three alternatives from this site’s reviews are Cardex (5.6/10, one crypto card in 200+ countries on Verve, Visa, Mastercard and UnionPay), MSX (6.4/10, very thin published detail) and Whop Cards (5.2/10, Visa card in 31 US consumer states, stablecoin-backed, 5% cashback at select merchants). None of them is a like-for-like replacement for Fiat24’s self-custody and NFT account number model, and Whop Cards in particular is geographically narrow. The best choice depends on which of Fiat24’s features you came for and which country you are in.

Content created by the «cryptocardbest.com» team